Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Poker Championship - Live Updates - Blondepoker

• 20-12-2006 11:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭

PokerEvents are proud to announce that Blondepoker will be covering the Irish Poker Championship (5th - 7th) with Live Updates.

There will also be updates on PokerEvents Forum! www.pokerevents.ie

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

PokerEvents are proud to announce that Blondepoker will be covering the Irish Poker Championship (5th - 7th) with Live Updates.

There will also be updates on PokerEvents Forum! www.pokerevents.ie
    That will be brilliant. I must follow those updates as they happen on BlondePoker and PokerEvents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭PokerEvents-Ste

5starpool wrote:
    That will be brilliant. I must follow those updates as they happen on BlondePoker and PokerEvents.

5starpool,

Can you please explain you thoughts behind this post?

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

lol, you are a hero Dom

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I couldn't resist the post style, however the contents of the post are genuine and I will be reading the updates. Loosen up a little for Gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Listen here Santa......just cause your only around the place once in a while, some people don't get you humor.

ps happy xmas

good luck 2morrow nite m8.
    :p:p:p

ok

I would have used yellow for Blondepoker rather then purple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Stephen,
    I have a ticket for the New Years Day sat. I assume it is ok if I use it for one of the super sats in Citywest instaed ?

Regards - WH

WH BONNEY wrote:
    Stephen,
    I have a ticket for the New Years Day sat. I assume it is ok if I use it for one of the super sats in Citywest instaed ?

Regards - WH

No problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

What time does the Satellite start on New Years Day at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

smurph wrote:

Whatever time it is, too early for my liking.
    Would people mind if I wear sunglasses while dealing it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

how about reading detailed & timely updates on:

antes up!

(none of you have any creative flair or common sense for that matter!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

cooker3 wrote:
    Whatever time it is, too early for my liking.
    Would people mind if I wear sunglasses while dealing it...
    any chance you would wear a mask/hat too?:)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I dunno Bops, no mention of us and considering Blonde are being paid to report on it and PokerEvents are running their own updates I'm not exactly feeling the love right now... :)

Is it cos Mike is black? :p

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

DeVore wrote:
    I dunno Bops, no mention of us and considering Blonde are being paid to report on it and PokerEvents are running their own updates I'm not exactly feeling the love right now... :)

DeV.

Where's Solksjaer quoting his PE have done so much for the Irish poker scene mantra when someting like this happens.

Cant fecking believe they are paying an English site to do updates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

BigDragon wrote:
    PE have done so much for the Irish poker scene mantra when someting like this happens.
    (I agree)

I never said this! I merely voted for them in your poll. I suppose you get my mantra thing from when I try to balance out the overly negative posts everytime they are mentioned. The vibe just doesn't feel right (IMHO, they are not so bad, could do with some improvements but who am I to say)

I would have prefered if they used an Irish site to do their reporting (seen as I'm a fenian bstd) I think the GJP lads (these are antesup?) do a great job
    I'm not associated with pokerevents in any way boyz. Perhpas there is a logical business reason for it. Let them answer it.
    Just waanna play cards wahh!

btw Will try to play this charity event later. (least I don't have to shave my head this year) Put me in for your last longer thingy with the winnings to the charity if I bag the winner.

Peace on you!

Solksjaer wrote:
    (I agree)

I never said this! I merely voted for them in your poll. I suppose you get my mantra thing from when I try to balance out the overly negative posts everytime they are mentioned. The vibe just doesn't feel right (IMHO, they are not so bad, could do with some improvements but who am I to say)

I would have prefered if they used an Irish site to do their reporting (seen as I'm a fenian bstd) I think the GJP lads (these are antesup?) do a great job
    I'm not associated with pokerevents in any way boyz. Perhpas there is a logical business reason for it. Let them answer it.
    Just waanna play cards wahh!

btw Will try to play this charity event later. (least I don't have to shave my head this year) Put me in for your last longer thingy with the winnings to the charity if I bag the winner.

Peace on you!

:D:D;) Yeah, singled you out a bit. Its just that when there is some criticism of PE there are a few people that come out of the woodwork like an SAS squad. I love PE's games but they're never perfect (the 3k event was close) and when Fintan was active on here things got way better after he took criticism on board.

The paying of Blonde is a disgrace. imho

Catch you later for a chat.

Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

In fairness Pokerevents run a very good show and while I would like to see them use Antesup for the updates (as they always do a top notch job) they have a business to run and GJP is a competitor...the blondepoker thing has to be a tie up with a view to future benefits for PE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

WOW mike is black

slegs wrote:
    In fairness Pokerevents run a very good show

I agree. Never disagreed.
    and while I would like to see them use Antesup for the updates (as they always do a top notch job) they have a business to run and GJP is a competitor...the blondepoker thing has to be a tie up with a view to future benefits for PE

Blondpoker is a bigger competitor than PE if you are talking about poker rooms.

If you mean that they are a live tourney provider then why not do an 'antesup' and do the coverage yourself (PE) and tell Blonde Poker readers about the coverage (always wwelcome over there).

Sub-contracting out to another 'company' from elsewhere is bad for business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Think We All Need A Group Hug

:d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d

BigDragon wrote:
    I agree. Never disagreed.

Blondpoker is a bigger competitor than PE if you are talking about poker rooms.

If you mean that they are a live tourney provider then why not do an 'antesup' and do the coverage yourself (PE) and tell Blonde Poker readers about the coverage (always wwelcome over there).

Sub-contracting out to another 'company' from elsewhere is bad for business.

yes I did mean GJP with regards to Live events...I am presuming this is the thinking by PE

Would definately prefer myself to see Antesup involved bu all Im saying is i can understand PE's position

slegs wrote:
    ............all Im saying is i can understand PE's position

Yeah, the problem for me is, I dont. I wouldnt care who does it, but not an English company that is getting paid.

BTW Blonde is a great site and all the people who do the updates are great people I have worked with.

Just a shame is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

Here is how it will go!

Report from Blondepoker : Down to 10. Tom from GJP is still in it (Boo) Fintan has just donked off 70% on his stack on a bluff (booo, thought he was in Australia) Solksjaer (fine looking man btw) just won a huge pot with AA agianst KK (what a luckobx for them to hold up) This is a great toruny innit innit?

Down to 8 : This tournament would be run better if they allowed us to proivde dealers and a proper tournament director . Solksjaer is playing up a storm here, he has just knocked out Hector Jelly in his pink shirt (provided by blondepoker) when his A J hit on the flop against HJ 77. Brave call by HJ but not really that classy. HJ does funny walk to exit door.

Down to 5 Solksjaer has just been hit in the eye, one of several missile thrown at him one has finally hit the target. He wipes off blood with his finger and announces all in. Called by Tom accidently as he was trying to catch a passing Daithos eye Mouthing 'call me' . His 10 10 (normally mucked) gets rivered. (Yey)

Down to 3. Solksjaer (handsome did I mention that) has just been knocked out. His Poker of Kings beaten by a straight flush. The reporting on this event is now cancelled due to lack of interest.

smurph wrote:

Hello smurf,

Satellites will start at 3pm

The tournament starts at 6pm

Regards

Stephen

DeVore wrote:

DeV.

Hello DeVore,

PokerEvents are 100% behind the great reports Antes Up do covering tournaments. We would like Antes Up to cover the Irish Poker Championship (4-7th Jan'07) , And we are still open to this. To discuss this further contact info@pokerevents.ie or Fintan directly.

PokerEvents have contacted Antes Up in relation to Live Updates and have heard no response to date. There is also no mention of it being scheduled on your site. Hense no mention in the origional post.

Blonde Poker are NOT being paid to cover The IPC. They approached us after receiving information about The IPC.

Regards

Stephen

BigDragon wrote:
    Where's Solksjaer quoting his PE have done so much for the Irish poker scene mantra when someting like this happens.

BigDragon,

We are NOT paying an English site to do updates. This is misinformation NOT posted by PokerEvents!

Regards

Stephen

BigDragon wrote:
    :D:D;) Yeah, singled you out a bit. Its just that when there is some criticism of PE there are a few people that come out of the woodwork like an SAS squad. I love PE's games but they're never perfect (the 3k event was close) and when Fintan was active on here things got way better after he took criticism on board.

The paying of Blonde is a disgrace. imho

Catch you later for a chat.

Dave.

Again

PokerEvents are not paying Blonde for the Updates!

Regards

Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Solksjaer wrote:
    Perhpas there is a logical business reason for it.

Well in all fairness why would PE want to pay a competitor (GJP/Antesup) to cover their event. Business comes first. I'm sure blondepokers audience is also what PE have in mind.

Scratch This.......pulling on the breaks !!!!!!!!!!!!!! ignore

slegs wrote:
    In fairness Pokerevents run a very good show and while I would like to see them use Antesup for the updates (as they always do a top notch job) they have a business to run and GJP is a competitor...the blondepoker thing has to be a tie up with a view to future benefits for PE

Hi Slegs,

Antes Up and GJP may be related, And maybe this is why we never received a reply from Antes Up. The contact was made with Antes Up on PokerEvents side....

As regards competition with GJP its friendly as far as PokerEvents are aware!

Regards

Stephen

PiperT wrote:
    Scratch This.......pulling on the breaks !!!!!!!!!!!!!! ignore

Thanks PiperT

Good advice.

Let me clarify.... No Payment for BlondePoker

Regards

Stephen

Hi Slegs,

Antes Up and GJP may be related, And maybe this is why we never received a reply from Antes Up. The contact was made with Antes Up on PokerEvents side....

As regards competition with GJP its friendly as far as PokerEvents are aware!

Regards

Stephen

Good to hear Stephen! You are both doing a great job.

Again

PokerEvents are not paying Blonde for the Updates!

Regards

Stephen

OK I'll take your word for it....but it is mentioned by a poster ....hence my subtle rant. Thanks for your, as ever, colourful reply clearing things up.

Happy Xmas. See you 02/02/07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Just out of interest, how much are yas paying blonde to cover this???;)

redzerdrog wrote:
    Just out of interest, how much are yas paying blonde to cover this???;)

Hello redzerdrog,

They are providing the service free of charge.....

Regards

Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

hi ste-

is there any way i can preregister online?
    (neteller/bank transfer,etc?)
    basically what is the easiest way for me to register

robinlacey wrote:
    hi ste-

is there any way i can preregister online?
    (neteller/bank transfer,etc?)
    basically what is the easiest way for me to register

Hi robinlacey

Best way to register is email info@pokerevents.ie

We will email you account details to lodge money and register you

Hope this is helpfull

Regards

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

3 nonsense posts deleted. Everyone else on their best behaviour plz.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ok, I want to straighten a few things out:

Firstly I was half jerking PE-Ste's chain for clearly leaving us out of his little plug here and I thought I'd stir it a little for laughs. Nothing nasty was meant by it.

However now a few things have been said that I'm going to query. I know the Blondies very well and I know their policy on coverage. I wish we could command what they command for coverage but we cant because we're a big fish in a small pond. I do not know anything about any commercial dealing between PE and Blonde so I will retract my comment (made in jest because I simply presumed they were being paid as they are paid for most coverage in the UK and havent done it in Ireland before for nothing). If I have been wrong I will apologise unreservedly.

Antesup as far as I know has not been contacted about coverage. I'd like to know how you tried to contact us Ste because it worries me that someone *could* try to contact us and we somehow not respond. I think everyone online knows we cover a lot of tournies in Ireland and we certainly have no reason to snub PE. We've covered the IPC before and Antesup tries to maintain an impartial stance about competition between online sites.

Look at it from my pov and you can see that you came along to another site I own (Boards) to trumpet the coverage and I thought it was a little cheeky and decided to tweak a nose back. After that it got out of hand and I wish it hadnt.

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    Ok, I want to straighten a few things out:

Firstly I was half jerking PE-Ste's chain for clearly leaving us out of his little plug here and I thought I'd stir it a little for laughs. Nothing nasty was meant by it.

However now a few things have been said that I'm going to query. I know the Blondies very well and I know their policy on coverage. I wish we could command what they command for coverage but we cant because we're a big fish in a small pond. I do not know anything about any commercial dealing between PE and Blonde so I will retract my comment (made in jest because I simply presumed they were being paid as they are paid for most coverage in the UK and havent done it in Ireland before for nothing). If I have been wrong I will apologise unreservedly.

