Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

trainee accountants

• 02-11-2006 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭

hey is anyone here currently workin as a trainee accountant and studying for ACCA exams?

Im hopin to work in practice and take the ACCA exams and was wondering what people think of them+work

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

Hi Seanie,

I'm currently workin as a trainee accountant and doing the ACCA exams, its tough oul goin but it will be worth it in the end!! Try and get yourself into a small to medium sized practice as you will be more involved in the whole process of accountancy rather than being pigeon holed for a few months at a time doing the same tasks. (i.e steer clear of big organisations, for a while anyway) As for the Acca, its just a matter of dedicating time and willpower, and you should get on grand.

Best of Luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭seanieclarke

thanks for them lads.
    do ye find work exciting or is it a boring job?

just a quick question for mkdon-do u go to classes at DBS?

also how many subjects do most people do at once?
    i think i only get 4 exemptions from my college course so ill ave a fair few exams to do yet to fully qualify

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

mkdon05 wrote:
    Try and get yourself into a small to medium sized practice as you will be more involved in the whole process of accountancy rather than being pigeon holed for a few months at a time doing the same tasks. (i.e steer clear of big organisations, for a while anyway) As for the Acca, its just a matter of dedicating time and willpower, and you should get on grand.

Best of Luck.

Can I just say what a snobbish attitude this is. Very few big4 accountants would actually besmirch the training of those in smaller practices - it seems to be always coming in the opposite direction around these parts.

I would disagree with everything said above.
    In the big4 you can get a perfectly rounded experience, you change jobs all the time, your responsibility grows every year, every week infact, your education is regarded as paramount. Studying prof3 and fae's in the big4 you'll practically receive 3 months off for study leave for 2 consecutive summers.
    Your salary will rise nicely each year. You'll receive an exam passing bonus.
    You'll be paid or given study leave for every second of overtime.

At the end of it - you'll be a sought after employee, because during the 3/4 prior years you will have worked damned hard, you will have gotten an excellent education, your experience will be rounded, and you'll be demanding top dollar.

The facts are that big4 accountants demand a higher premium than those who trained in smaller firms on qualification, whether justified or not. And you can be sure you'll be well looked after.

I'm not advising anyone to overlook smaller firms but to give advice to steer clear of the big companies is a farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

What are big4 accountants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

KPMG, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte and Ernst & Young. In that order as of last week - KPMG AND PwC are the biggest, roughly equal, then Deloitte is somewhat smaller and E&Y smaller again. Below these are other large firms, Grant Thornton, BDO...

I think the Big 4 all work through the ACA exams, I stand to be corrected though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Blow Me

sooooooooooo boring :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Blow_Me is banned.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'm doing CIMA at one of the big four. I don't work as an accountant but it is seen as a good basis in management i.e. understanding the numbers. It seems ok, if I just did a bit of study :rolleyes: