Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Power tipster competition

• 24-11-2006 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭

Starts tomorrow (24th November)

I missed the RP competition, but spotted this today.

I hope the mods wont mind me posting this, but its a free competition that looks like a bit of craic. Feel free to delete this if it comes across as a pp ad, but I think it should be fun.

It is run by each local paddypower shop.
    Basically, starting tomorrow (although you can join in late) you must pick the winners of specified races. Points are awarded at SP. After 3 Saturdays, the top 2 people with the most points in each local shop go through to the grand final.

The final has 20 prizes of a trip to Leopardstown (free meal, free bar etc), and a chance to win €10,000 on the day by picking the winner of a selected race.

I know nearly everybody in my local bookies, so it should be fun in our shop!

Anyone entering must register with their local shop, but tomorrows selected races are:

(All at Newbury)

1:05
    1:35
    2:40
    3:15

PS. your selections must be submitted to your local shop by 12pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

*cough* thought about pimping this, but thought better.

But it is a magnificent competition in terms of what you can get out of it.

As has been said, round 1 consists of three consecutive saturdays, with four selected races, with which 4 selections have to be made. The SP governs the points awarded. It runs from tomorrow (25th) and the next two saturdays (2nd & 9th dec). Then if you are lucky/skillful enough to be in the top 2 of your local paddy power shop, you go through to stage 2, which includes another 4 selected races, with the top 16 (or amount of acceptable declared runners in the PaddyPower chase going through). Then the last round is those person being taken out to leopardstown on the 27th(??), being shown the v.i.p treatment and all that, but here is where i find fault in calling it a tipster/napster competition, the horse's of the PP gold cup are drawn out of a hat. The person who draws the winner gets €10,000, the second €5,000/2,000 (other than first i'm a bit cagey) but i know for certain 5th - 10th get €100.

As for the 12pm tomorrow, you can enter after that, but you get a big fat 0, for week 1, so its in your best interest to get in by 12:00pm tomorrow.

And,just to add, the person who draws the winner, and that horse goes on to win the aintree grand national, that person will receive a bonus €90,000!!!

So best of luck!!

Fade/jonesy and Hobart im only filling in details, delete if you must!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Lads...we don't care about pimping for things like this. You're all mods as much as we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

For what its worth :)

My entries for tomorrow (all Newbury)

1:05 - Opera Mundi
    1:35 - Saintsaire
    2:40 - State of Play
    3:15 - Made in Montot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

1.05 Idris
    1.35 Jacks Craic
    2.40 Vodka Bleu
    3.15 Butlers Cabin.

wb wrote:

3 out of 4 so far...

Come on Made in Montot!!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭steveymp@hotmai

wb wrote:

Hope you have money on to WB;)

To be honest, I just stuck a fiver on each for the laugh, although state of play won at 10/1. If made in montot wins, I'll be cursing myself that I did not do a yankee:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Tush

wb wrote:
    3 out of 4 so far...

Come on Made in Montot!!!! :)
    Put the Mockers on it wb

Yep. Fell :mad: When does the flat season start again? :p

3 out of 4 should get me up the leaderboard though :)

Fair play Wayne!

wb wrote:
    Yep. Fell :mad: When does the flat season start again? :p

3 out of 4 should get me up the leaderboard though :)

You'd think so, but two in my shop got the exact same - 13.51.

Well if for those who are taking part here are week two's races:

Sandown
    2:05 - Sodexho Prestige Henry VIII Novices S'chase
    2:35 - Tingle Creek Steeplechase
    3:10 - The William Hill Handicap Hurdle Race
    3:40 - The Williamhill.co.uk Marathon Steeplechase

Healio wrote:
    Well if for those who are taking part here are week two's races:

Sandown
    2:05 - Sodexho Prestige Henry VIII Novices S'chase
    2:35 - Tingle Creek Steeplechase
    3:10 - The William Hill Handicap Hurdle Race
    3:40 - The Williamhill.co.uk Marathon Steeplechase

Thanks Healio. I did not get up to the shop today, so this is much appreciated.

Not sure how long it will last, but after last week, Im top of the leaderboard in my local bookie which is quite fun :)

wb wrote:
    Im top of the leaderboard in my local bookie which is quite fun :)

G'wan ya good thing! :)

Sandown
    2:05 - My Way De Solzen
    2:35 - Voy Por Ustedes
    3:10 - Guru
    3:40 - Iris Bleu

2:05 - My Way De Solzen
    2:35 - Kauto Star
    3:10 - Guru
    3:40 - Wild is the Wind

Well if for those who are taking part here are week three's races:

Cheltenham
    1:30 - The Mears Group "Relkeel" Hurdle
    2:40 - The boylesports.com Gold Cup Handicap
    3:15 - The boylesports.com International Hurdle
    3:45 - The Brit Insurance Novices' Hurdle

1.30 Blazing Bailey
    2.40 Exotic Dancer
    3.15 Hardy Eustace
    3.45 Hockenheim

1:30 Black Jack Ketchum
    2:40 Tikram
    3:15 Hardy Eustace
    3:45 Labelthou

Im Currently 2nd in my local shop, so it would be nice to get a winner or two and keep my name up there :)

I dont belive it. Im 3rd out of the shop (the top 2 go through) :(

wb wrote:
    I dont belive it. Im 3rd out of the shop (the top 2 go through) :(

Unlucky, in my shop the winner came from nowhere, he had exotic dancer, BJK and Flight Leader, he went from last to first!!