Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halloween PokerCup €250 Freezeout 28th October 2006

• 23-10-2006 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭

Who is running the event Ace of Spades

The purpose of the event is commercial

Date and Location of event On Saturday 28th October 2006, Seabank House East Wall

Registration and Start time of event. REGISTRATION 12 Noon Start 1:00pm

Any prerequisites Max 72 Players

How can tickets be purchased you can pre-register by texting your name to 087 6858135 or online at www.aceofspades.ie

Type of Tournament Hold'em Freezeout

Cost of entry €250 (this includes €35 Reg)

Starting Chips 10,000

Blind levels

25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400

Lunch Break 60mins

300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    800-1500
    1000-2000
    1500-3000
    2000-4000
    3000-6000
    4000-8000
    5000-10000
    10000-20000
    15000-30000
    20000-40000
    30000-60000

Blind timeframes 30 min

Places being paid, cash to top 8 places, trophy for winner and 2nd / 3rd

Professional dealers at each table

There will be a documented list of rules

Tournament director will be Anthony 'O' Callaghan

TD has final say in all disputes

Reg includes Lunch

Further information can be found on http://www.aceofspades.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

how many have you got so far?

this suits me better than the Fitz game on Thursday...better structure too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭aceofspades.ie

50 Tickets gone so far, expect to be sold out by Sat.
    Max 72 Players

your rake is high at 16%

any other boardies playing this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I have to agree - this does look an interesting tournament with a good structure. It does clash with the Fitz 500 tho. What to do?

your rake is high at 16%

To be fair the 35 does include dinner - if you take €13.50 for dinner its 21.50 on 215 which isnt all that bad.

At this stage I am a likely starter. I will have to confirm later today.

I'll consult with the relevant authorities but this looks likely to be my poker action for the week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I have to agree - this does look an interesting tournament with a good structure. It does clash with the Fitz 500 tho. What to do?

Don't worry Noel - you'll be grand for the Fitz at six. I gaurantee that you will get KK in the third level and be tricky by making it 350 to go pre - flop from EP. The board will come 559. You will raise and push all in when re - raised by BB who is holding 56 soooooted.

You will take it in a good natured way, have a calming drink at the bar and enjoy your well earned dinner before heading off to the Fitz resolving for the fifth time this month to raise more pre - flop with cowboys. I will get drawn at your table in the Fitz and have to listen to you complain endlessly about the perils of playing KK. Definately bringing my headphones with me on Saturday....

your rake is high at 16%

Dinner is included and Professional dealers at each table. We maxed it out at 72 players to make it comfortable for all players.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Originally Posted by El Stuntman
    your rake is high at 16%

Dinner is included and Professional dealers at each table. We maxed it out at 72 players to make it comfortable for all players.
    i

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

looks like a nice tournie but its a busy weekend for poker with the EPT and the Boards Headsup Semis&Finals and the Fitz Fest etc etc...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

would love to go to this but there is just too much on.
    best of luck with it anyway and if you do any more of these in the future you can count me in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭callo

dave masters the ultimate dogger should be playing along with damo kavanagh johnny weaver johnny l

50 Tickets gone so far, expect to be sold out by Sat.
    Max 72 Players

When u say 50 tickets gone do you mean uv been giving out tickets at your recent events to local donkeys who have won/placed in unlimited rebuy short stack crapshoots?

Can you please reserve a ticket for me? I will play - I like to play with my own kind.

lol BCB

I'll be there too, text sent

IMO El Stuntman sees more dead money and is now in (mine that is)

Note: my opinion is currently fueled by copious amounts of Tanqueray No.10, 23yr old Vintage Port et Cashel Blue and a couple of bottles of Chateauneuf Du Pape (think it was a 98)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

callo wrote:
    dave masters the ultimate dogger should be playing along with damo kavanagh johnny weaver johnny l

mite have a pressin matter of the ept final table i can hear dave saying ... well hopefully

Note: my opinion is currently fueled by copious amounts of Tanqueray No.10, 23yr old Vintage Port et Cashel Blue and a couple of bottles of Chateauneuf Du Pape (think it was a 98)

bank making lots of money this quarter Noel?

anyone know which end of the East Wall Road this place is nearer - Fairview or the Point?

