Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray Foley moves to daytime

• 25-10-2006 9:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

Knowing how many fans Ray has here on boards.ie (ahem!), I'm sure you'll all be delighted to know that he's moving to daytime Today FM

Taking over Tony Fenton's current slot from 12.00 to 2.30. Tony then moves to 2.30 to 4.30. No idea where Phil Cawley is going or who'll be taking over The Blast.

Personally, I'll be quite sad to see him leaving nighttime. But it's a pretty big break for him so fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Who is Ray Foley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Don't feed the trolls, Gordie.

Is this a permanent move or is it just holiday cover, nighttime DJ's covering for daytime, which always occurs on Today FM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭jayo99

Nice to see they moved Fenton.
    Now all they neeed to do is move him off air completely !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Here's hoping it's a permanent move and (my neighbour) Floody gets more airtime in the evening slots. Foley was better in the morning/daytime when he was covering for someone else and not trying to be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭kmurph

It's permanent. He said he was leaving The Blast right at the end of last nights show. It's also mentioned on his blog. And it's apparently in The Star today too.

I'm surprised that Phil is leaving. Especially as he is close to being 10 years there, he's the only presenter/DJ still on-air from the Radio Ireland era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

DMC wrote:
    I'm surprised that Phil is leaving. Especially as he is close to being 10 years there, he's the only presenter/DJ still on-air from the Radio Ireland era.

My understanding is that he is moving to a Saturday afternon slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

any chance donal dineen will be moving to 10-12 ?

Something on the web about it now....

What it means is that Tim Kelly is gone... but where?

http://www.unison.ie/entertainment/news/stories.php3?ca=228&si=1711723

Ray gets lunchtime slot in Today FM shake-up
    Wednesday October 25th 2006
    YOUNG DJ Ray Foley is the big winner in a shake-up of the afternoon schedule at Today FM.

The Mayoman is to present a new daily lunchtime show from noon to 2.30pm from the middle of next month, pushing veteran Tony Fenton into a later afternoon slot. "There are some exciting times ahead for Today FM," the station's chief executive Willie O'Reilly said yesterday.

"We have fostered Ray's talent for the past two years where he brought great energy to the evening schedule. I am confident that his unique style will shake up day-time radio."

Mr Foley previously presented a popular night-time show on Today FM, and his previous time-slot will be taken by Tim Kelly.

The shake-up means that there is no space in the daily line-up for Phil Cawley who will now present a Saturday lunchtime show along with Friday Night 80s and a chart show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

DMC wrote:
    Something on the web about it now....

What it means is that Tim Kelly is gone... but where?

http://www.unison.ie/entertainment/news/stories.php3?ca=228&si=1711723

Ray gets lunchtime slot in Today FM shake-up
    Wednesday October 25th 2006

Nice one. I never really liked Phil Cawley. He was the one weak link in today fms daytime lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭kmurph

Probably explains why Ray was doing so much filling in on daytime over the past couple of months and why Tim Kelly did 10-12 last week. Testing the waters I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

jayo99 wrote:
    Nice to see they moved Fenton.
    Now all they neeed to do is move him off air completely !

oh agreed 10000%. he is terrible. worst DJ on the radio imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

might suit ray foley. fair play to him... but i don't get why he's so popular. his show is so hacky...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

might suit ray foley. fair play to him... but i don't get why he's so popular. his show is so hacky...

Ok considering that I don't know your age projectmayhem, Foley's nighttime show target audience was aimed at school/college goers. That would explain his lack of support on this forum. He's got loads of talent and his ratings are good.
    The switch must have something to do with the launch of Newstalk and the changes(yet again) to the schedule at 2old fm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

RedorDead wrote:
    Nice one. I never really liked Phil Cawley. He was the one weak link in today fms daytime lineup.

Gotta disagree completely there, RedorDead.....IMHO, Fenton is the Weakest Link and doesn't fit in with Today FM's approach.

When Foley was filling in for Fenton earlier this year, being genuinely funny and slightly wacky (instead of trying to be as is occasionally the case at night) the Today FM schedule seemed spot-on.

Pity Cawley is being cut out - Fenton's the one who should have gone.

Would like to see Floody and Bob Conway on more too...not sure about Tim Kelly at night, but we'll see how it goes before drawing conclusions....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Cawley gone? Oh joy.

One less reason to avoid turning on today fm.

I have to say I didn't really mind Foley when he filled in for Demo on his breakfast show (I was a captive audience)...never managed to catch his nighttime slot, but judging by the stuff I heard about it on here and elsewhere, I'd likely have hated it...best of luck to him anyway.

As for Fenton? He should have ben left to sit on the hotline of 2fm's late 80s....he never changed between then and now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Fitzo

Ray will be missed anyway from the nighttime slot, but the real Question is, what about JP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

I heard him mentioning it last night, was kinda surprised to be honest. I don't mind The Blast, but I hated the time that it was on. When I'm trying to get to sleep at night, I just want music and the odd bit of commentary, a bit like Small Hours. Hopefully Tim Kelly will provide something along those lines.

Foley's not bad on daytime, but seeing as how he had a cult following among students I don't know how popular the idea will be, since loads of his old audience will be in school. Maybe the idea was deliberately meant to coincide with next week's mid-term? (EDIT: re-read the Indo piece, which stated that the reshuffle will take place mid-November)

As for JP, I heard Ray on daytime over the weekend. Someone sent a text in asking about him, and Ray said that he himself would be back on The Blast this week, but JP needed an extra week off "just because his contract says he can have a week longer than Ray's entitled to" (or something to that effect).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Jp has an extra week off to play golf according to Ray's blog!

Ray is a really talented guy.. and their (him and JP) approach to the blast programme was simply for that target audience. But he is an all round good presenter from what I heard over the summer (especially in Fenton's slot)

Phil Cawley is going back to Saturdays.. I never really could listen to him any time I got the opportunity..... He's a drag...

As for Tim Kelly in the night-time slot.. I really don't agree with Today FM's decision on that.. He's perfect for what he's doing at the moment, but if Cawley is taking all of that over, maybe there's no room for him. In my opinion, Today FM should have brought in a fresh new voice (like they did with Foley) and try to get a similar format going at night time.. not some very dry jokes and rubbish music from Tim Kelly.

bbability wrote:
    Ok considering that I don't know your age projectmayhem, Foley's nighttime show target audience was aimed at school/college goers. That would explain his lack of support on this forum. He's got loads of talent and his ratings are good.

i'm a 21 year old student...

and his ratings might end up being quite different now since he's on daytime

bbability wrote:
    That would explain his lack of support on this forum.

Oh he had plenty of support on this forum....his own self included ;)

So much support that moderators had to lock threads and hand out bans IIRC...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Wertz wrote:
    Oh he had plenty of support on this forum....his own self included ;)

So much support that moderators had to lock threads and hand out bans IIRC...
    Yeah.. well I'll leave the thread open as long as it stays on topic and there aren't several other similar threads started up as well.

But I'd always been of a similar opinion to others here that the Blast was a well produced show for what it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Mmmm, it is an interesting move.
    Himself and Nikki Hayes shared evening airtime up until about 3 months ago, when Nikki was moved to the 12-2 slot, and now Today FM have moved Ray, so they are, once again, sharing airtime.
    I wonder why the national stations have made the move to place their 'younger, livelier jocks' to the day time schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

parasite wrote:
    any chance donal dineen will be moving to 10-12 ?

That would be ideal in my book, the good ol' days back again.

When I'm trying to get to sleep at night, I just want music and the odd bit of commentary, a bit like Small Hours.

