Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What days do you have off work, around Christmas?

• 18-12-2006 8:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks,

just wondering what days ye all have off! My dad is off from Tuesday, for 2 weeks!!! :eek: Absolute jam-bag.

I'm off Christmas Day, Stephens' Day, and then I'm back in on the Wednesday :(

You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

i dont actually work, im in TY but anyway,

Im off from this friday until sometime in jan i think.. prolly the 8th or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Finished Friday, Back the 3rd Jan (I think), noice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Working Christmas Eve evening, Christmas Day morning, St Stephens day morning, the day after that too, then off until a night shift on New Years Day night. I get hella overtime but that's the only good thing.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Off christmas day and stevens day. Then "working from home" for the rest of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Finish Friday, back the 3rd of Jan.

Big difference from last year in a different job where I finished on the 16th of December and was back on the 30th of January. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey folks,

just wondering what days ye all have off! My dad is off from Tuesday, for 2 weeks!!! :eek: Absolute jam-bag.

You?

Would you have preffered more time off? if so did you not ask for time off in the usual way?

Your dad is off for 2 weeks, I presume this is his holiday days he is taking off. So it is sort of like on paddys day saying "all I have off is 1 day, but my sister is getting 3 weeks off".

This happens every year people somehow thinking christmas holidays are nothing to do with their normal holiday allowance. Good friday is even worse, it is not a public holiday yet many are forced to take it off. Some will say "no it is not taken from my holiday allowance, it is given off free", well another way to look at it is that it is from your allowance and you get 21 days per year (if told 20), but that it is another forced holiday

You should be happy you are not being forced to take days off, chistmas & stephens are public holidays if you wanted more you should have applied, just like if you want an extended bank holiday.

BTW legally you must be given 1 months notice of any forced holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Finished Friday 22, back 3 Jan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

from this friday till the sixth most holidays i have had around christmas since leaving school

and rubadub alot of companies do not like allow their staff to take holidays in December from say the 15th till the start of Januart as otherwise you would have your entire staff off on holidays for Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I took leave, off from Christmas eve until the 5th Jan.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

finish up lunchtime thursday (21) back mon 8th jan

I havent got a clue, though hopefully christmas day, st stephens day, and a few days off after that because last year I came back after St. Stephens day and had to work 8 days in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'm off from tomorrow until the 9th of January. I don't even like the holiday period, I just had a lot of roll over annual leave built up that I had to take off and this being a quite time of the year it was a handy time to take it. I'll be going into the office on xmas morning for a few hours out of spite for the day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

half day christmas eve,off christmas day,boxing day and the 27th,back to work 28th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

22nd, 25th, 26th, 29th, 30th, 31st, 1st

off. i'll not complain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Finishing up today til the 3rd of January. And getting a half-day today cos the company are treating us to a meal. :) After that, I'll do some Christmas shopping and then... the drinking begins.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Just the 25th off here in France. everyone will be back to work on the 26th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

I'll be going into the office on xmas morning for a few hours out of spite for the day though.

miserable cnut

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

27th, 28th, and 2nd off. Have the holidays to take more but I'd just end up having my sleepins disrupted by "Smithfield on Ice" so I decided against it until it has vanished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Off 25th, 26th 27th and 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

I'm self employed so I get to decide how many days i take off. :) think i'll start..... Now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I have a half day on Friday, 22nd, then I am not back in work until January 3rd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

I finish up on Thursday (21st) and have to come back on the 2nd of January. Only one of my days is an annual leave day the others are bank holidays, privilage day and time owed back to me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

off Friday 22nd, back 30th and 31st then will be back to my usual Thursday evening and weekend hours. I only work part time so it's not too bad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Just xmas week itself is 'forced' holidays from my yearly allowance of days and then back in on the 2nd. But as I've currently got 17 days left over from this years holidays to carry over to next year I guess I shouldn't be too annoyed about them taking the 3 of them off me for next week.

