Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Projector advice.

Options
  • 08-11-2006 11:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭

Ive been looking into getting a projector for a little while but im a bit of a novice when it comes to home theatre. I will be using the projector mainly for films but also for occasional tv and video games. Ive made decisions several times on what to buy but have changed my mind each time and cannot decide. Ive been looking at infocus alot as they seem to offer good value for money
    Here are a couple ive looked at
    http://www.infocus.com/Products/Projectors/IN26.aspx
    Designed for business use but good brightness and resolution but few inputs, no HDMI etc costs about $800
    http://www.infocus.com/Products/Projectors/X3.aspx
    Similar to above and about $800
    http://www.projectorcentral.com/InFocus-X1a.htm
    Lower resolution and spec in general but only $580
    The projector will be connected to a Mac mini (for dvd photos etc) to sky and to xbox. Do I need higher definition ? Don't high definition devices need HDMI? Should I look at something else? Bear in mind cost. Getting it from america to save costs. They seem to be quite a bit cheaper. Please help.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 30,035 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Getting it from america doesn't sound good. Delivery costs will be high. If something ever goes wrong with the projector, it's going to cost a lot to send it back for repair. You will/might have to pay a large amount to customs for getting it from outside europe.