Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

would you do it?

• 10-11-2006 11:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

My friend went on a blind date tonight.Shes not the best looking girl but shes so nice! She met the guy in our local pub-After 10 minutes he got up and put on his coat and said" im sorry- you seem nice and all but your too ugly i cant date you" and walked out!

Seriously if that was the case what would you do-I think that was plain rude he didnt even try to get to know her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,197 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Sounds like a bit of an asshole to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

It seems quite simple... he's an a**hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Squill wrote:
    Sounds like a bit of an asshole to me...

Just a bit mind! :D

Ok, if I was in that situation, I'd still see out the night for god sake, or at the very least, a few drinks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Agreed with the above posts but with some people looks are everything, shallow people that is. Hope he gets that supermodel partner he is after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Wow, your mate is a fully fledged arsehole. He wouldn't even stay with her for a bit and then tell her by phone or something.

Things like that can really hurt people, for quite some time...

Tell your mate he is an arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Jesus, a bit harsh there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

still i think he was ignorant out-My friend said he was no colin farrell himself so who the hell does he think he is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

jesus!! he's some dick. I'd just have a drink or two and chat away. I'd probably be trying to turn it into a friends vibe rather than a dating vibe. I'd probably tell her at the end that I wouldn't think it'd work out. What yer man did is brutal on the girls confidence.

Well, put yourself in the girls position, then difine "harsh".

So Glad wrote:
    Wow, your mate is a fully fledged arsehole. He wouldn't even stay with her for a bit and then tell her by phone or something.

Things like that can really hurt people, for quite some time...

Tell your mate he is an arsehole.
    no my mate is a SHE and SHE was the one who got walked out on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

absolute asshole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

From the title of your post OP, I thought you meant would you blind-date.

I think there would be very few people who would say what was said to your friend, tbh. She just got a rotten apple.

pepper wrote:
    no my mate is a SHE and SHE was the one who got walked out on

OOOOOOOOOHHHHHHH. Well, how is she after it anyways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

pepper wrote:
    Shes not the best looking girl but shes so nice!
    Herein lies the crux.
    I hope she finds a nice man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Would it have killed him to sit there and have a few drinks and then just not call....bit harsh IMO !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Who really goes on blind dates anyway? So dodgey in my opinion, ok maybe the above example isn't the norm but at the same time...I'd never do it, without having a clue who the other person was gonna be...

So Glad wrote:
    OOOOOOOOOHHHHHHH. Well, how is she after it anyways?

shes not too bad-im glad she didnt take that to heart!

biko wrote:
    Herein lies the crux.
    biko wrote:

I know i know-Im sorry but she isint great looking-I still love her tho and shes my best mate nothing will change that!I was just saying-I cant talk im awful looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

HavoK wrote:
    Who really goes on blind dates anyway? So dodgey in my opinion, ok maybe the above example isn't the norm but at the same time...I'd never do it, without having a clue who the other person was gonna be...

I met my husband on a blind date nearly 19 years ago and got engaged 5 months after meeting.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

HavoK wrote:
    Aye. However, this guy did and it's the risk you take. The price you pay for this gamble is that you must at least humour the other party for a short time, and politely make your excuses, even if you find her repulsive. honesty isn't always the best policy - Poor girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 MarshalBoy

The guy obviously subscribes to the beauty is only skin deep but ugly goes right through to the bone theory - not that I agree with him of course.

If he did not find your friend attractive he could have been a bit more tactfull to say the least - an hour is the least that anyone who ahs made the effort deserves. He could have then made his excuses and left.

I have been on the odd blind date and they are an absolute nightmare - never again!. Fair play to your friend for going in the first place though - She is better off without Mr Shallow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

fully fledged arsehole sounds good alrite! tell him I said so!

Jesus, he must be a complete arse when it coms to dating... Well, i'm laughing at him, he will never get throught life like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Shes best off without him, imagine she found out what he was like after a few "dates", that would be much worse. There are a lot of Fu<kwits in this world, she managed to escape one of them, thats a good thing.

B

Can i just clear something- A few of you think im friends with the FELLA- im not im friends with the GIRL who got ditched!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

Hey wait.
    Not to be defending the arsehole but you know, he may have been anxious over the blind date and it triggered the Fight or Flight response. In which case Flight was it, and he decided to hurt the other party to mask his own insecurity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the least he could have done would be to have stayed for the length of the date and get in contact the following day saying that blind dates are not his thing. was just being a tosser treating her the way he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I'm gob smacked. That must have been awful for her.
    This guy must think he's gods gift or something. What an a**hole. I really
    would love to see the same thing happen to him. The ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

HavoK wrote:
    I'd never do it, without having a clue who the other person was gonna be...
    So you only go on a blind date if you knew the person beforehand :p

At least he wasnt a phony, finish out the night and then not call her or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Poor girl. The lad has high expectations, but there is no need for that type of insult. Sure, he could meet the best looker in the world and she could be a total plank with no sence of humour, or go out with somebody decent who you can have great fun with and notice the hours fly by.

