Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 3X03 - "Further Instructions" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 14-11-2006 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS" -

Episode Title: "Further Instructions"
    Airdate: November 14th 2006

Synopsis (from TV.Com):
    The aftermath of the hatch and its implosion results with Locke and Desmond safely alive. However, Mr. Eko remains in grave danger with Locke trying to save him. Meanwhile, Claire is stunned to see castaways Paulo and Nikki (guest star Kiele Sanchez) having sex in Jack's tent. Also, Hurley discusses in detail to the camp survivors on what it was like being captured by the "Others." Lastly, flashbacks reveal more about Locke’s past. Locke also begins to come to terms with his involvement in Boone’s (guest star Ian Somerhalder) death.

Next New Episode: 3X04 - "
    Every Man For Himself
    " - November 21st 2006

Link to US Discussion Thread

What did you think of "Further Instructions"? 35 votes

0%
    5%
    darrenhSoSueMe 2 votes
    17%
    hallelujajordanyom 1Cooeesnapjiggyfluffno5ligindMikeHoncho 6 votes
    37%
    Killaqueen!!!squrmacriPatricide~Rebel~bikodjkeoghtired of life?Fuzzy_DunloplowdenclearAORBaby4coidi 13 votes
    17%
    buglerNecronomiconprospect**Timbuk2**JelloBA2703 6 votes
    0%
    14%
    EKRIUQquazzyAnaiyelamad_iguanaNUTZZ 5 votes
    2%
    fobs 1 vote
    2%
    Fence 1 vote
    2%
    speedy21 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

The episode description is confusing me? Was Hurley's single sentance the 'in detail' discussion? And where was the sex in a tent?
    I enjoyed that one. Nice to see Locke being cool again, and the whole thing seemed to be setting the stage for him to keep being cool.
    And of course that thing with Desmond...did the fail safe cause some sort of time distortion, or give him psychic powers? Weird.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

It didn't happen, TV.com got the description wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Ah yes.. TV.com seem to get the episode description wrong a lot.

I'm guessing that'll probably happen 6 months down the line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Are you sure its tv.com i heard somewhere that rte were editing a few minutes out of the new lost epis for logistical reasons, i doubt it but i remember hearing that a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I liked it, best out of the three so far imo. I liked the ending, the whole Desmond/Locke's speech thing. I also liked Locke's back-story.

I hope this will be the return of the season 1 Locke we all knew and loved, he lost his way a little in season 2.

Patricide wrote:
    Are you sure its tv.com i heard somewhere that rte were editing a few minutes out of the new lost epis for logistical reasons, i doubt it but i remember hearing that a while back.
    Nope.. wasn't in the original US ep either.

Can't see why RTÉ would be editing anything out? Anything care to enlighten me as why specifically?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Cooee

I liked this - not much reveaaed but a good interesting, exciting episode that could nearly standalone.
    Betcha the deja vu comment has lots of ye coming up with new theories!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭starman100

Yeah, good episode, big improvement on the previous two.

Locke's back story was interesting, but I wonder how he ended up on that 'commune' to begin with?

How the heck did Locke and Desmond get spat out of the hatch before it 'imploded'?

I missed Desmond's comments to Hurley before Locke came back, anyone care to enlighten me as to what happened?

They just showed the promo for tonight's episode... great way to get viewers RTE.

9 posts in and nobody's mentioned Kate in the black vest thang!

slobber.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭quazzy

meh....

I'm still not convinced of this season yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

basquille wrote:
    They just showed the promo for tonight's episode... great way to get viewers RTE.

9 posts in and nobody's mentioned Kate in the black vest thang!

slobber.gif

I caught that too :rolleyes:

They're not the cleverest bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

starman100 wrote:
    I missed Desmond's comments to Hurley before Locke came back, anyone care to enlighten me as to what happened?
    Desmond and Hurley had just met, and Hurley was saying how his friends had been kidnapped and were being held god-knows-where.

Desmond turns to him and says words to the effect of "Don't worry, Locke is going after them. He said so in his speech". Hurley asks what speech? Desmond looks disorientated as if realising what he mentioned didn't actually happen and says "sorry, I'm a bit confused what with the implosion" etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Definatley the best of the three episodes so far (but thats not saying a whole lot). I agree with what was said above about not being convinced about the season, it seems to be straying so far from its origins, Good to see the old Locke returning, his flashback was decent enough, I quite liked his hellucination aswell with Boone. Overall an average episode, but at least things are starting to look "slightly" better for the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

basquille wrote:
    Nope.. wasn't in the original US ep either.

