Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The O'Byrne Cup Thread

• 06-01-2007 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭

Round One

Wicklow v. Carlow

Longford v. DIT

Offaly v. UCD

Laois v. Kildare

Louth v. Meath

Westmeath v Athlone IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Werent Wexford supposed to play DIT? Wexford got a walkover in it because supposedly 5 players from the DIT team were assaulted in the res. blocks the night before. Thats what I heard. And Wicklow are playing Wexford in the second round now next week, again in Aughrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Mushy wrote:
    Werent Wexford supposed to play DIT? Wexford got a walkover in it because supposedly 5 players from the DIT team were assaulted in the res. blocks the night before. Thats what I heard. And Wicklow are playing Wexford in the second round now next week, again in Aughrim

It was actually Dundalk IT (Maybe you meant that, but usually DunDalk IT is written DKIT)

Anyways; todays O'Byrne Cup Results:

Longford 0-14 DIT 2-9
    Offaly 2-11 UCD 2-6
    Laois 1-11 Kildare 0-7
    Louth 1-11 Meath 0-13 a.e.t.
    Westmeath 2-14 Athlone IT 0-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Mushy wrote:

The assault happened before Christmas

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0106/dundalk.html
    Dundalk Institute of Technology have been forced to withdraw from Sunday's O'Byrne Cup fixture against Wexford as a result of a violent attack on five players.

Team manager and Dundalk IT sports officer Michael Heeney explained how a break-in, two weeks before Christmas, at the house of the five players had left physical and mental scars.

Heeney said it was in the best interest of all involved not to fulfil the fixture.
    Click here to find out more!

The five students were tied up during the break-in.

Two of them sustained serious injuries and were detained in hospital for two nights.

The car of one of the five was also stole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Ahh, Kildare starting as they mean to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Dubs beat DCU 3-14 to 0-12 tonight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

No surprise there then. I didn't get to it. Were you there? How did it go being played in Ringsend? Was it a good venue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Round 2

Wicklow v Wexford

Offaly v D.I.T.

Laois v Louth

Westmeath v Dublin

Flukey wrote:
    No surprise there then. I didn't get to it. Were you there? How did it go being played in Ringsend? Was it a good venue?

Yeah, I was there all right. It was actually a good night for it and Dermot Connolly and Dotsie O'Callaghan played really well. Let's hope this is the start of a good season for the Dubs so that we can go 2 steps further and bring SAM home (where it belongs!)

Might trip down to Mullingar on Sunday.

Wicklow 0-07 Wexford 0-05

Wicklow and Micko progress...

The Micko Wicklow bandwagon rolls on. Another match in poor weather conditions. Bigger tests lie ahead.

That was a great win for Wicklow. To not concede a single point in the last 25 mins against that wind is something else. And then to pop up with two well taken points themselves...shows a new commitment in the team.

Matty who? Only got one point from a free, missed 5 other easier chances than that, missed a one-on-one with the keeper. He made me think of Cristiano Ronaldo...the one ya love to see make a mess of things.

Wicklow just need to keep a lot more discipline. To play against Dub or Westmeath next week and get 6 yellows, that wont do. Unfortunately I'll be away next week, but ya know, lets hope they have Setanta

So its Dublin up next for Wicklow. Plans cancelled, more than likely end up at the match. Either way, I'll definately be at home for it. Think this one could be one step too far for Wicklow, but sure all they can do is play their best then hope something good comes from it.

Rest of the Results:

Laois 0-13 Louth 0-12

Offaly 2-13 DIT 1-8

Westmeath 0-8 Dublin 2-11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

So its Dublin who will make the precarious trip next week to "Fortress Aughrim"
    I dont envy them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭ooter

if anyone has any travel tips for getting to aughrim i'd really appreciate it.
    i can get a bus or train as far as arklow but haven't a clue how to get to aughrim from there.
    is a taxi my only option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

By the way I understand the match is pay cash at the gate...

Rathdrum is a nearer stop on the train from Dublin. If you were stuck for transport, then you could try prearrange with Aughrim cabs to collect from Rathdrum off the train? They have cars, vans and buses of all shapes and sizes, and they may already had the notion to put in place such a service for the match?

Your biggest problem is liable to be train times. There isn't too many trains up and back on the East Cost railway each day. Check irishrail.ie for details.

Regards,

Semi-Finals

Saturday 20th January 2007
    Aughrim (2.00p.m.)

Wicklow v Dublin

Sunday 21st January 2007
    Tullamore (2.00p.m.)

Offaly v Laois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

ooter wrote:
    if anyone has any travel tips for getting to aughrim i'd really appreciate it.
    i can get a bus or train as far as arklow but haven't a clue how to get to aughrim from there.
    is a taxi my only option?

IMO best way to get there is:

1) Train to Rathdrum
    2) Thumb to Augrim

There will be hundreds of cars with GAA supporters travelling through Rathdrum to Aughrim and you will have no problem getting a lift. Expect a slagging though on the way down.

Up Wicklow

A

thanks for the info lads but it looks like i'd be better off getting the bus to Arklow and taking my chances from there.
    there's only 1 train up and back to rathdrum/arklow that day that would get me down and back on time and the bus to rathdrum is showing up as taking 2 and a half hours,don't fancy that!
    the bus to arklow only takes an hour and a half and they seem fairly frequent.
    how many miles is it from arklow to aughrim?

ooter wrote:
    how many miles is it from arklow to aughrim?

It'd roughly be between 10 & 15 miles, would it be Wicklow people?

Ooter, you'd have no idea how much better it'd be attempting to go to Rathdrum that day. Every car from the East coast of Wicklow, but probably not as far as arklow, will be going through there. Pre-arrange a taxi or thumb it could be your best option. Who knows, might even be me given ya a lift if ya do it that way. Not sure how many will be in the car though. Everyones descending on Aughrim this week.

P.S: Even get the train down, then the bus back. Concerns are understandable for not getting back to the train, and yes, buses are more frequent.

cheers mushy,thanks for the info

Dublin 0-15 Wicklow 1-05

The end of Micko's run in this competition.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Mossin wrote:
    Dublin 0-15 Wicklow 1-05

The end of Micko's run in this competition.

MICKO MUST GO

Well, Wicklow beat Wicklow today. Not a good performance at all, a few individual ones but thats about it. How many times did the dubs knock the ball out of Wicklow players hands? And every breaking ball, Dublin won. Apart from the one time when Hyland won it, but he was punched in the face accidentaly, so it was a throw up...which they lost on the breaking ball. Then the wides in the second half...oh not a good sight. Must say, Dublin forwards took their scores very well in the first half. Oddly enough, the best piece of play came for the Wicklow goal, pierced through the Dublin everything really, all the way from half back to the square. At least now the hype will die down and Micko can get on with the league campaign

does anyone know where the final is being played?

It won't be in Aughrim! :D

ooter wrote:
    does anyone know where the final is being played?

As far as I know, it's being played in O'Moore Park in Portlaoise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

dcr22B wrote:
    As far as I know, it's being played in O'Moore Park in Portlaoise

I heard Tullamore, which would seem more likely considering it's Laois-Dublin.

Couldn't believe Laois pulled that out of the fire today. Last update on the radio with ten minutes to go said Laois down by four points. Fair play to Ross for scoring the penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 humphty

Longford V Athlone IT in the O Byrne shield final next sunday

Longford beat Kildare yesterday in Pearse Park
    Longford were desperate and Kildare was worse considering Longford had a man sent off in the first half.

just been checking around and from what i can gather it's in portlaoise next sunday.
    at least it's a lot easier to get to than fcukin Aughrim!
    i don't mind the fact that they're away again,the away games are always the best craic...........
    Laois look like they're taking this competition very seriously,should be a good game

ooter wrote:
    at least it's a lot easier to get to than fcukin Aughrim!

So are ya going to tell us how ya finally managed to get to Aughrim?

O'Byrne Cup Final

Sunday 28th January
    Tullamore @ 2 p.m.

Laois vs Dublin

From the Hoganstand.com/laois
    This Sunday’s O’Byrne Cup final between Dublin and Laois is to go ahead at O’Connor Park, Tullamore, the GAA has announced.

The game will get underway at 2pm.

It is the first time in a number of years that the game has gone ahead at a neutral venue but Laois have had to forego home advantage as O’Moore Park is currently undergoing work.

Leinster Council decided that Portarlington was not a suitable venue for a match which is expected to draw a large crowd and thus the tie has moved to Tullamore.

Mushy wrote:
    So are ya going to tell us how ya finally managed to get to Aughrim?

got the 11.30 train to Arklow,arrived about 1 o clock and made our way in to the town centre to find a cab company.couldn't find one so i rang the number of a cab company in Aughrim that i had taken off the internet.ur man answers and says "i'm up outside Arklow train station,make ur way back up to the Church and i'll pick u up."
    my self and my mate pissed ourselves laughing when ur man arrived.instead of a cab he's driving a 40(at least) seater bus and there's not a sinner on the thing! he charged us a tenner each and took us up to Aughrim.we arrived about 1.45,just nice time for the match.ur man told us there'd be a bus going back from the Hotel he dropped us off at at 5.30(only cost a fiver) so we got that and then got the 6.10 bus back to Dublin.
    i'm only getting the heat back in to my Toes now!

Portlaoise was going to be a piece of piss to get to,Tullamore will be a whole other story.............
    one thing's for sure,it'll be an early start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

ooter wrote:
    Portlaoise was going to be a piece of piss to get to,Tullamore will be a whole other story.............
    one thing's for sure,it'll be an early start!

When coming down the motorway, take the turn off for Monesterevin, go through the town, take a turn off for Portarlington, go through Portarlington => Cloneygowan => Geashill and arrive Tullamore.

Easy enough tbh, there as other ways ie. go to Port Laois and follow signposts from there but the above route is the one I always take.

I presume it is pay on the gate? Wonder if there'll be much trouble getting in :confused:

Final Result:

Dublin 1-18 Laois 2-13 [AET]

I didn't make this game, but from reports I've heard and read this was a great game.
    It's early season yet but congrats to the Dubs on today's victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Was at the game today, 4500 odd people.

Wasn't a 'dirty' match but there were an awful lot of frees, cards and of course the 4 reds. Fairly exciting stuff though!

Laughed my arse off at Clancy getting all hot and bothered in the 2nd half :D

When receiving the cup, the crowd were chanting 'We want Sam!' up at Moran, and that is all that Dublin will be judged on at the end of the day.

I was watching it on Setanta. It was a great match, real championship stuff. A great win for the Dubs. Roll on Saturday night! :)