Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ryle nugent pfo

• 10-11-2006 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭

Looking forward to the coming internationals and 6 nations, but wont be watching it on rte... because ryle nugent drives me crazy

His commentary is terrible in a number of areas...

- his knowledge of the game is poor and he obviously nevery touched a rugby ball

- he uses far too many superlatives

- most of his calls are wrong and he unashamedly takes back what he says when corrected by ralph keyes etc

- his voice is like the D4 accent on steroids

Ryle nugent makes me cringe and I wish RTE would just fire the bastard, I dont know how he got into that job and its even more baffling how we has kept it

does anyone know of any remove ryle from rte rugby commentary petitions?

BBC commentary ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Stringer Has.....

O'Gara Has....

HAS WHAT RYLE?!!? Has.. the ball. Yes.. THE BALL!!!!

Sorry.. couldnt help it. I feel better now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Building up a head of steam....oh fúck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

...a little bit of afters. WTF? Are they having tea and biscuits or after eights? He really does my noodle in but I don't see RTE getting rid of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Beats BBC with Edwards and his 'Numb-bears....'

I quite like Ryle, myself, and the whole RTE package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Isn't Ryle head of sport or something in RTE?

I'd rather him that George bleedin' Hamilton, or heaven forbid Marty Morrissey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

The sap also referred to wallace as a Winger after the score. There was an awkward silence for a moment after too when it dawned, Id say his partner was cringing in the box:D

He said Wallace had been used to being a winger back in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Amz wrote:

Yes he did, but he also referred to him as "the winger" when describing the replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Amz wrote:
    Isn't Ryle head of sport or something in RTE?
    Eh, no.

RTÉ aren't so bad as to have commentators as the heads of their operations.

The Head of Sport is Tim O'Connor iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

He's not that bad, souldn't make me change channel or anything.
    Beats both George Hamilton and Marty Morrissey as amz by a country mile.
    AMZ wrote:

Thats what I heard too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I like Royale - he's soooooooooooo D4 rugger, roysh?

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

In fairness, Wallace scored that try like a winger, I was a good bit away from it, and thought it was D'Arcy or someone going at that pace.

I think Ryle is related to the head of RTE sport.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I was thinking the same myself when I saw the replay, didn't think it was Wallace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

and Ireland have .... oh no they've lost it again .... South Africa have

.... is it normal in the rugby fraternity for people to talk loike this? has he been gift grubbed yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

I am not a big fan of Ryle but at least unlike the plonker at Thomand park for Sky who wouldnt shut up during kicks and had to roared at by the crowd :p oh well suppose it was his first time to Thomand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Watch BBC for the commentary and flick back to RTE for the analyst. Never get tired of Hook's historical metaphones. Since the time of....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭John Wine

Lads take it easy.
    There's no way Ryle's accent is D4.
    Some Munster heads think if you like Rugby and don't keep using the word "legend" you must be D4!
    There's about 7 different middle class accents in Dublin.
    D4 is throws in many "o" and "aw" sounds into words such as:
    Dort instead of Dart
    D'orcy instead of D'arcy
    Gawd instead of God.
    Ryle Nugent does not do that, in fairness to him.

Ah now Mr Wine i think you have too much of your namesake :)

I think its the fact that it can be extremely repeditive but to be honest none of the commentaters on any of the channels are overly impressive... dont get me started on Stuart Barnes..

Bring back Bill McClaren is all i can say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Thought it was just me!! The guy drives me up the friggin' wall, agree with the previous poster, watch the game on BBC and then hit RTE for match analysis...Nugent is a grade A twat, but given the general paucity of primo talent in RTE, i'm not particularly surprised.....lets face it its a second rate outfit, run by incompetents whose concept of public service braodcasting is rooted in the seventies...brilliant no-holds-barred analysis though, which compares well to the saccharine ****e pedalled by the BBC through former internationals who are far too close to the England set up to be objective in any way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Sangre wrote:
    Watch BBC for the commentary and flick back to RTE for the analyst. Never get tired of Hook's historical metaphones. Since the time of....
    ...south africa 100 years ago.... it was great he was talking about the hikers or something similar ins outh africa amongst others. i think hes the best value entertainment on tv.

also Re: Bill McLaren...
    Scotland v Samoa in Murrayfield. Samoa get a penalty. place kickers hit the ball fat and it rolls along the grounds bouncing only when the ends jerks up... and McLaren says "well, he hit that one like a pound of mince".:D brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

Ah come on now, nugent isn't too bad. I find the bbc commentators so boring. Comments about his accent are uncalled for, what sort of accent is a rugby commentator supposed to have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

McLaren was too good. He spoiled us.

Like so many of the commentators that were there at the beginning or close to the start of televised sport, e.g. Richie Benaud and Jim Laker in cricket, Peter O'Sullevan in racing, Murray Walker in motor racing, that anyone who comes along afterwards is seen as second rate. Their voice was synomonous with the sport they covered. The BBC have had this problem over the years since McLaren has gone, Eddie Butler doesn't do it for me, its remarkable that a Welshman can do smarmy, but he can! I do like Nick Mullins, but they can't light a candle towards Old Bill.

Similar with RTÉ, but in they encountered this in the 1980's, they always went young. When Micheal O'Hehir was incapacitated, Ger Canning got the GAA gig, George Hamilton came all the way from BBC Radio for the soccer. But you cant be sure what RTÉ were at when Fred Cogley was top man, then Jim Sherwin, (himself not a spring chicken) became head rugby commentator on TV. Then the court case nailed his chance of a further extension! So we now have Ryle.

Ryle's problem, I feel, is that he doesn't sound experienced. He has a very young sounding voice, it always seem to be excited. Too excited. Too giddy.
    But who do RTÉ turn to? We've see a lot of people knock him, but not too many suggestions as to who could step up to the mark?

What I'd like to know is why Tony Ward doesn't do co-commentary anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

I also watch R.T.E. analysis and switch to B.B.C. for commentary. Ryle Nugent is fine for lesser games, but when it's a Six Nations game or against one of the Tri Nations teams, he ruins it. I like B.B.C. Northern Irelands commentator (Jim Neilly I think).
    Jeremy Guscott is the most disinterested person in sport, with the possible exception of Alistair MacGowan's impression of Mark Lawrenson. Only Keith Wood and Jonathon Davies are worthwhile on B.B.C. Still not a patch on Hook and Pope though.
    Best commentary ever is Eddie Butler and Brian Moore, sixty minutes in, England losing badly (especially to Ireland), and fairness and bi-partisan comment go out the window, as a rabid Brian Moore questions every decision the ref. makes and starts shouting "come on" when England look like scoring. Hilarious and cringeworthy. :D

In fairness this thread is started at least once a year and it gets us nowhere. Why don't people (I presume you're all licence payers?) write to RTE and complain?

Although I seriously doubt an organisation that doesn't want to stump up the cash for Heineken Cup and World Cup games really doesn't give enough of a toss to change it's commentating team. I think the biggest evidence of that was when Marty Morrissey showed up in France at Leinster's 1/4 Final.

Its not his accent at all, i think its just so repeditive.

But Amz you are right, this argument keeps going round and round

Amz wrote:
    Although I seriously doubt an organisation that doesn't want to stump up the cash for Heineken Cup and World Cup games really doesn't give enough of a toss to change it's commentating team.

In fairness, RTÉ does. If it thought the Heineken Cup wasn't worth paying for, then they wouldn't have settled for highlights and build-up shows.

The fact is that the ERC accepted a knock-out bid from Sky Sports. Sky wanted it all, with no live terrestrial output. Its how Sky (and Setanta nowadays) have always done business.

Also, on the World Cup, Ireland's games in that tournament are protected, they have to be shown on RTÉ, TV3 or TG4. Other games are on Setanta, but UTV/ITV1 will have all the other games anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

mike65 wrote:
    I like Royale - he's soooooooooooo D4 rugger, roysh?

Mike.

He is JPs cousin sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I think he's brilliant.

Clive Woodward for Ireland manager, Ryle for defensive coach. An unstoppable partnership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

I Dont really mind Ryle he is ok but he is no Bill Mc Caren though. What really annoys me about all sport coverage is the interviewing of players and managers after a match. Not only I am sure the players are not too happy in doing it I feel as a viewer it does not give me much insight in to how the game went as the players always tend to say the samething and can hardly express a good opninion just after playing the match. I prefer to hear expert analysis of the game. Plus annoying players when they are at such levels of emotions I dont think is fair. remember after Wales won the grand slam the BBC were interviewing them on the podium, i tought that was terrible

Simmons was full-on following the Pumas game.. certainly. He really battered Andy Robinson. Very unlike Sky Sports not to have a sycophant in the tunnel after the match. (Geoff Shreeves in soccer being the other notable exception)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

daveirl wrote:
    You should be at training!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Trojan wrote:
    You should be at training!
    LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Watching the BBC is painful when england do well though, or nearly do well. I miss the rte coverage , hook and pope were great. Guscott's a muppet.

Srsly?

All the ladies teams around seem to train twice a week. Pfft, I'd a feeling we were more manly than you lot ;) *strokes beard*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Flat

replace him with George Hamilton, they both have a similar knowledge of the game