Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Irish films of all time

• 27-12-2006 8:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭

What are the top five or so best Irish films of all time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Colonel Kurtz

Interesting thread.

Here are a few of my favs

Adam and Paul, Intermission, The Field, In the Name of the Father, The Crying Game, Disco Pigs, Michael Collins, My Left Foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Diogenes

Adam and Paul, The Commitments, I went down, The Snapper, Micheal Collins.

If we include documentaries, the state we are in, and the revolution will not be televised.

If we include shorts, before I sleep, and white.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my favourites are:

1. the butcher boy
    2. michael collins
    3. i went down
    4. the van
    5. wind that shakes the barley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Michael Collins, When Brendan Met Trudy, My Left Foot, The Wind That Shakes the Barley, The Butcher Boy.

Here's something useful from Trinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

The Butcher Boy , I went down, Wind that shakes the barley, My left foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

1. Michael Collins.
    2. The Butcher Boy.
    3. I Went Down.
    4. The Genral.
    5. My Left Foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Like all listing of this kind it would be nice to get some reasons. There is also the question of what actually constitutes an "Irish" film . Many films these days are international when you follow the money trail. I suppose it is one that is set in an Irish context.

My own preferences and in no particular (with reasons) are.

Adam and Paul - just saw this very recently. Wonderfully told and thought provoking.

The Commitments - Very uplifting film and fabulous music.

The Quiet Man - Oirish maybe but a lot of fun.

Man of Arran - Excellent documentary film from the 1930s. Captures teh period superbly.

Michael Collins - Great film-making even allowing for the need to include Julie Roberts to sell the film.

My Left Foot - Brilliant performances about a difficult life.

The Crying Game - Still a powerful film

Honourable mention to

Poitín- Excellent Bob Quinn film from the 70s in Irish with a great performance from Cyril Cusack.
    Eat The Peach - Gentle comedy also from the 80s
    Intermission - Good Ensemble Performance
    The Butcher Boy - Super performance from Eamonn Owens but not as good as the stage play

I haven't seen Wind that Shakes the Barley so left that out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭seand333

1. The Butcher Boy
    2. The commitments
    3. My left foot
    4. Adam and Paul
    5. Inside im dancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

The Commitments
    Michael Collins

Only two I know that I thought were any good:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Can't beleive nobody has mentioned Into the West... tayto!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Cant believe no mention of Some Mothers Son. Brilliant film

Loved The Van, mainly because it reminds me of Italia 90 (I wasnt even 4 at the time but it brought the odd memory back. And who didnt feel like roaring mid film or have the neck hair standing as O`Leary takes his penalty :) )

Loved the Butcher Boy, Angelas Ashes was good, Intermission great, thought Adam and Paul was somewhat overrated.

re Into the West/kids films, anyone recall a film about kids from two country towns who had big gang wars with each other. Best line I remember is when they catch a kid from a neighbouring town and one of them roars "lets cut off his mickey!" :D

Honestly, how many UK or US kids would daere say that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

shane86 wrote:
    re Into the West/kids films, anyone recall a film about kids from two country towns who had big gang wars with each other. Best line I remember is when they catch a kid from a neighbouring town and one of them roars "lets cut off his mickey!" :D

Honestly, how many UK or US kids would daere say that :D
    War of the Buttons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The Book That Wrote Itself is the best Irish movie of all time (and possibly the precursor for the Borat movie).

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0289670/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

SofaKing wrote:

Oh yea, forgot about that movie. That was fairly good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Dysart

My top 5 would be:

1. The Field
    2. Intermission
    2. Into the West
    4. The Commitments
    5. Butcher Boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Kevo.Parisyan

The Commitments, My Left Foot, I went Down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

In no particular order

The Commitments...very funny, great music and filmed where I grew up, remember bunking off school to watch them filming it

Michael Collins...Oscar would have been in the bag if anyone bar Julia Roberts was in it

Some Mother's Son...remember renting it out and forgetting to bring it back, cost me more than it would to have bought it, bloody video shop closed the next day and was on TV the following week

Angela's Ashes...but probably just because I loved the book, must watch again to see if I actually like it that much

In the Name of the Father...good movie but probably only included it cos I'm runing out of films

Hated the Butcher Boy by the way, just could't get into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

is_that_so wrote:
    Like all listing of this kind it would be nice to get some reasons. There is also the question of what actually constitutes an "Irish" film . Many films these days are international when you follow the money trail. I suppose it is one that is set in an Irish context.

My own preferences and in no particular (with reasons) are.

Adam and Paul - just saw this very recently. Wonderfully told and thought provoking.

The Commitments - Very uplifting film and fabulous music.

The Quiet Man - Oirish maybe but a lot of fun.

Man of Arran - Excellent documentary film from the 1930s. Captures teh period superbly.

Michael Collins - Great film-making even allowing for the need to include Julie Roberts to sell the film.