Its actually midway. When you come over the toll bridge go straight on. The road turns 90* to the left at the entrance to the port/where the port tunnel starts off. The Seabank is then at the traffic lights on your left hand side about 500yds up. Beside Hacketts bookmakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

IMO El Stuntman sees more dead money and is now in (mine that is)

As Chief Brody would say...... "Now you have it!"

Im in aswell:) .

As Chief Brody would say...... "Now you have it!"

Im in aswell:) .

Invited the chief but he said he was going to be busy at the final table of the EPT "Chiefin the pros":D , apparently he's ordered nine tee shirts with "I was Chiefed at the 2006 EPT Dublin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Invited the chief but he said he was going to be busy at the final table of the EPT "Chiefin the pros":D , apparently he's ordered nine tee shirts with "I was Chiefed at the 2006 EPT Dublin"
    only 9?? obviously not feeling so confident as usual, i have put him down for 10% the field at least, whats that...50?

how many runners expected then?

Just been informed that there are 10 Tickets left so 62 tickets sold, just waiting for some players to get back to us.

Thank You ............

Any Questions regarding this event please contact Myles on 087 4182257

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Make that 8 left coz i just took 2

Flushdraw wrote:

oh yes = more dead money

Not for u though.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Flushdraw wrote:

tony r u palyin in this game....??

Tony was doing very solid when i exited - bout 16 players left at that stage. He has a well above avg stack.

Somebody post the result when they get a chance please.

Tony was doing very solid when i exited - bout 16 players left at that stage. He has a well above avg stack.

Somebody post the result when they get a chance please.

I finished 6th for €500. flushdraw's fortunes ebbed and flowed since you left. He got rivered to only split a pot pot in a massive pot against a bad player who actually had a hand this time. Tony had this guy tied up when the money went in on a QQxJ board with AQ v KQ, J on the river.
    But he's made a good comeback and won a big pot with his QQ v AK to surge him to 2nd in chips. On leaving he's the only serious threat as i see it to Joe O' Neill who was a very big CL. Phill Harris was out shortly after me.

There were some other good players like pppspecial,ollieboy,El Stuntman, Damo Kavanagh but the majority were pub tourney ticket winners which explained why it was probably the worst standard tournament ive ever played in of any buyin which is always nice.

One guy called Phil Harris down with Q high and when he was beat looked surprised and said "You could have had me for a lot more than that":)
    Shame on you guys for not making the FT in such a field:p

I thanked TD Anto in person but just to say N1 again. He knows how to put on a good tournament and the carvery at dinner was blinding.

Anto told us a full report with pics etc will be on his website tomorrow!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I finished 6th for €500. flushdraw's fortunes ebbed and flowed since you left. He got rivered to only split a pot pot in a massive pot against a bad player who actually had a hand this time. Tony had this guy tied up when the money went in on a QQxJ board with AQ v KQ, J on the river.
    But he's made a good comeback and won a big pot with his QQ v AK to surge him to 2nd in chips. On leaving he's the only serious threat as i see it to Joe O' Neill who was a very big CL. Phill Harris was out shortly after me.

There were some other good players like pppspecial,ollieboy,El Stuntman, Damo Kavanagh but the majority were pub tourney ticket winners which explained why it was probably the worst standard tournament ive ever played in of any buyin which is always nice.

One guy called Phil Harris down with Q high and when he was beat looked surprised and said "You could have had me for a lot more than that":)
    Shame on you guys for not making the FT in such a field:p

I thanked TD Anto in person but just to say N1 again. He knows how to put on a good tournament and the carvery at dinner was blinding.

Anto told us a full report with pics etc will be on his website tomorrow!.

