Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martial Arts & Combatives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

didn't read it all but this
    But what they do is in one way or another governed by certain rules pertaining to certain dos and don'ts that define a sporting spectacle

caught my eye as i've seen it said by most combatives/rbsd guys in one form or another. the idea being that because you compete under certain rules....if you were to be involved in a fight your brain would go into robot mode 'must...get....takedown....must....not....use....illegal....techniques'

here's an example. when i was fighting mma all but my last fight had elbows banned. i had always trained and fought with a 'no elbow' mindset. however after years of training/competition i found out on the day of that fight there would be elbows allowed. now when the fight got underway the first opportunity i had an elbow was thrown (it was done badly and missed!) but the point being i was able to incorporate it into my game. i did not go into 'robot ruleset mode'.

so to think if an mma trained fighter was to get into a situation he wouldn't be able to aim that kick a little bit lower or use foul tactics in the clinch etc is imo wrong. i think instead they'll just be a lot better at using them.

i don't practice eye gouging however at the SD seminar someone wanted to grapple with that technique allowed, within a couple of seconds they were in a position where they couldn't move but i was freely able to stick my finger in their eye.

on another note if you think about how many hours per week you have to train - i would estimate it would take about 5-7 years at 10hrs per week for the average person to have workable, useable skills in the Stand-up, Clinch and Ground range. i think the rest - foul tactics, prefight, postfight stuff can be covered with a couple of minutes here and there, reading a good book on it (dead or alive - gt) and a good dose of common sense.
    · Plenty of ATP anaerobic and task orientated fitness training in order to develop mental toughness.

· An understanding of adrenal stress and operational performance under stress.

i like these points. anaerobic training will certainly develop a healthy body and mental toughness. i wonder how many combatives guys regularily train in the anaerobic zone?

and to understand what adrenal stress will do the system and to regularily subject yourself to its effects so you can perform under it. leaving the comfort zone is very important, is it regularily done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭paxo

John
    Here is some advice given to me by a boxing coach many years ago. I had asked him about useing boxing as a method of self defence. His reply was very straightforward " Just take all those techniques that are banned in the ring ie rabbit punching,headbuts, eye goughing etc and use them" His follow up was if you are going to fight don't talk just punch. And " When fighting in the street be first, be fast and be furious but above all be first.

Paxo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

now when the fight got underway the first opportunity i had an elbow was thrown (it was done badly and missed!) but the point being i was able to incorporate it into my game.

Hi John,
    Doing it badly and missing, is down to you not having it as part of your training plan right?
    however at the SD seminar someone wanted to grapple with that technique allowed, within a couple of seconds they were in a position where they couldn't move but i was freely able to stick my finger in their eye

Well given the statistics, I would say 100% of any attacker out there that are Irish in origin aren't BJJ brown belts!
    Also ear pulling, eye gouging are normally trained from clinch postion but not exclusively.
    on another note if you think about how many hours per week you have to train - i would estimate it would take about 5-7 years at 10hrs per week for the average person to have workable, useable skills in the Stand-up

Yes to be a sufficient boxer, Thai/kickboxer, absolutely. Combative training utilises only a handful of strikes. Lee for example will advocate the new student to pick 3 simple strikes and train them over and over until you can use them with unconcious competence and you are pressure tested on them also. Thats why combative training is SD specific.
    i wonder how many combatives guys regularily train in the anaerobic zone?

If you go to any Combative school you will train in this way. Lee does it, Rich does it, Geoff does it (animal days was a real tester so im told), Vanuk does it, Bob Spiegal is big into it. Lee does a savage drill for it, really knocks the balls out of you. Thats the thing with combatives they generally run classes on a constant basis, no 24 hour fix it fridays with them like some Krav stuff and they cover everything they think should be covered.
    Here is some advice given to me by a boxing coach many years ago. I had asked him about useing boxing as a method of self defence. His reply was very straightforward " Just take all those techniques that are banned in the ring ie rabbit punching,headbuts, eye goughing etc and use them" His follow up was if you are going to fight don't talk just punch. And " When fighting in the street be first, be fast and be furious but above all be first

Thats some pretty good advice right there! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Jon wrote:

Great stuff from LM as per usual.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Yes, re SD...its like anything...you got to tran and practice...

If you do Combatives...my believe is you back it up with boxing, kickboxing, Thai, grappling.

For example the Jeet Kune Do I did last week, all the lads back that up with MMA, some Thai, some more so BJJ. I think the the JKD world, doing the extra stuff is called Attribute training.

Yes I think you'd need at least 2 or 3 years good training to start to get good.
    Though I think striking can be learned a little quicker that grappling/bjj. (I will find out for sure soon when I start to learn grappling).

I like what Paxo posted... geoff thompson on the 3rd DVD on Real Punches, says the exact same thing... start to add in dirty tricks in boxing.

I will not be learned in a 24 Hour Rambo course. thats one thing for sure!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

Okay, I started my combatives training today. So far,

10 eye gouges (Next time I'm gonna get a picture of some angry dude's face as my wallpaper and use it as a target)
    Prepared myself mentally to "switch it on"
    Remembered to be "aggressive" and have a kill or be killed mentality "when the time comes"
    I thought about smashing a dudes nuts, sticking my fingures in his eyes etc
    I was goign to practice sprints but I thought reading a book about "real life street defence" would be more productive
    No retreat, no surrender

Peace

Okay, I started my combatives training today. So far,

10 eye gouges (Next time I'm gonna get a picture of some angry dude's face as my wallpaper and use it as a target)
    Prepared myself mentally to "switch it on"
    Remembered to be "aggressive" and have a kill or be killed mentality "when the time comes"
    I thought about smashing a dudes nuts, sticking my fingures in his eyes etc
    I was goign to practice sprints but I thought reading a book about "real life street defence" would be more productive
    No retreat, no surrender

Peace

As long as your enjoying yourself thats the main thing...

You should practice your thai clinch a bit more too, have another look at the vid on your web site...

Jon wrote:
    Hi John,
    Doing it badly and missing, is down to you not having it as part of your training plan right?

well the point was to show that i still threw it, even though i was used to being bound by the rule 'no elbows'. to be able to land a good elbow i would've have to had sparred with them for months and months, working with a good thai boxing coach etc.

Jon wrote:
    I would say 100% of any attacker out there that are Irish in origin aren't BJJ brown belts!

lol but a decent blue belt could've done the same. the point being working yourself towards a decent level of grappling (which i know you're doing!) is much more beneficial than concentrating on the 'maiming' techniques.
    Jon wrote:
    Also ear pulling, eye gouging are normally trained from clinch postion but not exclusively.

it was done from the clinch
    Jon wrote:
    Lee for example will advocate the new student to pick 3 simple strikes and train them over and over until you can use them with unconcious competence and you are pressure tested on them also.

endless repetitions? or endless hours of sparring? there's not more that 3 types of punches in boxing - still takes endless hours of padwork/sparring to be able to use them in a competitive/pressured environment.
    Jon wrote:
    Thats the thing with combatives they generally run classes on a constant basis

according to his timetable (which may be wrong?) there is 1 group class per week. must be hard to cover boxing, wrestling, anaerabic training, foul tactics, weapons, pre/post fight.......with an hour and a half per week.

Paxo wrote:
    And " When fighting in the street be first, be fast and be furious but above all be first.

and a good boxer through years of training in a proven, effective delivery system will have the mental and physical strength plus the skills to do this

yes, and the only small point I'd add in to that, is perhaps some time spent working pads with no hands wraps nor gloves, to get a true sense of what its like to hit something with no protection...

Or go down to Shane in KoKoro and do some barekuckle FC sparring (body shots)...with feels very different to punch someone with no gloves on.

Absolutely. That was his point. You must have the delivery system, in this case boxing skills, to add the nasty stuff too. If you do not have a delivery platform it is going to be very difficult to be first, fast or furious
    I have very limited experience of ground fighting but I would imagine that the same principle applies

Paxo

lol but a decent blue belt could've done the same.

