Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Correct Etiquette To Acknowledge Vehicle That Lets You Overtake

• 22-11-2006 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭

Just wondering what folks consider to be the correct way to acknowledge a slower vehicle that pulls onto the hard shoulder, or indicates in some way that it is safe for you to overtake. It seems that only a few years ago it was only truckers that would flash their hazard lights in acknowledgement, but nowadays everyone seems to be at it. But I've noticed a number of different methods of acknowledgement and wonder what people on here do.

1. Flash hazard lights 2 or 3 times.
    2. Do a left-right flick of the indicators (I notice that this seems to be the truckers preferred method nowadays).
    3. Raise your arm (assuming of course that you can be seen through your rear view mirror).
    4 Quick tootle of the horn.
    5 No acknowledgement at all.
    Any others??

Personally I do the left-right flick as I find it easier than having to reach out for the hazard lights switch, although this doesn't work so well on some modern cars that automatically indicate 3 times when you touch the indicator stalk. However sometimes I just raise my arm, and on occasion if I'm overtaking a vehicle that has pulled in on a narrow road, I might give a quick beep of the horn.

Also, if you have been overtaken and are 'acknowledged' should you flash your lights back in further acknowledgement? Sometimes it seems that on a long wide straight all you see is vehicles flashing an overtaking driver. Can be quite disconcerting as you don't know if it is you they are flashing and for what reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Personally I just raise my hand in thanks. I'm not keen on all these "secret handshake" uses of indicators, hazard lights or headlights. They're there for a purpose, and that isn't one of them, and as you point out they might be misinterpreted by other road users who aren't in on the secret, or who haven't seen the manoeuvre in question and just see your hazard lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I flash the hazards for overtaking. If someone lets me out I'm normally facing them so i just raise the hand off the wheel.

I generally don't flash back when I get an acknowledgement as it's confusing to some, but I have been flashed back and it doesn't bother me one way or the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭SonOfPerdition

Just wondering what folks consider to be the correct way to acknowledge a slower vehicle that pulls onto the hard shoulder, or indicates in some way that it is safe for you to overtake. It seems that only a few years ago it was only truckers that would flash their hazard lights in acknowledgement, but nowadays everyone seems to be at it. But I've noticed a number of different methods of acknowledgement and wonder what people on here do.

1. Flash hazard lights 2 or 3 times.
    2. Do a left-right flick of the indicators (I notice that this seems to be the truckers preferred method nowadays).
    3. Raise your arm (assuming of course that you can be seen through your rear view mirror).
    4 Quick tootle of the horn.
    5 No acknowledgement at all.
    Any others??
    I acknowledge with a flash of the hazards when i'min the car . . i wave thanks when on bike or nod head if i need to keep hands on the bars.
    Also, if you have been overtaken and are 'acknowledged' should you flash your lights back in further acknowledgement? Sometimes it seems that on a long wide straight all you see is vehicles flashing an overtaking driver. Can be quite disconcerting as you don't know if it is you they are flashing and for what reason.

i do .. it all adds to the warm fuzzy feeling i get.. . until some ****er cuts me off and the red mist descends and i fume under my helmet . . until the next car lets me by and the flash of acknowledgement makes all right with the world again.

My journeys are an emotional rollercoaster. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Flash of the hazzards. If somebody I let flashes me etc.. just a wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yes I flash the hazzard lights for about 2 - 3 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Give the hazards 2 flash's ... I love it when they flash their lights after I do this for some odd reason :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Alun wrote:
    Personally I just raise my hand in thanks.
    Not much good in a vehicle with no rear window! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Normally give one or two flashes of hazards - most people wouldn't notice a wave - truck drivers would be unlikely to see it - and I reckon its important to say "thanks for being courteous". If I let someone pass me and they thank me by means of any of the above methods, I normally give a quick flash of the headlights to say "you're welcome". Courtesy on the roads is scarce enough, it needs to be encouraged where possible.

When rear wipers became standard in most hatchbacks back in the 1980s, some drivers used to give one sweep of the wiper to say 'thanks'. I always thought it was a bit tacky though and I haven't see anyone do it for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

hazzards usually.the left right indicator works aswell.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Alun wrote:
    Personally I just raise my hand in thanks. I'm not keen on all these "secret handshake" uses of indicators, hazard lights or headlights. They're there for a purpose, and that isn't one of them, and as you point out they might be misinterpreted by other road users who aren't in on the secret, or who haven't seen the manoeuvre in question and just see your hazard lights.

