Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roy Keane- topped poll of the physique most men would like

• 05-01-2007 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭

Did anybody see the poll taken about the most desired physique. Roy Keane topped it, showed a pic of him on the pitch after a match with his shirt off, didnt even look like he really had a "physique". Think brad pitt was number 2, who many here have branded simply skinny with no real muscle. Others were beckham and pearce brosnan and some other footballers.

Thought it a bit odd myself, some reporter woman said something like "you have to be realistic, brad pitt probably has a personal trainer and works out for hours a day, 7 days a week". I know plenty would disagree.

Perhaps it was one of these polls where they were given a choice of 20 people rather than be allowed pick there own, I never thought pearce brosnan would be in the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

I don't think all that many people really want a body builder style physique. Roy Keane was a serious athlete, hard as nails and looked it. I can't think of anybody I'd pick ahead of him off the top of my head.

As for Brad Pitt being branded skinny here, well we have a fair body building crowd here. They're clearly going to have a leaning towards a particular physique. Big! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I agree most would not want to be huge, it is that I just considered keane or beckham to have pretty normal bodies, I am not into soccer but have seen some other players who do look like they workout a bit dunno their names, maybe they were on the list, some brazilian lad.

I expected brad pitt on the list but when I think about it I dont know who else. I thought the new james bond guy maybe, definitely before pearce brosnan anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Ever see Freddie Lumberg (Arsenal Player)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

I would agree with the poll and continually find it amazing that so many people who want to look fit and in good shape train like a bodybuilder?

Most bodybuilders i see tend towards the fat side and continually harp on about how one day they are going to do more cardio and 'cut up'.

Fair play to Roy, he is still able to inspire despite being out of the game - now that i couldn't say about Ronnie Coleman or any female bodybuilder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

He probably scared the judges into picking him!
    A look from that man can turn ppl sterile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Lars Riedel is the perfect physical specimen. Soccer players are too weedy, and as for actors...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Anyone see the rugby game where Neil Back had his jersey ripped off? Early 30s and he was absolutely ripped, wouldn't have thought so.

I'd probably go for the body of a strong rugby back, low fat and strong core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Edward Norton from American history http://www.o-filmu.net/images/american_history_x.jpg would be something i'd be aiming at. Minus the insignia - hope that's ok to post!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭maxi-twist

Sangre wrote:
    Anyone see the rugby game where Neil Back had his jersey ripped off? Early 30s and he was absolutely ripped, wouldn't have thought so.

I'd probably go for the body of a strong rugby back, low fat and strong core.

Same for me,josh lewsey probably,ripped to shreds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭because_I_can

sprinters physique is the way forward. johnson, christie etc all made of granite, fast as fvck, strong as oxen and BF ~ 5%. most sprinters are 180lbs or more.

pitt was 155 in fight club. all he had was low BF. even sly in rocky had little enough muscle, just ripped.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

The new bond looks deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

sprinters physique is the way forward. johnson, christie etc all made of granite, fast as fvck, strong as oxen and BF ~ 5%. most sprinters are 180lbs or more.

pitt was 155 in fight club. all he had was low BF. even sly in rocky had little enough muscle, just ripped.
    I read somewhere that in rocky III or IV, Sly got down to about 2.8% BF... not sure how accurate that is. But it was listed as ''fact'' when i read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

BossArky wrote:
    The new bond looks deadly.

Not really...

LundiMardi wrote:
    I read somewhere that in rocky III or IV, Sly got down to about 2.8% BF... not sure how accurate that is. But it was listed as ''fact'' when i read it.
    Yes I saw stallone say it himself on biography channel, doesnt mean he was measured correctly though... he said the current mr olympia at the time was 4 or 5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Christian Bale in American Psycho or if i felt like being a little bigger then in Batman Begins. My hats off to him for doing incredible body work for films. The Machinist to Batman Begins..... nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

http://images.businessweek.com/mz/05/40/52d.jpg

Pitt in Fight Club - who wouldn't want to look like that? It's all tone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Looks light to me, and it's all about low body fat. A lot of people could do that if they wanted to, getting below the 10% mark is not all that hard when you put in some effort - it's about discipline.

yeah, and climbing everest isn't all that hard. It just takes discipline.

Yep, let's start comparing dropping 6-7% of body fat to climbing Mount Everest.

Well played.