I would still say you are unlikely to be mugged or 'started on' by a MAist! Also you mentioned that the person you were training with in the clinch couldn't bite or eye gouge etc, but was that after the thought? Did you wrap him up and then say try bite/gouge me?
    endless repetitions? or endless hours of sparring?

both, the strikes are done on dead pads at first so the person can see how they should deliver them properly (proper body mechanics etc) Then the skill level in increased where they are used eventually in all out sparring. You should see the sparring its quite tough. Similar to the Senshido clip I posted a while back. Your TP doesn't give you a minute.
    according to his timetable (which may be wrong?) there is 1 group class per week. must be hard to cover boxing, wrestling, anaerabic training, foul tactics, weapons, pre/post fight.......with an hour and a half per week

Well you know as well as I do you won't get everyting into one class! He has one class a week at his own centre. He's on the road then everyother day (that he isn't abroad) teaching on site for various different client bases. He has some element of the Brit army, various schools, rape prevention centres and all that kind of thing.
    They are questions he's probably best of answering himself TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Hey Jon,

As an ex-boxer/floor mopper/TKDist yourself;), you have a delivery system upon which to base the strikes you're talking about. What would you teach to a totally new guy who had zero MA experience? I ask this because a lot of combatives folk seem to be from various MA backgrounds and therefore can sort of graft new strikes onto their base. So I wonder what the beginner is thought in terms of stance, footwork etc.

In my experience, punching comes easy to people. I can show anyone how to jab, and they can do it, on the spot, on a pad maybe, within a few minutes. And it will look like a jab and porbably feel like a jab too. But the difficulty isn't in that hand movement its in the feet and the hips. For me, it takes about a years constant training for the average person to be able to understand the importance of their hips and feet when punching and begin to hit to their potential. Some develop faster, some slower, but I'd put that as the ballpark time. What makes combatives so different?

Okay theres two questions there and I only meant to ask one!

Jon wrote:
    I would still say you are unlikely to be mugged or 'started on' by a MAist!

lol that wasn't my point. i'm saying it puts you in the position of advantage against an attacker.

Jon wrote:
    Also you mentioned that the person you were training with in the clinch couldn't bite or eye gouge etc, but was that after the thought? Did you wrap him up and then say try bite/gouge me?

lol that wouldn't be very fair now would it haha! no he was allowed to try from the start
    Jon wrote:
    Well you know as well as I do you won't get everyting into one class! He has one class a week at his own centre. He's on the road then everyother day

my point was more the average joe thats in his class, how much can he get to cover of all those topics and possible scenarios with an hour and a half per week. maybe lee recommends other training for them for the rest of the week or something?

Jon wrote:
    They are questions he's probably best of answering himself TBH.

fair point.

floor mopper

LOL.. leave it out! :D
    What would you teach to a totally new guy who had zero MA experience?

exactly what I was taught! We were all totally new to MA at one point. I remember probably '91 or 2 in Phibsboro ABC, Paddy Delaney having me jab the bag for nearly 2 weeks solid (not literally of course :) ) at first I was just hitting it with my arm, it took a while to learn how to shift in with it, same with all boxing skills.
    Again combative strikes are GM by nature and are generally easy to understand, it's striking with speed and power is what you have to become proficient at - and that takes practice on pads and on the bag.
    In my experience, punching comes easy to people

Not quite sure about that. Punching properly is a science in itself. Combative training tends to prefer open hand strikes or hammer fist strikes. An excellent street fighter friend of mine had a vicious left hook (still does) however his left hand is in bits, ravaged by arthritis and deformity - no matter how tough you are if you crack someone a solid punch in a full on scrap chances are your going to hit something hard - them wee knuckles will crack! Tyson being a better example.
    I can show anyone how to jab, and they can do it, on the spot, on a pad maybe, within a few minutes

Personally I think it takes longer. If your talking about a boxing jab, there's more to it than just hitting the pad with your hand, and generally beginners to MA have no concept of multi tasking - as in keeping your back hand up, shoulders up, chin down, protecting the button as you punch, stepping in, stepping off, proper foot work. All this takes time, and lots of it.

Which now I noticed you've stated already :D
    What makes combatives so different?

Nothing really. To be good at anything takes time and practice. However, I think Combatives can be an add on to your delivery system - an add on with a emphasis on street encounters/situations.
    What I liked about Lee Morrisons approach was that Combative principles can be added into any sport combat approach/training system. Its just a different view, some will agree some won't - thats what makes the world go round.

What makes Combatives different from other 'pure' self defence styles like Krav or systema - well you've seen the clips. Combatives allows you to train full on, there is no fancy gun control, no fancy knife control - its all just there for you to see. There is no hiding behind any crap that you are going to learn how to protect yourself over night or even in a weekend - all the good combative guys say if you're involved in a street fight you're going to get hurt, you may even get battered. If you tackle someone who's intent on using a knife - your going to get cut - its really about reducing the odds. If you encounter someone who has the twisted mind to pull a trigger in you - no answer..your screwed.

From my point of view, I wanted something that I could call useful on the street as opposed to the garbage I was handing out in TKD class. We still train for sport, infact we train for sport mostly. Our self defence stuff is dealt with on a different day. Most of my guys are teens, they are full of testosterone and want to win and be champions- my goal is to teach them to be as good as they can be and then watch them win. My combatives is an add on to something that didn't function in the past - gap filled!

Train and be happy - and enjoy learning. Whatever it is your learning and thank the universe for variety! :)

Jean Yves Theriault, who was world middle weight Professional Kickboxing champ for 15 years undefeated (he retired abuot 94 ish), told me when he start MA, his coach only let him Jab for firsts 6 months...jab, slip jabs, parry jabs, and spar jabs... 6 months....1 strike.

Thats a good measure I think...especially since he became an undefeated pro fighter for 15 years.

I think it takes, at least 2 years before it all starts to come together, for strikes, anyway in my experience.

As a kickboxer that lads who stuck about for over 2 years started to come together well.

Myself doing Thai almost 2 years, and training most days for all of this year...sometimes twice a day... I am just finding it starting to come together for me now..within their way of doing things.

Jon wrote:

There is no hiding behind any crap that you are going to learn how to protect yourself over night or even in a weekend -

/

See thats all down to one certain individual who learned a bit of KM and Combatives and turned it into a complete money racket.

I think thats why in Ireland, RBSD got such as question mark over it, from other MA people. Its not fair really to genuine RBSD/Combatives/KM people.

Everyone who trains hard, and who have years of other systems and sparring, and even fought at international level, got tarred by the one brush due to the KM Money Racket guy.

In the UK RBSD/Combatives people are highly respected, and their instruction is sought internationally, because what they teach is good and works.

And as Jon says....its sits perfectly upon any other MA/Delievery system...mine originally being kickboxing and now Thai. with MMA and jeet Kune do being added in next year as I expand my training.

Thanks for the answer Jon. Just to clear up I was talking about the sort of aesthetics of a punch. I should have clarified by saying that i can teach someone the mechanics of moving their arm in a punching fashion. Actual punching takes years, I think we agree.

Roper wrote:
    Thanks for the answer Jon. Just to clear up I was talking about the sort of aesthetics of a punch. I should have clarified by saying that i can teach someone the mechanics of moving their arm in a punching fashion. Actual punching takes years, I think we agree.

Hi Barry

yes take years! you should move to open handed strikes for SD...did you not break your hand twice when hitting pads, and you bandaged???

sure look at BasRutten.tv and see him whack some people in the MMA ring with palm strikes..

Actual punching takes years, I think we agree.

Absolutely! ;)

yes take years! you should move to open handed strikes for SD...did you not break your hand twice when hitting pads, and you bandaged???
    No, once on a head, once on a pad!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

I'm going to sum up combatives as a form of training that allows the person to pay money for a private lesson, be allowed to beat up another person in a controlled environment with protective gear. At the start and end there is some soft skills lecturing.

For me personally, I'd be completely bored by more than 3 consectitive sessions. It would be too expensive to train regularly. Without training regularly you'd see little benefits. conclusion - no thanks.

