Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joining the Yanks

• 29-11-2006 11:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭

Well lads since our own armys draconian medical requirements will probably disqualify me. Has anyone got any info on joining the yanks ?

I have being trying to get info out of the Army/Marines but they basically reply saying they can't help me (as in their not allowed) and i need a green card/citizenship to join up.

Now i have heard of guys who have joined them and i am fairly sure that they didn't get a green card/citizenship because of any educational qualifications or marrying a drunk yank visiting here etc.

Can anyone shed some light here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Exar Khun

I was thinking of signing up too mono, however I am an American citizen. I have done alot of research on the Marines and plan on talking to an officer selection officer in the states after I graduate from college this summer. Im still not sure about it but talking to someone will help. I rang the U.S. embassy a while back and they tried to give me 1800-MARINES and put me onto a Staff Sargeant who when I told him I wanted to be an officer wasnt really interested and said he didnt know much about it, which was quite intimidating and didnt help. Sorry if I cant help you either but just keep looking over the internet, even try joining a few forums that are comprised of people actually in teh U.S. armed forces and they should be able to tell you more. If your over in America any time soon make sure to call into recruiter or OSO and keep running to get that 300 on the PFT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Exar Khun wrote:
    I was thinking of signing up too mono, however I am an American citizen. I have done alot of research on the Marines and plan on talking to an officer selection officer in the states after I graduate from college this summer. Im still not sure about it but talking to someone will help. I rang the U.S. embassy a while back and they tried to give me 1800-MARINES and put me onto a Staff Sargeant who when I told him I wanted to be an officer wasnt really interested and said he didnt know much about it, which was quite intimidating and didnt help. Sorry if I cant help you either but just keep looking over the internet, even try joining a few forums that are comprised of people actually in teh U.S. armed forces and they should be able to tell you more. If your over in America any time soon make sure to call into recruiter or OSO and keep running to get that 300 on the PFT.

Would u consider marriage followed by a quick divorce for a couple grand ? Same sex marraige is ok over there isn't it ? ;)

Can u imagine me going into recruit training.

Me: Well lads
    Recruits: Your not American, u Irish ?
    Me: yep, citizenship through marraige.
    Recruits: Cool whats her name ?
    Me: George.

I'd actually be interested in becoming an officer as well, but i think thats even more strict on citizenship then just enlisting. You have to be living there so long or something.

Anyways thanks. Might head over and pop into a recruitment office.

yeh the requirements of citizenship for officers are even more strict. I think the whole same sex marriage think is only in Massachusetts, lol you'd be the guy in war films showing your buddy a pic of your 'gal' then getting shot immediatly after.

Exar Khun wrote:
    yeh the requirements of citizenship for officers are even more strict. I think the whole same sex marriage think is only in Massachusetts, lol you'd be the guy in war films showing your buddy a pic of your 'gal' then getting shot immediatly after.

Yeah i think the brits are the same, u can enlist if your a paddy but if you wanna go for a commisson u need to be living in UK for 5 years or more.

I need to find some american girl who'll do the vegas chapel thing with me so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

You'll need a green card at the minimum,and i would go for the Army over the Marine Corps any day of the week.Course i'm biased in that :rolleyes:

why are you biased? Both services have their respective missions and ways of getting things done. Mono why are you thinking of america btw? Have you lived there for any period of time? I was born there so I would feel justified risking my life but I would seriously consider your motivation for going over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

it seems that a rake of mexicans are getting green cards and citizenship in the US,by joining the US armed forces.So I would get myself off to the US embassy in London [Dublin is hopeless!!! It has too many Irish employees who couldnt give a fuk about doing their job properly on Uncle Sams time and money:mad: ]and arrange an appointment with the military attache[Quite easy to do,]explain your situation and get the real lowdown on requirements.
    The US does make exceptions to the rules on nationalities but I dunno what the updated situation is .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

Exar Khun wrote:
    why are you biased? Both services have their respective missions and ways of getting things done. Mono why are you thinking of america btw? Have you lived there for any period of time? I was born there so I would feel justified risking my life but I would seriously consider your motivation for going over there.

