Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ma got my sister a laptop?

• 19-12-2006 6:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭

My mother got my sister this laptop she paid 1,300 I think its abit much.

Fujitsu Siemens
    Mobile AMD Semiron 3200
    60Gig SATA
    Windows XP SP2
    Expresscard 34/54
    DVD burner
    Radeon express 1100

Cant really see the writing on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Where did she buy that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Seriously over priced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Ouch.

Way over the odds. Where did she buy it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I dont think even PC world would charge that much for that rubbish!! Thats a €600 AT MOST laptop! Even thats pushing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

You know the guy's that go around every week, you pay them off.

Are ye serious is it that bad? He got her a camera too Samsung Didimax A 503 for €230 you can buy it on Ebay for €120 :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Are ye serious is it that bad?

Yes. Who are these guys that go around every week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Jaysus, thats a 500 - 650 priced laptop. Sorry Joe but your Mam was codded.

You know the guy's that go around every week, you pay them off.

Erm, the milkman? The paperboy? The Avon Lady?

tom dunne wrote:
    Erm, the milkman? The paperboy? The Avon Lady?

Yeah the milkman :rolleyes: . You know the guy's they have book's you can buy clothes etc etc off them and you pay them back weekly.

She can give them back so she wasnt ripped I just wondering on the price.

Can anyone point me the right area where I could buy a laptop tomorrow I'll give her the money to buy her one nothing mad now just something that's cheaper and worth the money.

Here is a picture of the box

Can anyone point me the right area where I could buy a laptop tomorrow I'll give her the money to buy her one nothing mad now just something that's cheaper and worth the money.

At this stage, the likes of PC World are probably the best option, as much as it kills me to say it.

You will probably get something in the €500-€600 range suitable for basic computing needs. If you go €100-€200 more, you will get a better spec with a bit of future-proofing built in (not that you can future-proof technology that much).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ye pcworld is probably your best bet so that you can get it before christmas, (www.laptopsdirect.ie may do next day delivery on some laptops you could give them a ring to see if they are) other then that http://www.pcworld.ie/productDetails.aspx?productRID=1761&image=Compaq seems like a decent laptop from pcworld for €850

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Jeepers that's one of the worst rip offs I've ever seen posted on these forums.

For that exact spec you'd pay DELL maybe 600, PC World would probably give you a far superior machine for the 749-800 mark.

Thank god she can give it back at least, I wouldn't hesitate to point out to them that their laptop is marked up about 200% and that you'll be passing the info onto everyone you know. See what they say.

That's the funny thing.

I will show her all these message's I bet she will say ah no its grand it will do the job or something like that.

Ye that laptop will do the job however it is just for over €500 less you could get a laptop that will the do job faster or for €1300 she could get both you and your sister new laptops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

From PC World: Advent 7110

* Processor Type PMP 735A
    * Processor speed 1.7 Ghz
    * Memory Size 1024 mb
    * Memory Type DDR II
    * Hard Drive Capacity 40 Gb
    * Optical Drives DVD+/- RW Double Layer
    * Graphics Card Type INTEL UMA
    * Graphics Memory 128mb shared mb
    * Wireless Enabled Yes
    * No. of USB Connections 4
    * No. of Firewire Connections 1
    * Infrared Port Included Yes
    * Other Interfaces RJ-11, RJ-45
    * Battery Type LI-ION
    * Battery life (up to) 3 hours

The price for this machine, which is by all account remarkably similar to yours performance wise? A mere 599 euro. That's...about 45% of what your mother paid!

hell even dunnes have a similar speced fuijitsu machine, except with a celeron processor for only €650

http://www.dunnesstores.ie/page.php?pid=8&section_id=32&sub_section_id=80&range_id=89&product_id=417&year=2006&month=11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus make sure she gives it back and get one from PC World (or somewhere similar) at a fraction of the cost. That is an unbelievable rip off, those muppets should be reported for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Put it to her this way.. for that price she could have got YOU a laptop as well... 2 laptops for what she paid for one piece of rubbish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Hello Saruman, how are you? What was Spin Solutions?

Pighead - if you have nothing to contribute, don't bother posting.