Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jackpot €20 FO

• 30-11-2006 3:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭

Great turnout last week with 70+ runners. I wonder if Lloyd will grace us with his presence today:D . Also Joe the show seems to be a new regular at this tourney too. Whose going to this tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

If i get this essay im doing done by tonight then i will, anyone know anything about post-structuralism?:eek: ]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭DITTag

max_power wrote:
    If i get this essay im doing done by tonight then i will, anyone know anything about post-structuralism?:eek: ][/QUOTE/]

Its after the structuralism!!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

max_power wrote:
    anyone know anything about post-structuralism?:eek: ]

Yes. Lots. This stuff is ok if you are really in trouble:

http://www.brocku.ca/english/courses/4F70/poststruct.html

But I would reccomend muchos reading. Bloody French.

yeah thats about as far as i've got.

Cheers, who would have thought reading a poker forum could help me with my essay. Think i should put in "Lloyd, Lucky, www.boards.ie, poker forum, accessed 30/11/06" in my bibliography or references??;)

max_power wrote:
    Think i should put in "Lloyd, Lucky, www.boards.ie, poker forum, accessed 30/11/06" in my bibliography or references??;)

I practically insist that you do.

i knew procrastinating would pay off some day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

this is slowly becoming my favourite thread of late... nh, wp, gg.

Whats interesting you more? A discussion on post-structuralism or the fact Lloyd might be referenced in a collge essay, it's his lucky week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

Whats the blinds times and levels like in this. Also what time does it usually run to? You never know I might win and I need to know what time i would be finished at:D :D

digiman wrote:
    Whats the blinds times and levels like in this. Also what time does it usually run to? You never know I might win and I need to know what time i would be finished at:D :D

Its half hour blinds, all levels with a 2500 starting stack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

il be going, was hinking that we should start to have sit and go's on the side for people like me who generally make the big move early on and are left saying "a good player would've folded"

Does any1 know what buses go here? Is there any that go to here from Drumcondra? Maybe some DCU people might know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

It's 30 minutes for first 3 levels and then 20 minutes there after.

I wasn't going to this but last minute change of plan means I will be turning up.
    I also like idea of SnG's once I get knocked out before the break as I invariably do.

digiman wrote:
    Does any1 know what buses go here? Is there any that go to here from Drumcondra? Maybe some DCU people might know

I know as I am in DCU right now, anyone of 13, 13a, 19a I think will lead you to O'Connell street I think, there are a few buses definately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭sosh

I might grace this alright... and what the f*@k is post-structuralism??

digiman wrote:

19A will go as far as the bleedin horse.. If you jump of there the jackpot is just around the corner.

Anyone want to had in for a pint before hand there will be a couple of us in the Corner stone. max_power, sosh , digiman, and AKQJ10 i dont think i know any of ye. You should recognise me there.. Ill be the one stating 'I was trying to make a move'

sosh wrote:
    The roots of post-structuralism can be found in 1950’s France during the height of the structuralist movement. Theorists, linguists and anthropologists put forward similar ideas in relation to the world around us. The common thought was that things could not be examined in isolation, but rather must be analysed in relation to their surroundings, as they are inherently influenced by them. It was one of the founders of the movement, Roland Barthes, who ultimately evolved and reacted to the concepts of structuralism. Ironically in a shift which can be seen as typically post-structuralist. Barthes along with Jacques Derrida became the leading figures in the post-structuralist movement, producing the seminal works The Death of the Author and Structure, Sign and Play in the Discourse of Human Sciences respectively................................................................. all very interesting stuff.

Cheers Dittag but i dont think ill make it in tonight, i've been watchin from 481 players down in the wsop on youtube and playing 10/20c pl omaha for the last 3 hours.

sosh wrote:
    The roots of post-structuralism can be found in 1950’s France during the height of the structuralist movement. Theorists, linguists and anthropologists put forward similar ideas in relation to the world around us. The common thought was that things could not be examined in isolation, but rather must be analysed in relation to their surroundings, as they are inherently influenced by them. It was one of the founders of the movement, Roland Barthes, who ultimately evolved and reacted to the concepts of structuralism. Ironically in a shift which can be seen as typically post-structuralist. Barthes along with Jacques Derrida became the leading figures in the post-structuralist movement, producing the seminal works The Death of the Author and Structure, Sign and Play in the Discourse of Human Sciences respectively................................................................. all very interesting stuff.

Cheers Dittag but i dont think ill make it in tonight, i've been watchin from 481 players down in the wsop on youtube and playing 10/20c pl omaha for the last 3 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

max_power wrote:
    i've been watchin from 481 players down in the wsop on youtube and playing 10/20c pl omaha for the last 3 hours.

jamie gold wins... :p
    and how much are you up at .10/.20 ?? i should give omaha cash a go!

ditpoker wrote:
    jamie gold wins... :p
    and how much are you up at .10/.20 ?? i should give omaha cash a go!

Do, its fun, i bought in for the min, $2. I'm on $39 about 10 hands later, it's fun. Don't really know what i'm doing but luckily nobody else seems to either. I'm just messing around, would like to give it a go more seriously though for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

totally o/t can i ask what the deal is with your sig max?

shoutman wrote:
    totally o/t

lol. Most of the thread is off Topic.

Just like this post...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

shoutman wrote:
    totally o/t can i ask what the deal is with your sig max?
    Lol, good question.

rb_ie wrote:
    Lol, good question.
    Jesus time for a change of sig i think. I just clicked on it there, haven't been on it it ages. It used to be a site with loads of cartoons and vids, anyoone else back me up on it? lol. Search burnt face man or salad fingers. Obviously got hijiacked by a different form of adult entertainment! I swear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

max_power wrote:
    Jesus time for a change of sig i think. I just clicked on it there, haven't been on it it ages. It used to be a site with loads of cartoons and vids, anyoone else back me up on it? lol. Search burnt face man or salad fingers. Obviously got hijiacked by a different form of adult entertainment! I swear.
    Good call man, porn links in sigs are not welcome afaik!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭gerry87

Well that was fun... i wanted an early night anyway. Honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

max_power wrote:
    i knew procrastinating would pay off some day.
    how do you know it fully paid off yet?

DITTag wrote:
    Its after the moderism!!!:D
    One of the funniest quotes youve had
    DITTag wrote:
    19A will go as far as the bleedin horse.. If you jump of there the jackpot is just around the corner.
    i bet you did it....

or is that just DNS slang, for a lovely horse? the bleeedin hooorse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

no show joe???? u got chicken pox or something?

AKQJ10 wrote:

the competition is too good for him. He knows he is dead money.

Who won this last night? I went sometime when there was 2 tables left. It was a good tournament that was good craic as well.

digiman wrote:
    Who won this last night? I went sometime when there was 2 tables left. It was a good tournament that was good craic as well.

Albert won it. He is guy in Ireland jersey who dealt a few of the tables.
    I enjoyed tournament as well(came 5th) playing against some nutcases even for the Jackpot Thursday game. I also got really lucky about 3 times so bit of a rollercoaster.

AKQJ10 wrote:
    no chicken sh1t.... ah ive given up poker until 21st December, got finals comin up, which are no end of fun. there will be lashings of ginger beer come the 21st i can tell you!

digiman wrote:

I was gone after 5 hands!!!! "i tryed to make a move" :):):D:):)

DITTag wrote:
    I was gone after 5 hands!!!! "i tried to make a move" :):):D:):)
    FYP, what actually happened you?