Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanted: Bullsh1t / Laymans Terms Translator!!

• 11-11-2006 11:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭

Am I the only one getting a tad peeved with all this "marmalade,wellington waffle..drone..blah de blah" crap that is being spewed on this forum recently:confused:

This is a chat forum for people of similar interests and hobbies, not letters to the president of the Lexicographers society! IMO

I read here often and enjoy the discussions/debates about recent MMA events, upcoming events/seminars etc. I can find good advice on health, fittness and training. I enjoy watching and reading discussions about various movie clips which can be amusing and interesting.etc...

Recently I find myself trawling thru thread after thread of words and phrases that I do not understand (and when I bother to decipher them realise that these "fancy" words and terms are being used out of context i.e. its bull****), before I can find something that interests me.

Sure we can all use the dictionary or 'the-sore-ass' and tell anyone who will listen how educated and 'lear-ned' we all are, if that is what floats our boat,but this forum is recreational for me and I have to say the fun is being taken out of it .
    So a little less of the BS and a bit more fun/ entertainment wouldnt go amiss before I lose interest altogether:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Just use the ignore function.

People who try to use more extensive vocabulary than they expect people to have are trying to up themselves by means of literary masturbation.

People who try it while using words incorrectly are just funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

By Clive's definition I think most of what's been going on is just funny.

It's all a bit silly. If someone really annoys you just do as Clive said and hit ignore, I did it with the martial man fella earlier but people keep quoting him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Clive is spot on!

On one of TKD forums I used to post there was a huge amount of BS threads and it seemed to annoy a lot people. I never really got it, if people are talking sh%t just back out of the thread, the fact that I don't spend my days sitting at a computer at the moment makes easier and easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Clive is spot on!

50/50

While I respect Clive and what he posts I have to say he's just 50/50 correct IMO.

And I'm glad someone has posted this thread too. Why?...

Because I'm dyslexic and have a genuine problem in sorting through the same BS being posted by some people.

Although I'm not asking for special treatment here I do appricate things being kept simple, and using flowery grammer here doesn't help anyone especially the some newbies who I'd imagine would be scared off by some people here.

Just my 2 cents worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

I don't know why people are annoyed by such things??

A new perspective has come to the board! Why is that a problem?

Chill out folks!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I don't see what the problem is, if something bother you that much then don't read the feckin' thing. Plain and simply.

Perhaps your opinion clashes with another, but that doesn't mean its bull****... its just someone elses persepective. Either put up with it, or hit the ignore button.

Right thats my rant over!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

pma-ire wrote:
    I don't know why people are annoyed by such things??

A new perspective has come to the board! Why is that a problem?

Chill out folks!! :D

Again Paul you misunderstand. A new perspective has not come to the board because that troll hasn't actually contributed anything.

gymrabbit wrote:
    Again Paul you misunderstand. A new perspective has not come to the board because that troll hasn't actually contributed anything.
    how can i misunderstand my own perspective on the issue?? :) and whats with the Dr Evil talk..
    "Again Paul you misunderstand." ?? :D

this person has posted questions and challenged the status quo!

thats not a bad thing! questions are good! if people can't argue with this person then don't!!

I think you misunderstand the nature of the trolls posts. I think he's trolling. Do you think he's asking genuine questions in a reasonable or even genuine fashion?

How about you find me an example of question he's asked that's vaguely even relevant? He's posted about 50 times in the last 48 hours so if he's made a useful post it shouldn't be hard to find in less than 5mins.

gymrabbit wrote:
    I think you misunderstand the nature of the trolls posts. I think he's trolling. Do you think he's asking genuine questions in a reasonable or even genuine fashion?

How about you find me an example of question he's asked that's vaguely even relevant? He's posted about 50 times in the last 48 hours so if he's made a useful post it shouldn't be hard to find in less than 5mins.
    He's made comment on his views!

Never were there personal attacks made! I've seen much worse posted by people in the premise of interested debate!!

Just look at the threads he's started...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/searchbt.php?user=47MartialMan

Nothing at all wrong with them!

I don't see where you think he has'int posted items vaguely relevant?

He's stayed on topic "Self Defence/Martial Arts" what more could you ask??

I actually think that this thread will be locked when the mod returns!!

is the ufc a hoax? great thread.

gymrabbit wrote:
    is the ufc a hoax? great thread.
    Thats just his view!

