Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 14th

• 14-10-2006 9:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭

I got word for harrington in the 4.00 at cork,16/1 on pp. has only ever ran once and came nowere, but as we know how corrupt irish raceing is i wouldnt put it past her to romp it.

p.s Cmon the tubber.... tis her last race under current ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

My Lucky 15 for today at Newmarket:

14:10 Killybegs 6/1.......dropping back in distance will suit
    15:30 Pride 11/4..........should've won the Arc, fitter than Sir Percy, and ground in her favour too
    16:10 Teofilo 6/4.........Bolger reckons he's the best he has ever trained, good enough for me
    17:55 Stage Gift 11/4...ground against him, but this distance is ideal and had a decent run a few weeks back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

notnowcato (3.30 nmkt)
    rob roy e/w

diamond josh (7.30 wolv)

satchem (2.10 nmkt)

the lord (catterick 3.15)

jordans elect e/w (5.35 catt)

teofilo is unproven on soft ground...holy roman emperor gets the nod for the 4.10
    adagio e/w as well

gamb1or wrote:
    teofilo is unproven on soft ground...holy roman emperor gets the nod for the 4.10

don't want to nitpick, but I will !! Holy Roman Emperor is even more unproven on soft ground !
    The last time they met it was on the yielding side of good and Teofilo came out on top.

Thats not to say Holy Roman Emperor wont win today !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Got a big big tip for pendergast in the last race at cork Boca Dancer!! gettin backed on all sites so get on early!!!!

scargill wrote:
    don't want to nitpick, but I will !! Holy Roman Emperor is even more unproven on soft ground !
    The last time they met it was on the yielding side of good and Teofilo came out on top.

Thats not to say Holy Roman Emperor wont win today !

it won back in july on good/soft ground...sam ground as today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Quito e/w for me in the 2.10 @ 50/1

Fancy Key Time and Teofilo later on as well.

Heading out, no time for write up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Apart from the Champion Stakes, I'll be doing Makderah e/w in the 2:10, Strategic Prince e/w in the 4:10 and Finsceal Beo in the 4:45.
    sjones wrote:
    Heading out, no time for write up!.
    What he said.

gamb1or wrote:
    it won back in july on good/soft ground...sam ground as today.

July ? at the Curragh - surely that was good to firm ??

http://horses.sportinglife.com/Racecards/0,12495,211814,00.html

click on holy roman emperor...good/soft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

scargill wrote:
    July ? at the Curragh - surely that was good to firm ??

It was. HRE has never raced on soft ground. Good to Yielding was the closest he came, when Teofilo beat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Im really depressed...I stayed at home with the oul man and watched united beat wigan 3-1 :) , couldnt find anyone (by phone) that was in town to back Detroit City for me. Was going to put €40 win on it :( sure bet

gamb1or wrote:

That's today's card. :confused:

I think Pride will win the big one today, more to offer than the youngster Sir Percy

click on holy emperors name...shows you his previous results along with how the going was etc...

according to that site the ground was good/soft

Trilla wrote:
    I think Pride will win the big one today, more to offer than the youngster Sir Percy

notnowcato...i'm telling yas

gamb1or wrote:
    so it says on the sportinglife website, but I had a look at the racing post website...

01Oct06 Lon...7Gd....2yG1,137K..9-0..1/9
    17Sep06 Cur...7Gd/Y.2yG1,124K..9-1..2/6
    13Aug06 Cur...6GF....2yG1,122K..9-1..1/7
    02Jul06 Cur....6GF.....2yG2,51K...9-1..1/9
    20Jun06 Asc...6GF...2yG2,45K....9-1..15/21
    07Jun06 Leo...6Gd...2y,8K.........9-3..1/9

so one of them is wrong !!

It doesnt matter anyway - they are both top class horses and todays ground wont be an excuse for either one.

According to the RP, the ground was good to firm that day.

Trilla wrote:

Ah here, theres a 9/2 7/2 double i missed out on.

I give up!!!

what a race that was !! Teofilo got a smoother passage through the race than HRE who had to do a lot of weaving through the field. best finish I've seen this year!!

The Dewhurst was a great spectacle. Tremendous finish. HRE certainly covered more ground than Teofilo and lost momentum when Kinane snatched him to the right 2f out but who's to say Teofilo wouldn't have won anyway? (Me, for one.) Personally, I'd side with HRE in mile races next year on good or better ground but Teofilo on softer ground or over further.

But if a deal has already been agreed (or will be agreed) for Coolmore to buy Teofilo, they mightn't race each other again anyway.

As I thought he would, Strategic Prince finished best of the British-trained runners in 3rd but how about Haatef, Prendergast's runner, who finished well in 4th on the back of just a maiden win. Definitely one to watch.

Finsceal Beo hacking up in the Rockfel was an enjoyable watch too.

scargill wrote:
    My Lucky 15 for today at Newmarket:

14:10 Killybegs 6/1.......dropping back in distance will suit
    15:30 Pride 11/4..........should've won the Arc, fitter than Sir Percy, and ground in her favour too
    16:10 Teofilo 6/4.........Bolger reckons he's the best he has ever trained, good enough for me
    17:55 Stage Gift 11/4...ground against him, but this distance is ideal and had a decent run a few weeks back
    Good work scargill. Very close to getting the four of them up.
    Goldcupfav wrote:
    Got a big big tip for pendergast in the last race at cork Boca Dancer!! gettin backed on all sites so get on early!!!!
    Nice one. I didn't back it because there was a late gamble on an O'Brien second-string, which is always scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Hope everyone was on Boca Dancer in the last at Cork!! Won easy!!!
    Also had a nice trixie with harrys dream teofilo and finsceal beo!!
    Nice days profit!!

Well done guys.

thanks goldcupfav - I gave a friend a ring earlier on about it and he rang the jockey and he said that Boca Dancer was strongly fancied and was certain the horse would at least place. managed to get 6/1 before the off. cheers !

I have also put it in a small e/w double with another fancied horse in Wolverhampton at 9pm called Wasalat - well backed all day apparantly. a friend who works in a bookies texted me about it this morning - have no other info about it.

was unlucky with my lucky 15, 3 out 4 typical for me with these bets !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Some good tipping here yesterday lads. Well done. :)