Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How ignorant can you get?

• 09-11-2006 11:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭

Teen remanded in assault on mother holding baby
    09/11/2006 - 19:49:44

A 15-year-old boy, who allegedly took part in an assault on a woman and broke her leg and arm while she held on to her baby, has been remanded in custody.

The Tallaght boy appeared at the Dublin Children’s Court charged with assault causing harm to the woman, who in her thirties and his cousin, on October 31 last, in Rathfarnham.

Judge Catherine Murphy was told that the woman was allegedly the subject of a separate assault by one of the boy’s relatives, who is facing trial in the Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.

It was alleged the teen attacked her and threatened to kill her if she gave evidence in the Circuit Court case.

Garda Leanne McCarthy of Rathfarnham station objected to bail saying the boy had been involved in a serious assault. The woman, she said, suffered “a broken arm, broken leg and lacerations to her head and body. She was holding a one-year-old baby."

She objected to bail citing the seriousness of the offence, over which further charges may be brought, and because the victim could be at risk if the boy was released.

“In the injured party’s statement, she outlined that the defendant threatened her to drop charges in relation to the incident that is coming before the Circuit Court, or they would kill her.”

Garda McCarthy also added that she was satisfied that the woman’s life was in danger.

The teen, who had never been in court before, sought bail and would be contesting the allegations, said defence solicitor Kelly Breen.

Judge Murphy granted legal aid to the boy, who was supported in court by his mother, and remanded him custody until next week when a bail hearing is to be held.

Scum of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

all he will get is a slap on the wrist,makes you sick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Thats a bit harsh, Im sure some of tallaght is nice ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

[strike]They let him out on bail?[/strike] (I'm blind)
    Legal aid?! WTF?! ¬_¬

He'll probably get more than just a slap on the wrist for perverting the course of justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Should stick wee c*nts like that out on Rockall....and I hope that defense counsel enjoys her 30 pieces of silver...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

Karoma wrote:
    They let him out on bail? And legal aid?! WTF?! ¬_¬.

nah, It says above he was remanded. Rightly so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I can't understand the mentality of these thugs, I don't think anyone can. I would like to think justice will be done but I'm not so sure.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

little bastard, whats worse is the fact that we tax payers are paying his legal fees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

This thread is inevitably going that way anyway so.... I'll say it.

He should be shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

This is nothing compared to those evil evil bastards in Scotland who were charged yesterday. No words can describe these "things"...

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2-2443561,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    This is nothing compared to those evil evil bastards in Scotland who were charged yesterday. No words can describe these "things"...

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2-2443561,00.html
    thats fcuking really bad:eek:
    lets hope they serve their full sentences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

That is sick, what goes through someone's mind when doing something like this:confused: .............

On Remand...........what a joke, as said above he will prob only get a slap ont wrist....which is Totally wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Jails are far too comfy, imo. They should be shipped off to that bangkok Hilton prison in Thailand. Maybe scum would think twice if Irish prisons were like that. The bleedin hearts would never allow it though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

You could proclaim that he is a terrorist and call Bush* and have him sent to Gitmo in Cuba? They could grab him and put him on one of those military planes that frequent Shannon? Now you see him...poof...now you don't.

*Although, after the Tuesday elections in USA, King George II has had his wings clipped (a grand thing indeed!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

This thread is like the Adrian Kennedy phoneshow. Dey shud be bleedin strung up tho, so dey shud.

I blame the parents.

I blame society.

I blame Bertie.

I blame McDowell.

I blame TV.

I blame Computer Games.

I blame the Internet.

I blame fast food additives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Wertz wrote:
    ....and I hope that defense counsel enjoys her 30 pieces of silver...

To be honest i don't really hold with a statement like that. I understand your sentiment, but everyone is entitled to a legal defense, if you cannot afford one then it is appointed to you.

The kid is entitled to a defence, the person in question is entitled to a job.

Granted the fact that the kid is also entitled to castration and a daily hiding is beyond the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Its just scum being scum tbh, nothing they do really surprises me these days.

Knacker children, brought up by knackers and who live in an environment riddled with scum so its really no surprise that things like this happen.
    Funnily enough, if someone had seen the incident and went and beat the knacker kid to a pulp (which he certainly deserves), he'd be up in court over it and the knackers parents would be trying to press charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭lil-buttons

Would gladly watch them being hung! They should be hung!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Thats absolutely disgusting, I too just cannot comprehend the mentality of these dreanged little [noparse]bastards[/noparse].

Normally i'm not of the violent reprocussion mindset but in this particular case the little [noparse]****[/noparse] should be shot in the stomach and left to bleed to death.

I was contemplating a while ago we should commission one of the islands around the country, set up watchtowers and so on and so forth, and that all scumbags who do this kind of [noparse]****[/noparse] should be rounded up and sent there, leave them kill each other.

Televise the whole thing it'd be like gladiators but no one would acutally care what happened to them. Ireland could make a fortune from the television rights and the profit could be put into helping the victims whose lives these little [noparse]bastards[/noparse] ruined.

/Rant, apologies, things like this just make my blood boil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I don't blame the media, but I do wish it would be less sensational when reporting on such cases.

To use an example, about ten years ago eating disorders were reported all over the press, and on the TV.

I was in First year secondary school, and I can remember a call in my class telling me that she got some great ideas from the papers on how to lose weight.

She had read an article about a girl who had dropped to 5 stone by only eating edible paper, and drinking water.

Now, I know that's a pretty off tangent example to give, but I do believe that sometimes the press gives so many sensational headlines to murderers, and report so graphically in the detail that they give, that if you are of a particular temperament (as in you are violent, aggressive, unpredictable, attention seeking, etc. - i.e. already unhinged slightly), instead of being horrified by the articles, you are fascinated by them, and actually source idea's from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Dragan wrote:
    To be honest i don't really hold with a statement like that. I understand your sentiment, but everyone is entitled to a legal defense, if you cannot afford one then it is appointed to you.

The kid is entitled to a defence, the person in question is entitled to a job.

Granted the fact that the kid is also entitled to castration and a daily hiding is beyond the point.

Yeah you're right and it's a fair point. I just hold a vehemence for the system that allows kids like this due process, when they can't even be tried as an adult...

I hold no love for the gardaí but how demoralising must it be to actually catch little bastards like this, get them charged and into the courts, only for the overpaid legal people to have them back out on the streets in time to see the christmas lights being switched on?

These kids don't understand nor respect the law, so why should they benefit from all the protection that it allows them? In this instance, the accused has attempted to pervert the course of justice...I fail to see why justice should work in their favour, regardless of what rights they have...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

If only we could conjure up Charles Bronson to straighten out these skanger skums. ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Bring back corporal punishment but not the death penalty. Its the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Sycopat

Little ****!

Really ought to be tried as an adult. I often feel society has been giving more and more freedoms and equality to youths without making them adequetely responsible for their actions. (That and ireland is a bit soft on the sentencing side anyway) More freedom and full responsibility would be a good way to go i think. At least it would be able to give this rat what he deserves

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Sycopat wrote:
    Little ****!

Really ought to be tried as an adult.

Better still - hang his parents as punishment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Everyone is always so quick to say how much they hate a scumbag and that he should be thrown in jail with the key thrown away.
    But I don't believe that guy and other scumbags chose to be scumbags. I think theyre victims of circumstance. It is mainly people from working class areas who get involved in such assaults and other law breaking activities, so you have to ask why are they doing it?
    There is obviously something lacking in their upbringing so maybe we need to address this problem so future generations don't grow up to be scumbags.
    But then a lot of criminals are born mentally unstable so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

BrightEyes wrote:
    Everyone is always so quick to say how much they hate a scumbag and that he should be thrown in jail with the key thrown away.
    But I don't believe that guy and other scumbags chose to be scumbags. I think theyre victims of circumstance. It is mainly people from working class areas who get involved in such assaults and other law breaking activities, so you have to ask why are they doing it?
    There is obviously something lacking in their upbringing so maybe we need to address this problem so future generations don't grow up to be scumbags.
    You lovely person, when will you realise that After Hours is no place for such level-headedness?

Although, you can't argue diminished responsibility because of circumstance. In an ideal world this man would serve 10 years in a prison with some sort of education programme.

BrightEyes wrote:

somebody please think of the children! why wont you think of the children?

Most working class people dont break the law. Your argument is fruitless.

[\throws away the key]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Fantastic.

I'm starting my Teaching Placement in Tallaght next week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

faceman wrote:
    somebody please think of the children! why wont you think of the children?

Most working class people dont break the law. Your argument is fruitless.

[\throws away the key]

*catches key in mouth* Thats good that most don't but when people commit crimes, there is a reason behind it. All im saying is we should try and understand criminals so a solution can be worked out on how to combat them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Oh Jesus that Scottish thing is Disgusting, really horrible, those men deserve for more than 25/23/22 years. It says that the attack was "racially motivated" Does anyone know if the boy was in an ethnic minority or if he was purely Scottish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

He was white, the attackers were Pakistani Muslims.