Do you have a problem with it?

Then debate it with him!!

If you don't want to then chill out!!

It's not like this is a MMA only board!!

Although sometimes I wonder?? :p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

PMA-IRE the op is not about him starting **** threads its about him using silly outdated language, in an attempt to appear intelligent

judomick wrote:
    PMA-IRE the op is not about him starting **** threads its about him using silly outdated language, in an attempt to appear intelligent
    and whats the problem with his language??

if thats how he wants to talk then who are we to make judgement?

just cause it don't fit into an ideal that someone has created for themselves why is he wrong??

in anycase mick, i was repling in the last few posts to comments about the content of his posts not the vinacular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

pma-ire wrote:
    and whats the problem with his language??

if thats how he wants to talk then who are we to make judgement?

just cause it don't fit into an ideal that someone has created for themselves why is he wrong??

in anycase mick, i was repling in the last few posts to comments about the content of his posts not the vinacular.

well in my opinion and others it excludes a lot of people or discourages them from participating in threads he posts on, which imo goes against the spirit of the board which is the op, your debate with Gymrabbit is on the lines of a thread that was shut i was merely attempting to bring this thread back on topic to try and save it from the same fate

and i think the word you were looking for was 'vernacular'

judomick wrote:
    and i think the word you were looking for was 'vernacular'
    thanks!

see even on a martial arts board we can increase our vocabulary through interacting with each other!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

It is not intelligent to make a sentence complicated that can be made more simplistic-this is the irritating thing about the posts. silly words just make me want to stop reading the posts-if he writes proper he would be a good addition to the boards,but at the moment i think he is just a wind up. :(

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Well people annoy other people all the time, it irritates me the way nearly all of pma's sentences and in either exclamation marks or question marks :D but it doesn't make me want to ban him as he contributes to discussions. The sort of argument martial man puts across just uses flowery, thesaurus-like language with bad grammar. He is attempting to make himself sound more intelligent than he actually is, and when people say "I don't understand", this gives him exactly what he wants- an opportunity to condescend and prove his intellectual superiority.

The funny think is that many of the words he uses are totally out of context. My opinion: he's a troll, probably another user.

Roper wrote:
    Well people annoy other people all the time, it irritates me the way nearly all of pma's sentences and in either exclamation marks or question marks :D
    Sorry !!!!????!!!! :p;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

pma-ire wrote:
    I actually think that this thread will be locked when the mod returns!!

As do i, but would still like to make a pretty simple point. The poster in question is simply using words that he has heard, and can be vaguely associated with the points he is trying to make. As such, most of his post are pretty hard going to read, especially when you do actually know the meaning of the words he is using because half the time they do not work within the context of his sentences.

Now then, people seem to be forgiving of this, because it is the way he speaks or he is entitled to speak however he wants etc. Well then, fair play.

But the simple fact is, if i put up a post like

"Hey guys,

i was wonder if BJJ can be applied in marmalade situations when lobster people find themselves in a washing machine situation...." and son on.

I would expect people to say, Aido, shut the hell up and post properly. Is there anything wrong with the above sentence other than i use words simply because i know them, albeit completely out of context?

Yes there is, it's just silly. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Dragan wrote:
    As do i, but would still like to make a pretty simple point. The poster in question is simply using words that he has heard, and can be vaguely associated with the points he is trying to make. As such, most of his post are pretty hard going to read, especially when you do actually know the meaning of the words he is using because half the time they do not work within the context of his sentences.

Now then, people seem to be forgiving of this, because it is the way he speaks or he is entitled to speak however he wants etc. Well then, fair play.

But the simple fact is, if i put up a post like

"Hey guys,

i was wonder if BJJ can be applied in marmalade situations when lobster people find themselves in a washing machine situation...." and son on.

I would expect people to say, Aido, shut the hell up and post properly. Is there anything wrong with the above sentence other than i use words simply because i know them, albeit completely out of context?

Yes there is, it's just silly. ;)

Aido, shut the hell up and post propery :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Roper wrote:
    The funny think is that many of the words he uses are totally out of context. My opinion: he's a troll, probably another user.

You used "think" out of context (I think!!)..

Anyway I'm just kidding about that one.

But on the second point. A Moderator should be able to check his IP addy against other suers in the Mods CP (if forum Mods have complete access to it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Mairt wrote:
    You used "think" out of context (I think!!)..

Anyway I'm just kidding about that one.

But on the second point. A Moderator should be able to check his IP addy against other suers in the Mods CP (if forum Mods have complete access to it).
    And you used suers out of context too!!! Think ya meant to use users! LOL

Anyway, again I'll say this.... if the poster annoys ye all so much then just hit the ignore button. Its really that simply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭47MartialMan

Hello-

This is not to cover everything in such a mnemonic fashion.

However, to find a starting place;

Posters will warrant and state “The point of language is to make yourself understood, not misunderstood.” A very good elucidation.

A person writes differently. Instead of others staying on the subject of martial arts, they look to bash or ridicule. I could type and edit so I can find an area of acceptance. But should I really change to suit? Shall I consciously do so where others do not?

Therefore when people use other rhetorical comments, using their own subsistence, it is all right for them and not for me?. Shall I give promulgation on how others word their posts? For example; “Hey mate, this bloke is a bloody loon. I know a Bobby by the name of Leo. Enough, I have to break and strike a fag.”

Yet, such is not a distraction to me. I do not take account of how or why (per the fashion of a member’s intention), but the importance of a post is the what. What is the overall and complete message that the poster trying to say? Not so much if I agree or disagree with it. It is like a finger poiting to the moon, people keep concentrating on the finger and missing all of that heavenly glory. :)

What could I bring to such a medium (forum) that wasn’t already discussed before and on others?

In reciprocal, what could I learn?

Question 1) What could I bring to such a medium (forum) that wasn’t already discussed before and on others?

Answer: Not much probably, though as a martial artist you must realize the importance of revisiting older material to gain a fresh viewpoint on it. Maybe you could come up with something new and brilliant, but then again I'm probably being facetious.

A fresh viewpoint? Not so. I had visited and observed without registering a multitude of forums for a long period of time. All have the same monologue. Everything is more tenebrous than ever before. How can I come up with something new and brilliant when others are just trying to re-invent the wheel? Or make claim to things as if it/they were the best thing since sliced bread?

Question 2) In reciprocal, what could I learn?

Answer: A lot I would think. There's a lot of very experienced people on this, most of which are happy to help with anything relating to MA, whether TMA or MMA.

And this is the tribulation. In the distant past, it was the idea to learn physical methods, i.e. fighting, for survival de facto. The very essence of the word martial was not about the divergence of style or methods. In the turn of the latest century (ies), such divergence became arresting. It was Eastern verses Occidental. Then inter-Eastern, such as Japanese verses Chinese. Currently, is the interpolation of acronyms such as TMA, MMA, CMA, JMA, KMA, BJJ, JJ, TCMA, TJMA, WC-WT-VT, MT, TKD, TSD, KSW, to name a few. Along with the “exegesis” of such, passing the guard, reverse punch, takedown, fluid, isolated, fight ranges, etc.

With this, how could it matter what martial art (s) had I studied. To give absolute, I studied many martial arts when there were limited instructors and enmity. Each art that I had studied was not out of shear avant-garde.

Many posters would state; “I come on there to learn, and ask questions, and get opinions on training or technique from experience MA people, and all this recent posting is outside of the goals of this forum.”
    Returning once again to the questions:

What could I bring to such a medium (forum) that wasn’t already discussed before and on others?

How can such a medium, per a forum, actually do this? In the analogy of teaching and/or learning from a video or book, it is almost loutish. What manner can a forum aid in making me a better martial artist? Could it be that a forum is a place where shared aspirations are presented, having the same discussions repeated, and a place to chat? If the forum went down, if I was banned, etc., would it hinder me to continue to be a martial artist without boundary?

In conclusion, how can such a forum, be such an essentiality to my life, my existence, and my survival in a social structure? For that matter how can martial arts do the same? The general populace does not participate in either, yet survive. Given the example of my parents and grand parents who had not these and lived on to ripen old ages.

A person writes differently or is diffrent Instead of others staying on the subject of martial arts, they look to bash or ridicule. As martial artists I thought there would be compasion, understanding, and a willingness to allow different things and approaches.

I could type and edit so I can find an area of acceptance. But should I really change to suit? Shall I consciously do so where others do not?

My threads;

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055015774&referrerid=&highlight=

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055014499&referrerid=&highlight=

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055014345&referrerid=&highlight=

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055013922&referrerid=&highlight=

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055013915&referrerid=&highlight=

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055013598&referrerid=&highlight=

ALL ARE CONSTRUCTIVE

Hard questions to answer deep within each individual

gymrabbit wrote:
    You're absolutely wrong.

Mairt wrote:
    50/50

While I respect Clive and what he posts I have to say he's just 50/50 correct IMO.

And I'm glad someone has posted this thread too. Why?...

Because I'm dyslexic and have a genuine problem in sorting through the same BS being posted by some people.

Although I'm not asking for special treatment here I do appricate things being kept simple, and using flowery grammer here doesn't help anyone especially the some newbies who I'd imagine would be scared off by some people here.

Just my 2 cents worth.

I apologize for making you confused.

gymrabbit wrote:

Have you?

We all have the tendancy to stray off topic.

judomick wrote:

Is this my intention? To appear and feel superior or more intelligent than others? Hmmnnn

judomick wrote:
    well in my opinion and others it excludes a lot of people or discourages them from participating in threads he posts on, which imo goes against the spirit of the board which is the op, your debate with Gymrabbit is on the lines of a thread that was shut i was merely attempting to bring this thread back on topic to try and save it from the same fate

Therefore, you rather fall into Illegitimi non carborundum.

You rather seek out the word and not the message?

cowzerp wrote:
    It is not intelligent to make a sentence complicated that can be made more simplistic-this is the irritating thing about the posts. silly words just make me want to stop reading the posts-if he writes proper he would be a good addition to the boards,but at the moment i think he is just a wind up. :(
    What about silly posts with silly words? (not this one in particular)

Am I too challenging for you?

Roper wrote:
    Well people annoy other people all the time, it irritates me the way nearly all of pma's sentences and in either exclamation marks or question marks :D but it doesn't make me want to ban him as he contributes to discussions. The sort of argument martial man puts across just uses flowery, thesaurus-like language with bad grammar. He is attempting to make himself sound more intelligent than he actually is, and when people say "I don't understand", this gives him exactly what he wants- an opportunity to condescend and prove his intellectual superiority.

No intellectural superiority to prove here.

As if no one else ever uses words out of context.:cool:

Dragan wrote:
    "Hey guys,

i was wonder if BJJ can be applied in marmalade situations when lobster people find themselves in a washing machine situation...." and son on.. ;)

This makes sense! BJJ can be applied when situations turn into jelly, and large cumbersome people closing in close quarter ranges.

The one thing I couldn't understand was;

"and son on" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

I think 47martial man is great. He may (or may not) be as mad as a bag of hammers but I think this forum has become a lot more interesting in the last week or so since he started posting.

This forum has plenty of unwritten rules that you will not find out about until you make a transgression however the one rule that is written loud and clear is that personal attacks will not be tolerated. Therefore I assume that this is the most important rule.

47marial man as far as I know has not made any personal attacks on anyone and has remained coureous while being subjected to very hostile attacks. Far worse rubbish has been written on this forum since I started posting just over a year ago. Again if you don't like what someone has to say then ignore them and just ask yourself why are they provoking such an emotional response in you.

Some of his threads/posts while difficult to read at times have been interesting.

Regards,

Michael O'Leary
    www.iewto.org

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

People who use "text" speak are expected to change.
    Curses or swaer words are automatically changed and people who use them are expected to change.
    People who do not use grammer, or generate proper sentences are expected to change. (MartialMan is more guitly of poor writing than anyone else).

Their is an illusory notion of a diaglosia on this board which is misplaced and ignorant. As such, given the other people who change the way they write(myself included), MartialMan should too.

There is no debate here, everyone on this board changes how they would like to write/speak in order to communicate. Those who do not go against the spirit and rules of the board. They contribute nothing but wasted conflict.

Peace

People who use "text" speak are expected to change.
    Curses or swaer words are automatically changed and people who use them are expected to change.
    People who do not use grammer, or generate proper sentences are expected to change. (MartialMan is more guitly of poor writing than anyone else).

Their is an illusory notion of a diaglosia on this board which is misplaced and ignorant. As such, given the other people who change the way they write(myself included), MartialMan should too.

There is no debate here, everyone on this board changes how they would like to write/speak in order to communicate. Those who do not go against the spirit and rules of the board. They contribute nothing but wasted conflict.

Peace

You may have a good point.

And I have controlled the manner to which I post.

However, do you find any of my threads interesting and/or worthy of discussion? (Apart from word context):)