He's obviously out to get a girl to impress his mates with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

well lets face it if hes happy enough to go on a blind date he hardly expects to find pamela andeson siting at the table.thats the way i think of it.he is such a gobsh1t find out where he lives and send a few of the heavies around :) *(note violence never solves anything except gobs*tes ego problems)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

If hes so bleedin good lookin then whys he goin on a blind date in the first place? The snotrag was probably as ugly as sin himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

pepper wrote:
    biko wrote:
    Herein lies the crux.
    biko wrote:

I know i know-Im sorry but she isint great looking-I still love her tho and shes my best mate nothing will change that!I was just saying-I cant talk im awful looking

I hope she doesn't read this forum and see you describing her 'not good looking':rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Your friend was lucky the guy she blind dated left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Blind dates me arse. He's a pr1ck for what he did but i suppose you should expect the unexpected when going on one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Sounds like a pr*ck to me. I'd punch him in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

The guys an absolutely pathetic arsehole, your friends best off without him (by far). How'd your friend react? The poor girl, if shes self-conscious that will only make things a whole lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Arsehole yes but looks do play a part in realtionships in fact they play a huge part.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

It was mean but i wouldnt say im shocked. People are mean in ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

Hey, at least he was honest. Would your friend prefer to have had this guy stringing her along for days without being straight with her? If she's really that ugly, I doubt she doesn't know it already. If I were in that position, I'd rather not think I was on a charity date.

Calling the guy a prick or an asshole is the unthinking, knee-jerk reaction that is the expected thing to do. If you consider him a prick for being so blunt, I can at least understand that (even if I don't necessarily agree with it). But if you consider him a prick because he's not interested in an ugly girl, then I think you're a moron/sheep. There's nothing wrong with wanting both personality and looks in a boy/girlfriend. It's not 'shallow'. Being interested only in looks may be considered shallow, but most of the bleaters on this thread seem to be making the assumption that the guy couldn't possibly be interested in personality if he's interested in looks.

Having said that, if this guy is picky about looks, I don't understand what he expected from a blind date :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

The poor girl. How rude of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

It's cruel, but that guy has got a funny story to tell...

I would've waited out the night at least. I just couldn't be that cruel

• It's ridiculous to say someone is 'ugly' anyway - everyone has different tastes. At least he could have said "you're not my type" or something. My friend's boyfriend called another friend of ours ugly (behind her back) which I thought was laughable because I didn't find him goodlooking at all, and the girl in question was a semi famous model in Canada who has worked with the top photographers :rolleyes:

For all the people going 'at least he wasn't a phony' - it was a BLIND DATE ffs. I'm sure the girl didn't expect a lifelong romance. He could have been polite to her and just not called her or said he didn't think it would work out. There's no need to destroy someone's confidence like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

Of course some people are not as good looking as others but actually saying it to their face is just being mean for the craic because it is designed to hurt the other person. That's why yer man was an idiot, not because he thought it, because - let's face it, we've all done it - but because he said it out loud, to her face.
    Why do it? Just to be offensive? Can't see any other reason for it.

And as well, I wonder who set up the blind date? They need to tell that feller to have a bit more manners.

pepper wrote:
    My friend went on a blind date tonight.Shes not the best looking girl but shes so nice! She met the guy in our local pub-After 10 minutes he got up and put on his coat and said" im sorry- you seem nice and all but your too ugly i cant date you" and walked out!

Seriously if that was the case what would you do-I think that was plain rude he didnt even try to get to know her!!
    Sounds like she was lucky the date ended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭upthere

pepper wrote:

He's a right w*anker! Get evil, two wrongs make an even:D

faceman wrote:
    It was mean but i wouldnt say im shocked. People are mean in ireland.
    I agree Irish people are mean but they are also once of the most unnattractive nations in Europe, manners and nice personality would make them appear cute to me but they don't like to appear cute obviously, the love of my life polish and I have to say, they are GORGEOUS and yet so sensual in personality so beautiful:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭the-furbo

Ok if he didn't fancy her that is fine but i don't think he should have done that, he should have stayed and talked to her and then nicely explained that he didnt fancy her even though she was nice!!

the-furbo wrote:
    Ok if he didn't fancy her that is fine but i don't think he should have done that, he should have stayed and talked to her and then nicely explained that he didnt fancy her even though she was nice!!
    I am currently in a situation with someone I did not find attractive but I clicked with her and stood by here. Because I bonded with her and helped her, she is alive today and I won't go into details! Some people are shallow and "inhuman" to me! So they are a waste of space! And the guy was probably ugly himself but with that bogger arrogant attitude.lol:rolleyes: