Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2007 blues

• 02-01-2007 8:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭

Anyone else feeling them? Back in work after being off over Christmas. Really do not want to be here. Another year older. It's 2007, feck sake I was born in 1983! :( The prospect of working for the next 40 or so years is really starting to suck. This is also my first year in the workforce since college finished so I guess that's part of it. Time to start making some plans for this year. Going to visit Aintree in April for the racing festival, and head to Thailand for a while in September. I really hope I can do this. I want to be a lecturer so I'm going back to college in September '08 to get my masters. God knows I don't want a regular office 9 - 5 anymore. Am I just a whiner? I think so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No blues here, just tiredness. Damn sleep pattern is all over the place. I don't see why people get so overwhelmed at the prospect of a new year stretching in front of them...Loads of time to get stuff done, and summer's not too far away!

Don't see much work getting done though for most of this morning. Have to get back in the swing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Considering its your first year in work and you feel this way already, you need to reconsider quickly what you're doing! I know that feeling though - I'm back tomorrow and I'm not looking forward to it.

But, youth is on your side. If you dont want a regular office job, then dont take one. Stick to what you like or just break out for a couple of years and try all sorts of things you hadnt considered before. You can do your masters any time. (I completed my PhD 20 years after I sat the leaving cert) (no, it didnt take 20 years, I did other stuff first, then considered my career!)

So, dont consider it whining, consider it itchy feet, and the hankering to do something more exciting that going to a dull job everyday, and then do somthing about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

deswalsh wrote:
    Considering its your first year in work and you feel this way already, you need to reconsider quickly what you're doing! I know that feeling though - I'm back tomorrow and I'm not looking forward to it.

But, youth is on your side. If you dont want a regular office job, then dont take one. Stick to what you like or just break out for a couple of years and try all sorts of things you hadnt considered before. You can do your masters any time. (I completed my PhD 20 years after I sat the leaving cert) (no, it didnt take 20 years, I did other stuff first, then considered my career!)

So, dont consider it whining, consider it itchy feet, and the hankering to do something more exciting that going to a dull job everyday, and then do somthing about it.

Cheers des that's great advice. I guess I'm unsure what I want really. For the last five years my goal was to get my degree, I have that now so I guess I'm sitting here feeling like I have no direction. My reason for traveling in September is to find myself, and figure out just what it is I really want to do. Right now I feel it's lecturing, but I'm not ready to sit down and do a masters just yet cause I'm still a bit burnt out from five years in college, which is also why the traveling is calling me. I guess if I can just stick with it until September then I'll survive. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

sjones wrote:
    Anyone else feeling them? Back in work after being off over Christmas. Really do not want to be here. Another year older. It's 2007, feck sake I was born in 1983! :( The prospect of working for the next 40 or so years is really starting to suck. This is also my first year in the workforce since college finished so I guess that's part of it. Time to start making some plans for this year. Going to visit Aintree in April for the racing festival, and head to Thailand for a while in September. I really hope I can do this. I want to be a lecturer so I'm going back to college in September '08 to get my masters. God knows I don't want a regular office 9 - 5 anymore. Am I just a whiner? I think so!

Take a trip up to any of the hospitals near you for a day.

If you still have that "living in the future" whinging attitude after that ,you need help.

Take a trip up to any of the hospitals near you for a day.

If you still have that "living in the future" whinging attitude after that ,you need help.

I've been in hospital three times in the last year, two of those times I have undergone surgery. I know where you're coming from though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Dont forget that lecturing progresses slowly but surely into a desk job over the years, esp if you get promotions etc. Most senior people in colleges and unis do very little lecturing and a lot of paperwork!

Same with a lot of jobs - the better you are at it, the more likely you are to be made some sort of manager, and thus end up behind a desk. Damn the cruel irony of it all.

So, take a few dart, fire them at a map of the world, and go there. (Try to hit land btw)

sjones wrote:
    I've been in hospital three times in the last year, two of those times I have undergone surgery. I know where you're coming from though.

Ok,hope everything is ok now.

Could I suggest a" living in the present" exercise.
    Too many people tend to forget the present and spend all their time planning and thinking of the future ,as the present slips away from under their feet.

Give it a go.

Ok,hope everything is ok now.

I'm grand now thanks. I have to go back again for another operation but it's only a minor one. :)
    Could I suggest a" living in the present" exercise.
    Too many people tend to forget the present and spend all their time planning and thinking of the future ,as the present slips away from under their feet.

Give it a go.

Hmm, well I see what you're saying but it isn't the present that I am having trouble with. The problem I am having is that for the last five years I've had direction, infact all my life I've had direction; get the leaving cert, get the degree. While living in the present is good, and I do this even though it doesn't sound like it, I don't think it would help in this instance. It is good to regularly take a step back and be glad for what we have, as it could all be gone in a heart beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I had an epiphany last night in which I finally understood all my emotional and education problems and was able to confront them and deal with them rationally and now I'm quite happy.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭SystemError

Oh dear. Have we forgotten what Frankie said ?