Maybe I should switch to a four day week for next year so as to use up a few of my extra days I'll have.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Finishing up on Friday & back on the 2nd January. That's usually long enough to spend laying around watching tv, eating & drinking really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Half day this Friday and then back the 2nd January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

zippy28 wrote:
    I'm self employed so I get to decide how many days i take off. :) think i'll start..... Now. :D

Same here. Stick it to the man!:)

I think my Dad is getting half day 22nd and back the 1st (though plenty of hangovers and people still half drunk that day)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Off Thursday I think as long as we get all our projects finished up in time. Then I'm back on the 3rd - haven't looked forward to a Christmas break this much in a long time.

Jaysus - this working lark is stressful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Hmm working nights the 23rd, 24th and 25th, then off until the 5th. Back for two days and then off to New York on the 9th for a week :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

Finished up on Fri 22nd and back on Fri 29th.
    Could have been worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Seeing as I'm a "lazy student", I'm off from this Thursday, the 21st til the 22nd of January!!! W00T!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Last day at the salt mines Dec 22nd. Back again Jan 2nd.
    Christmas week off, muy excellente!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Finish up on the 22nd and then back in on the 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

crybaby wrote:
    and rubadub alot of companies do not like allow their staff to take holidays in December from say the 15th till the start of Januart as otherwise you would have your entire staff off on holidays for Christmas
    Yep I fully realise that, I was just wondering if the OP did ask for holidays in the usual manner. I get mine first come first served, many want the same days off in summer too and are not allowed. Many companies do not allow their staff to take holidays whenever they want, not just december (but of course more likely). My company used to force holidays in july for a production line.
    Many in nursing or bar work have to take them on rotas, maybe 2 years on, one off.

I am really getting at the point that they are not "free" holidays, some still view them as such. And I would perfer to have none of my holidays forced upon me.

I have a few mates who end up working, pissed off at first but then delighted. They get double pay and have the "right" to turn up with a wicked hangover and usually have feck all work to do anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

My next act is to log out of boards.ie. I shall then turn off my PC and head home until Jan 2nd. As Mr. Burns might put it, Excellent.......:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

..I'll be abroad....in your face Dave! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

i'm off the 25th, 26th, 27th of December and the 1st of january. :)

anymore and i'd be bored sh*tless, i hate xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

DaveMcG wrote:

You?

Same as.
    Couldn't care, as work will be a piece of piddle and atmosphere very chilled.
    I'd rather that than waste days off - I'll just carry them over and use them for city breaks in Jan and Feb when the need to escape the hole is greater!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

off chistmas day and stephens day, thats all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

working nights up until friday night/saturday morning, then off until the following friday (yep... working through new years again...)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Off from 15th dec to 5th jan or sth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Working Christmas eve and probably Christmas Day as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Working 24th, no more work then till the 1st or 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Normally I would work over new year I hate going out. I couldn't get a cheap flight before the 4th so decided to stay home until then!

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

I'm in college, i finished up on friday until the beginning of february. With 2 tests somewhere in the middle. Not too bad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

I finsh up this week on Wednesday morning, but i'm back in on Christmas morning at 8am. Working the full week until Friday. Had to offer to work Christmas so that i'd be available for a wedding on the 30th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

Been forced to do anything from 10 - 16 hour days over the last month or so (computer company, quarter end)

(monday - friday)

until christmas the overtime being forced is

Monday 18th - 12 hour
    Tuesday 19th - 12 hours (possibly more, we are not sure yet)
    Wednesday 20th - 12+ hours
    Thursday 21st - 16 hours
    Friday 22nd - Regular 8am-4.30pm shift

weekend off
    monday - xmas day off
    tuesday - stephens day off

Wednesday 27th - 16 hours
    Thursday 28th - 16 hours
    Friday 29th - 16 hours

weekend off
    newyears

--

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Finish on the farm this friday, off until January 8th then, go research!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

finish on the 22nd then off until January 8th :D