Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gym Equip - So Much what to buy

• 11-12-2006 10:30am
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Lads,

Been looking to get some equipment for the house as the gyms are so bleeding expensive that I think if I save my 600 quid that over the next 3 years I could kit myself out nicely.

Soooo what to buy.
    I am going to get a weights bench and olympic weights set so that IF I out grow the 50kg set then at least I have the olympic set from the start.

Now I have a bike already, its a bit sh*te but it does the job, I would love to get a better bike but it would be a bit of a waste I think.

So what else could I get, I need to get the weight off me, about 3/4 stone before Feb, and keep a level of fitness for next seasons soccer.

So what would be good, there is a strider machine, stepper machine, rowers etc etc.

So what do ye find good? Or am I as well to invest in a good bike and use this with the weights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

A decent set of weights,weight bench and a good exercise bike will go along way.
    I'd also recommend a few small items.
    A chin up bar ,a skipping rope,a Swiss ball,and a triceps and biceps bar.
    A squat stand is handy too but not a necessity.
    I've all the above myself and I find it allows a very thorough workout.
    I'd like to have a bit more weight but its a tradeoff .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

yop wrote:

So what else could I get, I need to get the weight off me, about 3/4 stone before Feb, and keep a level of fitness for next seasons soccer.
    The best thing to do would be to get yourself a good pair of runners, and run. you can lose an awful lot of weight by running.

TBH I would advise you to join a gym rather than build your own one. Gyms these days can be very inexpensive and will offer a lot more diversity and space, which can be a factor when working out from home. There is an added level of motivation, too, when working out alongside 50-100 other people. There does be a culture of working out that you don't get at home with the telly and the fridge nearby. Of course, that is just me, but I've tried the working from home thing and the only success i had was through jogging - running as far away as possible, and having no choice but to turn around and run home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I can see what davyjose is getting at with the gym, but it can vary person to person. I am not in a gym and would never consider joining one. I have only normal non-olympic weights (about 120kg of them) ezcurl, tricep, dumbells, straight bar and a cheapo bench. Chin bar, heavy grippers and push up stands. I cycle to work and walk to the pub.
    I have no car so would have to get some transport to the gym which would be hassle, I would not like to walk or run to a gym since cardio should be done after weights anyways. I would not feel very comfortable working out in front of others, probably the big stupid faces I pull! and being able to lie on my own bed exhausted. I also prefer to workout in just shorts and trainers for some work, or in the total raw in summer if I am sweating like a demon.

i like the fact that I DO have the TV to watch or at least listen to when working out.

You dont even really need a bench. Doing weighted pushups on the stands gives me a very good workout, I can do them to total failure which is impossible at home on a bench without a spotter.

I have cut down a lot on my training now that I have lost the weight I wanted. But it is handy if I wake up I can do say 3 exercises in the morning, them come home on a friday and get 4 more in the evening before walking to the pub to ruin all my hard work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

rubadub wrote:
    i like the fact that I DO have the TV to watch or at least listen to when working out.
    Good point. There is a lot of time spent wasted on the couch in front of the TV, when people could be doing the very same thing on an exercise bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Hmm interesting, i have a few free weights here and to be honest they are rarely used, just can't focus here, the minute i get to the gym i focus immediately, no matter how tired or what concerns i have in this world. I love going to the gym, somewhere to go, new people to see, new friends to be made but each to their own. I am off for the month and will probably be down the gym 6 days of the weeks each morning and am looking forward to it. But best of luck mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

personally if I had the space I would go for a power rack with pull up and dip station, a incline/decline adjustable bench and probably a cross trainer, (If I want to run or cycle their is a road just outside my door that suits me idealy)

Mickk should hopefully have his website up and running soon enough where you can get some of this equipment, as far as i know he is just waiting on th edesigner to finish up the site. He should hopefully also be opening his new gym just off camden street either this week or next week where you will be able to see and use some of the equipment that he is going to be selling

jsb wrote:
    Mickk should hopefully have his website up and running soon enough where you can get some of this equipment, as far as i know he is just waiting on th edesigner to finish up the site. He should hopefully also be opening his new gym just off camden street either this week or next week where you will be able to see and use some of the equipment that he is going to be selling
    That will be interesting, he hasnt been around here in a while. I saw some pics of what he was thinking of getting, all top quality heavy duty stuff.

I only mentioned what I like about a home gym, but obviously there are just as many advantages to a good gym. Social aspect as mentioned, but having proper trainers show you what to do is worth it, correct form etc. and having spotters and professional equipment, people who could test your fat levels and give diet advice, pools etc. The gym membership fee is also an incentive to keep on going, to get your moneys worth (even though there will be a huge number of dropouts in feb :D )

I imagine Mickk could get a real niche in the market, get people in, demonstrate the equipment and give a few sessions to show proper form etc and then after a month after deciding what suits them best he can sell them equipment at a discount since they paid gym fees towards it. I know his other gym charges by the day if you want.

davyjose wrote:
    Good point. There is a lot of time spent wasted on the couch in front of the TV, when people could be doing the very same thing on an exercise bike.
    This is an important point, many claim they do not have the spare time to exercise. I cycle to an from work in about 45mins now round trip, in a car it could take between 50-90mins. So I actually have MORE spare time because I exercise, not to mention saving a fortune on a car & petrol insurance etc, good for mental health too, no stress sitting in that traffic, drives me mad.

I know guys who have cars and bicycles and showers in work but still drive the short trip, then will spend 60mins driving to & from the gym and workout for 60mins. Wasting many hours per week just sitting in a car. Makes no sense somebody driving 5 miles to and from a gym only to jog 5 miles on a threadmill!

I would love one of those generator exercise bikes, you can hook up your TV to it to supply power, you have to keep pedaling to keep your program showing.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Thanks for the replies lads, I have "regime" now in place for the bike which involves any bit of soccer possible on the TV! Game or highlights on I get on the bike for anything between a minimum of 1hr to 90mins. I have myself up to 50km in the 60min and 70km for the 90min, doing this only 2-3 times a week but without the TV in front of me I don't think I could do it.

I am pricing in the weights bench and 140kg Olympic set, so far Elverys are 199 for the bench and 259 for the weight, interest free for 6 months so that is handy, will be a good while until I get to 140kg of usage but must see if I can track down a good online guide for optimum use of these weights.

yop wrote:
    I am pricing in the weights bench and 140kg Olympic set, so far Elverys are 199 for the bench and 259 for the weight, interest free for 6 months so that is handy, will be a good while until I get to 140kg of usage but must see if I can track down a good online guide for optimum use of these weights.
    You might want to hang on a while to see what mickk has to offer, his site is not up but he is a member here and will be selling stuff cheap soon. You will be using 140kg sooner than you think, if you do shrugs you can lift a hell of a lot. I just have regular 1" weights rather than olympics, they are a bit cheaper

a 50kg set with dumbells and bar is €75, then €23 for each additional 20kg, so 150kg set would be €190, all cast iron. In this case you can just buy as you go if you are short of cash, you can also pick up spare plates second hand pretty cheap, or of course complete sets.

for a good site check out www.exrx.net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If I was setting up a home gym, I would just get a power rack, bench and weights and a bike for cardio. This would more than cover what you need. Some power racks have extensions for dips and chins which is handy. This would cover 90% of what I do in the gym and would be the same for the majority of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

I have all the stuff in but as jsb (thanks:D ) said I am just waiting for the designer to finish the site. I have a narrow flat to incline bench for 130, a power rack for 350 and a 140kg trigrip olympic set for 200. If anyone wants pics or prices pm me

Oh and rubadub I've been working day and night on the new gym so thats why I haven't been around much... Should be open monday