Some people might suggest that there is a specified set of hand-signals as well and a wave isn't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I don't do anything,it's just encouraging bad driving

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I use hazzards and if I'm the one being overtaken (usually is) I'll give 'em a quick flash.

Mike.

parsi wrote:
    Some people might suggest that there is a specified set of hand-signals as well and a wave isn't one of them.
    There are indeed a specified set of hand signals and they all involve you sticking your hand out of the window, which I do not do, and cannot therefore be confused with a hand signal. Anything I do within the confines of my car with any part of my body, including picking my nose, is my business.

Hazard lights are for hazards in the same way as fog lights are for fog :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Agree.

Wouldnt it be safer and less confusing if everyone stopped doing it?

1. Assume the driver that you faciltated is grateful.
    2. Assume the driver that facilitated you assumes you are grateful

So everyone is happy - without misusing signals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Must try mooning sometime.. now THAT's multi-tasking! :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I go with the hazards. Two or three flashes. Never seen the left/right thing before.

Not often done here in the US, but I've seen it happen if, for example, I'm being overtaken by a big-rig, and I flash my headlights to indicate that he's clear, and can pull in front of me.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

2 flashes of the hazard lights if someone lets me pass them, and a quick flash of the headlights if someone acknowledges that I've let them pass me.

If someone lets me out at a junction, then a quick waggling of the fingers (as I don't like taking my hands off the steering wheel when I'm turning), or a quick beep of the horn.

Alun/Crowded House/Sandwich - a bit of courtesy goes a long way; it's what can seperate us from the road-ragers! It's simple politeness.

Or are ye the kind of people who don't say thanks when someone holds a door open for ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Left - right - left on the indicators for me.
    I find it much easier to do than foosetering around the dash for the hazard switch. And I get to keep both hands on the wheel while doing it too.

I'll also give a quick flash of the heads to anyone who acknowledges my efforts to not obstruct their progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Just a wild guess...are you a female?

Fey! wrote:
    Alun/Crowded House/Sandwich - a bit of courtesy goes a long way; it's what can seperate us from the road-ragers! It's simple politeness.

Or are ye the kind of people who don't say thanks when someone holds a door open for ye?
    :confused: I said I waved .. if the vehicle behind can't see that I'm not going to lose any sleep about it.

It's the inappropriate use of hazard warning lights I was objecting to. They're there for a purpose and I think that the over use of them in totally inappropriate situations like this dilutes their impact when they're used in a situation where they're really needed, i.e. when broken down in a potentially dangerous spot, or coming across stopped traffic on a motorway and not for example their apparently most common use here in Ireland, i.e. parking on double yellow lines to pop into the off-licence/ bank / takeaway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

JohnCleary wrote:
    Give the hazards 2 flash's ... I love it when they flash their lights after I do this for some odd reason :D

I'm the same.. I usually get dissappointed if they don't flash back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Alun wrote:
    :confused: I said I waved .. if the vehicle behind can't see that I'm not going to lose any sleep about it.

It's the inappropriate use of hazard warning lights I was objecting to. They're there for a purpose and I think that the over use of them in totally inappropriate situations like this dilutes their impact when they're used in a situation where they're really needed, i.e. when broken down in a potentially dangerous spot, or coming across stopped traffic on a motorway and not for example their apparently most common use here in Ireland, i.e. parking on double yellow lines to pop into the off-licence/ bank / takeaway.

Sorry - didn't see about your wave.

However, if a driver can't figure out the difference between a car flashing their hazards twice after overtaking something, or a car with its hazards on stopped in the middle/side of the road, then perhaps said driver shouldn't be driving?

Fey! wrote:
    However, if a driver can't figure out the difference between a car flashing their hazards twice after overtaking something, or a car with its hazards on stopped in the middle/side of the road, then perhaps said driver shouldn't be driving?
    I must search for the info. but I AFAIK it is technically illegal to use hazard lights on a moving vehicle. That may be what the posters mean. I try to see what I can find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Lynfo

Just a wild guess...are you a female?