You could say the same thing about the Irish lads serving with the brits or the legion. I guess some guys just want to soldier for a living and they'll go where they'll get a job.

I suppose thats a fair point.

I'd be biased towards the Army because they have better equipment and a more modern infantry doctrine

The Marines have always been behind in terms of funding and equipment(thats changing) but have done the job with alot more motivation

I don't think it has anything to do with motivation,there's no lack of that among Army units.From talking to friends who've worked with the marines downrange i get the impression that they (were) operate using some outdated tactics.

Well I'm going to be honest and say I don'y know if your wrong or right so ill just have to take your word for it. I dont know about tactics but I would imagine that the average Marine is better trained than the average soldier.

Why would you think an Army soldier less well trained than a Marine? If anything given that the Army has more funding,there are more training opportunities for them.Although nowadays everybody is getting on the job training downrange anyway lol

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The average Marine is just more indoctrinated than the average soldier. I'd put an Army tanker up against a Marine tanker any day of the week. (We're all educated at the Army's Armor School in Ft Knox.) There is massive pride in being a Marine, which is fine if that's your bag. I'm in the Army because I love tanking, not because I want to be one of "The Few, The Proud." I'm in my thirties, married, and a tank officer with deployment experience. I've got nothing to prove. Being a Marine is as much a state of mind as a vocation.

Bear in mind, I'm not sure how likely it is that the Marines will let you have your desired job: "Armor crewman" is a rare, sought-after position. I assume that many other vocations can be equally hard to find. With the Army, you can specify your job in your contract.

I've seen nothing to indicate that Uncle Sam's Misguided Children use old or outdated tactics. They just have different priorities. For example, much is made of their rifle marksmanship, which is evaluated at a longer distance than the Army does. (500m for Marines, 300m for Army). The difference is that the Army has so much support, they instead teach you how to use a radio. Why waste your time trying to plink at targets a half-kilometer away with a rifle when you can just call in an artillery barrage and obliterate the field without expending any effort at all? Marines don't have the same sheer weight of fire available to them, so they make it up elsewhere. They do have better uniforms though, possible exception of the Blues.

NTM

Exar Khun wrote:

I want a military career, if the Irish Army will take me with my dodgy eyesight then i'll be a happy man. If they won't and i can into the american military that'd be fine too.

The average Marine is just more indoctrinated than the average soldier. I'd put an Army tanker up against a Marine tanker any day of the week. (We're all educated at the Army's Armor School in Ft Knox.) There is massive pride in being a Marine, which is fine if that's your bag. I'm in the Army because I love tanking, not because I want to be one of "The Few, The Proud." I'm in my thirties, married, and a tank officer with deployment experience. I've got nothing to prove. Being a Marine is as much a state of mind as a vocation.

Bear in mind, I'm not sure how likely it is that the Marines will let you have your desired job: "Armor crewman" is a rare, sought-after position. I assume that many other vocations can be equally hard to find. With the Army, you can specify your job in your contract.

I've seen nothing to indicate that Uncle Sam's Misguided Children use old or outdated tactics. They just have different priorities. For example, much is made of their rifle marksmanship, which is evaluated at a longer distance than the Army does. (500m for Marines, 300m for Army). The difference is that the Army has so much support, they instead teach you how to use a radio. Why waste your time trying to plink at targets a half-kilometer away with a rifle when you can just call in an artillery barrage and obliterate the field without expending any effort at all? Marines don't have the same sheer weight of fire available to them, so they make it up elsewhere. They do have better uniforms though, possible exception of the Blues.

NTM

Well I was talking about average soldier on the ground rather than tankers, I do know that if you want to be a tanker that the Army is the way to go because of the nature of the mos selection process (i.e. you pick your 3 prefered in TBS and the Corps assigns you what the Corps needs), however from my undertanding is that the U.S.M.C. is based around the infantry man thus ensures a higher standard (i.e. longer enlisted recruit training, everyman a rifleman and every officer a platoon leader, ect.).

