Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Wii Consoles for Argos Ireland on Launch Day!

• 04-12-2006 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭

Evening all,

I've just been speaking to my sister (who works for Argos) and she was informed by a member of senior management today that Argos Ireland won't be getting any Wii consoles for launch day! Apparently Argos UK were allowing people to pre-order but Argos Ireland weren't. As a result there are none left out of their initial 10,000 allocation for Ireland! Now this of course could be bullshít so maybe a member of Argos who posts on here could confirm?

Mods: I thought this might require a seperate thread as there may be a knock-on for other retailers (i.e.: not enough units to go around) but feel free to merge if required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Wow, I sent a lot of people down there today to preorder one because xtravision had booked up their preorders.

That is very bad news indeed, if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Luluk

OMG, that's really bad. I hope this won't be an issue for some of the other English shops like Game or HMV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

Well I think other retailers should be ok because they were actually taking pre-orders whereas Argos weren't. I'm pre-booked in Smyths Airside and even though I was told I'm guaranteed a console on Friday it wouldn't be the first time someone was told that only to find that there was a shortage on the actual day. I do get the impression that a lot of retailers have no real idea of how many units they're getting (although they might have a better idea this close to launch) and then 10,000 units for Argos UK & Ireland isn't a lot to go around either... I dunno:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Kanney

Oh you gotta be ****ting me. This can't be through. I was in there last week and they said that they wont take preorders, it will be first come first serve. What do you mean not on Launch Day? Do you mean another day or not at all?
    I will be going into check tomorrow, hopefully some light can be shed before that?

Well my sister was looking to buy a console for herself and she wasn't even aware of the situation until she was told today. I don't know about later on in the month but it looks like they won't have any for launch day. If you go in tomorrow and they tell you something different (or confirm what I posted) be sure and post back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

England über alles, eh? That's really lame.

Okay, not much of an update, but I rang my friend who I was going to go to Argos with and he knows someone working there so he will get back to us as soon as he knows then I will let you all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

I really can't see them not getting any for launch.
    Imagine the public disgust about that after all their bloody advertising.

I cant wait any longer, im off to check. Cya!

^^Good luck man, I hope you get one.
    I know how pissed I would be if I were you or if I didn't get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

public rection?it shall go unnoticed.......

^^ Not by me it bloody wouldn't!!!
    If I had planned on getting one there I would be pissed off ROYALLY right now.
    And I'm sure a lot of parents who had planned on getting it as presents for their kids will also be pissed off.

WELL Tto be honest any people who didnt preorder,its kinda there own fault.they was allways the likehood it was going to be scarce come release date/christmas,sure even the bloddy ps2 was in short supple in constrast to demand last christmas!!!

Argos were not taking pre-orders.
    That's why they aren't getting the consoles according to this thread.

exactly everyone[well nearly]who preordered are gettign a console.take extra vision for eg. have like 5,000 preoderes and have MADE SURE all pre orders will be filled on release date

Exactly.And Argos didn't or couldn't do pre-orders so it's the store's fault.
    And that's why I said a lot of people will be pissed off with them.

well i dont nkow why they didnt sercure orders........why dont you write a letter?

Me?
    Well mainly because I have 2 pre-bookings elsewhere and I couldn't give to ****s about Argos....

Wow, pointless argument between ye guys. Anyway, I rang Argos, here is the conversation.
    Me:Hi, I'm just wondering, I was in last week seeing about the Nintendo Wii and ye said that it would be first come first serve, just wondering is that still the case?
    Argos Employee: Yeah it is.
    Me: First come first serve.
    Argos Employee: Yep, thats rights.
    Me: Great, and ye're open at 9?
    Argos: Yeah.
    Me: Great thanks. Bye.

So they will be there in Galway anyway on the 8th. I now know what it feels like to feel like you wont be getting one before Xmas. So I'm queueing even earlier now. Hope this helps y'all

Cheers for posting back Kanney, don't know what the hell is going on now so. Hope ye get sorted on Friday:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

so what time u be queing at ? ;)

My friend has an apartment across the road from Argos, so we'll be watching from balcony, any sign of life and we're there. Maybe even sooner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Did they say they'd have them on the 8th though?

Yup, 8th December. Sorry didnt put in my original post forgot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Ah good! Would have been pretty hateful if it was first come first served, but they weren't getting them in till later!

I can just imagine the scene in Argos.....
    People flood in the door the second they're opened, dart it for the closest table flitter through the book to get the CAT number.And then realise there are no pens at your table to fill out a form...God there will be murder.
    I can just see pens books and people flying everywhere....
    Unless you know they somehow gather the intelligence to prepare something orderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Note to those going to Argos:

Bring own pens.

Or even better, rob all of the pens from the store the day before, and while you're at it grab a slip too so as you won't have to find one on the day.
    Preparation is everything here.:D

As if my nerves couldnt be shot anymore. I rang Argos at 5 and thats the convo i posted. But my friend is saying he knows someone working there and they arent giving them out.
    So hopefully. I rang Currys and they said "We dont know, it could come in tomorrow, if it does then it'll be first come first serve".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭bat boy

I was in argos in galway today and asked what the story was. Was told that they probably wont have any on launch day. Was then told that they might have 2 or 3 and they'd be first come first served, but yer man didnt sound very convincing. I dont think they're gonna have any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Argos seem to have the best deal of the lot of them. Buy the console and two €60 games of your choosing and they'll knock €30 off the total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 the mighty elk

Do you know the product code?

5683257 is the code from uk site.I tried it there and it just said that the wii is currently out of stock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 classicsounds

Was phoning around all day

Finally i tried xtra vision in fairview at 5 pm

They had one its was a canceled reservation.

So lucky

:):):):):):):):)