Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking water?

• 30-11-2006 4:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭

I know drinking loads of water is good for you and i'm trying to drink a good bit each day.

My question is, what do people think of adding a drop of something like Mi Wadi for a bit of taste, is this a bad idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

Ogie16 wrote:
    I know drinking loads of water is good for you and i'm trying to drink a good bit each day.

My question is, what do people think of adding a drop of something like Mi Wadi for a bit of taste, is this a bad idea?

So long as its not a diuretic (like cafeine or alcohol) anything you drink adds to your daily intake of water. You should also try to take in water through foods aswell though (fruit is good).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I think a lot of people who try to make it to the gym need to look at their diet and ask a few questions. Given that water is the most natural and important thing we can put in our bodies and have been doing so for so long, why is it that some of us can't drink it? And prefer to opt for sugared drinks.
    Personally I love salt and find food bland without it. And i know it's something I need to look at. But my parents never encouraged me to drink fizzy drinks and I find water to be the first thing I crave when i'm feeling a little bit thirsty
    There's a theory that good food tastes bad, and bad food tastes good, but I don't think so, I think we're just conditioned that way.
    I'd say keep drinking the water, and you'll get used to it, and it'll keep you in good stead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

get good bottled water like ballygowan, keep a few 2ltr bottles in the fridge overnight and just drink ice cold water through the day, nothing like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

look at the label, it may depend on the brand but miwadi has a fair bit of sugar in it. Even 100ml has about 10g sugar (i think, check for yourself) and you'd easily put that much into a pint of water 5:1 dilution...well i would!

So use it sparingly if you want to watch your body fat/simple carb intake

Alternatively have you ever tried squeezing fresh lemon juice into water, very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ogie16

Was looking at the bottles of Mi Wadi in the shop today. In 100ml there is 18.3g of sugar.
    But they also have a "no added sugar" range which has only 0.7g of sugar per 100ml so i guess a drop of this now and again would be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

whats so good about water anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

It's very good for you.

But you can die if you drink over 6 litres in one day.

Don't say I didn't warn ya, ogie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Floyd Soul

I'd say just drink the water on it's own, its not really gonna do you any good to be adding anything to it. Although whats great is cold water with a squeeze of lemon juice in it. Gives it a bit of zing.

If you look at the ingredients in most of those Miwadi type drinks they usually have a number of different sweeteners like sacharin and aspartame, not to mention colourings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Floyd Soul wrote:
    If you look at the ingredients in most of those Miwadi type drinks they usually have a number of different sweeteners like sacharin and aspartame, not to mention colourings.

A few drops of the sugar free in your glass of water won't kill you - no need to go overboard in the analysis. I drink alot of water during the day but enjoy the odd pint of water and dilute with my dinner, takes the inevitable blandness of water away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

walt0r wrote:
    It's very good for you.

But you can die if you drink over 6 litres in one day.

Don't say I didn't warn ya, ogie!

Really? How?? 'Cause I'd say I'm pushing 4-5 litres some days! :\

I'm gulping water all day long nowadays in an effort to try to sort out my body; looking to visibly reduce fat, gain muscle. Doing this in conjuction with regular running and some lifting. But I'm wondering does water really help you to do this? What are the actual effects?

What's a dieuretic? I've heard of them before but I could've sworn I'd heard they were good for stuff like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

diuretics are not good for fat loss, they make you p1ss more that's all. So you may lose weight but it'll be water not fat which is no use.

It's possible to drink too much water but you really shouldn't worry about it, it would probably have to be more than 6litres and withouth eating anything.

The concentration of sodium in your body decreases (hyponatremia) and all sorts of funky stuff happens. Assuming you're eating pretty much anything during the day and you're fine, gulp away:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Going Demented

Someone told me i was drinking too much water so i counted how much i was drinking and it was 7 litres minimum. Taking into account i drink nothing else i couldn't see how i could cut down on it without being thirsty. It was working out a litre at breakfast, then lunch, then dinner, at gym, after gym, and i filled the litre bottle at least 3 times while at work.

So anyway still dunno if i'm drinking too much but the scales at home measures water and apparently its meant to be between 50% - 60%. Well according to that scales (which i dont put much faith in anyway), i'm below what it should be - 46%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

I'm addicted to the 30c bottles of water from Lidl
    like say 2 years ago i never drank water and hated the taste of it but now theres nothing else i would drink and thats serious (well besides alachol)
    the taste just grows on you

Scouser.tommy - Yep. My bet's you'll be in a wooden box by next week. Weh, weh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Someone told me i was drinking too much water so i counted how much i was drinking and it was 7 litres minimum.
    Did they give reasons or warnings?
    I have an auld one in work always warning me against drinking cold water! and shes on about 40 smokes a day!

Cold water needs to be heated by the body and so takes up calories too. As mentioned if you are eating normally it should be no problem. I drink a fair bit too, I like salty food so it counters it. The only real problems you hear of is people on E dancing away drinking way too much without adequate salts overcompensating for the warnings they get about dehydration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Superdub2

Someone told me i was drinking too much water so i counted how much i was drinking and it was 7 litres minimum. Taking into account i drink nothing else i couldn't see how i could cut down on it without being thirsty. It was working out a litre at breakfast, then lunch, then dinner, at gym, after gym, and i filled the litre bottle at least 3 times while at work.

Are you for real??? A litre of water for breakfast!! A LITRE!!!!! you must have some serious dry throat problems or something cuz drinking that much water is unnatural

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

So anyway still dunno if i'm drinking too much but the scales at home measures water and apparently its meant to be between 50% - 60%. Well according to that scales (which i dont put much faith in anyway), i'm below what it should be - 46%
    Jesus, ye mad yoke!

The term for death by water is Water Intoxication, but it mostly occurs if people take E, feel twice as dehydrated as they actaully are, and drink too much water

The recommended amount is 8 glasses a day so if ye got near that you're grand

U sure you drink litres and not pints, cos I still cant take that in?
    [7 FRICKIN LITRES!!!!!!!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Going Demented

Yeah it was someone in work that said it to me as well

Its definately litres cause its the litre bottles.

I didn't think that amount was unnatural! In my job i talk all day so i think now its just habit that i keep sipping away. Its not that im dying of thirst, i just dont be drinking tea or anything at breakfast so drink water. I like it. Heck i dunno, im gonna ask the doctor if its too much cause seeing him next week.

Ah, you could easily drink 7 litres in a day, lads. If you were sitting on your hole all day in an office somewhere.
    Nah seriously I probably drink 3-4 litres most days and it's not even that hard.