Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old ESB Ads?

• 06-12-2006 8:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭

Does anyone remember two old ESB ads:

1) Son coming home for Christmas is collected by his father and all the time his mother is cooking something. The background music is "Going Back" by Dusty Springfield.

2) Father gets up in the middle of the night to give his baby a bottle. Backgrund music is "Only You".

I've gone through the threads on Ads here and didn't notice anyone mention them, I've also checked on YouTube and can't find them so was wondering does anyone know where I might be able to see them again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The "Father" getting up in the middle of the night played that Garda in Glenroe didn't he? Don't know where you'd find them, must have a look around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Stirling

Yeah thats it! I'd forgotten that bit actually :)

I've just EMailed ESB Archives about getting them but I doubt they'll be able to help because of Copyright etc.

Thanks for the help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Stirling wrote:
    Father gets up in the middle of the night to give his baby a bottle. Background music is "Only You".

Jaaaaaaaayziz ... I've just finished making the bottles for the night feeds ... lads, lads, I have become that man .... I am that soldier*

brilliant ad all the same, i remember it quite clearly ... old lad gets up, switches the light on, stripey jim-jams, trots down the stairs, more lights turned on, kettle, bottle, mixey mixey, and then settles down under the gentle glow of the bedside lamp, and feeds the nipper, allowing himself a little 'hard man' smile

* when I make the bottles, i tend to sing the song also, and mebbe a little dance too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Ruu wrote:
    The "Father" getting up in the middle of the night played that Garda in Glenroe didn't he? Don't know where you'd find them, must have a look around.

And the son is none other than Alan Hughes of TV3/Ireland AM weatherman fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Timmyboy

The first of these advertisements is now (December 2011) being replayed by ESB on RTE again.

Signs of the times I guess. Rigth back in the 1980's we are.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I was wondering why the OP didn't just go to youtube

Then I saw they posted five years ago :D
    I guess youtube wasn't as extensive back then

And I should have bought shares in Apple and Google :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

No matter how many times I've seen that esb ad this week I'm amazed when the caption comes up for esb at the end, I'm expecting Kerrygold instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Discovered yesterday that the guy coming home is Alan Hughes from ireland am.

Bet that Mammy wasn't half as happy when he came out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

This one?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Airing again now as mentioned, except that the end card has been edited out and replaced with the ESB logo morphing into the Electric Ireland logo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Pablo Sanchez

I never understood why the ESB would go to the bother of making a ad when they had no competitors:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I never understood why the ESB would go to the bother of making a ad when they had no competitors:rolleyes:
    They had competition wirth gas, oil and solid fuel heating, also they wanted people to waste more of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

I'd like to see the lekky bill for that house............not an ad for "saving energy" then....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

DMC wrote: »
    And the son is none other than Alan Hughes of TV3/Ireland AM weatherman fame.

Jesus, I knew I knew him from somewhere :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Electric Ireland: David

Stirling wrote: »
    Does anyone remember two old ESB ads:

1) Son coming home for Christmas is collected by his father and all the time his mother is cooking something. The background music is "Going Back" by Dusty Springfield.

2) Father gets up in the middle of the night to give his baby a bottle. Backgrund music is "Only You".

I've gone through the threads on Ads here and didn't notice anyone mention them, I've also checked on YouTube and can't find them so was wondering does anyone know where I might be able to see them again?

Hi Stirling,

You can find both ads (including more oldies) on our Youtube Channel. I'll also include them below.
    • The "Going Back" video:

• The "Only You" video:

Enjoy! :)

David.