Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I got freakin caught.

• 08-01-2007 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

So about a couple of months ago i got a call from a english sales rep saying that they knew i was selling my car and they have a buyer lined up.

They asked for my credit card number just so they can charge me for placing the add to sell my car.Without hesitation i gave it to em,but to avail i got no call from a buyer and when the same company called before the christmas about the same thing,i read the riot act to them they asked me to hold and i was waiting for nearly 20 mins before they hung up.

I rang again and again and the same thing happened waiting about 20 mins before they actually hang up.I got my bill from my credit card and they charged me 120 euro plus another tenner for 'trans atlantic exchange',i was fuming.

I would never give out my credit card number but i was in such desperation to sell my car (and i still am) because im going to oz in feb.

I was thinking about taking things futher,but i think it would be a waste of time,time of which i dont have because i have to get myself organised.

I'm kicking myself,a friend of mine told me tat this was on the radio awhile back and a few people around the country have got caught doing the same thing.

So be warned! Bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Also, don't leave your doors open when you leave the house; Thieves might rob something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Giblet wrote:
    Also, don't leave your doors open when you leave the house; Thieves might rob something.
    Who says kicking people when they're down isn't fun?!

Hard luck bud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

Erm, I know someone that wants a car. Just gimme your credit card details for my fee and you might want to through in your bank details incase your card is maxed out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Jaysus. Fair play mate. I don't think I would have the balls to admit something like that.

So don't say you haven't been warned ..........eh other silly people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

was this carzone? They tell you about it after you add your car to the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Contact your bank and get a chargeback. You've been the victim of a fraud. And fortunately for you, as they don't have a pin number or signature, they have no proof it was you who made the transaction and can't fight the chargeback. If the Bank ask why you're requesting the chargeback, say it's because the service you paid for was never provided.

Why on earth would anyone need to place an ad if they've already got a buyer looking for your particular model of car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Sleepy wrote:
    Contact your bank and get a chargeback. You've been the victim of a fraud.
    Yes go after them as best you can. However I worked for a bank and i'm not sure what comeback you have seeing as you gave them the card number and sufficient details to allow them to charge it. Still saying that I wouldn't let it lie without at least a bit of a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

I'm sorry,

but come on...
    They asked for my credit card number just so they can charge me for placing the add to sell my car.Without hesitation i gave it to em,

Someone rings and asks for your CC details? A harsh lesson is a lesson learned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Thats the worst thing about putting your car up for sale privately....Your going to get bombarded by these assholes.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ouch, hard luck but at least you'll know in future. There are far too many people out there who would love to get their hands on your cash. Contact your CC issuer as mentioned and maybe put away the credit card for a while. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

dvega,
    I can fix the problem for you. Just PM me your new credit card number, exp date and the security code on the back and I can get your money back...

No srsly though, hard luck dude. But this is why they tell you *never* to give out your credit card details to just anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

PWN3D

Ring your bank, back-charge or something like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

dvega wrote:
    I would never give out my credit card number but i was in such desperation to sell my car (and i still am) because im going to oz in feb.
    I'll swap you some magic beans for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Geek Nose

Giblet wrote:
    lol

Got any more profound advice "dvega"? Should I lock my car at night too? Or if a pikey calls to my house asking for odd jobs, maybe I shouldn't give him my house keys and head off to work? Should I tie my laces before I go up an escalator?

Please tell me what to do, o wise one! And thanks for the first warning! I was just about to give my CC details to a random spam caller!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

about your car... my friend in Nigeria Dr. Paul Mboma was looking to buy it. Whats you credit card no.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

zippy28 wrote:
    Yes go after them as best you can. However I worked for a bank and i'm not sure what comeback you have seeing as you gave them the card number and sufficient details to allow them to charge it. Still saying that I wouldn't let it lie without at least a bit of a fight.

If you worked instead for a credit card company then you would be aware that under financial regulations both the credit card company and the retail provider are equally liable. Hence how there is such a thing as a credit card chargeback but nothing like that with cheques for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Someone really needs to rent the movie Matchstick Men.
    It'll give you an idea of how these places operate and will entertain you at the same time. Great movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Lust4Life wrote:
    It'll give you an idea of how these places operate and will entertain you at the same time. Great movie.

Tis a very good movie indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Go visit them, get a cheap flight, and a baseball bat.
    TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

this has happened to a few friends of mine, youll notice that if you update ur adds in gbg.ie etc. they will call again. If you talk to the relevant ombudsman(sp?) they will tell you that if you submit a complaint in writing to the company involved you should get your money back....he did anyway.(one of my mates)
    hope this helps.

Oh and dont be such a numpty in future;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

I'm sorry, but people that get caught out like this amaze me.

I wouldn't give my own bank my credit card details over the phone, nevermind some company that claim they have a buyer - and wanna place an ad. :rolleyes:

Dear god man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i have here the finest snake oil. yours for only €120 plus trans atlantic exchange fee.

everyone who puts a car in the buy and sell gets a call from these people. they should really put a warning in the car section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Never eat yellow snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Lust4Life wrote:

Totally agree, great movie, I'd never heard of it when I rented it, so glad I did rent it :)

Anyway OP, fair play to you for admitting it and placing a warning to others. Most fraudsters get away with their frauds for so long because most people are too embarrassed to admit they got caught. Anyway, lesson learned, fight for your money now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Having worked for a 'well known' Irish car magazine you really would be amazed at the ease with which people will hand over the cc details. 1 in every 30-40 would actually ask the question - 'How do I actually know that you are who you say you are?'.