Try RTE Lyric.. It always puts me to sleep at any time of the day:D

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I wonder why the national stations have made the move to place their 'younger, livelier jocks' to the day time schedule.

probably because, for one they're cheaper, but mainly because that post-morningshow slot is usually dead in the ratings. after the morning shows radio dies off because people are in work/college or whatever, rather then sitting in their cars, or getting out of bed.

todayFM is probably thinking ray foley can bring the students in at that time, thus allowing them to charge more for advertising etc. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

probably because, for one they're cheaper, but mainly because that post-morningshow slot is usually dead in the ratings. after the morning shows radio dies off because people are in work/college or whatever, rather then sitting in their cars, or getting out of bed.

What are you talking about, the shows straight after the morning shows are in most stations the top rated shows in that station. Ray D'arcy, Gerry Ryan.. even on a local scale Limerick Today on Live 95fm is their top rated show, its slumps a bit during the lunch break alright... which is the slot Foley will now take.

I am so, so sad to hear Phil Cawleys going from day time.. i havent heard much of him.. but I remember last year my year where coming back from somewhere and today fm was on, i never heard the whole bus go quiet listening to the DJ and all burst out laughing at his joke.

Although they know to leave D'arcy alone.. he's their greatest asset.

Mrs_Doyle wrote:

I'd say it's a case of waking up and smelling the coffee tbh...you can't keep pumping out playlists from middle aged jocks and expect to pull in the demographic that makes up most of your advertising revenue.

It's about time they shook things up on Irish airwaves...we've had far too much of the status quo for too long (in both senses of the phrase ;) )
    i never heard the whole bus go quiet listening to the DJ and all burst out laughing at his joke.

Jaysus, ye's are all easily amused so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Alan Smith

Just an observation,
    He seems alot different without Jp alot more subdued!

What are you talking about, the shows straight after the morning shows are in most stations the top rated shows in that station. Ray D'arcy, Gerry Ryan.. even on a local scale Limerick Today on Live 95fm is their top rated show, its slumps a bit during the lunch break alright... which is the slot Foley will now take.

that's why it's big names like Ray Darcy and Gerry Ryan in those slots, because without big names there would be no ratings there.

Big names certainly don't pull in listeners all by themselves although they help. Look what happened Dunphy when he went to Newstalk. He pulled in as many listeners as he predescesor. Every show on every radio station has a core listenership and an audience to aim at. Did you ever hear of Jim Jim before he was on fm104? Other than Morning Ireland, between himself and Hayzer they're the most listened to breakfast programme in Dublin with over 100,000 listeners every day for a long time now. Not one breakfast show has ever got near that figure in Dublin. I'm suprised they were never considered for a national audience when you consider some of their material is now being played on radio stations across the country. Just the other day I heard the "Sexy Joe" song played on Gerry Ryan.

Have to agree; Colm and Jim Jim are diamonds in the coal face of Irish morning radio...the minute we loose the UK stations at the M1 toll, it's straight over to 104....they're the only Irish presenters I know of that are humourous and appealing without actually trying that hard, the fm104 jingles and taking the piss out of Joe Duffy are well worth the listen too...

bbability wrote:
    Did you ever hear of Jim Jim before he was on fm104? Other than Morning Ireland, between himself and Hayzer they're the most listened to breakfast programme in Dublin with over 100,000 listeners every day for a long time now.

yes actually. he played an array of characters on Fm104's openline back in the day... and when that died he was a stand-in for adrian kennedy once or twice. after that he was a stand-in on the strawberry alarm clock, before becoming a somewhat regular feature, having a little "what's on the internet" section. then when the other two (i forget their names, joan and aidan?) left jim jim was added full time.

but i take your point. but that's not quite the same. the strawberry is a dublin institution at this stage, with massive listenership figures because 1) it's genuinely funny without being hacky, and 2) the rest (bar spin103's morning show) are absolutely rubbish (in dublin anyway)

when the other two (i forget their names, joan and aidan?) left jim jim was added full time.

Just to let you know the name you have forgotton is Colm Hayes, justin Mc Kenna and Joan Lee.

and your right wertz, as soon as you lose moyles on at (the airport for me heading into town) its over to 104.