U see, it's people like your good self who encourage others to think that women are discourteous. as a result of hearing that 'women never let me out' i make a point of always letting people out/overtake etc. when I can and yes I am a woman!!!

OP - usually do the hazards for a second or 2, and like some others I love it when somebody flashes their lights to acknowledge! sad i know, but it gives me a little lift :D

I can see this discussion going the way of the endless fog-light "debates". For me it's very, very simple .. hazard warning lights are for warning other motorists of potential hazards ahead, full-stop, end-of-story. All other uses are potentially misleading (think foreign motorists who aren't used to this little Irish idiosyncracy) and also probably illegal anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I take offense to the suggestion that the "good" drivers in this thread are chicks. They're obviously Skoda drivers. With beards, probably.

Alun wrote:
    think foreign motorists who aren't used to this little Irish idiosyncracy) and also probably illegal anyway.
    But we have to 'read' their idiosyncracies when abroad.

Incidently, have you ever noticed that when a driver in front indicates once to the left, it usually means that it is safe to overtake (in that drivers opinion) but many Northern Ireland drivers indicate once to the right to send the same message. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I must search for the info. but I AFAIK it is technically illegal to use hazard lights on a moving vehicle. That may be what the posters mean. I try to see what I can find.

Seriously? That rule doesn't make much sense, surely there are several valid reasons you would want to warn of a hazard when moving; e.g. traffic on the motorway or national road has gone from fast moving to very slow very quickly, or road is flooded ahead etc.

eoin_s wrote:
    Seriously? That rule doesn't make much sense, surely there are several valid reasons you would want to warn of a hazard when moving; e.g. traffic on the motorway or national road has gone from fast moving to very slow very quickly, or road is flooded ahead etc.
    Yes, it may have been abolished or ammended as I am led to believe that the hazards activate automatically in some vehicles when braking severely.

I may have been confusing our regulations with the UK's Highway Code.

http://www.highwaycode.gov.uk/

96. Hazard warning lights.

These may be used when your vehicle is stationary, to warn that it is temporarily obstructing traffic. Never use them as an excuse for dangerous or illegal parking. You MUST NOT use hazard warning lights whilst driving unless you are on a motorway or unrestricted dual carriageway and you need to warn drivers behind you of a hazard or obstruction ahead. Only use them for long enough to ensure that your warning has been observed.

Alun wrote:
    I can see this discussion going the way of the endless fog-light "debates". For me it's very, very simple .. hazard warning lights are for warning other motorists of potential hazards ahead, full-stop, end-of-story. All other uses are potentially misleading (think foreign motorists who aren't used to this little Irish idiosyncracy) and also probably illegal anyway.

Technically speaking making any signals to other drivers is illegal, or so my driving instructer said to me back in the day.

But join the real world outside of the legislation and its something the majority of drivers do without out thinking. Making eye contact with someone at a junction or waving someone through for example.

I think to be honest, if you get confused by hazzards in this situation you probably don't belong on the road in the first place.

ronoc wrote:
    waving someone through for example.
    That can be risky depending on the situation and is an automatic failure if done on a driving test. It is probably safer to wait but not make any hand/light gestures.

ronoc wrote:
    I think to be honest, if you get confused by hazzards in this situation you probably don't belong on the road in the first place.
    It's not so much a case of being confused by hazard warning lights used inappropriately, although if I thought about it long enough I could probably come up with a scenario where another road user might see the hazard warning lights without having seen the overtaking manoeuvre concerned and maybe draw the wrong conclusion. It's more that you see them used so much for all kinds of spurious reasons (taking a piss by the roadside, illegal and dangerous parking etc.) that have nothing to do with their intended purpose that they somehow, over time, lose their impact through over familiarity, a kind of "boy crying wolf" syndrome if you like.

