Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1st Time Sex??

• 02-01-2007 8:19pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok, so me (16) and my girlfriend (15) have been going out for awhile now and I think we are ready for sex. We're both mature people so we never abuse it or anything like that. Theirs a few questions I want to clear up before I have the intercourse.

Is their any speciefic size of a condom (Does one fit all sorta thing?)

What condoms are the safest?

Is their a posibility of the condom breaking?

and (this is awkward to say) Will she bleed upon losing her virginity?

these are questions just to like quinch my worries..
    Thanks! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

She could bleed if her hyman is still intact. Some girls won't, as it will tear before, but some will.

There is always a slight possibility of a condom breaking, just be sure to check it after to make sure it didn't tear or anything.

Some condoms come in different sizes, go in and have a look around the pharmacy (and don't be embarrassed! :) )

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

rb_ie wrote:
    Some condoms come in different sizes, go in and have a look around the pharmacy (and don't be embarrassed! :) )
    lol I'll try... man.... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

R_H_C_P wrote:
    Ok, so me (16) and my girlfriend (15) have been going out for awhile now and I think we are ready for sex. We're both mature people so we never abuse it or anything like that. Theirs a few questions I want to clear up before I have the intercourse.

Is their any speciefic size of a condom (Does one fit all sorta thing?)

What condoms are the safest?

and (this is awkward to say) Will she bleed upon losing her virginity?

these are questions just to like quinch my worries..
    Thanks! :)

You're both very young and I have to say it, underage. How long is awhile? At any age, sex isn't something to be rushed into and I think you really do need to slow down and think some more before doing this.

You say "I think we're ready" and there are "a few questions I want to clear up" first....
    I think that you are a normal 16 year old male and just dying to experience sex. It sounds like you're pushing your girlfriend into it though. You don't mention love anywhere. For girls, sex is often more emotional than it is for the fellas. Girls generally want to wait until they are good and ready and are in a stable, loving relationship, with someone they feel they can commit to. No offence, but it doesn't seem like your relationship is in any way stable or loving. You're a young guy who wants sex, plain and simple. Yourgirlfriend on the other hand is a young girl (at an impressionable age) who I feel sure would like more time to really get to know you, feel comfortable with you and ready to do this the most intimate of acts between a couple.

I don't believe the "We're both mature people so we never abuse it or anything like that" line. Everyone thinks they're more mature than they actually are, expecially teenagers. I think you just threw that line in cos you thought it sounded good.

Your questions can be answered by the pharmacist or the leaflet inside the packet when you buy them. General rule, don't buy cheap stuff or you'll get cheap goods. Of course there's a chance of a condom breaking. They do all the time, especially when people rush putting them on or are rough with them.

Your question about your grilfriend bleeding or not, is I suspect just an exciting prospect for you. Sorry to disappoint but not all virgins bleed, that's a myth. The use of tampons or any number of different things may mean she'll only bleed a little, or most likely not at all.

Sorry if I sound like I'm preaching to you but you need to hear it. The first time you have sex needs to be a comfortable, loving experience NOT a hurried stick on a condom, stick it in to see what it feels like, then that's it type of thing. You don't want your girlfriend to feel used, wishing she'd waited for someone special, or cheated and thinking "that's it" do you?

Go and think long and hard. Do you love your girlfriend? Does she love you? Are you sure? Do you really NEED to have sex now or can it wait even a few months? If it can't wait then why not? Is it just you who can't wait? Is there something else you could do that would feel good but not be full sex?

The thing you have to remember is that your girlfriend is only 15. You do not want to have a situation where you may have forced her or took advantage of an impressionable young girl.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

It might be an idea for her to look into some sort of contraception as well just so you're doubly protected.

Also why not buy a largish (12 maybe) box of condoms and practice putting one yourself a few times so you're not worrying about that when you come to the main event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Shellie13

dame wrote:
    I think that you are a normal 16 year old male and just dying to experience sex. It sounds like you're pushing your girlfriend into it though. You don't mention love anywhere. For girls, sex is often more emotional than it is for the fellas. Girls generally want to wait until they are good and ready and are in a stable, loving relationship, with someone they feel they can commit to. No offence, but it doesn't seem like your relationship is in any way stable or loving. You're a young guy who wants sex, plain and simple. Yourgirlfriend on the other hand is a young girl (at an impressionable age) who I feel sure would like more time to really get to know you, feel comfortable with you and ready to do this the most intimate of acts between a couple.

