Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donadea Forest Park Trip

• 18-10-2006 10:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭

Ok,

Following on from the positive response to this suggestion I got in the Dublin night meetup thread, I figured we should go ahead with it!

http://www.coillte.ie/tourism_and_recreation/ke_donadea.htm

I was thinking maybe next weekend the 28th or 29th of October?

I know it's the bank holiday weekend, but I figure it will be the best time, with the leaves falling off the trees and all!

How do people feel about the dates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭CraggyIslander

I'm provisionally up for it... am doing a 4month mcse course at the mo and theres supposed to be an exam that following week. Will have to see how easy/hard that particular exam is gonna be first, and how prepared i am for it at that time :rolleyes:

If i does happen hope there'll be plenty bugs around to let the macro lens loose on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

I'm going to say yes for now. I think I'm free that weekend. I also have some spare seats if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Excellent, excellent. It's all coming together nicely!

Now where is elven? How could she resist a forest park???

edit: Fixed for our resident elf! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Dammit !!! :mad:

This would have been an ideal opportunity to try out my first L baby ... which arrives this weekend.... :D:D:D:D (they don't seem to have a excited expectant child smiley so this will have to do ...)

I'm away in Barcelona and London for the BH .... if you decide later on to move the date then I'm in for defo, barring other trips getting in the way ... I prefer shooting in the green to the grey ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Oi, it's not the number eleven, I'm elven. You know, pointy ears, that kind of thing... how could you forget ;)

Anyway, bank holiday weekend sounds good for me.

Also just checked on www.metcheck.com (thanks Brian!) and on saturday 28th, it looks like it's going to be sunny/rainy/cloudy, so we're taking a chance on the weather. Is there a possibility of a plan b in this scenario?

Leinsterman, I'm sure there will be plenty other landscapey trips so hope to catch up with you soon enough. Wouldn't moan too much about going to Barcelona, though ;)

How long's it take to get to this place? Am I going to get lost? Fajitas, are you going to be my map reader?

Edit: Nobody told me there's a castle :D

Think this will be us lot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Count me in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

elven wrote:
    Oi, it's not the number eleven, I'm elven. You know, pointy ears, that kind of thing... how could you forget ;)

Anyway, bank holiday weekend sounds good for me.

Also just checked on www.metcheck.com (thanks Brian!) and on saturday 28th, it looks like it's going to be sunny/rainy/cloudy, so we're taking a chance on the weather. Is there a possibility of a plan b in this scenario?

Leinsterman, I'm sure there will be plenty other landscapey trips so hope to catch up with you soon enough. Wouldn't moan too much about going to Barcelona, though ;)

How long's it take to get to this place? Am I going to get lost? Fajitas, are you going to be my map reader?

Edit: Nobody told me there's a castle :D

Think this will be us lot?

Yep.

Gps me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

I live close by, bit of advice.

Get there early - good shots to be had of misty lakes etc. depending on weather.

lots of gaps in trees for when the sun is low in the sky, before 9am.

It's not a great place in my own opinion but it depends what you are looking for.

Last time I went up there I was surrounded by Japenese tourists, but the place is huge so you can afford to move off the beaten track.

Very little shelter also (apart from the trees) and the coffee place is unlikely to be open as its the off season.

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭B0rG

Do the trees ever go yellow in there? I wanted some authentic autumn shots... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

I'm interested too! But I'll need a ride :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Greysoul

Ditto what Dimy said. =) Things are very iffy for me for the next week or two and I won't know for a little while yet if it'll be possible for me to go, but I'd definitely love to if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

If something hugely interesting (and alot closer to home) doesnt turn up for that weekend, I may just pop up.

Bring a sleeping bag and stay in my place if ye want Ryan?

Strawberry beer?

groovyness.

rymus wrote:
    If something hugely interesting (and alot closer to home) doesnt turn up for that weekend, I may just pop up.

I live about 4-5 miles from the place in Sallins, if you are looking for somewhere closer. I'm just off the M7 there.

But tis upto you.

I can however offer a bed :p

Wow, thanks, I'll take you up on that bed :D

Fajitas! wrote:
    Wow, thanks, I'll take you up on that bed :D

I see the life of a student still doesn't pay well :p

The life of a student about to buy a 5D...REALLY dosn't pay well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Fajitas! wrote:
    The life of a student about to buy a 5D...REALLY dosn't pay well...

Student grant perhaps or as the ad says - glasses, books, shoes, deposit for a pad ........... :D:D:D

Student grant? I wish life was that easy!

Working for Bus Eireann more like!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭AlisonB

Definitely up for this. :D Count me in .

Fajitas! wrote:
    Student grant? I wish life was that easy!

Working for Bus Eireann more like!!!

Only jesting mate!! ;)

Out of interest, what time would you be looking to start??

Ah i knew! :D;)

I'd say fairly early.

How long does it take to get there from Dublin?

Fajitas! wrote:
    I'd say fairly early.

