Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Suld I Bring My 20d To Brazil / or buy cheaper camera

• 20-11-2006 6:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Bring My 20d To Brazil / or buy cheaper camera
    hey lads and gals, i cant live without my camera as u all will understand ,
    im going to brazil for three months and id like to take my camera?
    But im not a millionaire and i cant afford to lose it>
    should i buy a slr for under five hundred euros and take a chance?
    I DONT REALLY WANT TO FILLING IN FORMS FOR INSURANCE IN BRAZIL.
    CAN NE ONE HELP OR SUGGEST NE IDEAS PLAN OR TACTICS.
    UR ALL LEGENDS, PLEASE REPLY EVEN IF ITS THE SMALLEST OF INFORMATION
    THANKS

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

well if you really loved photography youd fill the forms :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

Hey, I've been to Brasil myself (Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro) last january and will be going there again in a few months. I brough my 350D and experienced no problems. Make sure you keep it in the bag when you don't need it... don't take it out in dodgy places and just be careful of the people around you and you should be fine. I'd be more worried getting ripped off by taxi drivers and merchants :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

You'll probably be kicking yourself if some photo of the century opportunity raises it's head and your without the 20D.
    But what is your set up going to be? I only ever travel on my own and I'd rather not have a couple of grand of camera and lens around my neck if something were to kick off! Will you be on your own? With friends? Working as part of a group with locals that are in the know?
    There's a big difference between the above scenarios.

There's loads of Brazilian photographers on Flickr, post up in a few of their groups and ask how they get on.

I know I'd be bringing my 20D along, but I have Brazilian friends that would see me right and keep me out of trouble so it's probably unfair to be encouraging you to do the same.

Anyway check out some Brazilian groups and see what the craic is.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Dizzy Carmody

im going there for 3months with the brother we one a brazilian girl, so hopefully that will help, glad to hear that u didnt have ne trouble over, its just i havent been to brazil and just been abit carefull. that sounds like a sweet idea about the groups on flickr will do so thanks guys legends.
    oh i would fill the forms if need by haha ur gas
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Personally I'd rather leave an arm or a leg behind... Take the 20D or you will regret it very quickly; Like when your plane lands :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭mervifwdc

I got all my gear onto the house insurance under "all risks". It's covered if I loose it, drop it, let it get stolen etc. worldwide. It means I can bring whatever gear I want to whereever I want. Even out in the rain. I bought it to use it, so I use it.

Merv.