Can't see why RTÉ would be editing anything out? Anything care to enlighten me as why specifically?
    i dunno i cant remember at all where the hell i heard that but it sticks out in my mind for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Love the Locke flashbacks - love any Locke-centred episodes at all! Great that he's communicating with the island. Very cool. I thought he was going to shoot yer man; "Nope...I'm a hunter." *BANG* ...but it didnt happen he just cried. Emotional stuff - I'm glad he's not a killer.

Apart from the cool vision in the tent, and Locke and Charlie going to get Mr Eko...didn't learn much but then when do we ever? Great episode still but...

....the little bits in Lost annoy me. No fault as such, but now that the hatch has imploded what are they going to do for supplies? I hope they encorporate this in the next few episodes cos Im one for noticing small detail. For example I was annoyed that Locke was using so much paper to communticate with Charlie. Stupid, I know...but if I was on an island for God knows how long I would be careful with rationising.....paper. Yeaaah....:p

I'll give this one an 8!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

This really had a season one feel to it which is great. The welcomed return to season one locke is also long overdue. The sweat lodge dream was brilliant one of the all time best scenes of the series.

Its nice to know that the writers haven't forgotten about the polar bear. Clearly, Charlie did whan he said Sawyer killed the bear (as in the pilot).

One nitpick out of a fantastic episode was the introduction of Paulo and Nikki. i couldn't make out what Paulo was saying and Nikki's introduction was OTT. We haven't seen her in the three yearsof the show and now suddenly she is concered about Jack. The needed to tone her down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭MeTV

Yep, I agree that the introduction of the 2 new characters was very forced; soon as I saw them, I knew they were the 2 people that've been in the credits since the first episode that we've yet to see.

Apart from that this episode was awesome, although I found it strange that John's flashback didn't tie in with any of his previous flashbacks at all.

Loved the parrallels between John and Jack:

- Waking up in the jungle with a close up on the eye
    - Vincent/Desmond running through the jungle
    - Seeing the shoe/Eko's Jesus stick
    - Leading a mission to find the cockpit/Eko
    - Making a speech declaring themself camp leader
    - Sawyer/Desmond skipping stones across the sea during that speech

A nice, subtle way to show us that this is going to be a new beginning, of sorts, for the survivors under a new leader.

Oh, and this is for you, Basq'! ;)

21027393a2566577091b260121597l.jpg

When you're done ogling Kate, have a look at what's in James' right hand, behind her - see the photo of the Golden Gate bridge, which is upside down from our point of view? We saw the exact same thing on the notice board of the healer that Rose went to visit during her flashback.

I thought the introduction of Paulo and Nikki was terrible. Did they even say their names? I didn't know who they were until I read this thread. Will they be regular characters?

MeTV wrote:

When you're done ogling Kate, have a look at what's in James' right hand, behind her - see the photo of the Golden Gate bridge, which is upside down from our point of view? We saw the exact same thing on the notice board of the healer that Rose went to visit during her flashback.

Ah here now, thats a bit much. How could anyone possibly notice that? :P

You'd be surprised what you can pick up on when you're watching an episode for the 3rd time (or, in this case, staring at that particular picture for longer than is healthy! ;)).

Yes, John called them both by name when he was giving orders to everyone at the end.

Also, nice little nod to Lord of The Rings with Charlie's line about trees being great conversationalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

this was easily the best episode for quite some time. locke back to his season 1 best and the airport scene was excellent. this made me remember why i watch lost. dont know if it was just me but did anyone get a bit of a jesus/messiah feeling at the end with desmond in his oversize tye dye t-shirt. what made lost so good was the mystical religious unexplainable episodes in season 1 and not the scientific episodes of season 2. but then again there are properly two kinds of people: the man of faith (locke) and the man of science (jack) and they way i see it you either like one or the other.:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

There was some great funny lines of dialogue in this episode like Hurley saying to Desmond that the hatch blew of his underwear. Classic Hurleyism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I thought the introduction of Paulo and Nikki was terrible. Did they even say their names? I didn't know who they were until I read this thread. Will they be regular characters?

Ah here now, thats a bit much. How could anyone possibly notice that? :P
    With HDTV, you could notice anything :p

shut up :P

one thing is noticing the picture Sawyer was holding, the other is recognising it from another episode!!!!

Only because, I'd gone over stills of everything in that collage looking for any easter eggs or clues ;)
    SoSueMe wrote:
    There was some great funny lines of dialogue in this episode like Hurley saying to Desmond that the hatch blew of his underwear. Classic Hurleyism.

Which he said before he knew what had happened - John & Charlie hadn't told him and he'd just bumped into Desmond so how did he know what had happened in The Swan? It's not until later when they're making their way back to the beach that Desmond explained what happened.