Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PokerEvents - Athlone Open Friday 17th €400 (+ €40)

• 09-11-2006 2:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭

PokerEvents is proud to announce The Athlone Open

1. Tournament is run by Pokerevents
    2. Our tournament is run for commercial reasons
    3. Our tournament will take place on Friday 17th in The Shamrock Lodge, Athlone
    4. Registration Opens at 18.00 and Cards are in the air at 19.00
    5. Players must be members of Pokerevents to participate in our tournaments
    6. Payment is taken at the registration desk on the night in question, Or may qualify through our weekly event Every Monday Night in the Shamrock Lodge, 8.00pm (€80 + €20)
    7. We are running No Limit Texas Hold'em Freezeout
    8. Cost of entry: €400
    9. Cost of registration: €40
    10. 100% prize pool payout
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    12. NA
    13. Starting Chips 8,000
    14. NA
    15. Blind levels: See PokerEvents.ie for structure

http://www.pokerevents.ie/structure.asp?E_ID=316

16. Blind timeframes: See PokerEvents.ie for sttructure

http://www.pokerevents.ie/structure.asp?E_ID=316

17. A minimum 10% players will be paid. Part of the prize pool will be awarded as tickets to The IPC 'Irish Poker Championship' Janurary 4th - 7th in City West
    18. Fully Trained Croupiers At Every Table
    19. List of rules available on the night or check out pokerevents.ie
    20. There will be a Tournament Director (Peter Holden) whos decision will be FINAL should there be any desputes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

i'd like to put a question to management, what is this rumour about staff starting on your cliental i.e headbutting people....
    not trying to slate - but its what i heard in the fitz the other night......

[Galway]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

i'd like to put a question to management, what is this rumour about staff starting on your cliental i.e headbutting people....

[Galway]

Think you got that backwards Wes, I heard that it was cliental loafing a mamber of staff....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Anyone going down to this from Dublin?

Fintan, whats the story about accommodation in the hotel, any specials, I've already contact the hotel and there doesn't seem to be any available.

Also, hows the head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭PokerEvents-Ste

I'd like to put a question to management, what is this rumour about staff starting on your cliental i.e headbutting people....

[Galway]

Hello bottom feeder,

There was an incident last week in Galway which a client was rude, condescending and reduced a croupier to tears. The player was suspended from the tournament for his actions until he apologized to the dealer in question and would only be allowed to rejoin if the croupier accepted his apology. Which she did.

Later there was a ruling at the table of same said individual which the individual did not like.... When this individual eventually got knocked out of the tournament a heated discussion arose, where this individual ended up in Assaulting a member of PokerEvents. QED

This individual is no longer welcome at any PokerEvents tournaments.

The rumor you have heard has be totally turned around...

There have been posts commending PokerEvents staff on their professionism on the PokerEvents Forum from people who were actually at the tournament. Feel free to read them www.pokerevents.ie then click on our Forum.

There is no room for this behavior at any of our tournaments, and should be not room at anyone else's. It must be said that these actions are bad for the sport in general and cannot be condoned under any circumstances.

I hope this clears the issue.

Regards

Stephen

Ollieboy wrote:
    Anyone going down to this from Dublin?

Fintan, whats the story about accommodation in the hotel, any specials, I've already contact the hotel and there doesn't seem to be any available.

Also, hows the head!

Hello Ollieboy,

Apologies in the delay in getting back to you, here is how it stands:

PokerEvents have 5 rooms available in the newly refurbished part of the hotel. If you would like to book one feel free to and make sure you quote PokerEvents to receive the prices below.

Hotel: Shamrock Lodge Hotel
    Single: €80 per night
    Double: €65 per person sharing

I hope this will be of use to you. There are only 5 room remaining at this price!

Regards

Stephen

Hello all,

Allinpoker.com are hosting an Online Qualifier to PokerEvents Athlone Open. Tonight (Tuesday 14-11-06). It is a $25 re-buy with at least 1 x €400 plus 40 (ticket guaranteed.)