Sorry if I sound like I'm preaching to you but you need to hear it. The first time you have sex needs to be a comfortable, loving experience NOT a hurried stick on a condom, stick it in to see what it feels like, then that's it type of thing. You don't want your girlfriend to feel used, wishing she'd waited for someone special, or cheated and thinking "that's it" do you?

Go and think long and hard. Do you love your girlfriend? Does she love you? Are you sure? Do you really NEED to have sex now or can it wait even a few months? If it can't wait then why not? Is it just you who can't wait? Is there something else you could do that would feel good but not be full sex?

The thing you have to remember is that your girlfriend is only 15. You do not want to have a situation where you may have forced her or took advantage of an impressionable young girl.

You've certainly made some assumtiomns there!
    To some people sex is sex pure an simple!

Yes you are underage!
    Thatsprobs not gonna stop you tho!
    Godsake take every precaution reguarding contraception and make sure yere both comfortable!
    Another thing to consider-if it DID break could ye afford to go to the doc and get the morning after!
    €50 + cost of prescription- not even sure if it would be prescribed to someone her age!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I think its fair enough to say that 15 is very young for a girl to be having sex. I think this is why some other posters are telling you to think before acting mate, and to make sure that the girl is totally comfortable with her decision to have sex with you.
    Of course you are biased and cant see our point because you are a 16 year old guy!!!! But if you are both sure about what you are doing, just remember, nothing ruins sex for the first time quicker than parents walking in on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

A friend of mine when it came to talking to her kids advised them to wait until it was someone they felt really special about. Maybe that is the case for you but you are both very young. There are some things that are worth waiting for.

dame wrote:
    You're both very young and I have to say it, underage. How long is awhile? At any age, sex isn't something to be rushed into and I think you really do need to slow down and think some more before doing this.

You say "I think we're ready" and there are "a few questions I want to clear up" first....

I don't believe the "We're both mature people so we never abuse it or anything like that" line. Everyone thinks they're more mature than they actually are, expecially teenagers. I think you just threw that line in cos you thought it sounded good.

Your questions can be answered by the pharmacist or the leaflet inside the packet when you buy them. General rule, don't buy cheap stuff or you'll get cheap goods. Of course there's a chance of a condom breaking. They do all the time, especially when people rush putting them on or are rough with them.

Your question about your grilfriend bleeding or not, is I suspect just an exciting prospect for you. Sorry to disappoint but not all virgins bleed, that's a myth. The use of tampons or any number of different things may mean she'll only bleed a little, or most likely not at all.

Well I can see your views on, I didnt think I needed to put it in but shes the one who seems to want it, like of course I want it, their has been a few occasions where I told her not to have sex like straight into the relationship. so because it didnt seem natural, and I would never ever force someone into something that they arent happy with! and for the record I love more than anything..
    Like you seem to jump the gun on a few things, like you dont know me so you cant say I throwing in " We are mature" just to look good, sice you dont you should have to take my word for it!
    I'll difinally talk to her about it anyway and as her how does she feel about it, and I can wait cause I feel she is the one!

Thanks for the replies, they have opened my eyes to the whole situation!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

R_H_C_P wrote:
    I can wait cause I feel she is the one!
    she's not.
    by saying that, you've shown youre not ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭no leaf clover

ferdi wrote:
    she's not.

hah how ya figure? r_h_c_p has clearly expressed maturity in his willingness to put it of for a few months til HE was comfortable with the situation, and by sayin he will discuss it further with his gf, most young males i know, sex? now? some time later.. done... did they spare two thoughts about it? no! he has been very good about it so far, and even if she isnt the one, how many people here can say they've only made love to the person they are still with? i know there will be some.. but how many? 15, young? she, and he, have been sexualy mature since 13 or whenever, so naturally they are ready, its only law that stops them, and does that stop you answering your phone while in the car? doubt it.. so y would it stop him? he's willing to take al necessary precautions, and is asking your advice, fair play mate, just do wat feels right! make sure it mutual!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

Of course you are 'ready'. I mean you both sound like you are in a loving relationship, people here are just criticising because of your age.
    ferdi wrote:
    she's not.