Typical conversation..

Me: Hi, I see that you have your car for sale in the BuyAndSell there, hows that going for you?

Mr X: Ah well, not too good, only a few calls for it so far like.

Me: Oh right, well thats unusual as I know that we've sold a number of cars with a similar spec to your own in the last 2 days!* Do you think that we could help you?

Mr X: Well what do you need like? Surely ye guys would need photos?

Me: No, not at all - sure we've a picture library of thousand of cars**, so we'd have no problem in finding one exactly like your own! Apart from that all I'd need is CC or Laser details to process the deal and get your car sold as soon as possible.

Mr X: Well, ok then.. Visa, 3331 **** **** etc.

*We obviously would have no idea as to how many cars our publication would have helped to sell.
    **While we did carry some library pics, they would usually be wrong ie. wrong colour, no alloys, or even a totally different car altogether!

Point of the matter is, never ever give in to cold calls. They are an expense that you didn't plan for, and therefore are probably not a good idea!

We had dealings with the OP's UK company before. They were featured on BBC's Watchdog program back in 2005, and were supposed to have been shut down, but it is very easy to set up a similar company in a matter of hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I haven't seen Matchstick Men but I'll think I'll rent judging by the glowing reviews.

I also recommend Boiler Room. It deals with fraud in buying shares and not cars, but an excellent film anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭ats

in relation to chargebacks you dont need a pin or signature for internet purchases so it may not be valid for a chargeback. that said always worth chancing your arm becuase the seller vendor needs to prove to teh CC company that the charge was valid.

So detail to yoru card company what service you expected and what you paid them for then let them chase it up. in most cases if its small enough teh card company will refund you. Though they should just laugh at ya for giving your details like that over the phone. Bit like that priest in the paper that got phished last week. he lost€5000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

what does "freakin" mean? You were freaked out? "I got freakin caught" - you got caught freaking out? I'm confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

If you worked instead for a credit card company then you would be aware that under financial regulations both the credit card company and the retail provider are equally liable

Think you'll find he said BANK.

Go after the CC company.
    Tell them you know nothing about it and see what happens.
    I wouldn't even mention the services not received etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Sounds like the same guys that rang up my Dad a few months ago.
    He told them where to go purely because he thought it was a crap deal as opposed to a scam.

Call them up again claiming that a friend mentioned that they might be able to help sell your car & then once you've got someone on the line try to get as much info from them as possible.
    Also, did they mention that they have a website to you OP?
    Might be worth a google about.

Hard luck btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

Thanks for all the posts except for the half ass'd cheeky comments,if i wanted to get lectures for the stupid mistake i done i would have just told my mother.

I am gona fight this and see if i can at least get some satisfaction back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

dvega wrote:
    Thanks for all the posts except for the half ass'd cheeky comments,if i wanted to get lectures for the stupid mistake i done i would have just told my mother.

Ok fair enough you made a mistake, but but you must have known you were gonna get a mixed bag from boardsies:rolleyes:

Really silly thing to do btw, but I think I can understand why you might have done it...tough luck.
    Dear god man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Geek Nose

what does "freakin" mean? You were freaked out? "I got freakin caught" - you got caught freaking out? I'm confused.
    Without quoting someone, nobody actually knows who you're talking to. DUH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Geek Nose wrote:
    Without quoting someone, nobody actually knows who you're talking to. DUH!
    The OP!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I'd be interested to see if the OP gets any recourse from his bank.

If someone takes your credit card number without your permission and uses it for a financial transaction you have not approved, you're a victim of fraud.

If you give someone your credit card details when they ring you up and ask for them, you're a victim of... naivety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

Can you tell us what the name of the company was that did this to you so we can watch out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Any and all companies or persons that cold call you and ask for your credit card or bank details should be ignored. Just hang up straight away, or if you're feeling giddy just string them on while you pretend to look for the card.

Knowing the company name probably won't help as it can be changed easily and there are probably more than one. Just because Scams Ltd ring you up and not Bogus Company Inc, doesn't mean that Scams Ltd are in any way legit.

Vehiclematch.ie is the name of the company.
    I was talking to the credit card company today annd they said cause i gave my credit card 'willingly' theres nothing they can do.

He said to contact comsumer affairs if i want to take things futher and if they take money again to cancel my credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭destraynor

http://www.blagger.com/db4/company_id/3329/companyname/Vehiclematch.html

Not the first, probably not the last. Their UK website was shutdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

http://www.carsireland.ie/
    http://www.autonet.ie/
    http://www.autotrader.ie/
    http://www.buyandsell.ie/

That'll be €479.99 for my services. Please forward me your credit card details and a naked photo of your wife so I can process the transaction.

Nick wrote:
    http://www.carsireland.ie/
    http://www.autonet.ie/
    http://www.autotrader.ie/
    http://www.buyandsell.ie/

That'll be €479.99 for my services. Please forward me your credit card details and a naked photo of your wife so I can process the transaction.

My car is already on all these mags/sites,so you dont get zip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

dvega wrote:
    My car is already on all these mags/sites,so you dont get zip...
    not even transatlantic exchange fee? :D