Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'raw' new book of photography by very local photographers

• 27-11-2006 2:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭

Not sure if this will count as advertising or not but just to let everyone know that there is a hard back coffee table book of photography just self-published via lulu which contains the photographs of several boardsies and photo-irelanders. It's called 'raw'. From boards.ie it includes photos from valentia, rymus, fajitas and myself - if you want to check it out you can see it here :

http://www.lulu.com/content/502329

There is also a preview in case you want to see the design of it - no pictures in the preview though as we didnt want to start wwIII by choosing one persons over anothers. Thanks for checking.

(I have attached a pic of it too if your really bored).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

thanks for informing us morlar...sounds like a great book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Nice one!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Any pics from the book anywhere? I can't see any on the link above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Congrats, nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

I haven't seen it yet. Hope my pics don't look crap in it. Jazeez the nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Valentia wrote:
    I haven't seen it yet. Hope my pics don't look crap in it. Jazeez the nerves.

I have seen your pics and rymus's, al's etc in the proof copy (the one that pic was of) and they are all fine - there is even one that someone submitted that was a very very dark sunset that there was a worry over due to the darkness of it and that one came out fine too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Excellent...Looking forward to getting my copies :D

Morlar wrote:
    I have seen your pics and rymus's, al's etc in the proof copy (the one that pic was of) and they are all fine - there is even one that someone submitted that was a very very dark sunset that there was a worry over due to the darkness of it and that one came out fine too. :)

Great stuff Gerard. That sunset one sounds familiar :D Thanks for your work on the project.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

oh a self published book , how cool, was it difficult?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

jaysus... I go away for a long weekend and this sprouts up. Who picked the name? Who's photo is that on the cover?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

Congratulations ,looking forward to ordering one and enjoying it.

Well done

Ciaran took the cover photo - its a model from england. It's pretty tricky to find a good photo that also makes a good cover. Of all the pics we looked at that one fitted the bill due to the composition and overall look and feel of it. Lots of blank space on it to make it into an uncluttered simple design that should hopefully age well.

I came up with the title because the idea was to have raw-unpolished photographers and also as the word has a double meaning to digital photographers. After searching amazon etc that one hadn't been used before so we went with it for those reasons. Most of us wanted one that was universal enough and not tied to any given style or to any particular website.

Someone asked was it difficult - it turned out to be more difficult than I had thought (and I didnt think it was going to be easy to begin with). In part because of the amount of people & egos & conflicting interests involved.

Narrowing down an editorial team and having the decisions made within that team was an absolute requirement. If we had kept it to 'everyone must agree to everything' type hippy nonsense we would still be arguing in circles trying to get everyone to agree to which publishing house to use - seriously.

If anyone else is doing one collaboratively - I would say wave bye bye to your social life for a good while & pick people who show most enthusiasm and are prepared to put in the hours and make it to every meeting, people who are on exactly the same wavelength before even starting. Having a great graphic designer committed to the project was also the best piece of luck we had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

so... on with the task of organising a book launch party eh? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

Impressive work guys, good stuff. Did I hear party? :D

rymus wrote:
    so... on with the task of organising a book launch party eh? :D

Well the proof took approx 13 days - so the order for people/contirbutors who ordered one during the production should be here 15 business days from last saturday. It may even get here a little early so that puts us into heading toward the weekend of 15th december.

We don't want to finalise the date till the copies are arrived or we have a UPS number that says they are mid-atlantic. It would be great if the contributors from here can keep that weekend free and we will have it as soon as the parcel arrives - somewhere in town where people can hear each other talk and chill out a bit would be good. Goes without saying that whether you contributed or not or buy a copy or not it will be open invite to everyone from here and photography ireland too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

4 Dame Lane would be perfect for it.

If your on Gmail chat later on, I'll talk to you then about the place, if not, I'm sure we'll both be on tomorrow ;)

Can we see the piccies in the book anywhere? And don't tell me to buy a copy to see them either :p

Roen wrote:
    And don't tell me to buy a copy to see them either :p

Uh ok.

The pics are basically the best ones that were submitted by the people at the time of the cutoff point. We didnt want to just lift picture pages from the book for the preview to show pictures, so our graphic designer is designing a custom preview for the lulu site which would show a mix of pictures from different people. I expect that should be tweaked/finalised and online in a few days. For now though the preview is to show the design elements and give a feel for the book - to see the pics you would have to . . . . .