It would be too expensive to train regularly.

wow and all that without having a clue what it involves..nice one :rolleyes:

In the new year I hope to have an hour on a wednesday for combative type training, cost - a fiver. Luckily the basic minimun wage is going up.

As for privates, if you go to any instructor who's worth their salt, you will pay a decent rate, and most cases ists worth it whether it be Thai, BJJ or whatever.

Glad you contributed something positive..as ever :)

glad to of service jon.

I'm sure plenty of people have egotistical reasons for doing martial arts. I don't mind people having ego nurturing reasons for doing mma/boxing/judo/thai because at the end of the day they're doing good honest work. How many people do combatives to make them feel like a bad ass?

Everyone that does combativies or something similar seems to be well versed in Open hand palm strikes, knees to the groin, pressure testing, buzz word, marketing martial art term blah blah.

How many have palm struck someon in the the head?
    Some?
    How many have done it against someone that was giving some sort of resistance?
    Some?
    How many have done it against someone that wasn't in a bulletman suit?
    Some?
    How many have done it against someone that is simulataneously trying to palm strike them back?
    Some?
    How many have done it in an environment in which some one is trying to attack you with everything they've got?
    Some? Any?

There are certain people, lovely successful business men that might get some satisfaction going all out against a bulletman suited guy who isn't really fighting back. It sounds to me like good cardio and precision/accuracy drill. So maybe they do a bit of pressure testing with a little bit of shouting and ranting. But how many really move outside their "zone of comfort".

Everyone that does combativies or something similar seems to be well versed in Open hand palm strikes, knees to the groin, pressure testing, buzz word, marketing martial art term blah blah.

You mean everyone involved inteaching MA?
    But how many really move outside their "zone of comfort".

Im afraid you'll need to conduct a survey for that. Again Combatives is a new concept to me, im not entirely qualified to answer your questions accurately.
    Lee Morrison will be back in Dublin early next year, you are more than welcome to come and train and talk with him so he can answer them properly. I mean that sincerly.

In fact what I can do is ask Rich Dimitri directly, if yo don't mind me using your post.

Go right ahead.

How come there are so many celebreties in the Combatitives scene? The Geoff Thompsons, Rich Demitris, Lee Morisons. I don't know any famous karateka, TKD, other martial artists except for:

Bruce Lee
    A couple of judo people
    MMA people
    Movie guys

Is combatives the next white collar boxing?

gymrabbit wrote:
    Go right ahead.

How come there are so many celebreties in the Combatitives scene? The Geoff Thompsons, Rich Demitris, Lee Morisons. I don't know any famous karateka, TKD, other martial artists except for:

Bruce Lee
    A couple of judo people
    MMA people
    Movie guys

Is combatives the next white collar boxing?

If you stick around MA long enough, there is plenty of "famous" people within their own MA sectors.

I doubt Lee Morrisson or Rich Demitris is famous. thats laughable that you suggest their famous.

Geoff Thompson...is well know as his bio Watch My Back was on The Sunday Times best seller list of a period of time.

fair enough must be just this forum with its cult following.

gymrabbit wrote:
    How many have done it in an environment in which some one is trying to attack you with everything they've got?
    Some? Any?

".

I have, more than once.

Hows your striking skills Gymrabbit?

Open hand strikes, have very little different than a closed handed strike.

I have, more than once.

Hows your striking skills Gymrabbit?

Open hand strikes, have very little different than a closed handed strike.

Excellent. I've got the eye poke down. and hammerfist to clavicle perfected.

gymrabbit wrote:
    Excellent. I've got the eye poke down. and hammerfist to clavicle perfected.

I was more interested in your boxing skills?

That way we can test you out, when we spar when I come home on hols next year...not be long now.

sure, why don't you get yourself down to ~77kg and we'll fight on ROT8?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Lads I think this is just martial arts evolving. In recent decades the striking arts were in vogue and seemingly "unbeatable" , then BJJ and Judo style arts seemed to dominate the former in UFC etc. Bjjers (from what I read here, not trying to start a war) felt "unbeatable" and are dismissive of stand up arts (again not a war but an observation), now it seems that Urban Combatives is taking the MMA ethic and bringing it a step further i.e stripping it to the bare essentials and focusing on streetfighting and rapid destruction. Of course all involved feel that their way is now "unbeatable" and they may be right, time will tell.