"RELAX!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Less than two weeks to exams now :( Great way to start the year.

Plenty of people in the cancer wards would not agree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

ye im not feeling the best this year, could not get to sleap even climbed out of bed around 2.00 am and msned some of my friends see if they where awake and up for a few drinks or whatever but they where all in work as well.
    Took me hours to get to sleep 07 sucks so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Not trying to get you down sjones but depending on your field you may need a lot more than a Masters to lecture, at least on a permanent basis anyway.

Do some research into it, ask people who are already lecturing about it. That way, you are well informed and can make a plan.

I'm feeling the blues already too but only because I have a lot of deadlines looming already :) Time to get the head down and get productive. Might be my last post of the day :(

r3nu4l wrote:
    Not trying to get you down sjones but depending on your field you may need a lot more than a Masters to lecture, at least on a permanent basis anyway.

Do some research into it, ask people who are already lecturing about it. That way, you are well informed and can make a plan.

Already done it mate. :)

sjones wrote:
    Already done it mate. :)

Good for you, a pro-active approach :) Keep up the good work. Make sure to ask a few of them because the replies might be slightly different each time :)

You probably already know that there are different types of lectureship. Some require that you lecture only, others require that you also conduct your own research and attract research grant funding while others still require that you take on your own Post-grads as well, although with only a Masters I imagine you wouldn't be allowed to supervise a PhD student.

r3nu4l wrote:
    Good for you, a pro-active approach :) Keep up the good work. Make sure to ask a few of them because the replies might be slightly different each time :)

You probably already know that there are different types of lectureship. Some require that you lecture only, others require that you also conduct your own research and attract research grant funding while others still require that you take on your own Post-grads as well, although with only a Masters I imagine you wouldn't be allowed to supervise a PhD student.

While doing the masters I'll be lecturing several hours a week, be it grinds or filling in for someone who is absent. When I have completed the masters I will be lecturing but I won't be doing research - for a while at least. Have you completed a masters r3nu4l?

sjones wrote:
    Have you completed a masters r3nu4l?

I graduated with a PhD in 2001 and did lots of grinds, demonstrating at Biology practicals, led Biology practicals and some lecturing during that time. Kept me in cash and I also really enjoyed it.

I now work in Medical Communications. I would consider going into lecturing both in Biology and Science Communications but want more experience in my industry first. :)

r3nu4l wrote:
    I graduated with a PhD in 2001 and did lots of grinds, demonstrating at Biology practicals, led Biology practicals and some lecturing during that time. Kept me in cash and I also really enjoyed it.

I now work in Medical Communications. I would consider going into lecturing both in Biology and Science Communications but want more experience in my industry first. :)

Sweet congrats! :)
    The masters I'm doing is a research masters which is 18 - 24 months long so I'll have time to do lecturing in my spare time for some cash which will be pretty cool. I've lots of experience giving talks to large audiences so I should have no problem lecturing. How long did your PHD take?

I hope people don't mind me rambling on here! Use this thread if you're feeling down at the prospect of a new year ahead, what your plans are for the year, and where you want to be come the end of this year. Use this thread as a log of your progress too if you like.

The PhD took me three and a half years including write-up, that's about average for Biology, some do it quicker some do it in 5 or more years, depending on experimental results etc. :)

As for 2007,
    Lots of work to do and lots of pressure at work but that's okay, managable.
    Getting married in July, can't wait :)
    After the wedding, I want to start a business with my wife (currently my gf :D) but neither of us can afford to give up work so it will be a hard part-time slog for us. Looking forward to the challenge...can someone remind me in September that I said this :)
    I also have to furnish and improve the house we bought in December.

Feeling a little down and intimidated by the whole combination but we can tough it out. Come on boardsies 2007 ftw!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I'm 23 as well, sjones. Although I've spent much of my time since finishing school floating. Did a little bit of college but dropped out twice. I'm now trying to decide whether to go back in September (as a mature student with better choice) or go travelling instead.

I really understand the fear of being stuck in a 9-5 for the rest of your life, it terrifies me. I honestly don't care about getting a high wage job, getting a mortgage, etc. I'd rather be doing something I love and rent for the rest of my life.

I don't have any "blues" about the year ahead a such. I'm actually much clearer about the future then I was last year without feeling like life is a race and I'm falling behind. I'm feeling much more confident that I can make my own way, even if I don't know what way that is just yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Yup back at work today, got about 3 hours sleep last night and still wrecked from all the drinkin and junkfood in my system. But today has been a bit of a doss so its not all bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭madhitchhiker

almost midnight now and my 1st day of work on the morrow. i wonder if i won't feel sleepy at work.:confused: