Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What book to get?

• 18-10-2006 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭

As its nearly that dreaded time of the year (Xmas for those still unsure). I thought I would start putting together a list of what I want. And yes, I am bored!!

One that I was told about is this

Anyone got or been recommended anything that would be handy for us PS virgins (please dont tell me I am the only one)??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Hand_Of_Steel

I was going to about books too, but I was going to ask which book for digital photography I should get as it seems The 35mm Photographers Handbook doesn't cover it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

I have the CS2 & Digital photography for dummies book ... it is not bad if you like that kind of thing ... to be honest most of the time I just jump in and try to figure it out for myself ... and if I find there is something I need to do and don't know how ... I use google ... works 99% of the time ... the remaining 1% is filled by a mate who is a graphic designer ...

see - http://www.amazon.com/Photoshop-CS2-Digital-Photography-Dummies/dp/0764595806/sr=8-8/qid=1161175751/ref=sr_1_8/103-5760106-8235822?ie=UTF8&s=books

Have you considered getting a course? ... if you find a good one then let me know ... there are lots claiming to deliver courses in digital but my experience has been so far that I generally know more than the teacher ... and I am no expert by any means ... but then I have a background in software engineering ...

... forgot to add ... you could consider getting a years subscription to Practical Photography or Digital Photographer ... lots of useful tip and techniques every month ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭B0rG

Lads,
    have to tell ye something... if you're buying books for dummies, you'll find yourself becoming one :) Unfortunately that rule doesn't work with "books for professionals" :)

I posted list of must have books here:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055003616

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

As mentioned on BOrG's thread, Scott Kelby is the man for me. Suitable for dummies or professionals. The Tips and Tricks book and CS2 for Digital Photographers are fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

I've found the Profanisaurus Rex most useful while using PS, it provides a great outlet to your emotions when things go wrong.

B0rG wrote:
    Lads,
    have to tell ye something... if you're buying books for dummies, you'll find yourself becoming one :) Unfortunately that rule doesn't work with "books for professionals" :)

I posted list of must have books here:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055003616

Jaysus Borg you really are in wind up everyone mode today ...:D

I see you having great fun with EAS on another thread ... good luck with that ... meanwhile the poor original poster must be thinking we're a bunch of grumpy old men ...

... If you need ANY books to figure out how to use ANY software package then you ARE a dummy!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭B0rG

OMG, you've seen through my plan...

I just have a thing about "... for dummies" books. I went to BBarnes & Noble the other day and saw the whole stand of "J2EE in comics" books - I run away scared. May be some day I'll be brave enuff to come back and take a picture of that stand...

B0rG wrote:
    OMG, you've seen through my plan...

keep up the good work mate ... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Thanks for the feedback whether good, bad or sarcastic - the one I want is on the list irrespective!!