Antesup as far as I know has not been contacted about coverage. I'd like to know how you tried to contact us Ste because it worries me that someone *could* try to contact us and we somehow not respond. I think everyone online knows we cover a lot of tournies in Ireland and we certainly have no reason to snub PE. We've covered the IPC before and Antesup tries to maintain an impartial stance about competition between online sites.

Look at it from my pov and you can see that you came along to another site I own (Boards) to trumpet the coverage and I thought it was a little cheeky and decided to tweak a nose back. After that it got out of hand and I wish it hadnt.

DeV.

Hello Dev,

I think this should not be continued in a public forum, I assume you have Fintans mobile number if not contact info@pokerevents.ie . He will discuss when and how he contacted you!

PokerEvents know what a great job Antes Up have done and will continue to do. And would like to you to continue to run the great reports you do on our events too.

I coundn't post Antes Up was covering the event as there was no confirmation received.

I do not mean to be cheeky with any of my posts.. Boards.ie is a valuable source of info for players and I was letting them know where they could follow The IPC.

Please give Fintan a call as PokerEvents do not wish to fall out with Antes Up, Boards.ie or Green Joker Poker.

Regards

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

I was having a browse on thehendonmob.com for tournies and spotted this one, I have been thinking of making a visit to Dublin as it's been over 3 years since I've been there so it's long overdue and since I spent 9 years there I have plenty of good memorires and old friends I'd like to catch up with, also it'd be kind of nice to finally see some of the faces from here.

Anyway not sure if I can actually make it but am seriously thinking about it, so asking people's opinions on the event? Is it worth my while coming over, will there be plenty of cash games on the side etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

BIG SLICK POKER - LIVE UPDATES

We are proud to announce that fintan and the boys have paid us to do live coverage using morse code and smoke signals from the city west --- Keep AN EYE OUT, this is the future

But to be honest i love the coverage tom and mike do from antes up , And i hope he does go ahead and cover this one as Blonde poker do not know the locals or people on boards and will prob concentrate on the bigger names in the comp ANDY BLACK AND PADRIAG P Respectively ---Antes up have brought perfect coverage of every event they hv been to this year with the odd 1 or two pisss up dissappearences lol - I really do hope u cover this one tom ---If not i hope to see u there anyhow --

Neill K

BIG-SLICK-POKER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

hi,

i emailed the address given in this thread about preregistering,but never heard back...
    you can contact me through pm here on boards if you like...

also,will there be cash games at this event?

cheers,
    robin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Camone

about this ipc, do those 1500 tickets include registration or is it another 150 bells to pay there? also, roughly what percentage of the field are ye gonna payout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I am surprised if Blonde arent being paid to do coverage, I mean why would they travel abroad to cover a tournament that will have probably very few "name" or english players (the players their audience will be following) to report on, so where is the commercial advantage to covering a small regional tournament. Of course I have no reason to not believe stephen but seems an unusual move on blondes part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭poorbarman

Camone wrote:
    about this ipc, do those 1500 tickets include registration or is it another 150 bells to pay there? also, roughly what percentage of the field are ye gonna payout?
    Includes reg they are taking 9% of the pool and i presume 10% of the field get paid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I am surprised if Blonde arent being paid to do coverage, I mean why would they travel abroad to cover a tournament that will have probably very few "name" or english players (the players their audience will be following) to report on, so where is the commercial advantage to covering a small regional tournament. Of course I have no reason to not believe stephen but seems an unusual move on blondes part.

Tikay from Blonde is over with a Sky TV crew for a new TV series starting in 2007. Makes sense for them to kill 2 birds with one stone.

Antesup will most likely be there, I have been out of circulation in the poker scene for the first time in a while so only just caught this. We had always planned to cover this event but have definately not been contacted by Pokerevents with regard to doing anything.

Camone wrote:

Hello Camone,

The €1500 ticket includes a 9% reg fee. Approx 10% of the field will be paid

Hope this clears up your queries

Regards

Stephen

Lets start another thread about questions about the IPC and leave this die.

DeV.