I have to agree, it was good tournament and it was ran well by Anto and it was 1 of the better tournaments I have dealts although some higher chairs would be nice!
    The standard was just well shocking to say least, I wish I played it, example blinds 50-100, someone open pushes all-in for 2075, guy in mp calls without even asking for chip count for about 16% of his stack.
    All-in guy shows queens, caller shows KQ off suit and hits king naturally.
    I could go on but you get general idea.

A deal was offered when 3 handed in this and i accepted. In hindsight, it probably wasnt the best deal i'v ever taken but it was a long day and i was knackered havin got only an hours sleep the previous night.

After about 20 minutes 3 handed, i was after takin a few hits and was down to 105k, robbie had about 100k and joe the show had just shy of 400k. Original prize pool was 4.8k, 2.1k, 1.2k but we decided on 2.3k for myself and robbie and the rest for joe. I took the 2nd place trophy.

Overall the tournament was run superbly by Anto and his team. He even froze the blinds twice, for 20 mins at a time to stop the tournament turning into a crapshoot. at the final table, there were 600k chips in play with blinds at 3k/6k. Great dealers, great atmosphere and a very enjoyable tournament.

Nice to meet u rounders btw. We had a bit of fun along the way stealing each others blinds but tried to stay out of each others way most of the time because there were plenty of other peoples chips to share around!

There was definetly some dodgy play throughout the day and i was rivered a couple of times for big pots with some of the worst play i've ever seen, but thats the sort of players u want at the table.

I'm happy with the performance and the outcome and i'll look forward to playin the next one. Wd again Callo

halloweencup06winners.jpg

Thanks for supporting this tournament, nice to put faces to the Nics.
    Final numbers were 59 players giving a prize pool of 59 x €215 (less reg) =€12,658 we rounded this up to €12,800 giving the following payout.

Results of Tournament & Prizes (pre deal)

1st Joe 'O' Neill €4,800

2nd Tony Bateson €2,300

3rd Robbie Flood €1,400

4th Mark Redmond €1,200

5th Phil (bad Beat Harris) €800

6th Chris Murphy €600

7th rounders123 €500

8th Paul Kenny €300

9th Joan Vickers €300

10th (to be confirmed) €300

11th (to be confirmed) €300

Any typos in these names please let me know, there are some photos of the top three and brief breakdown of results on www.aceofspades.ie full report will be available later this evening.
    Congratulations lads N1.

Myles

Any typos in these names please let me know

Myles

7th Aidan McCormack
    Also i believe i started the final table on 52k not 62k as listed on the website.
    Refer to me as rounders123 on the website!

Cheers Myles.

p.s
    Well done Tony good result.

7th Aidan McCormack
    Also i believe i started the final table on 52k not 62k as listed on the website.
    Refer to me as rounders123 on the website!

Cheers Myles.

p.s
    Well done Tony good result.

Sorry Aiden
    Will change it straight away....

That's sorted!!!!! :o

Sorry Aiden
    Will change it straight away....

That's sorted!!!!! :o

No problem Myles. You can put my name in if you like just do it like Phil (bad Beat Harris)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭callo

hi there just like to say thanks to ye lads for coming to our tourney.
    we all know the standard of play can be a mine field in some of these events and this was no exception. there were some quality players some not so bad and some people out just to have a good day enjoying themselves.so a lot of credit to the real players who tip toed through this mine field and enjoyed some sucess in this tourney.players like joe o neill, tony<flushdraw >baitson, mark<bartsbrother>redmond aidan<rounders123>mc cormack, joan vickers and phil<bad beat> harris are well capable of doing well in much harder competions than this so good to see them coming to the fore in this one.dave <ppp special>masters was unlucky very early on as was marlo ryan whos allin bet holding KQ on a flop of QQJ was called by Q9 only for a 9 to come on the river.damo kavanagh had mixed luck average stacked most of the time went out with more than half the field gone BTW CONGRATULATIONS DAMO ON WINNING THE LEINSTER CUP IN THE REDCOW LAST NIGHT damo defeated a high class field of 92 players in the redcow last night including OLIVER BOYCE who played really well and was huge chip leader at one stage. any way back to our tourney hope you all enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you back here soon thanks ANTO