Signals of all sorts on cars are there for a purpose, and have well defined uses. People making up their own uses for them that other road users might not be privy too just causes extra potential confusion. Confusion, potential or otherwise is not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I tend to use my hazards when someone lets me overtake. I always avoid flashing though as flashing can convey any number of meanings, many of them aggressive. The flashing to let someone pull out is particularly irksome imo as on the continent drivers use it to mean they're coming to the junction you want to pull into at speed and have no intention of slowing down for you. Worringly enough I've actually had driving instructors tell me to go ahead and turn in response to flashing lights even though the driver coming at me hasn't slowed in the silghtest, right after giving me a lecture on not trusting indicators.

dahamsta wrote:
    I take offense to the suggestion that the "good" drivers in this thread are chicks. They're obviously Skoda drivers. With beards, probably.
    Is there any reason you felt the need to post this drivel twice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

JohnCleary wrote:

Same here, I flash indicators once or twice but a few times I will be in jeep with trailer on so pull over like them to give a little flash. Hate when you let someone past and they dont acknowledge it. Pi**es me off then!! haha! Also if you are the vehicule letting someone pass if they flash indicators etc I will always give them a quick flash of my lights to acknowledge them as well. Its called good drivign lads:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Then I give a press of my novelty car horn which plays jolly Christmas carols. That's called great driving.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Alun wrote:
    Is there any reason you felt the need to post this drivel twice?

Are beards common amongst Skoda drivers or is that just a scurrilous comment ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Originally Posted by dahamsta

You were half right - I don't have a beard.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

I give one flash of the hazards to say 'thanks' to drivers who let me pass.
    However, I often feel that it would be better to use the left-right-left indicator flash instead.

I recall reading a few years ago on the UK truckers forum www.trucknetuk.com that truckers believe that hazard lights should only be used to warn other drivers of dangers/hazards ahead....and not to say 'thank you'.

To date I rarely flash my headlights when a driver 'thanks' me.......but after reading this thread, I might start doin so more often ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Alun wrote:
    There are indeed a specified set of hand signals and they all involve you sticking your hand out of the window, which I do not do, and cannot therefore be confused with a hand signal. Anything I do within the confines of my car with any part of my body, including picking my nose, is my business.

You'd better have a look at the Rules of the Road again Alun - what are the hand signals you make to a Garda that is directing traffic, or to someone at a crossroads with no traffic lights, if you want to signal your intended next move??? :confused:

Let us know when you've realised your mistake!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭curiosity

golly, even the simplest issue divides folks!

I look at this from both points of view. Say I'm on a 100km/hr stretch and in a wee bit of a hurry. You come up behind a vehicle doing 80km/h. There's traffic on the opposite carraigeway so I can't overtake. The vehicle in front indicates left and moves safely over to the clear hard shoulder, allowing me to pass quickly without undue risk. The other vehicle moves back out safely. I give a simple lift of the left hand in daylight, or 2 flicks of the hazards, to say 'thanks for making my journey less stessful'. They've already shown consideration by letting me by, so they don't need to do anymore, but a raise of the fingers off the steering wheel or a quick flash of the lights is nice.

Turn the situation around. I'm tootling along at 80/90km, in no hurry. A faster moving vehicle comes up behind me. Now sure I could stay where I am, but this person is possibly in more of a hurry. So I look ahead to see if the hard shoulder is clear (no junctions, houses where a car/pedestrian etc might pull out from), and I indicate left and pull in. They hopefully pass me out, I check my mirrors and indicate right, moving out if alls clear. I've made this person's day a little easier so hopefully they acknowledge with a gesture. Usually I'll give a wee wave or a flick of the headlights in response. I'm especially mindful of commercial vehicles. Driving for a living must be stressful at times when the clocks against you. I wouldn't be bothered if a commercial driver didn't acknowledge. But I do hate other private motorists not bothering, especially if they're behind the wheel of something expensive. It smacks of arrogance I guess.

Besides, whatever is behind me, I don't want to have someone 'looking' for the magical overtaking opportunity while hanging onto my tail. Better to let them on their way.

Basically showing, or being shown, consideration and manners by other road users makes me calm and happy behind the wheel, and that equals me being a safer driver hopefully!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

Alun wrote: »

guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭galvo_clare

But I've noticed a number of different methods of acknowledgement and wonder what people on here do.

Double flash on the brake lights.
    If you do it right, you don't engage the brakes at all and nothing shows to the front to potentially confuse oncoming traffic. I think this originated from truck drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Double flash on the brake lights.
    If you do it right, you don't engage the brakes at all and nothing shows to the front to potentially confuse oncoming traffic. I think this originated from truck drivers.

are you serious? thats plain dangerous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

guard

This thread is 5 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

bazz26 wrote: »
    This thread is 5 years old.

and what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

98bdcab5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

zombie