How about Mr. Couture?

daveirl wrote:
    It's pretty impressive alright... Gotta say i'd be pretty happy with his physique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

rubadub wrote:
    Did anybody see the poll taken about the most desired physique. Roy Keane topped it,

OK, but who was polled? People from Cork, lesbians, Simon Cowell fans?

The physique I'd most like to see atop a pole? Roy Keanes :D

It must be the tattoo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

can't say keano does it for me though. either does ronnie coleman. i'd probablt go somewhere in the mid point of those two.

daveirl wrote:

I find it hard to believe he would look like that with no weight training. It is well known that he does train. I am not saying he is huge, just that you do not get like that from being thin alone. I know plenty of lads who have a BF% similar to his in that film, they have very thin arms, his arms are much bigger than any skinny bloke I have seen (not saying they are huge but far bigger than somebody who does no training). As I said in another thread I think some peoples perspectives are a bit skewed as to what a untrained body actually looks like, due to being in gyms or reading BB mags.

I did expect him to be on the poll, you often hear his body being commented on. I am still surprised Keane topped it. It would be like a poll for the best female body and somebody like juliette lewis or julia roberts winning it, - sure they have alright bodies but you do not hear them really commented on like beyonce or elle mcpherson.

I saw that bruce lee biopic the other night, brandon lee looked great in it, but nothing like bruce!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

I actually thought Pitt looked sick in fight club! Now as has been stated in previous posts my choice of body should I have one would be Bale in Batman Begins. I couldn't get that big now as it would kill me when I do triathlons so I'm aiming for that American Psycho look. Soon as I finish with the triat's is Batman Begins all the way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭jman0

I can't think of many footballers to model oneself on.
    They are normally all Thunder Thighs and skinny on top!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

I'd say Roy Keane looked hard as nails because he had a reputation and the right face for it - as opposed to a physique thing.

I dunno, maybe I'm way off the mark but I would have thought that if most men could wake up in the morning with any body they wanted, most would go for something along the lines of this;
    ee8be-401.jpg

jman0 wrote:
    I can't think of many footballers to model oneself on.
    They are normally all Thunder Thighs and skinny on top!
    Christiano Ronaldo is in pretty good shape

Iregk, I would have gone for Bale's Physique in American Psycho ahead of BB. Better definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Well If you are looking for inspiration for the best arms just look gynamists especially the rings
    1093268076.37251.jpg
    jovtchev_jordan.jpg
    safoshkin_alexander.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Umaro wrote:
    Pitt in Fight Club - who wouldn't want to look like that? It's all tone.

Me, i would hate to look like that. Actually, i would need to lose 80 pounds of muscle to look like that. Rubbish.

rubadub wrote:
    I find it hard to believe he would look like that with no weight training. It is well known that he does train.

Actually, like a lot of Hollywood he trains for roles, as he says so himself. He was asked does he enjoy the gym and he replied , "to be honest, no. It's one aspect of my job that i don't enjoy that much. However, when i take a role i make a commitment to represent that role so i will but in the time to look as i need to look."

As such, fair play to his work ethic, but he is not a fan of working out, and doesn't when he doesn't need to!

** Also please note the above is not a direct source, just from memory so i may have gotten something wrong. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I agree with JSB, all gymnasts are ripped to shreds, great core strength, I'd want to be a 6"2 olympic gymnest lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

t-ha wrote:
    I dunno, maybe I'm way off the mark but I would have thought that if most men could wake up in the morning with any body they wanted, most would go for something along the lines of this;

Finally posted a pic of yourself t-ha:D

As for an acheivable body, I would pick Daniel Craig. Not a great pic here to showcase, but he looks in great shape in the other shots in CR.

A realistically achievable body that can be maintained without eating a chicken and 2 shakes for breakfast. And lets not forget that he is 38.
    images%3Fq%3Ddaniel%2Bcraig%26svnum%3D10%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D

Linoge wrote:
    A realistically achievable body that can be maintained without eating a chicken and 2 shakes for breakfast.
    Many viewers are gasping at how buff you appear in the swimsuit scene. What's the James Bond workout?
    Nothing special. I went to the gym, I pushed weights, I ran about. It was intense. I did an hour and a half every day. We increased the weights rapidly because that's the only way to build up, and I was on a high-protein diet. At the end of the workout, I'd do 20 minutes on the bike to keep the fat down. There's no real secret to it. You can find it in any heath magazine. I've kept up going to the gym, but not quite as intently as during the film.