P.S. I'm not trying to start a flame war here, I'm just some grabass college student sharing my possibly misguided view. It sure beats writing about Epic poetry.

Not so much a higher standard, but as I said, a different mindset. The Army (which is moving towards the 'every soldier a rifleman' idea to a point) simply doesn't see much of a need for Communcations Specialist, Satellites, to be proficient at infantry tactics. Because the Marines are so infantry-centric, with a low head-count, they have a fairly high proportion of trigger-pullers to combat types: A lot of their supporting arms are actually provided by the Navy. Most of the rest are quite likely to be within the battlespace to one extent or another. The Army doubtlessly produces very high standard and well-trained commo guys. It just doesn't bother wasting its effort sending a commo tech to infantry school as the perceived benefit is pretty low.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭komsomol

I have to agree with the topic starter here im afraid,

I'm also seriously considering joining up with the yanks. I really dont see any good career prospects in the Irish Defence Forces, who really wants to spend 20 years in some ****hole of an post like rockhill doing nothing but cash duties every week? (generalisation).

Then theres the cadets which are bloody picky as hell.

Much more career prospects in the American Armed Forces, better equipped and more possability of being based or deployed overseas. Tons of american bases world wide.

Who would want to be based in the arse end of ireland when they can be based in hawaii? (gross dramatisation, but i cant help thinking that)

I'd be more leaning towards the Marines corps also, mostly out of the sheer image it has as a fighting force. I grew up on that hollywood image and im afraid i've been brainwashed there im afraid. But please feel free to convince me otherwise.

The only thing thats really stopping me from going over right now is the fact that im really not fit right now and you need a Legal Residency visa, aka: green card. I applied for the lottery there in october, wont hear the results until May. Other than that i dont know of any other way to get a green card thats applicable to me. (no relations or anything).

Overall i dont just want a military experience, i also want a good career prospect.

Sure theres the possability of being deployed to Iraq eventually, thats always looming over you, but im young and nieve.

komsomol wrote:
    Who would want to be based in the arse end of ireland when they can be based in hawaii? (gross dramatisation, but i cant help thinking that)

Schofield Barracks is the most-requested posting in the US Army. Good luck getting it. Not sure what comes second now, it used to be Ft Ord in Monterey, California before they closed it. Probably Germany somewhere.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

If i was gonna join an Army i would consider it logical to join one where the chances of getting shot at are lower.

Then again my priority is a secure job, not combat experience/ dying for some politician.

I strongly suggest you avoid all armies. Their primary purpose for existance is to shoot/get shot at. Even the ones that don't do it very often.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Why would you even consider fighting under the second coming of Hitler? Are you just fighting for residency in the US or do you really want to join them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Army over the Marines any day of the week.Much better career oportunites,better equipment,better pay & much easier to make rank in the Army(certainly in the enlisted ranks,can't speak to the officer corps). If it's a soft, cushy life you're after there's always the Navy,or the Air Force.A nice,brisk stroll for PT is always nice :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Thinking the same thing... why not join La Legion.. at least you will be based in the warm sunny south of France (or possibly Chad or Djibouti) The pay may be not so great, but you won't get much time for spending it (and you get fed, accommodation and clothed so you should a fair few euro after the five years are up..

dlofnep wrote:
    Why would you even consider fighting under the second coming of Hitler? Are you just fighting for residency in the US or do you really want to join them?

If you are referring to Bush, by the time he's accepted and out of OSUT, Bush's term of office would be about over.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭komsomol

Yeah the Legion really wouldn't be my thing im afraid.

Also about more career oppertunities in the Army compared to the Marines, please do explain.

As im looking towards the marines as i have a childhood curiosity with the marines, but the whole purpose primarily for me joining the yanks would be more oppertunities in a military career....