Kavanagh, make it happen.

gymrabbit wrote:

Weight me ass... when I was 70Kg I was sparring guys way bigger than I am now.

Why do you need to enter a competition to spar someone???

All you need some gloves, and go at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

i like these points. anaerobic training will certainly develop a healthy body and mental toughness. i wonder how many combatives guys regularily train in the anaerobic zone?

and to understand what adrenal stress will do the system and to regularily subject yourself to its effects so you can perform under it. leaving the comfort zone is very important, is it regularily done?

Two excellent points John.
    The amount of reality in reality based self defence can be boiled down two these two questions imo.

gymrabbit wrote:

Count me in also...;)

Baggio... wrote:
    Count me in also...;)

LOL! I am 90kg....and Master Yoda....oh I mean Gymrabbit wants me to drop to 77kg, before he will even have a friendly spar with me??? :rolleyes:

The only reason I want to train with him, is from his posts he seems to know so much about MA... I figure I might learn a few new tricks.

All bow to Master Yoda lads.

G.R. can be the boards new punching bag. ;)

Don't worry about the weight ratio GR, I'm sure it will be just a friendly bit of sparring - with full power of course, so we can see your skills under a bit of pressure.

I'm taking bets now... who's in? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

Heh. Gymrabbit is a pretty solid fighter. This could prove interesting.

Good. I hope so.

Jeez lads, this is not the direction I was hoping the debate would go in.

All I posted was the difference's in both aspects as per an instructors view.

It baffles me as to why some people find different concepts or approaches to training so annoying that it seems they take it personally. Its quite childish some of the stances taken in this debate nearly akin to mine is 'bigger than yours', my sport is tougher than your sport BS.
    I didn't or did anyone else come saying combative/RBSD training is better than yours etc - I said it was a different concept. You don't have to accept it, you don't have to like it. Smart arse comments and snide remarks just cripple the debate. Such remarks are belong in the school yard or the college snackery.
    Hard to believe sometimes that we all Irish MAists here, all with a unique direction in life and past times, but yet all we do is criticise and be little.
    Sad really.

Now Mill, are you going to make that weight or not ;)

Sorry this thread was going a bit too palsy for my liking. I thought the real issues needed to be put on the table and discussed. Before anyone goes and dismisses my opinions as some young punk mma conspiratist I'm not.

When I feel BJJ people are saying something I disagree with I give the same reaction. Same to boxers and everyone else. Combatives is nothing different. Just something new claiming (or appearing to claim) to be the new perfect answer to an age old question.

Millionaire when you're back in Dubin we'll have a friendly spar up in ShaneT's place (with his permission), boxing, kickboxing and mma rules if it makes you happy. Sure baggio can come too.

gymrabbit wrote:
    Millionaire when you're back in Dubin we'll have a friendly spar up in ShaneT's place (with his permission), boxing, kickboxing and mma rules if it makes you happy. Sure baggio can come too.

Hey GR,

Were only messing with you...We all have different opinions here which is cool, we can't always agree - but it's just friendly banter.

If you and Mill are going to train - I'll tag along and we can just have a good auld friendly natter about M.A.:)

Cheers,

B.

Remember it's Christmas... :)

My 2 cents worth. MA involves fighting within a set of rules. Combatives / SD involves surviving in a no rules situation. In order to develop the skills to survive I train within a MA system.
    I try and make that training as hard and as close to "reality " as I can. eg hard sparring, 2v1 sparring, dirty boxing, training in different environments, sparring when tired or breathless etc
    The rules allow me to develop and refine my delivery systems and explore techniques and responses in a safe environment.
    My combatives are a stripped down, refined set of techniques based on dialog, deception and destruction.

I and I stress that this is a personal viewpoint could not deliver the SD aspects without the regular MA and conditioning training. The other advantage is that the MA and conditioning training helps keep me in good health and provides an area of interest in my life.

Paxo

paxo wrote:
    The other advantage is that the MA and conditioning training helps keep me in good health and provides an area of interest in my life.

I'm the same... I don't know what I'd do - if I was not practicing, talking or researching this stuff. I'd prolly go mad.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭ShaneT

Hey Lads. GymRabbit has trained with me a few times. He's a person that likes to challenge everything (and I mean that in a positive sense). He's challenged every word to fall from my lips and every technique/principle I've ever shown him. I have to admit; at first I thought he was taking the piss. Then I realised that he reminds me a little of a younger me - more willing to challenge all that was before him, progressing at a tremendous rate because he ISN'T willing to simply accept an argument/statement at face value.

To be honest; I've learned from meeting him. I've come to remember that challenging what you see and hear is a GOOD thing. Blindly accepting what you see and hear is rarely a good thing.

I've also learned that being challenged can take away that warm, fuzzy, self righteous and conceited feeling that we all enjoy. However, how we respond to challenges can define us. Being challenged keeps us on our toes.

My two cents; the world needs people like Gymrabbit. Without them; the evolution of our species is at risk.

He may be challenging, arrogant and belligerant - but he is NOT afraid to challenge, he IS intelligent and he DOES (generally) know what he's talking about (or as a minimum he has a reason for challeging what he's heard).

So, keep up the good work Mr. Rabbit; of course - you may also want to consider how many bridges you burn along the way... :o

Incidentally; if ever Gymrabbit and Millionaire did clash (with even weight or not) - I am 100% certain of who the victor would be. But, I'll keep that little nugget to myself! Ah... the power..! :D Play nice lads and hope to see you both visiting us again soon. ;)

Lads,
    Internet challenges should be decided in the ring, or at a closed door match we can all bet on. Please keep all of us in internet land in mind when you do this because good entertainment is hard to come by. If you do get it together, I'll referee, and by that I mean point and laugh.

Seriously, to let someone on the internet annoy you to the point of setting up a row is just gas. Especially when you're 4000 miles away from each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭ShaneT

Roper wrote:
    Seriously, to let someone on the internet annoy you to the point of setting up a row is just gas. Especially when you're 4000 miles away from each other.
    icon14.gif

There used to be a great thing in MA... Respect, Manners, Respect for another persons point of view or style.

Gym Rabbit within the last week has called me an "ignorant thug" and
    " naieve" or however its spelled....I guess "ignorant thugs" like me are not good at spelling either. I never had any issue with him, for by cracking a joke, which came across the wrong way, and I actually apologieded in my next posting, on that same thread.

personally, I like to have respect for other MA people, as there is always something to learn, or a new training method to try out, regardless of their style be it MMA, Boxing, BJJ, Karate, or Aikido etc...

Uncalled for attacks on people or the styles they chose to train in, such as combatives in this thread, is just not on in my books, especially when getting down to name calling like "ignorant thug".

sure I am 4000 miles away, but that won't be for ever.

In fact, I plan to step back into ring in 2007 for Muay Thai and also MMA (pro rules or whatever,). In fact Shane T is an inspiration to me, as we're not too far apart age wise, so if Shanes getting in, I am going to as well. Its been 6 years since my last fight, so I am sure with hard training I will make up for lost time. hell, I train harder anyway, but I am going to up it x 3 times for 2007.

I am all on for closed door matches... much better than giving a promoter a slice of the pie.

If someone is going to continually spoil a good forum by ill mannered comments etc, then perhaps its time they learn some humility the traditional way! It would not be tolerated in alot of dojos, lack of respect etc, so I see no reason to accept such an attitude on a forum, where most other people interact and learn or ask questions with respect. Or very simply, back in my kickboxing club, the answer to many questions was "lets glove up" Osu! Lets have a spar, keep it friendly, and maybe we can all learn from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

Warning: Site viewers are warned not to run when inside the forum, due to the risk of slipping on all the testosterone the posters spew from every orifice.