Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wednesday 15th November

• 14-11-2006 7:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭

6.20 KEMPTON - ARCTIC DESERT

This selection is based on its last run where the ATR site says (dwelt, settled in rear, headway on inside when badly hampered and bumped well over 1f out, ran on inside furlong, not reach winner, slightly unlucky).I thought he would have won that day and I think he will go close tomorrow in a similar type race,Dazzler booked to ride and he rode Boundless Prospect to a win today for the same trainer,hopefully their hoses are on song.

5.20 - SWEET WORLD

Has its Handicap rating now and from what I have seen of this horse it has got the ability to win a race of this nature,the question is when hopefully tomorrow.Dazzler booked again so heres hoping he does the double with these two Ggs.

Grey Vision 12.00 Southwell

My Buddy tells me that this horse is a quirky individual but has alot of ability,they will put the blinkers on her for tomorrow and feel that she should run well in what is a poor race, if she copes with the track and the first time at the races experience she would have a shout here.Quaasi is entered in for Friday.

Good Luck Lads,and again do what you like with this tripe I have just posted,only passing on the word,and please dont shoot the messanger.:)Sorry aboot the date of the thread.oooooooooooooooppps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Change the date mate:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Tush

Dun laoire wrote:
    Change the date mate:D
    Cant buddy,dont know how.Ah its done now,paul daniels must be on,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

In future, if you want to change a subject title, just double click after the last letter and it will allow you to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

fade2black wrote:
    In future, if you want to change a subject title, just double click after the last letter and it will allow you to change it.
    That's only with your super duper mod powers turned on. "Ordinary" users do not have this option *.

* as far as I know that is......

Nah, anyone can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭BobbyD10

All weather racing in my eyes was invented so as when meetings become abandoned, for various reasons, frost or whatever, that wolves and lingfield can step in and do the job, but as i see it, they are another way for the bookies to cream more money from punters.

The fact that the "banded" racing takes place on these surfaces shows what the BHB thinks of them. They are extremely tough meetings to work out form, draw or surface.

They have been improving over the last while all right but in general they can be a very poor fair most of the time. No wonder Barry Dennis loves Lingfiled..!!

If i do bet at these meetings i generally back stables or horses that are in form.

I am probably very critical, but from a punters point of view.

BobbyD10 wrote:
    All weather racing in my eyes was invented so as when meetings become abandoned, for various reasons, frost or whatever, that wolves and lingfield can step in and do the job, but as i see it, they are another way for the bookies to cream more money from punters.

The fact that the "banded" racing takes place on these surfaces shows what the BHB thinks of them. They are extremely tough meetings to work out form, draw or surface.

They have been improving over the last while all right but in general they can be a very poor fair most of the time. No wonder Barry Dennis loves Lingfiled..!!

If i do bet at these meetings i generally back stables or horses that are in form.

I am probably very critical, but from a punters point of view.

I'm not sure where that came from but anyway....

First off, you don't have to bet on these races. They are there for a number of reasons. Firstly, and most importantly, to give owners a chance to have their day. It's a very expensive business owning a horse and in Ireland at the minute it's difficult to find the right race for the right horse. Imagine the frustration of owning a lowly rated animal and never getting a chance to walk it into the winners enclosure. These "banded" meetings give owners that opportunity. The tracks are very useful in terms of versatility weatherwise but that would really only come in handy if there were unusually bad weather conditions at the height of the flat season.

Some people prefer backing in these races because they see the same horses week in and week out and they can see the form for themselves and also rate the horses for themselves. To many, it's easier to make money on AW racing than it is on other types. It should be fun when the AW weather starts in Ireland next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭BobbyD10

fade2black wrote:
    I'm not sure where that came from but anyway....

First off, you don't have to bet on these races. They are there for a number of reasons. Firstly, and most importantly, to give owners a chance to have their day. It's a very expensive business owning a horse and in Ireland at the minute it's difficult to find the right race for the right horse. Imagine the frustration of owning a lowly rated animal and never getting a chance to walk it into the winners enclosure. These "banded" meetings give owners that opportunity. The tracks are very useful in terms of versatility weatherwise but that would really only come in handy if there were unusually bad weather conditions at the height of the flat season.

Some people prefer backing in these races because they see the same horses week in and week out and they can see the form for themselves and also rate the horses for themselves. To many, it's easier to make money on AW racing than it is on other types. It should be fun when the AW weather starts in Ireland next year.