Not as long as it would take from Galway :eek: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Fajitas! wrote:
    Ah i knew! :D;)

I'd say fairly early.

Once you are at Liffey Valley on the N4 it takes about 25-35 minutes.

Take the N4/M4 to Kilcock and exit taking the Clane/Naas exit.

Go down that road for a few miles and you get to a cross roads, turn right dor Donadea.

Signposted quite well.

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I'm sticking my head in :eek: ,any chance of myself going along if I can???

So any more plans on this?

Would the Saturday or Sunday suit people better?

As slumped has mentioned, an early start will probably provide some really good shots of the lake.

Saturday is best for me, but I could do Sunday too.

Anyone?

The list of people so far. 14!! which isn't bad at all :)

evilhomer
    Fred C. Dobbs
    DarrenG
    elven (like I needed to ask :p )
    Valentia
    Fajitas!
    B0rG
    slumped (maybe, since he lives near by)
    Dimy
    Greysoul
    rymus
    AlisonB
    mikeanywhere
    _Brian_

Some need lifts (this is who I think need lifts)

Dimy
    Greysoul
    Fajitas!

Anyone else interested?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I'll be driving and can pick up ,I should be good for saturday ,definetly around on sunday. I hope the weather has breaks ,or at least the greenhouse effect lasts until next weekend :D

Long term Weather forecast for Sallins (about 6-7 miles from Donadea)

Saturday

Sunrise Information

Sunrise: 8:17 AM
    Sunset: 6:03 PM

Moonrise Information

Moonrise: 3:15 PM
    Moonset: 9:53 PM

So I guess with sunrise so late it won't be the earliest start :)

I don't mind meeting up for sunrise if anyone else wants to meet early?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Either day suits me. If it's a sunrise start I can get a taxi straight from the pub :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

I should be able to go this, it's not too far from where i live, i might even work up the balls to walk there, I was there before, about this time last year for an army orienteering competition, it's a real nice park. What time are guys thinking of being there at?

Oh, just a bit of shameless advertising, if anyones interested, not too far from the park on sunday there's a halloween gig on, 18's ID needed and it's fancy dress, the bands are The Bifters, Bad Taste and Strawberry (i think he's a dj) and there's a best costume comp.
    If ya wana go, it's in the County Bar beside the Spa Hotel, might be a good chance for halloween shots.

Either suits me too.

And early morning suits me fine...as long as I get pre-warned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Found a bit of a map to this place here :

http://kildare.ie/donadea911/cat_location.html

I will probably head along to this too so if anyone wants to carshare let me know.

Yeah, was thinking of posting up that if we could organise a general car pool, rather than 7 or 8 cars heading down together...hypocritical because I don't drive but...hey...save the world and all that...

So, who's coming from where, then?

Great idea but I must admit, not a lot can separate me from my wee motor these days so I'm not likely to leave it at home.

Oh, and I just looked at the weather forecast... do we have a plan b - indoors?

I'm heading from Balbriggan so I don't mind making stops along the way. My route will be M1, M50 then Naas road.

elven wrote:
    Great idea but I must admit, not a lot can separate me from my wee motor these days so I'm not likely to leave it at home.

I am thinking of all those muddy boots for the drive home : ) I can bring my car or if theres space in anyone elses I will grab a lift - easy either way. It would help to know who is interested in going. Re the indoors plan B - the nearest turf fire pub would be fine by me.

I need lift too... :( Anyone can pick me up?

B0rG wrote:
    I need lift too... :( Anyone can pick me up?

Where from ? I will be driving from tallaght direction so if you can bus it to the square I can give you a lift from there.

I'm based at heuston, but I guess I can take a bus somewhere there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭AlisonB

I'll be travelling from Navan:

Navan -> Trim -> Summerhill - > Kilcock -> Donadea

So if anyone requires a lift shout :). Have we decided on a day yet ??

I'll meet up with Julie, somewhere in town I guess?

Plan B eh...?

Elven...Fancy doing some modeling :p:D

Fajitas I'll get you at home prolly, Rathmines is just up the road.

I'l just pretend you didn't suggest me being on the other side of the lens ;)

Is the Saturday better for everyone, or what? If we do Sunday it means we have to get an early night on Saturday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

i'd like the saturday, i'm looking forward to this since i've got a good bit to learn, expect annoyingly simple questions from me if i show.

Saturday is the best for me and my assistant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

this might be a bit of craic
    are there any timings set so far...(remembering the Sproi debacle) :)
    would it be for the whole day? what kind of walk is involved?
    would we need to bring food and stuff maybe a tent? (nah i'm way too old for a tent!)
    Sat would be the best day i suppose

tent? jaysus, is this a boy scout trek or what? :D

Fionn, I think the general concensus is to get there early (8:30am ish?) and stay there until we're bored of eachothers company. Assuming we manage to put up with eachother, we can then retire to a embibing establishment of our choosing to discuss and deliberate the days events in the most civilised of manners.

For anyone with notions of taking the piss out of the above, try to be a little more original :p