My Left Foot - Brilliant performances about a difficult life.

The Crying Game - Still a powerful film

Honourable mention to

Poitín- Excellent Bob Quinn film from the 70s in Irish with a great performance from Cyril Cusack.
    Eat The Peach - Gentle comedy also from the 80s
    Intermission - Good Ensemble Performance
    The Butcher Boy - Super performance from Eamonn Owens but not as good as the stage play

I haven't seen Wind that Shakes the Barley so left that out.
    Wow, seems like you've managed to squeeze every single Irish produced film into one single post. Mighty impressive!

Pigheads all time favourite Irish Film is probably In The Name of the Father. Although this would rate quite lowly in my World Favourite list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Adam and Paul, Intermission, and Michael Collins.

Love the first two especially, nothing makes me laugh like the scang accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

Breakfast on Pluto
    Into the West
    Song for a Raggy Boy
    This is My father
    The Snapper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Intermission is fantastic ... was war of the buttons Irish made?

Also Waking Ned is great even if just for the Motorbike scene!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

lads,whats that film with this man who goes to work in a boys boarding school and teaches them to read and write and all and they all love him and he has this be fued with one of the preist there and theres a big wall dividing the big boys from the small and all and at the end he [spolier]goes off to fight in WW2[/spolier]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

You mean Aidan Quinn in Song for a Raggy Boy. Fantastic film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Is that not song for a raggy boy ? /\/\/\

Edit: Beat me to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

oh ye thats it...lol bout posted at 1.00..lol couldnt think of the name of it for the life of me..thanks lads..brillant film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

my favourites are:

1. In the name of the father
    2. wind that shakes the barley
    3. michael collins
    4. The commitments
    5. Intermission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭samo

Have been looking for The Butcher Boy on dvd for a while and it looks like its finally getting a release as up for pre-order with DVD Pacific/Amazon etc on
    R1

Other that that, The Field, Michael Collins and The Snapper would be my favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Butcher Boy
    the Commitments
    I Went Down
    the Tiger's Tale
    are particular favourites of mine, albeit for different reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭garred

Lamb - always remeber this from my childhood. Strong performances, emotional and a very good ending.
    The Snapper - just for the one-liners and witt.
    The Commitments - never really liked sole but the music in this was outstanding. Also good to look at a Dublin that you grew up in. Not there anymore.
    My Left Foot - two acting Oscars and well deserved.
    Excalibur - not sure if you could call it an Irish film but what a great movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

I'd say enjoyed Intermission the most.

But has anyone ever seen Crush Proof?
    It's a bit mental and it's about scumbags, watch for the hanging scene! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

BopNiblets wrote:
    I'd say enjoyed Intermission the most.

But has anyone ever seen Crush Proof?
    It's a bit mental and it's about scumbags, watch for the hanging scene! :D

Great movie! Not a "nice" movie though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 plugitplayit

In the Name of the Father - Brilliant acting great story (although factually not accurate, they never shared a cell or even the same prison i think)

Michael Collins - Just made you hate the Brits.

Disco Pigs - anybody seen it? Thought it was pretty good but maybe not top 5.

The Commitments/The Snapper/The Van - can I count these as one, The Barrytown Trilogy. Colm Meaney is a legend.

The Butcher Boy - How he managed to turn that book into a film was class.

And Far and away the worst - Far and Away (I know this doesn't count as an Irish Film).

I am about to do research into the history of the Irish Film Industry - looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Livvie

Can't beleive nobody has mentioned Into the West... tayto!!

I just watched this and I loved it - it's one of the nicest, least self-pretentious, and charming films I've ever seen.

The child stars were wonderful - so natural. Gabriel Byrne has been a favourite of mine since Glenroe, and can do no wrong for me. I did think Ellen Barkin was a bit superfluous to be honest. A bit of nepotism there maybe?

Michael Collins - Just made you hate the Brits.

As a Brit who is shortly to see The Wind That Shakes the Barley, I've seen things that have made me hate us too.

But we're not all bad, honest. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Gonzo_Reporter

Crash proof-- was great if not a little disturbing
    Cowboys and Angels-- Just pure excellent my favourite by far
    The Van, Commitments, The Snapper-- enough said
    When Harry became a tree-- Very weird.
    Accelerator-- pure class
    The General
    Honeymooners--qurky off beat comedy (sometimes comes free with the Sunday paper!!!!)
    and finally
    My Left Foot-- (thank God for Leaving Cert English)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Jaysus could this thread be any more cliched!!

I dont have a top 5 cos im sick of stereotypical irish flicks but i do like in no particular order:
    The Committments
    The Field
    I Went Down
    Lamb
    Braveheart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

In The Name Of The Father
    My Left Foot
    The Field
    Michael Collins
    Bloody Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

1. Boys and Girl from County Clare
    2. The Commitments
    3. Michael Collins Ay nevermind ... Andrea Corr wasn't in it.