What are you even talking about lad? Define 'not ready'. What exactly does it mean, that someones gonna die or something because OOOH YOUR NOT READY YET! Get over it.. I hate to break it to u but sex is not that big a deal.
    It just makes an already good relationship better, I don't see what possible bad could come from the OP having sex with his girlfriend, providing they both use protection and both consent to it.

i've yet to meet a 15/16 year old who had met 'the one', thats all i'm saying.
    Lorax wrote:
    Get over it.. I hate to break it to u but sex is not that big a deal.
    Oh dont worry, i'm well over it,i know sex isnt a big deal but i think its a good idea to have a certain level of maturity (emotional and otherwise) before you engage in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭no leaf clover

ok ok, point taken, i do no of some tho! stl married to this day!

ferdi wrote:
    i've yeat to meet a 15/16 year old who had met 'the one', thats all i'm saying.

What do you mean 'the one'? Obviously very very few people are gonna stay with their boyfriend/girlfriend of 15/16 years old for the rest of their life. If you mean 'the one' to lose your virginity to, then again I hate to break it to you, but sex is not that big a deal. I had sex when I was 16, I am not with the girl any more but it was a long term relationship (> 3 years) and we are broken up now. I now have another girlfriend and am sexually active with her too. But losing my virginity at 16 has absolutely NO bad influences/effects on my current relationship, if anything its good because I am that bit more experienced and knew what to expect.

ferdi wrote:
    Oh dont worry, i'm well over it,i know sex isnt a big deal but i think its a good idea to have a certain level of maturity (emotional and otherwise) before you engage in it.

I personally think the op sounds very mature and responsible (asking about safety of protection etc), when I was his age, some of my friends were having unprotected sex with random girls at the local disco.. luckily there were no serious consequences for them but I just think in comparison when you put things into perspective, the OP is more than ready.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

I was 15 when i lost my virginity, and i rushed into it just cause i wanted to know what it was like, didn't give a sh*t about the girl and so it sucked.

My advice, if you like the girl alot, do it... if shes just a hole, save it for someone who you actually care about.

And.. make sure shes good n wet before stickin it in ;) Be gentle with her, from my experience virgins are in alot of pain when doing it for the first time.. but maybe thats just cause im so big :D heh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Just be sure to read the instructions that come with the condoms.

Lorax, good on ye. i'm not saying sex is the be-all and end-all or that you have to be a certain age to do it, just that in my opinion it is something best left until you have a good head on your shoulders. i got quite an immature vibe from the OPs post, a similar vibe to the one i'm getting from yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Well I would say you have to weigh up all the risks of having sex
    and not just the possiblity of a pregancy but also the emotional effect it may have on you both esp as the first time can be quiet awkward and maybe for her painful esp as you seem to want to be in and stay in a relationship.

Sex is wonderful and natural but between a male and a female it is from a biological drive to procreate;
    so worset case senario the condom burst ti goes wrong you can barely talk to each other or look each other in the eye and then you have to deal with a possible pregancy and telling both your parents and her parents and dealing with a termination or an adoption or being a weekend Dad at the age of lets say 17 by the time the child arives.

Can you even think about that ?
    Have you even tought about it ?
    Have you both a couple discussed it with each other ?

If you are going to make adult choices and choose to have sex you have to be read to deal with the consquences in an adult manner.

Hope for the best and plann for the worset.

Talk about what may happen, talk about contraception beyond just condoms,
    practice with condoms and I would say buy a pregnacny test when you nuy the box of condoms.

Hope it works out well for you both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

I also tend to doubt the maturity of anyone who can use the phrase "the one" as an absolute with a straight face, but there are plenty of people well into their 50s who still believe in that. Besides just because I don't believe there's such a thing as "the one" doesn't mean that I don't think it's possible the OP will be with his partner for the rest of a long life. It does happen.

OP, you and your girlfriend are very young and the concerns of posters here are based on a very real understanding of how things can go wrong.

That said I commend your asking these questions and trying to go about things in a reasonable way rather than barging straight in.

I strongly recommend that you take that further. Research further into sexual technique (there are plenty of books in most bookshops that cover the basics) and the advantages and disadvantages of different forms of contraception.

Think some more about what you are getting into once you've a better idea what you're getting into.

