Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

William Hill Gods of Poker - Chief Brody

• 17-10-2006 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

Chief kicked off today at 12 noon. Any news on how many ppl he has knocked out yet? Anywhere where I can get updates on this?

ty,

BCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

i checked the blonde forum and couldnt see anything.

however i did find this

http://www.blondepoker.com/index.php?q=node/3995

legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

http://www.williamhillpoker.com/tournaments_grand_prix_2006_qualifiers.htm

Anthony McConnell

Nickname - chief brody

Qualified - 8th September in Fitzwilliam offline satellite

Age - Unknown

Occupation - Former builder

Poker experience - 1 year

Other information - Anthony has a lifetime of card game play behind him, but he only discoved poker about a year ago. In that time he's mainly played tournaments at the Fitzwilliam Club in Dublin - ideal live experience for his trip to Cardiff.

Anthony's nickname stems from his similarity with the character from Jaws - quite appropriate when he's swimming with the big sharks at the Grand Prix.

Good man Rounders lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

they are usually under strict instructions to keep the results of these heats quiet until its shown on the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭spectre

sendic wrote:

however i did find this

legend

Money, fame and women. The Chief has it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

BigDragon wrote:

Good man Rounders lol

TY!. Chief Brody reached across the table to shake my hand when i introduced myself as the one who named him at the boards €200 game before giving pppspecial a bit of a ribbing!. "I thor it was him" he said!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

TY!. Chief Brody reached across the table to shake my hand when i introduced myself as the one who named him at the boards €200 game before giving pppspecial a bit of a ribbing!. "I thor it was him" he said!.
    I know I was sitting between the two of youse. Rock to the left of me Joker to my right, :rolleyes: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

sendic wrote:

however i did find this

legend

im thinking of starting a poll:

if you were offered a chance to sleep with the people in this picture....but you HAD to sleep with all 3, would you do it!? :D

karlh wrote:

if you were offered a chance to sleep with the people in this picture....but you HAD to sleep with all 3, would you do it!? :D

You sick fcuk:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

karlh wrote:

I know you would. :rolleyes:

NickyOD wrote:
    I know you would. :rolleyes:

In fairness you'd be nearly priced in!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

karlh wrote:

mmmmmm Evelina and Rowena........ I'd have to tell the Chief that Jaws was on the prowl again to distract him.

He told me last Friday that he wasn't playing unti; ThursdaY????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

http://www.williamhillpoker.com/tournaments_grand_prix_2006_heats.htm
    Heat B (Tuesday 17th October)

1. Barny Boatman
    2. Surinder Sunar
    3. Liam Flood
    4. Jeff Lisandro
    5. Julian Thew
    6. Paul Jackson
    7. Anthony McConnell (Qualifier)
    8. Brian Cassidy (Qualifier)

also found this.
    News - 11th September (http://www.williamhillpoker.com/tournaments_grand_prix_2006.htm)

Former builder Anthony McConnell has only been playing tournaments for a year, although he's been "a card player all his life". His aggressive play saw him score his biggest win by far at the Fitzwilliam Card Club, Dublin.

Anthony admitted, "I had a few hands that I played the best, but I also got lucky a few times too - that's poker, you've got to be brave if you want to win anything. I have a naturally aggressive game and I'm very much looking forward to facing the big pros in the Grand Prix II."

Read more about our Qualifiers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Any updates on this, any reports at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

sendic wrote:
    http://www.williamhillpoker.com/tournaments_grand_prix_2006_heats.htm
    Heat B (Tuesday 17th October)

1. Barny Boatman
    2. Surinder Sunar
    3. Liam Flood
    4. Jeff Lisandro
    5. Julian Thew
    6. Paul Jackson
    7. Anthony McConnell (Qualifier)
    8. Brian Cassidy (Qualifier)

Read more about our Qualifiers

That is quite the heat, love to see how they react to been chiefed!

i heard a great conversation (audience) with the Chief in the SE on Sunday. Some guy in the cash game was asking about the Grand Prix and the Chief said he'd heard of one of the guys in his heat.

'Flood, yeah, he come comes in here a lot....plays a lot of the big tewernaments!'

His bemused opponent:

'no not Liam Flood, he's a bleedin' buukie!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

karlh wrote:
    i heard a great conversation (audience) with the Chief in the SE on Sunday. Some guy in the cash game was asking about the Grand Prix and the Chief said he'd heard of one of the guys in his heat.

'Flood, yeah, he come comes in here a lot....plays a lot of the big tewernaments!'

