Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clonmel Thursday

• 13-11-2006 6:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭

Since clonmel thursday will be my last race meeting before xmas am looking for some good tips to finish me off for the season ( cough Fade)?
    Appreciate sugeestions online wednesday night at the latest.
    Footnote to say thanks to local radio station on which for the second year in a row i now have won two complimentary tickets :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Is that good old WLR? We'll have a read of the Clonmel card on Wednesday and see if we can come up with some winners.

In Compliance is running in the Clonmel Oil Chase (As well as Justified, Sir OJ, Kill Devil Hilland others)...so you're certain of at least one quality race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

fade2black wrote:
    Is that good old WLR? We'll have a read of the Clonmel card on Wednesday and see if we can come up with some winners.

In Compliance is running in the Clonmel Oil Chase (As well as Justified, Sir OJ, Kill Devil Hilland others)...so you're certain of at least one quality race.
    The very radio station the female racing expert has being ringing me letting me know how the tickets will be sent out..
    No war of attrition this year that was the difficult question by the way who won last years race??
    Last year one frequent race goer told me not very impressed with WOR and the rest is history :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

I will be at my local track Clonmel also representing Tipp Fm as i am there racing expert.Im on Tipp Fm every saturday and sunday on the sports news broadcasts from 1pm.I heard a good word from the concections of Sher Beau that he will run a good race.And also So Many Questions should have the beating of Oscar Honey and reverse the form of last time when he was second to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭keepitquiet

hi im new to this website... took the 12/1 Guadaloup from tush's tip yesterday. just wondering wat everyone fancies for the 1.55 at clonmel? should be a gd race :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

i'll probably be backing sir oj once the distance and ground suit him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭keepitquiet

seems pointless now theres only 4 horses left in the race according to racing post and sir OJ's weight opposed to sher bears i would not like to choose between them... have to find a different race...:D

Clonmel Thursday:

First off Decies, there's a jackpot rollover today so make sure you do that, as well as the placepot. (Both done at the Tote counters)

12:40 -
    Visit Wexford would be of interest here if we forgive his last outing (5-2 fav) where something was clearly amiss but he's unproven on this ground and after an absence of 122 days he'd be too risky of a proposition. Indian Pace on the other hand is proven on the ground and should be nice and fit after a recent flat outing.

1:25 -
    It would be foolish to discount Le Toscan's recent beating of Leading Run as a fluke and with Ruby on board we have to believe that his horse could be handy. Well Run is a relative of Leading Run so Noel Meade will have a good line on the form. Watch out for the market on this one. If Le Toscan drifts and Well Run comes in...you should probably take notice.

1:55 -

Half the race that this was when I first looked at the card earlier in the week (make sure you select 2 for the placepot). We shouldn't look too much into the Nickname form with Sir OJ because it was a change of tactics that resulted in Nickname's change of fortunes at the weekend but out of all these (Bar adament Approach) Sir OJ should be the fittest and you'd imagine would start favourite and take all the beating. I think Sir OJ will beat Sher Beau.

2:25 -
    I'm simply not a fan of Chicago Vic so personally I wouldn't be siding with Ruby's mount here (others may disagree). Lakill Princess comes into this with some decent form behind Southern Vic but I'll be on the side of Cailin Alainn who's on an upward curve and should have a good season ahead of her.

2:55 -
    This whole card is not easy and I may well be wrong with everything that I come up with but to be honest that's typical of Clonmel in November. This race in particular looks hard so we'll try and find something each way and for your placepot. Cluain Arra has to be of interest after scoring so easily last time (albeit in a handier race) and off such a low weight of 9-3 today - believe me, it's bucketing down around clonmel today so that will come in very handy. In fact, in all the handicaps I'd be looking for some kind of form (preferably course form) near the bottom of the weights..it's going to be tough out there tomorrow. The Long Haul under Nina C, is another of interest.

3:25 -

I'm sorry to do this but I have a tip for this one. I got a phone call last week about this horse, and again about 2 minutes ago (they wanted to know what the RP had forecast the horse to be). Ballysheedy, they say to me, has the ground he wants and a nice weight so tomorrow is supposed to (hopefully) be his day.

3:55 -
    Not needed for your placepot or Jackpot thankfully, these races, as you know are all about watching the market. There's no difference her, although on all known form so far I'd be leaning towards Oscar Honey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Tush

Nice write up FTB,fair play.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

12:55

I think Walk in my shadow has a great chance off a low weight with Niall Madden in the saddle.He has run well over the course in the past on the flat.He won 3 flat races last season and he showed that he could maybe win over hurldes also on his 3rd last time out.I agree with you fade that indian pace has a good chance but maybe the weight will catch it out in the bad conditions.I live in clonmel about 10 min walk from course and its been raining in clonmel all day and theres flooding every where so conditions wont be the best and weight may well prove costly.Another horse with a chance is Premier hero who was second to after midnight who has since won in cheltenham.Its a wide open race with many course winners including demense and for a song so i wouldnt suggest putting much money on this race.

1:25

Le Toscan will take alot of beating here with ruby on board.I agree with you Fade his last run was not a fluke and noel meade has a form line threw hiim.But i think leading run is alot better horse than well run will be and i think Le Toscan can romp home.Maybe the hurler is an interesting outsider,its run behind sher why not was eye catching.

1:55 Clonmel Oil Chase

I think the weight again here comes into play with the improving Sher Beau getting weight all round.This is the first chase on the card so the ground on the chase course will not be cut up but from riding on the course the inside track can be quite soggy in areas where as the hurdle track wouldnt.I was talking to the connections of Sher Beau and they think he will take some beating as he always runs well fresh and they think quite alot about him.I have him in my Totesport 10 to follow comp.I think Kill Devil Hill will run Sher Beau close.