Ultimately children shouldn't have sex, and adults should know what they are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Underage!!!!!

ferdi wrote:
    Lorax, good on ye. i'm not saying sex is the be-all and end-all or that you have to be a certain age to do it, just that in my opinion it is something best left until you have a good head on your shoulders. i got quite an immature vibe from the OPs post, a similar vibe to the one i'm getting from yours.

How dare you accuse me of being immature. Just because I'm disagreeing with your posts is it? Hmm. Coming from someone who makes wild accusations based on people you don't even know. Example:
    ferdi wrote:
    R_H_C_P wrote:
    I can wait cause I feel she is the one!
    she's not.

The cheek of you like, I'm presuming you don't know either the OP or his girlfriend. Yet you come out with something like that. How do you know she's not the one? That you can state that as such a hard fact.

OP as the 2 posters before me have said, if you are having sex with your girlfriend, there are no 100% methods of stopping her getting pregnant. It's a risk you take. But you can do a lot to reduce the risk, condoms are 97% effective as far as I know. But ultimately you have to plan for the worst, which is probably what a lot of posters here are getting at, the fact that you shouldn't have sex until you and your girlfriend are responsible enough to face the worst-case-scenario consequences (ie. a pregnancy, abortion, adoption, actually raising the child, etc). Yes there are probably some 16 year olds who are mature enough to deal with that, but the majority aren't. If you are going to have sex regularly, your girlfriend going on the pill might be a good idea, although she will probably need parental consent as I don't think a doctor will prescribe it to her until she's 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

I know the op, and i think hes a mature stable minded 16 year old, and as long as he knows the risks and plans for the best then he should deffo go ahead with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭insane drummer

i can understand where the op is coming from, a mate of mine was in a very similar situation and he went ahead with it. he regrets it now bt i know that every relationship is different and him and his gf broke up some time ago! me, i had sex for the first time about 3 months ago when i was 17 and my gf 16 one month from being 17 and i don't regret it at all. i do know what some of the ppl here are saying though, that some lads are doin it just cos, well its sex and that the majority of girls are doing it for the emotional part of it. just talk it out with your gf and make sure that ur not doing it for the wrong reasons. me and my gf both wanted to do it for the emotional benefits, (honestly:) ) and it brought us so much closer! if ye relise that it might not be the time, then wait, its better to wait 4 when its right, even if its in a weeks time, then waistin it now! make sure ur good and ready!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I note that the OP didn't actually ask us whether he should have sex or not ... in saying that, I'm not taking a potshot at those who drew his attention to the broader issues involved, I'm just saying that he and his gf have to make that decision for themselves. I do agree that they should think carefully about what they're doing, but ultimately the decision is theirs, so ....

Of the questions he did ask I think most have been answered, just a thought on this issue though ...
    R_H_C_P wrote:
    Yes, not a big one if you're careful, but it's there, especially if you are both inexperienced and a bit nervous and fumbly. Take your time (advise given above to practise putting on a condom beforehand very sensible). Make sure not to try going in dry ... apart from increasing risk of breakage, it will decrease the pleasure for both of you. There's a natural way of helping her in this respect, which I'm sure you are familiar with in theory at least ... if you're uncomfortable with this, consider picking up some appropriate lube with the condoms. Make applying it a part of foreplay, rather than a clinical operation. Take your time!

Advice to think about contraceptive safety-net e.g. the pill AS WELL as a condom is good advice.

And remember that sex is great fun, and we all enjoy it, but if it's to stay great fun we have to think ahead and make sure nobody ends up hurt. The fact that you are asking questions beforehand tells me you ARE trying to think ahead, and I would commend you for that. Just make sure you've thought it all through. And I suppose one final thought ... remember that the two of you can have a lot of fun without jumping in to full sex just yet.

Lorax

Stop over reacting and calling names personal abuse will get you banned from this forum.
    lorax wrote:
    If you are going to have sex regularly, your girlfriend going on the pill might be a good idea, although she will probably need parental consent as I don't think a doctor will prescribe it to her until she's 17.

That is if the pill is even suited to her some women can not take the pill for medical reasons.

At 16 your medical affairs are between you and the dr and most dr will if it is suitible perscribe the pill or patch or discuss other types of contrception with young person who goes to them about contraception.

R_H_C_P don't forget to have a look at spermicides.
    Most condoms have it in them but there are gels and foams that are designed to be inserted into the vagina before intercourse incase there is a burst condom.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spermicide
    http://www.moondragon.org/obgyn/contraception/spermicides.html

It is a case of to be sure, to be sure , to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭akw_old

give it to her good and proper!
    put her on the pill, use a condom, and enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Patricide wrote:
    I know the op, and i think hes a mature stable minded 16 year old, and as long as he knows the risks and plans for the best then he should deffo go ahead with it.

Er? Ha?

Sorry what you have described there does not exist.

There is only one thing to think about here OP.. Are you prepared to face the consequences of your actions?

They can include the following;

Pregnancy
    Possible legal action by her parents if you are found out.
    And ultimately disappointment that it isnt the big thing that you expected.

A 16 year old should and can not 'put' thier 15 year old gf on the pill.
    She has to make a decision with her dr.

Jumpy wrote:
    Er? Ha?

Sorry what you have described there does not exist.

There is only one thing to think about here OP.. Are you prepared to face the consequences of your actions?

They can include the following;

Pregnancy
    Possible legal action by her parents if you are found out.
    And ultimately disappointment that it isnt the big thing that you expected.
    i would deffinatly disagree there, sure the majority of 16 year olds arent mature and stable minded but that doesnt mean that all of them arent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

dame wrote:

You presume a lot there Dame and if you do not mind me saying so come across slightly sexist. For the OP i would suggest waiting until your girl is 16at least that keeps things legal. With regard to contraception, condoms do split, it might be worthwhile considering using two.

DO NOT USE 2 CONDOMS, that is the stupidest thing you can do the 2 rub off against each other casing them to split and fall apart and leak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

There's alot of conflicting advice on this thread, some of it is shear madness!

OP: an internet message board isn't the best place to look for advice

Bottom line is What you considering doing is illegal, and there is ALWAYS a possibilty of pregnancy.

. With regard to contraception, condoms do split, it might be worthwhile considering using two.

Carrigart Exile that is not just unhelp but stupid and dangerous any more such advice and your posting privilages for this forum will be revoked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

On the morning after pill suggestion, afaik it's often prescribed as early as 14.

ok, I have talking to her, and I took in all you said and well I told her everything and she stills wants to go ahead... Tho Im am slightly considering it until she is 16 like said above!! So thanks guys!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 sophiemarie

Hey, I know how exciting it is to be romantically involved with someone at such a young age. Your first time is a significant experience for you and your girlfriend. There are a few things you might consider before going ahead with it.
    Girl's tend to be more emotional and insecure than guys. Some teenage girls have sex for the wrong reasons such as the need for acceptance and peer pressure so I'd make sure that she wants to have sex with you for the right reasons such as she loves you. In spite of this I think shes quite young to make this decision. Sex is a significant experience and can have significant consequences on a young girl. She will respect and admire you all the more for acknowledging this.
    Protection is an extremely important issue. It prevents unwanted pregnacy and STDs. Practicing with the type of protection you will be using is a good idea. It will make you more relaxed and confident when the real occasion arrives. Invest in a reliable brand such as Durex to ensure safety. Condoms can occassionly snap when putting them on but if this happens just relax and try another one. Buy a large(the amount of condoms in the pack)pack to ensure you have one when you need.
    Sex is going nowhere and neither is your relationship if ye are in love so theres no rush. It can be an even better experience when ye have proved that ye really love each other by waiting until ye're mature enough to make the right decision. Respect each other.
    There's more to a relationship and love than sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

For the OP i would suggest waiting until your girl is 16at least that keeps things legal.
    Don't you mean 17?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

While CarrigartExile's post wasn't serious, the way things are going the chances are the law may have changed so that the age of consent is 16 by the time she's 16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Hey, I know how exciting it is to be romantically involved with someone at such a young age. Your first time is a significant experience for you and your girlfriend. There are a few things you might consider before going ahead with it.
    Girl's tend to be more emotional and insecure than guys. Some teenage girls have sex for the wrong reasons such as the need for acceptance and peer pressure so I'd make sure that she wants to have sex with you for the right reasons such as she loves you. In spite of this I think shes quite young to make this decision. Sex is a significant experience and can have significant consequences on a young girl. She will respect and admire you all the more for acknowledging this.
    Protection is an extremely important issue. It prevents unwanted pregnacy and STDs. Practicing with the type of protection you will be using is a good idea. It will make you more relaxed and confident when the real occasion arrives. Invest in a reliable brand such as Durex to ensure safety. Condoms can occassionly snap when putting them on but if this happens just relax and try another one. Buy a large(the amount of condoms in the pack)pack to ensure you have one when you need.
    Sex is going nowhere and neither is your relationship if ye are in love so theres no rush. It can be an even better experience when ye have proved that ye really love each other by waiting until ye're mature enough to make the right decision. Respect each other.
    There's more to a relationship and love than sex.

Very nicely put there Sophiemarie. OP, this is good advice.

dame wrote:
    Very nicely put there Sophiemarie. OP, this is good advice.
    ya I know!! I've read it twice!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 zstar43

i say go 4 it!! ;) ppl here are making it out as if its de biggest ting in de world.. maybe cos der older im 15 nd a virgin bt i dnt tink it matters dat its illegal if ur both comfortable, willing 2 face de consequences den go 4 ittt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

When is anyone 'ready' for their first time? When is anyone 'mature' enough to decide to become sexually active? We can all look back in hindsight and give well intended advice to wait but did we? Regardless of the actual age at which it happened who here can really say they were perfectly prepared and it barely caused a ripple in the old psyche (beyond the obvious good ones).
    Sex is the most complicated and the most simple thing in the universe, the former comes from the amount of significance we place on it (often purely for the sake of glorifying the act or justifying it) the latter...well...that parts natural. Pressure and being judgmental won't help. None of us, bar the one poster who claims to know the OP, are in any position to really judge the guy's maturity and as I said what do we gauge it against? That hindsight we only gained because there came a time when WE finally decided to go ahead and do it for whatever reason. The maturity being espoused is most commonly gained through the experience.

For the record - In my opinion yup they're too young, but it's their choice - regardless of the law they realistically can and will do what they want and they will deal with the consequences (which have been pointed out pretty well by this stage).
    What I will say is this.
    If you do proceed MAKE IT SPECIAL. Don't rush, don't try and get it all over with and sure as hell don't worry once you're together - do that part before hand and prepare well (plenty of great advice has already been thrown at you). Make it romantic, and laughing helps, feelings are more likely to be hurt by awkward silences. The memory it leaves and the effect it will have on you both is purely down to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Well done on being so mature to actually stand back and think of the risks. like pregnancy and sexually tranmitted diseases.

At your age normal condoms will fit, unless your hung like a donkey....

Chances of her bleeding depend on how sexually active she has been.

And about the condom breaking. Just stop every few mins, and inspect it for a rip or a tear. Contraception is a good idea. But it will take a month for the effects to start. And can have some side effects for her. Its best for her to talk to her parents ( if she can ) or go to her GP to get some advice on which is best.

Patricide wrote:
    i would deffinatly disagree there, sure the majority of 16 year olds arent mature and stable minded but that doesnt mean that all of them arent.

NO 16 year olds are mature. None. It is not possible to have the life experience at that age to know how to act correctly.

Generally 16 year olds and young people think they are, but that is part of the general know-it-all attitude that comes with immaturity.

zstar43 wrote:
    i say go 4 it!! ;) ppl here are making it out as if its de biggest ting in de world.. maybe cos der older im 15 nd a virgin bt i dnt tink it matters dat its illegal if ur both comfortable, willing 2 face de consequences den go 4 ittt

This proves my above point. You need life experience to know how little respect you get on a board if you type in text speak when you have a full keyboard in front of you.

anti wrote:
    but it will take a month for the effects to start. And can have some side effects for her. Its best for her to talk to her parents ( if she can ) or go to her GP to get some advice on which is best.

If the oral contraceptive is started on the first day of a period and taken every day at the same time for the duration of the packet and the woman is not ill or throws up with in 4 hours of taking it then she is covered from starting the packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I'm not going to offer advice, as plenty of other advice (of varying quality) has already been posted. But I will say this: don't expect an amazing experience. It is a big deal and it will change your life. But there will be a lot of fumbling. The first time is often a bit crap, whether you're male or female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

You are getting a lot of good advice here OP, but no-one has pointed out properly that under the law (think of it what you will) at 15 your gf is under the age of consent and therefore you are commiting an act of rape. This is what her parents could accuse you of, and what would go on your record if you were charged.

Think long and hard about this. Be aware her parents will almost certainly find out, she'll tell her best friend and who knows who she'll tell, and when they find out they are unlikely to look kindly upon you.