His bemused opponent:

'no not Liam Flood, he's a bleedin' buukie!'

here lads i was in the SE sitting beside anto [chief] the other night in cash game, says to me after bluffin a big pot " i love watching the fear in their eyes :eek: " Scary stuff, if u ask me he will do well over there,
    come on the CHIEF !!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Spiritus

donkey.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Relax with the self commentary Ken. This thread is about the Chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

karlh wrote:

Here's another choice. All three as above or SHELLEY MULLET here

http://www.williamhillpoker.com/tournaments_grand_prix_2006_qualifiers.htm

i'll go for the Mullet-Chief sandwich.

bottomfeeder - was that you on the chief's right who had your set of 3s raped by a Chief gutshot on the river?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I rang William Hills this morning to get the result. They said that they cannot announce the winners. Apparently the Chief was 7/2 in running yesterday (unconfirmed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

I've been meaning to post this.

I had a 'chat' with the cheif on friday. He was talking to me about the boards tourney. During the talk he basically accused both Dave Masters, and HJ of taking "mind enhancing drugs", "smoking the hash, you know". "It helps you know. I saw Dave make a call with a pair of 3s you know. I've seen him fold a pair of jacks or a pair of queens to big bets from me, and he calls a guy with a pair of 3s!? Its not just the things I saw at the table, but the stuff I saw away from the table too." When I tried to explain that its hardly gonna make a difference he was saying: "Of course it does, its illegal you know."

LOL

Disclaimer: This is a rough approximation of the conversation as I can't remember it word for word.

yeah, HJ was smoking a rolly at one of the breaks and the Chief accused him of taking drugs.

He then said with pride - "i don't need stuff like that, I make my own inside me!".

deep words indeed.

karlh wrote:
    yeah, HJ was smoking a rolly at one of the breaks and the Chief accused him of taking drugs.

He then said with pride - "i don't need stuff like that, I make my own inside me!".

deep words indeed.

Did you ask him if you could roll one up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

surreal - the legend grows

Ian, any chance of texting the Chief to see how he's getting on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

karlh wrote:

I was going to start a snooty thread asking why every 2nd post on the forum seems to be about this bloke, and could people put it on the BB thread instead.

However, I've changed my mind, this is top notch stuff.
    Keep those anecdotes coming, quality.

As we stood eating finger food at the break the Chief comes over.

"I knocked a fella out there last hand before the break. lost the Fcukin head he did lol. What the Fcuk does he think this game is..... jasus. He gets knocked out and says thats bull**** that is. lol ya know like".

-Chief Brody-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

BigDragon wrote:
    Anthony McConnell
    Nickname - chief brody
    Qualified - 8th September in Fitzwilliam offline satellite
    Age - Unknown
    Occupation - Former builder
    Poker experience - 1 year

Builder? Plumber would be nearer the mark. I saw him call two all-in players with A6 in the boards.ie game.

Those pros might need psychiatric help after a few hours of the Chief's bets and calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

you forgot... not only called the 2 all guys with A6 but knocked them out as well.........

well the original chief brody was a fisherman of sorts.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭spectre

Macspower wrote:
    you forgot... not only called the 2 all guys with A6 but knocked them out as well.........

well the original chief brody was a fisherman of sorts.........

ehh, no he didn't, Kpnuts trippled up and a young guy with AK won the side pot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

sorry just assuming the usual. turn 6 river 6...................

no it wasn't me,, but it doesnt surprise me to hear it.
    good oul chief..... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

Another one on the lift going back to the boards game after he busting some poor sod..

Chief :" the pros tell you ,its easy win with good cards - its winning with bad cards that make a good player. thats all i do.Mad Marty told my that "

legend in the making

i swear i'm not joking, I think the Chief is a good cash game player.

karlh wrote:
    i swear i'm not joking, I think the Chief is a good cash game player.

Lol. The Chiefs downfall is the cash game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

no news on how our hero did then?

sikes wrote:
    no news on how our hero did then?

he didn't win

but was CL with 4 remaining and had the pros "worried"

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Source??

the horse's arse

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I have nothing much to add to this thread except I would like to say,Karl you are a sick sick man.

ok everyone, does anyone know for sure how he's done.....
    sorry to be askin the same question but its killing me to know... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

he went out in 4th

with 5 players left he had half the chips in play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

he went out in 4th

with 5 players left he had half the chips in play.

93296381_c16982d1b5_m.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Fair play to him, hope he comes off well on the box, will be a great watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Liam Flood got chiefed?? Poor man probably didn't know what hit him.

Can't wait to watch this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I can't wait to watch this, going to be some prime televisial entertainment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

any idea when this will be televised?

LuckyLloyd wrote:

And yes - 80,000 chips in play, Tony had "around 40,000" with 4 left. He seemed quite down about blowing it. "Listen to me, In life you only get one chance - this was mine". I didn't quite know what to say to that to be fair.

Genius.