Morlar wrote:
    Uh ok.

The pics are basically the best ones that were submitted by the people at the time of the cutoff point. We didnt want to just lift picture pages from the book for the preview to show pictures, so our graphic designer is designing a custom preview for the lulu site which would show a mix of pictures from different people. I expect that should be tweaked/finalised and online in a few days. For now though the preview is to show the design elements and give a feel for the book - to see the pics you would have to . . . . .

Fair enough, be sure to stick up the link when it's all up and running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Number 3 in Lulu's top 100 of the week ..not bad guys :D

Was using Lulu.com hard?

I've heard people rave about self-publishing with it, but they have used it for publishing niche computer books and things like that. How did it work out for photography? was the quality of the print up to normal publishing standards?

Wicknight wrote:
    Number 3 in Lulu's top 100 of the week ..not bad guys :D

Was using Lulu.com hard?

I've heard people rave about self-publishing with it, but they have used it for publishing niche computer books and things like that. How did it work out for photography? was the quality of the print up to normal publishing standards?

Thanks for pointing that out wicknight - the quality is not archival quality but it is certainly up to normal publishing standards.

No 3 for the week but did you see what's at 2: "Adapting Quilt Patterns To Polymer Clay"!! Jaze gang start buying a few we can't let that beat us :p

We've jumped over 22,000 places since yesterday on the overall chart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Nothing wrong with Millefiori Fimo based on quilting!!!

Well done for making it through and coming out with something that looks (from what I've seen, obviously) very professional. I'll be up for a wee drink and a nosey when you're in town ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Greysoul

Congrats on the book (from someone with two lulu books of his own), looks awesome. =)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭FreeAnd..

Looks really good, must get myself a copy. How exactly does Lulu work? Is it free to create a publictaion and then they take a % of sales or is there an upfront fee? Was there any hassle dealing with them? Sounds like it could be a good way to get a collection of photos together even if you just bought the only copy or is it as simple as that?

FreeAnd.. wrote:
    Is it free to create a publictaion and then they take a % of sales or is there an upfront fee? Was there any hassle dealing with them? Sounds like it could be a good way to get a collection of photos together even if you just bought the only copy or is it as simple as that?

Theres no upfront fee with lulu (that was one of the reasons for using them).

We turned off the profit margin rather than have to distribute cheques for 26 p between 12 people bi-monthly for the next while. If you leave on the profit margin lulu take a cut of that. If you were to order just one book it might cost more - you should check their book cost calculator for the different options on what format, how many pages so on and then how much a copy for x amount of copies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Morlar wrote:
    We turned off the profit margin

Does that mean you don't make any money from any sales, the cost is just the cost for Lulu to print and bind each copy of the book?

Suppose since it isn't costing you anything it is still a great way to get your work out there. You just better hope it doesn't sell 3 million copies :D

Wicknight wrote:
    Does that mean you don't make any money from any sales, the cost is just the cost for Lulu to print and bind each copy of the book?

Suppose since it isn't costing you anything it is still a great way to get your work out there. You just better hope it doesn't sell 3 million copies :D

Yep - we are making no money at all from it - its non profit all the way. The designer and everyone involved did it for fwee ! ! There are cheaper lulu options, smaller hardback or even paperback ,less pages etc but that is the base price per unit for that type/format of book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

I'd be interested in one.

Can I get it from ye lads or do I have to order on-line, pay the postage etc.

T.

Covey wrote:
    I'd be interested in one.

Can I get it from ye lads or do I have to order on-line, pay the postage etc.

T.

Hi - I dont have a copy to spare sorry - I ordered just enough. Fajitas, rymus or valentia may have one spare- if not the postage to Ireland is in the region of $10 so thats about €8 I think. There was one guy who ordered 12 copies who wasnt a contributor - I think he will be selling them in his shop - if I can find out the details on that I will pm you.

Ps the lulu page preview is changed now to one which almost has pictures - not full page picture previews as we decided not to give too much away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭FreeAnd..

Originally posted by Morlar

Theres no upfront fee with lulu (that was one of the reasons for using them)...........

Thanks for the info Morlar, I must order a copy and see how it turned out.