Well the Army has a broader range of jobs you can pursue,not to mention as i said before better rates of promotion.If you are interested in the actual combat arms side of things (and why you'd want to be in the army if you're not actually fighting i'll understand lol) even here there are plenty of oportunities - Ranger,Airborne,SF etc. Lots of fun to be had.

ya need a green card

british army take Irish, so does the French foreign Legion. The US will not take you unless you have a green card.
    and yes our army has a very limited number of jobs - the apprenticeships offered at aimed at people below 20yrs of age. The US and British allow much older people into the army. 25yrs of age is hardly "old" - your still in your prime. Just look at the soccer players earning millions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I dont know how much it interests you, but a friend of mine (Irishman) has just joined the Royal Welsh Fusiliers. there is a special allowance for non-UK Irishmen to join the British army if they so wish. Google it if youre interested, it seems to eb pretty straightforward application procedure from what I heard.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

InFront wrote:
    I dont know how much it interests you, but a friend of mine (Irishman) has just joined the Royal Welsh Fusiliers. there is a special allowance for non-UK Irishmen to join the British army if they so wish. Google it if youre interested, it seems to eb pretty straightforward application procedure from what I heard.

Any reason why did he not join an Irish Regiment...?

http://www.army.mod.uk/royalirish/

take a look at the career choices and compare it to our Defence Forces.
    http://www.armyjobs.mod.uk/RegularArmy/RolesAndCareers/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Dub13 wrote:
    Any reason why did he not join an Irish Regiment...?

Dunno. I presume if youre joining the British army joining an Irish regiment means relatively little in the scheme of things, youre still fighting for the same King (or Queen).

InFront wrote:
    Dunno. I presume if youre joining the British army joining an Irish regiment means relatively little in the scheme of things, youre still fighting for the same King (or Queen).

You have a point to a certain extent but I was under the impression that they encourage Irish lads the join the Irish regiments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Dub13 wrote:
    I was under the impression that they encourage Irish lads the join the Irish regiments.

The Irish Guards & RIR certainly seek out Irishmen or those of Irish parentage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭thesweeney

As far as I am aware...there is some loop hole...where an Irish citzen(must be a member of Irish military to begin with) can join us military as long as they get a recommendation/referral by Irelands minister of defence. (Could be wrong...but I remember that from somewhere)
    Id get on to willie :)

thesweeney wrote:
    As far as I am aware...there is some loop hole...where an Irish citzen can join us military as long as they get a recommendation/referral by Irelands minister of defence. (Could be wrong...but I remember that from somewhere)
    Id get on to willie :)

Thats the first I have heard about this,its a long shot anyway but interesting to know if true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 invisiblewill

The Royal Marines accept Irish into their ranks and there has been quite a few Irish going to join. I myself was turned down from the Irish Army because of poor eyesight plus they refuse to take you on even if you had the laser eye surgery. I looked at the Royal Marines and they said the same. My next and final option is the Foreign Legion. My eyesight might not get me in but I read that they do take in people who had eye surgery aslong as you're eyes are fine, I'm waiting to recieve more info on this. I'm going to try to get my eyes lasered and then if all goes well hopefully apply to the legion.

All this to be a soldier and find some adventure. Yes I am insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

Why don’t you join the French Foreign Legion.? They will take you if you are physically fit. And you will get plenty of excitement and chances to travel. I take it you’re a man? The foreign legion do not take women.

http://www.legion-recrute.com/en/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

The British Army take on people who have had laser surgery done on a case by case basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

Regarding joining the US forces without a green card, there was a piece in last weeks economist magazine saying that a new law may be bought in to allow non-nationals to join, and then be granted citizenship after active duty:

"Max boot of the council on Foregin relations has proposed setting aside the requirement that foreginers hold a green card, and recruiting illegal immigrants as well as foregin citizens overseas."

The US seriously needs to increase the numbers in its forces so this is one tatic they will probably use in the near future.

I can type out most of the article if anyone wants to see it.

astraboy wrote:
    I can type out most of the article if anyone wants to see it.

I would be interested in reading it,are you sure its not on line save you typing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

I tried the economist website but there is no link to it, I'll type it up tomorrow should'nt take too long.