Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Superman boxset

• 05-01-2007 3:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭

So anybody else get this for crimbo?

a collassal 9 disc worth!!! and I get Superman returns DVD too..

Its pretty good has all 4 films with 1 or two commentaries on the on each, lots of documentaries and some of the old classic cartoons and 50's supermans movies.

it has both the original and the richard donner cut in it, the commentaries on it are good humoured and somewhat interesting but they bascaily tell the same stories in on the tracks for the S1 and S2.

the richard donner cut hasn't got very much changed, they have screen tests for mulitple lois' and the one for the (ancient) margot kidder is put into the film for the scene where she pretends to shoot kent to get him to reveal himself, otherwise alot of the R lester version is cut out, to get rid of more of the sillyness.

overall I the superman movies are cheesy, corney, ropey, dodgey effects not really very good but a classic all the same, with chris reeve as bumbling clark saving them.

I re-watched superman returns and can't believe it so bad, its virtual remake of superman 1 but this time there's a shuttle on top of the plane superman saves, wow, that was worth it, it really was a waste of time by bryan singer, there was nothing spectacular in it at all, the lifting of the island out of the sea is dull. there no fun chemistry between routh and bosworth and even the attempt at iconic scene where he goes out ot space to listen to the earth is ruined because he just goes straight back to metropolis, did the world miss superman? no seems to be answer, wheres the cheesy but useful montage of superman going the world saving other foreign people to show he has an effect on the whole world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

Never quite understood the hype about the Superman character nor Spiderman for that matter.

Batman could have been big and Tim Burton´s first few Batman movies were a cool start but with the Batman Forever movie and all that followed they buried my hopes as well.

I don´t know really if all that Superhero stuff is about stories or only about FX.

Liked the X-men trilogy (although third one not that much) tho.

If I had to choose I think Hellboy is my favourite simply because it is cheesy from the start and laughs at itself a lot which is great. And Ron Perlman is just great anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Jaysus...how many boxsets are going around? The one I have has 13 discs.

With Superman you're either a fan or you're not, if you're not a fan then it's pretty easy to nit pick, but what's the point?

I thought Superman Returns was pretty could, fell short in a couple of areas but was a very satisfactory return for the super hero. As for Donner's cut....I dunno...I think I actually prefer what Lester did with it (apart from the bit of comedy in the "battle" scene)...they turn back time at the end of Donner's cut (which was the original ending to both films but they stuck it at the end of one for some reason I forget right now) Anyway, I think, but I might have to watch it again, that it makes no sense cause he makes almost all of 2 not happen but then still goes back to beat up your man in the cafe at the end. Surely that's just superman kicking the ****e out of a chap for no reason....

Anyway, great collection, great extras, everything you could want as a fan. Batman will do it soon, and like Superman it will have two good ones, two crap ones, and a grand new version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Paddy100

Well Its an excellent box set!!! The Donner cut is very interesting & alot different to the Superman II we all know and love.
    Different start........different ending.......The footage with Brando/Reeves/Hackman is excellent.....!!Didnt get the ending tho, he turns back time again by going around the world. this is stupid cos it is the same ending in the first 1!!!! i think if u put the Brando footage in the Lester II & get rid off the comical fight bits then you would av a great film.

It also explains how Superman got his powers back after he became selfish and was only thinking of himself....lol

Also weird how when the 3baddies go to Supermans home...........der s no fighting at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I really do have to wonder how the concept of DON'T REVEAL IN A THREAD WHAT THE END OF THE MOVIE IS happens to be completely beyond some people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

well actually yes its the brando stuff put back in that'is the big difference, but that really goes over my head, he means little to me, he was just a big name to get the film greenlit.

superman returns is still dire

and have to build myself up to watch through3 and 4, Donner did say he was dissapointed that 3 turned in a richard prior movie

the classic cartoons are fabulous if a little short

anybody else get any good DVDS

my big bro went and bought me the 3 termintors boxset even though I have the first two already, there just masses of stuff on T2 watch the T3 commentary and no point did Johnathow Mostow apologies of making a pg13 terminator

he also bought TOP GUN SE, he's a 80's boy :rolleyes: but its interesting to see how the film was made, it was unique in its access to the navy and planes