2:25

Cailin Alainn will be all the rage here.She has shown her fighting qualitys in her previous wins and she will again be tough to beat but im not sure will the ground suit her.Gazas Girl and Chicago Vic will be in the mix also.Icy Belle and Kerry Cottage ran well at the course at this meeting last year and i think Kerrys Cottage will love the ground but maybe she might need the run.So im going with the inform Swiss Hall who gets into the race off 10-7 as its weighted alot lower over fences than hurdles.

2:55

Vintage Port and Derrykeel will both be very fancied.Vintage Port had the race in the bag last time out when he fell but we all know it doesnt always work out next time out and this is a harder race.I think the course winners off the low weight have place claims,Minnie turbo and ilringuback and best all stars whos is the most interesting of the 3.I agree with you fade i think Cluain Arra may be the one.I have been following this horse for over 2 years now as he is owned by a man in a nearby town who told me that he will take some time to improve but when he starts to show some form he will keep come good.He was trained by A Walker but the owner took him off him when the horse was ready to win with.So for his first run for M Hourigan he went and duely won at 9/1.I think theres definatly more races in him.Also i think that Cash Converter maybe one to take out of this race to follow for the future as he showed some of his potential last time out.

3:25

I think Hasanpour can take this race as he has being running very consistant recently and the jockey claiming 7lb will make alot of differnece.Tobar Isaun has showed some good course form in the past and has been running well also recently he may be the one to chase home Hasanpour.

3:55

Its a very hard race to pick the winner of,the two Oscars will be the main fancys.The course winner Oscar Honey and Oscar Lyons will have to carry round there penaltys for winning and that will make it tough for them to repeat with the likes of newcomers from the former jockeys Colm Murphy, Philip Fenton and Jim Culloty yards in the race.No Toll is well regarded and will win races but im not so sure will he be good enough to win first time out.Im gonna side with Seepeeoh who carrys less weight of those that have one as its a filly.Seepeeoh as already won in the heavy ground where it beat the consistant Safari Run and it will have conditions in its favour which is a big thing.

Well i thank ye all above for that so its goodnight from me and goodnight from him.Goodnight!!!!
    Ps will report back on the disaster tomoro:o :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

The jock wrote:
    12:55

I think Walk in my shadow has a great chance off a low weight with Niall Madden in the saddle.

Agree here, he was a bit unlucky to not win down in Listowel on the Saturday when he lost his footing jumping the last and subsequently finished 3rd. That day he was at the back of the pack coming around the elbow and he flew past the lot. He's got a really good turn of foot and won a flat race in March in conditions similar to today's. One of Augustine Leahy's better horses under training, and a gentleman too to boot.

Well the results are in from the clonmel Jury>>>>>>

12.55 Backed indian pace + Walk in my shadow to win.
    Ruby walsh won it with a good ride and a good price.
    walk in my shadow second.
    1.25 Backed Le Toscan + Buck Breeze
    Le toscan and Ruby won with lots to spare:D
    1.55 Backed Sir Oj
    Sir Oj jumping ragged and to the left!!!
    Kill devil hill looks the business,Carberry comes back and wins it by a SH :D
    2.25 Backed Cailin Alainn + Gazza,s Girl
    Gazza,s girl going well until it fell :mad:
    Cailin Alainn wins under good ride from Davey Russel, the horse has won last 4 now :)
    Jackpot and placepot in good order.....
    Backed The Long Haul + Derrykeel
    Nina on Long haul led the 3m hurdle from start.
    Would she hang on not Quite,second good ride but this horse will win again.
    Jackpot gone on Nina.
    Placepot still alive!!!!
    Backed Hasanpour +ballysheedy the Fade Tip!!!!!!
    After about 6 furlongs the commentator said Ballysheedy is getting "a reminder"
    I took this as a bad sign:o
    hasanpour was doing no better and finished last....
    Ballysheedy rallied to finish 6th cough........
    Placepot gone.
    Time to leave me thinks>
    The object of the exercise was to make a profit for the day..

Usual Result loss of €25
    Todays Result Grand Profit of €6!!!!!!!!!
    A bacardi and a packet of peanuts.
    Would like to thank fade for the help and encouragement!!!!!!!
    Next stop Tramore Xmas eve............

My mate told me there was 5 grand lost on Ballysheedy today. (that's just 4 people too). He was fancied but was pretty crap today it has to be said.

3 winners is ok, thought it was gonna be four when Cluain Arra went odds on afer the 2nd last. Got swallowed by 4 of them then!

At least you didn't lose anything decies.

Nice day for the races allright.
    I nearly got knocked down at the bookies when one bookie went 6-4 for sir oj.
    My big tenner was nearly blown away he took in about a grand in 50 seconds .
    An old fellow behind me was shouting youv,e taken enough stop it,stop it!!!!!!
    Weird that......
    Only now looked at the tips from the indo,you would not have done much good if you followed them!!!!!!
    Thanks Again.

of course Cluain Arra wins easily today at 10-1. Didn't even see that he was running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Tush

fade2black wrote:
    of course Cluain Arra wins easily today at 10-1. Didn't even see that he was running.
    Thas the way it goes Fade,Iktitaf was impressive again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 TraceyH

FYI jock, Cluain Arra was not 'ready to win' when changed trainer - total opposite in fact..!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Please do not drag up old threads. If you want to comment on this meeting (even if it was over four and a half years ago), please start a new thread.

Thread locked.