Regards,

Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Hello bottom feeder,

There was an incident last week in Galway which a client was rude, condescending and reduced a croupier to tears. The player was suspended from the tournament for his actions until he apologized to the dealer in question and would only be allowed to rejoin if the croupier accepted his apology. Which she did.

Later there was a ruling at the table of same said individual which the individual did not like.... When this individual eventually got knocked out of the tournament a heated discussion arose, where this individual ended up in Assaulting a member of PokerEvents. QED

This individual is no longer welcome at any PokerEvents tournaments.

The rumor you have heard has be totally turned around...

There have been posts commending PokerEvents staff on their professionism on the PokerEvents Forum from people who were actually at the tournament. Feel free to read them www.pokerevents.ie then click on our Forum.

There is no room for this behavior at any of our tournaments, and should be not room at anyone else's. It must be said that these actions are bad for the sport in general and cannot be condoned under any circumstances.

I hope this clears the issue.

Regards

Stephen

hi ya stephen, after reading your forum its seems that i must have got it the wrong way around and i'd like to apologise for any inconvenience...
    and by the sounds of it Fintan handled it very well....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

Hi Stephen

thinking of heading up to this , what kind of numbers are ye expecting?

thanks

pat

hi ya stephen, after reading your forum its seems that i must have got it the wrong way around and i'd like to apologise for any inconvenience...
    and by the sounds of it Fintan handled it very well....

Hello bottom feeder,

No need to apologise, rumours spread and get twisted.

Thank you for asking about the incident and looking for the actual events which took place rather then taking the mis-informed rumour as gospel.

I do think the situation was handled well by PokerEvents staff. And hopefully this type of situation will never arise in futrure

Regards

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

How many runners are anticipated?

Is this going to be played to finish in one sitting?

You say that all players must be a member of PokerEvents - How much you gonna charge me for this then? 40reg is plenty without another whack on top for "membership"

Where abouts in Athlone is the Shamrock Lodge - I aint familiar with the place.

Will there be loads of dead money? i.e. have people been qualifying at pub tournaments for the past few months?

ty.

carrigeen wrote:
    Hi Stephen

thinking of heading up to this , what kind of numbers are ye expecting?

thanks

pat

Hello Pat,

How are you? As you know its hard to gage numbers for these events. I would be expecting about 50 - 60.

Reason: Dublin and Galway both had 1/3 of total players registered before the day of the tournament and the rest were walk-ins. So using the this logic were have 19 players already registered x3 would give a field of 57.

There are players traveling up from Dublin for this, and I'm sure a number of the Galway lads would travel to.

We also have an on-line Satellite on Allinpoker.com starting tonight at 21.00, $25 buy in with minimum one seat guaranteed. It would be worth a stab.

Hope this answers your query

Regards

Stephen

How many runners are anticipated?

Is this going to be played to finish in one sitting?

You say that all players must be a member of PokerEvents - How much you gonna charge me for this then? 40reg is plenty without another whack on top for "membership"

Where abouts in Athlone is the Shamrock Lodge - I aint familiar with the place.

Will there be loads of dead money? i.e. have people been qualifying at pub tournaments for the past few months?

ty.

Hello BigCityBanker,

1) I would estimate between a field of between 50-60 runners as explained in my previous post

2) Membership to PokerEvents is completely free

3) For directions/location please see the attached link
    http://www.shamrocklodgehotel.ie/
    http://www.shamrocklodgehotel.ie/location.html

If you wish to stay in the hotel please ring the hotel (090 6492601) and to book your room, PokerEvents and a limited numbers of rooms available, to avail of this offer quote PokerEvents

Rates:
    Single: €80 per night
    Double: €65 per person sharing

4) With regards 'dead money', a number of pub events have been running which feed the Shamrock Lodge on a Monday. So pub winners would have had to cash in the weekly tournament to win their seat. So 'dead money' its your call to make whether it 'dead' or not

I hope this has answered your queries

Regards

Stephen

Thanks Stephen - I only live 20mins away so accomodation will not be required. I am a likely runner and will contact you later in the week if I intend to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 bigreddogue

Is it possible to pay entry in advance by credit card, myself and some friends would like to play a satellite for a ticket but this only works if we actually have a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Thanks Stephen - I only live 20mins away so accomodation will not be required. I am a likely runner and will contact you later in the week if I intend to play.

