Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike Shop in Galway

• 06-01-2007 12:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭

Anyone know where there are any? I used to go to one in Newcastle a few years ago but it closed. Can't remember seeing any since I moved back to Galway though?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

There's one in the Cornstore on Middle St. Nice guy.

There's also one at the end of Woodquay who's supposed to be very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Eurorunner

Fey! wrote:
    There's also one at the end of Woodquay who's supposed to be very good.
    Yeah, that ones been there for years...think its walshes?

If my memory serves me right, think theres one beside N17 Electrical, Headford Rd.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

What kinda bike are you looking for?

The one out by the N17 is the biggest. Walshes is pretty good but a bit low on choice, the guy in the cornstore is a C0ck and his prices are crazy. Avoid.

s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Hairdo

I think the guy in the Cornstore is way cheaper than the guy in Woodquay. May have a look in the one near N17 tho. Am looking for a bike myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Thanks guys. Don't need a bike, just need to get it fixed up a bit. Think I'll try the one in woodquay anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

The bikestore in the Cornstore is a fvckin joke in every way possible, dont bother your arse.If you just need a fix up,try Europa Cycles(if its still there) opposite the Cathedral in the entrance to Fisheries field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

The guy in the Cornstore is more specialist than anything else.. he has the expensive pro standard (ish) bikes.

Kearneys I think it is near Rascals restaurent beside N17 would be the job for getting it fixed up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

DRakE wrote:
    The guy in the Cornstore is more specialist than anything else.. he has the expensive pro standard (ish) bikes.

Not at all..........Iffy parts on terrible frames with crap prices.They are only expensive because they are overpriced junk, simple.If your going to spend decent money your better off buying from the UK or getting chainreaction cycles up the north to build you one to your specific needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

My 2 cents
    For repairs, Europa Cycles opposite the Cathedral [It IS still there]

For new, Cycle Options at Harrys in Ballybane is very Good.
    Nigel Forde runs the show there, he knows what he's doing.

Alan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Got my Saracen3 in Mountain Trail ( Cornstore ) have found them to be top notch and you also get a free service at 6weeks and 6months, also they do a "Bike Park" when open just pop your bike into them and they mind it for you for 1euro a day, thats ease of mind if you have forgotten your key/lock considering all the thefts of bikes going on in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭galway008

The cornstore (Mountain Trail) is a disaster, very unreliable, unprofessional people. Very bad customer service, avoid.

Kearneys beside N17 I found much better more down to earth and helpful, prices are ok as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭rorymagory

A aburke said, Europa is the job. Bought a 2nd hand bike there myself for a decent price in september, they do a load of repairs too. Mate of mine uses them constantly as he still cant fix a puncture. Behind the rowing club opposite the cathedral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

OP - Europa is your best bet. Its near you and they give great service at a good price. For other stuff head to Nigel in Harrys in Ballybane. Stay away from the flute in the Cornstore. Walshes and Kearneys are ok but only just - their customer service manner could do with modernisation...

I bought bikes from Harrys and Constore in the past but the best value is to be had by importing it yourself (My Marin = Irish retail price €2,400, US price €720)

'cptr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Kearneys ftw... Just past the Galway Shopping centre and the Omniplex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 vitus123

:mad::mad::mad:
    padi89 wrote: »
    The bikestore in the Cornstore is a fvckin joke in every way possible, dont bother your arse.If you just need a fix up,try Europa Cycles(if its still there) opposite the Cathedral in the entrance to Fisheries field.

Get your facts right (padi89)

Get your facts right (padi89)The Question was BIKE SHOP

Get your facts Right (padi89)the QUESTION was Bike Shop Not Were to get a bike Repaired!!!!!!

Get your facts right.....The Question asked was bike shop ..not where to get cheap repairs done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

vitus123 the original poster said she just needs a repair, not a new bike.

My 2 cents would be to go to the Cornstore - I always found them great there. Went to Europa a few times over the years and whatever I got fixed there always broke really soon. Also, yer man there told me (after my wheels were bnt in half) that because my bike was unusual that I wouldn't be able to get replacements so he just straightened it. Never ran right afterm and the brake pads wore really fast cos of wearing against the wheel rim. Wandered into the one in the Corstore one day 'cos I worked nearby and they had my wheels in stock. Yer man in Europa just hadn't a clue what he was talking about.

:mad::mad:
    Not at all..........Iffy parts on terrible frames with crap prices.They are only expensive because they are overpriced junk, simple.If your going to spend decent money your better off buying from the UK or getting chainreaction cycles up the north to build you one to your specific needs.
    : mad: Bull****..... parts are all shimano,on branded frames? so Giant ,Cannondale,Trek,Fisher,Merida,Mongoose, are terrible frames? ...what the f--k are you cycling on?... (Crap Prices?) the cheapest in town!...o yes you buy on-line and dont support your local bike shop!

:mad::mad:
    galway008 wrote: »
    The cornstore (Mountain Trail) is a disaster, very unreliable, unprofessional people. Very bad customer service, avoid.

BULL**** ....they are Not unrelible & offer you a great service ,bike park & daily repairs ,where else in galway can offer you this service in the city centre the same day?......they are much cheaper on bikes than others!:rolleyes:

Kearneys beside N17 I found much better more down to earth and helpful, prices are ok as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I smell a troll - the original thread is almost a year and a half old and you have five of your total seven posts in here. vitus123 are you related to Corn Store guy by any chance? I'd say the original poster has changed their bike several times since the query.

I stand by what I originally said - poor service from Corn Store, Kearneys, Walshes and good service from Nigel (now opened his own shop) and Europa.

If anyone reading this REALLY wants good value, head to O'Neills in Tuam for an incredible selection.

'cptr

I smell a troll - the original thread is almost a year and a half old and you have five of your total seven posts in here. vitus123 are you related to Corn Store guy by any chance? I'd say the original poster has changed their bike several times since the query.
    'cptr

Woah, I'd even forgotten I'd posted a thread on this topic! I don't even have the same bike anymore. I carry out any minor repairs myself. I have been to both Mountain Trail and the shop on Woodquay both did a good job.

That poster is definitely in some way affiliated with Mountain Trail.. I mean why be so vitriolic? This thread is OLD!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I smell a troll - the original thread is almost a year and a half old and you have five of your total seven posts in here. vitus123 are you related to Corn Store guy by any chance?

I'd say you're not far from the truth there.

Mountain Trail is from my experience a sub standard store. I purchased a bike there about two years ago. Only bought it there cos it was the last years stock and I got a decent price. For the weeks after I bought it I had problem after problem. I would leave the bike in to be 'fixed' and it would come out with more problems than it went in with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭cL0h

Kearneys ftw... Just past the Galway Shopping centre and the Omniplex.

The most helpful and knowledgeable guy in Kearneys now has his own place in Liosban. It's called Nigels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Lol @ the quad post from vitus123.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Perrin

So he majority are saying europa is the best bet?
    I've gotta get my brakes and gears fixed along with other stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 ontheway

I always found Harry's Cycles near Eircom roundabout the best in the city for bikes. They know their stock (cater for everyone) and also carry out repairs in their on-site workshop. I have bought from them twice, received advice from them and also had them repair my sister's bike for very reasonable fees.

They have a whole floor dedicated to bikes and accessories (upstairs). I would certainly give them a shout. A quick search on Google gave me this number: (091) 752255. I'm sure they'll give you a quote for whatever you're looking for over the phone. Best of luck ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭8kvscdpglqnyr4

Without doubt Nigel's is the best place in the city (having tried a few of them!).

Mountain Trail FTW, use them almost every day, staff are sound, know their stuff and quality of bikes is excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

Steyr wrote: »
    Mountain Trail FTW, use them almost every day, staff are sound, know their stuff and quality of bikes is excellent.

If you use them almost every day, then that's a bad sign. Either that, or you buy a new bike every day.

Or you work there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

ErnieBert wrote: »
    Or you work there?
    Mountain Trail provide a secure bike parking service in town. Steyr probably uses it.

If you're a student who just wants your low-end mountain bike fixed cheaply I'd suggest Europa. If you want to buy or fix a good bike locally I'd recommend Nigel's.

Mountain Trail provide a secure bike parking service in town. Steyr probably uses it.

Correct.

Think I'll get more use of my thread. My last bike was stolen:mad: so am on the market for a good second-hand one to get me from a-b. Can you still buy second hand bikes in any shops around galway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭axiom32

try mill st station< report bike stolen and how the credit crunch budget has desolated ur desposable income<they have no inention of looking for it so may offer u one of the ones they have in storage >>>u may just get a decent one for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Alessandra wrote: »
    Think I'll get more use of my thread. My last bike was stolen:mad: so am on the market for a good second-hand one to get me from a-b. Can you still buy second hand bikes in any shops around galway?

I'd reccomend the place in the Cornstore.

A friend of mine reccomended them to me when I was looking for a 2nd hand bike. The place on Dominic Street and the place next to the Cathedral were sold out of 2nd handers.

I found them grand, good selection of 2nd hand bikes and nice friendly staff.

Would west ireland cycling be any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭SalthillGuy

I bought a kids bike in Nigels place in Liosbaun recently.
    This guy is excellent and knowledgeable.
    He has worked in the business for some time and has a good feel for what suits people.
    I agree, some ofthe other places will sell you anything, plus some of them are just repair shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Forget the lot of them. Got mine fixed last time with your man beside Jes' .No problems and an amazing stacking system.

Someone stole my bike,how sickened am I!

Can anyone recommend a store to get a second hand one?
    Something that'll just get me from A to B,maybe that won't be stolen....

Perrin wrote: »
    Someone stole my bike,how sickened am I!

Can anyone recommend a store to get a second hand one?
    Something that'll just get me from A to B,maybe that won't be stolen....

Mountain Trail in the Cornstore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

http://www.bikescheme.ie/

ask your employer to take part,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Steyr wrote: »
    Mountain Trail in the Cornstore.

how do they compare to Kearney Cycles ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

one of my wheels has a slight buckle, where would do a good job and not try to trick me into getting a new wheel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Same problem here Jizzlord, Europa said they'd replace it for me for 35 euro which seemed very reasonable.... keep putting it off though since the monthly budget keeps getting its ass kicked :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

Alessandra wrote: »

seen some bikes in that cash sales place up beside the crashed cars place up near nigels in liobaun (make sense?)

anyhow theres some bikes up there, wouldnt be purchasing one there but just though id let ye know. (cos they definately arent serviced)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

The problem with cheap wheels is that it's barely worth their time to try to get anything other than a tiny buckle out. They'll end up having to over-tighten a load of spokes and you'll end up with an imperfect wheel that will probably go wrong again in a few months time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dazzday

Was in the same boat recently looking for a bike.
    Best place ive seen recently is buckleycycles in Athlone.
    Very competitive prices, bang on owner and currently have a sale on.

Ended up with a 6month old Giant FCR 3 for €400

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

dazzday wrote: »
    Was in the same boat recently looking for a bike.
    Best place ive seen recently is buckleycycles in Athlone.
    Very competitive prices, bang on owner and currently have a sale on.

Ended up with a 6month old Giant FCR 3 for €400

thats a savage price for the giant.

Buckleys are great tbh, Peter, the mechanic is very good and the owner, Pat, is sound as feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭ultain

Kearney's..do they sell bells and other get out my way devices, was on their web-site didn't see anything....