Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Return of the €5 Turbo Rebuy Crapshoot! Wed 17th, 3pm

• 10-01-2007 5:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭

The long awaited return of the infamous €5 rebuy game in DIT Aungier St is back on wednesday at 3pm!! To make things interesting, I am issuing a challenge to all boardsters... all us students know how hard it is to win one of these games, arguably the toughest in dublin, but all you non-students probably reckon its easy, so... if any none student boardster wins this tournament on Wednesday I will give €100 to a charity of your choice!

1. Who is running the event: DIT POker soc.
    2. The purpose of the event: gamble gamble gamble!
    3. Date and Location of event: Wed 17th Jan, dit aungier st, ground floor canteen
    4. Registration and Start time of event: reg 3pm, start at 3.30pm.
    5. Any prerequisites: nope!
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number: on the day
    7. Type of Tournament:hold'em turbo rebuy crapshoot.
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.: 5 euro for buy in rebuy and topup.
    9. Cost of registration: zero
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: all of it.
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.: sadly no.
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.: probably first three or four levels, as many as u like.
    13. Starting Chips: dunno yet, ask shoutman.
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.: see 13.
    15. Blind levels: all of them!
    16. Blind timeframes: 15-20 mins depending on runners.
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc): as many as we can justify... we have paid all final table players in an 18 player tourny!!
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill: at final table... EPT STANDARD... yea i said it!
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules: sure...
    20. Is there a tournament director:... shoutman!
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. shoutman and fiddlesticks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

What about....
    ditpoker wrote:
    if any none dit student boardster wins this tournament on Wednesday I will give €100 to a charity of your choice!

go on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

50 euro last longest bet, between u and me, loser pays 50 to a charity preselected by everyone here at boards!?!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

i used to be tourni director. lucky i have an exam on thursday or else i would be kicking up a fuss.

man am i unwell whats it called when every bone hurts?

antoodeaitis

ditpoker wrote:
    antoodeaitis

really annoyed bout being sick think im going to have to miss my exam tommorrow which means september will suck but sure it always does. as for you taylor i bet you 50 quid for charity that shoutman outlast ya?

I'm Not Having A 5euro Game Cost Me 200 Quid... Oh Look I Left Caps Lock On .... And Im Not Even Sorry!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

ditpoker wrote:
    I'm Not Having A 5euro Game Cost Me 200 Quid... Oh Look I Left Caps Lock On .... And Im Not Even Sorry!!!

See if you had the right attitude, you'd be thinking of WINNING that money, not losing it... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'm sorry anto I cant take Jeffs money and give it to you. I'm going to sit out this game and just TD this tourney, TD and study for exams lol.

on another note with everyone doing exams will anybody be playing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

shoutman wrote:
    I'm sorry anto I cant take Jeffs money and give it to you. I'm going to sit out this game and just TD this tourney, TD and study for exams lol.

Think Ill join you at that! First time I've started college and actually felt like a student because of no money!! Really strange feeling....

aodea wrote:
    on another note with everyone doing exams will anybody be playing

Yea that is a good point at the moment only one person has replied to the DIT email saying they will play this tournement, are there any definates here? I'll be in college tommorow so hopefully will print out some dodgy posters and stick them up.

Jeff is the poster king so maybe he'll volunteer...

Think Ill join you at that! First time I've started college and actually felt like a student because of no money!! Really strange feeling....

no AOdea
    no Fiddlesticks
    no Shoutman
    no Dave
    no Faaaaaaa

what kinda game is this going to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

i have two exams to do from yesterday til next friday and with my luck both happen to be on on Wednesday so i may have to give it a miss aswell.

anyone going to the jackpot tomorrow?

Trippie wrote:
    i have two exams to do from yesterday til next friday and with my luck both happen to be on on Wednesday so i may have to give it a miss aswell.

nah dont want to kill everyone matbe i could get a bubble thingy. that would be awsome

aodea wrote:
    really annoyed bout being sick think im going to have to miss my exam tommorrow

does that mean that i get my bet refunded if you dont sit the exam?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭DITTag

Jeff by the looks of things you will be lucky to get a non student boardie to post on this thread never mind show up on wednesday!!!

I'm playing and so is a mate of mine - Tight Timmy.

Trippie wrote:

Jackpots not on tomorrow because of Cash League Final. Its on Friday instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

looks like i've to sit it out, its not that i've an exam, but im finished my exams and will be on the pish!

DITTag wrote:
    Jackpots not on tomorrow because of Cash League Final. Its on Friday instead.

is that not next week, the 18th

Thats true!!:confused:

looks like i've to sit it out, its not that i've an exam, but im finished my exams and will be on the pish!

Is gambling not the best way to start a night on the piss?

luke, td and play. fiddler, luke'll stake ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

shoutman wrote:
    Is gambling not the best way to start a night on the piss?

Usually is, but im finished at 12:30, so i wont be i the best condition come that time!

Yea fiddler I'll stake ya, hopefully there will be a few more numbers for this seeing as stephen can now accept cash and register players for the national student poker championship WAHEY.

If everyone can tell their colleges about the registration that is happening that would be great.

I'm sure jeff has a few dit poker hoodys that could be given as prizes for something or other.....

Also check out our new bebo page.

http://ditpoker.bebo.com

This still going ahead on Wed?

Finally got my passport today, and turn 21 next week so hopefully visits to Jackpot and SE will become frequent in my schedule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I'd love to play this and make u donate all your money to charity jeff :D , but I've exams this week :(

Yea this is on tommorrow, reg from three o clock. Bring everyone you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

is there much interest for this luke?

I've got 2 lads coming in early - we'll probably play a cheap SnG from about 2 if others have nothing better to do, drop in

I'll be the guy in the grey hoodie with a "Strategy Economics" book near me somewhere (probably won't be open though!) Stupid exams....

There should be at least a few tables.....

theres ten people who have said they are definately playing but i think a lot of the time no one responds to the emails and stuff so we should get a few...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

DITTag wrote:
    Thats true!!:confused:

u playin today??

Ill make an appearance!!! Wont be there until half 4 or so

5 x 80 tickets up for grabs, some cash for 6th and 7th.

tickets went to:

ditpoker
    aodea
    Legend_DIT
    Tight Timmy (legend_dit's mate)
    and ross (AKQJ10's mate)

ticket bubble was ITT_Pat and cash bubble was shoutman.

I was NEVER a big stack today... delighted I won my ticket for just €15! My other mate I brought along finished between ITT-Pat and shoutman - can't believe HE got that far, he's usually a donk - that's bad, coming from ME! :D

So many big stacks just self destructed today!

shoutman.... ITT-Pat...... big stack go bye bye! brian... update your blog!

ditpoker wrote:

Already done it... it wasn't a tourney full of complex decisions for me though, and I have to improve at recalling hand details...

Anyway, you update yours!!

i updated mine on the 29th! that'll do

I have my reasons for getting rid of my bigstack.... however ross has no reason to slowroll anyone, not that I was bothered, oh and jeff i loved the j7diamond hand, I could not of played it better apart from the river, checking in that situation is poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

ditpoker wrote:
    shoutman wrote:
    have my reasons for getting rid of my bigstack....

in fairness i think i had a better reason to blow my big stack. i mean i was already a half hour late for work, so made the call with QQ(i know i know, not stellar play on a ticket bubble in a satellite), but i mean it was only €40 in between 5th nd 6th

FECKIN JEFF WIT HIS STUPID AK!!!

I had a hot date..... what could be a better reason then that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

eh... i was lik an hour late for work and still had lik an hour travel to get der!!! losing job: not really worth the extra €40!!

Nd anyway, accordin to anto ya cant count your girlfriend of lik 2-3 years as a hot date!!

shoutman wrote:
    I had a hot date..... what could be a better reason then that?
    luke... she is your SISTER!!! it may be legal where you come from but where im from it is at least frowned upon.. and very ILLEGAL!!!