I thought you were a big city banker? so why do you live tn the stiiiicks :D

Hello Pat,

How are you? As you know its hard to gage numbers for these events. I would be expecting about 50 - 60.

Reason: Dublin and Galway both had 1/3 of total players registered before the day of the tournament and the rest were walk-ins. So using the this logic were have 19 players already registered x3 would give a field of 57.

There are players traveling up from Dublin for this, and I'm sure a number of the Galway lads would travel to.

We also have an on-line Satellite on Allinpoker.com starting tonight at 21.00, $25 buy in with minimum one seat guaranteed. It would be worth a stab.

Hope this answers your query

Regards

Stephen

worth a stab that tourny was great value 2 players!!!!!!!!! @ $25 each the other fecker tried to tell me the tourny wasnt valid and he would refund my money lol but i won it in the end :)

Is it possible to pay entry in advance by credit card, myself and some friends would like to play a satellite for a ticket but this only works if we actually have a ticket.

Hello bigreddogue,

Yes, it will be possible to pay in advance, Please PM me to discuss this further

Regards

Stephen

carrigeen wrote:
    worth a stab that tourny was great value 2 players!!!!!!!!! @ $25 each the other fecker tried to tell me the tourny wasnt valid and he would refund my money lol but i won it in the end :)

Well done Carrigeen,

I believe many others had problems registering for the tournament. Giving you great value. By the way, how many times did you have to re-buy??? and your opponent??

Stephen

I thought you were a big city banker? so why do you live tn the stiiiicks :D

Ah you see I am originally from the Sticks - 20 mins south of Athlone. When I say I only live 20mins away I suppose I should say I am from 20mins away - right in the middle of a bog!!

Ive come a long way ;)

i rebought once he didnt rebuy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭dacman

Hello all,

Allinpoker.com are hosting an Online Qualifier to PokerEvents Athlone Open. Tonight (Tuesday 14-11-06). It is a $25 re-buy with at least 1 x €400 plus 40 (ticket guaranteed.)

Regards,

Stephen

Hi stephen

Are allinpoker doing feeders to the €1500 game in january. If so have u got any details.

Regards

dacman wrote:
    Hi stephen

Are allinpoker doing feeders to the €1500 game in january. If so have u got any details.

Regards

Hello Dacman,

To date here are the confirmed On-Line satellites

PaddyPowerPoker Satellites to Irish Poker Championship

Main Event Satellite

Tuesday, Jan. 2nd 8pm

$100+$10
    15 Minute Rounds

Rebuy for first 4 levels

Win tickets to The IPC Final at CityWest Hotel in Dublin on Jan. 5th

Main Event Feeders

Every Tueday, Thursday, Saturday
    from Dec. 2nd until Dec. 30th

$10+$1

12 Minute Rounds

Rebuy for first 4 levels

Win a seat to the Main Event Satellite

Satellites Rub for the month of december

For further info
    http://www.pokerevents.ie/news.asp

Regards

Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Is this on for the one night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Ah you see I am originally from the Sticks - 20 mins south of Athlone. When I say I only live 20mins away I suppose I should say I am from 20mins away - right in the middle of a bog!!

Ive come a long way ;)

ah we're all still boys from the bog at heart

a thin veneer of money and 'sophistication' has been given us to us courtesy of the Celtic Tiger but step into any Irish wedding reception after midnight and you're right back in Ballygobackwards, year 1958

oh how I long to have Glenroe restored to our screnes...