Actually, Craig was on a high protein diet while working out for the role. I know a few guys who come in about 18.5 to 20 stone of solid muscle, and i don't know anyone who has a chicken for breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

t-ha wrote:
    I'd say Roy Keane looked hard as nails because he had a reputation and the right face for it - as opposed to a physique thing.

ee8be-401.jpg

Ehhh no thanks mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

If a guy was aspiring to look like Bale in BB or Daniel Craig in CR I'd be only too happy to help them achieve that goal ;)

And as rightly pointed out by Dragan it's achieved by considerably more than some chicken and a few protein shakes :rolleyes: And ftr, Pitt does look kinda skinny in Fight Club...

g'em wrote:
    And ftr, Pitt does look kinda skinny in Fight Club...
    Right, so we've now got a lady's opinion on this ;) . Although I do know a few girls who would be happy enough to meet a guy with his body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

padi89 wrote:
    Ehhh no thanks mate.
    Can you expand on that a little?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Have to say, whilst Pitt was a bit skinny in Fight Club, his physique in Troy was to me much more impressive:

040514_troy.jpg

I think in terms of size, I wouldn't like to look like a lot of modern pro bodybuilders. Maybe for a day or two for the novelty, but not in general. The 70s era bodybuilders, are to me, more asthetic looking. In particular, Serge Nubret circa 1976:

sn600.jpg

Or even good old Arnold around the same period:

m16.jpg

Apologies about the big images!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Isn't Pitt about 6'1'? Didn't he weight about 11 stone in Fight Club? How could anyone not consider that skinny. That lighting helped me looked a lot better as well

Dragan wrote:
    Actually, like a lot of Hollywood he trains for roles, as he says so himself. He was asked does he enjoy the gym and he replied , "to be honest, no. It's one aspect of my job that i don't enjoy that much. However, when i take a role i make a commitment to represent that role so i will but in the time to look as i need to look."

As such, fair play to his work ethic, but he is not a fan of working out, and doesn't when he doesn't need to!

** Also please note the above is not a direct source, just from memory so i may have gotten something wrong. :)
    Yes, so I imagine he did train hard for fight club, I am not saying he enjoyed it, just that it is not just a case of loosing weight to get arms looking like that. People go on about him in thelma & louise too. He used to be a model and most of them have that skinny look with abs showing. When fight club came out I saw on critic talking about the fact that on a bus in the film he points to a model in some sort of CK ad and pitts character says something like "look at that, thats not natural" where the model had a body very similar to his!

I would not like to look like the pic t-ha posted either, certainly it would be better than being a fat fecker but it is too big for me. Even the batman returns pic is getting a bit too big for my liking, the american psycho one is probably one I would choose if I was to "wake up like that".

If I was to wake up female I would like biggish boobs but not pamela anderson size, I just prefer a more natural look, rather than it being obvious you spend hours in the gym, and getting to a point where it is hard to find clothes. I know many women who find it off-putting, don't like the look and think guys who do it are vain or posers (nothing against any of you guys who do proper BBing). I have lost a fair bit of weight and have had a fair few female friends & colleagues asking me what "the secret" is, when I mention the weights nearly all of them were saying "I hope you dont get all big & muscley" or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Everyone will have a different opinion on what looks good... same as when guys are checking out the gals, we all like something different. For me I think Pitt is a little on the skinny side but has a good BF%. I particularly like the gymnasts look and if I was to pick an actor that looks good I would go with Ryan Reynolds, he has a nice physicque. But what I really want is the strength of [SIZE=-1]Pyrros Dimas, he makes me feel so weak :o
    [/SIZE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVB_rQFSsEg

jester77 wrote:
    if I was to pick an actor that looks good I would go with Ryan Reynolds, he has a nice physicque.
    Pictures man, make sure to include pictures... purely for comaprison reasons of course ;)

Ryan-Reynolds-In-A-Motorcycle-Accident-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

g'em wrote:
    Pictures man, make sure to include pictures... purely for comaprison reasons of course ;)

Ryan-Reynolds-In-A-Motorcycle-Accident-2.jpg

oops, did I forget the pic :rolleyes:
    Here's another for you to drool over....

rthj5f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Hi, can someone please break out the cold shower for g'em, oh and a mop for the pool of drool she is standing in

jsb wrote:
    Hi, can someone please break out the cold shower for g'em, oh and a mop for the pool of drool she is standing in
    :D it's funny coz it's true...