I'm not sure where it came from either....

First off, i would argue that being "an expensive business owning a horse" you dont have to buy one. And research should be done, as would be done with any other expenditures as regards availablity of running the animal.

Also i would debate the fact its easier to make money on them but thats another days work.

To my mind, all weather racing is a poor fair but i can see the points you make. I am over critical of these meetings but probably because i love watching the big meetings in Ireland and England.

And hopefully Dundalk get decent attendances..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

can't stand all weather racing meself...its just like the hounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

No info boys but got a tip today for

Carmens Boy 2.40 Warwick. Keep an eye on it. Currently at 11s on PP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

Regarding the All Weather:

1. No-one is forced to place a bet. I dont like 49's, virtual racing etc. but I dont complain about it. I simply avoid it.

2. These low class meetings are necessary to seperate the wheat from the chaff. While most of them wont go on to greater things, we cant expect to have listed or group horses running every day. As mentioned, it gives the small time owner a chance to see their horse run. Horse ownership should not be only for the rich. Sure, it aint all that fancy to watch a race at Southwell, but these owners/trainers give a lot to the sport. Should we do away with all betting on all the other football teams simply because the premiership exists?

3. Some people (me included) find AW very reliable for stats, and therefore, predicting trends. The same horses pop up all the time, as do the same trainers and jockeys. While the horses may not be as good as others, the stats and trends are there for all to see.

But again, the main point is that if you dont like it, dont bet. Simple!

I reckon 2 horses are overpriced in the place market for the 6:20 at Kempton, so a 'place dutch' is called for.

Fateful Attraction - Good trainer record at Kempton, Decent form, won on the course before (over this distance) Place price: 3.2

Torquemada - Good trainer record here, Good Jockey record here, Decent form, proven on the distance. Place price: 4.8

Bet:

Fateful Attraction to be placed at 3.2, stake: 6pts
    Torquemada to be placed at 4.8, stake: 4pts

Total cost of bet: 10pts

Total profit if one selection placed: 9.2 pts
    Total profit if both selections placed: 28.4 pts

I don't know what clocks and diaries people are using these days but they aint the same as mine!

fade2black wrote:
    I don't know what clocks and diaries people are using these days but they aint the same as mine!

Ha ha. Changed it. Dunno what planet I was on for a minute there.

At just under 6/4, I reckon Our Blessing has a cracking chance at being placed (3 places) in the 5:50 at Kempton. Head of the TS ratings, he is proven on the distance. His Form has been reasonable enough and Trainer Jarvis has a decent profitable record here. Id be fairly surprised if he is not placed at least.

wb wrote:
    At just under 6/4, I reckon Our Blessing has a cracking chance at being placed (3 places) in the 5:50 at Kempton. Head of the TS ratings, he is proven on the distance. His Form has been reasonable enough and Trainer Jarvis has a decent profitable record here. Id be fairly surprised if he is not placed at least.
    that on Betfair WB ?

Tush wrote:
    that on Betfair WB ?

You forgetting who you're talking to? Wayne's Betfair's bitch!

And I love every minute of it :D

Yep Tush, thats in betfairs place only market.

Cheers Lads,just done a place Treb on PP for Dazzler to place in the last 3 races,first up 2 to go.

wb wrote:
    TOPS wb,fair play.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭dawballz

full result ladS?

erm nm...
    1 - (6) Hucking Hill (B Doyle) 6/1
    2 - (2) Our Blessing (D Holland) 4/1
    3 - (1) Danehillsundance (J Fortune) 2/1

Tush wrote:
    TOPS wb,fair play.;)

Cheers Tush.

If the 6:20 goes my way, it could be a nice day indeed for me.

wb wrote:
    Cheers Tush.

If the 6:20 goes my way, it could be a nice day indeed for me.

Ah well. cant win em all.

Tush wrote:
    Cheers Lads,just done a place Treb on PP for Dazzler to place in the last 3 races,first up 2 to go.
    Happy ending for me,was really hoping Desert would win though,but not complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭steveymp@hotmai

Cheers tush had sweet and desert E/W's and a wee £5 double E/W on them too so a few quid profit, thanx again;)

As for Grey Vision,they said it didnt handle the track,they have pulled Qassi ouy of fridays race and will not have any other runners this week.