Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How is your Friday 13th going?

• 13-10-2006 8:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Mine is going pretty crazy. Basically our system is totally down in work. We cannot do any work today at all. My mate got taxed 500 euro because the tax office are convinced he has never worked in this country before. I love Friday 13th. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Everything is fine here, dont think anything is going to go wrong either. I'm not supersticious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

you cant do any work ? but you can surf the net ?? yeah right !

anyway - surely gamblers dont believe in luck/bad luck ?!

I feel sick as a dog and I've tons of notes to catch up on

on the plus side my 21st celebration part 2 is tomorrow and I just found out my grant arrived today!! so im good :D

I didn't even realise today was friday 13th til I saw this :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Spiffy. the local Spar had a big giant basket of fresh scones this morning, which they never do normally, so this whole bad luck thing is a big malarky.

Although, I'll probably bite into my scone and find a finger or something.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

people are only affected by fri the 13th as they cannot concentrate on anything but the fact that its friday the 13th and something bad is gonna happen to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

scargill wrote:
    you cant do any work ? but you can surf the net ?? yeah right !

anyway - surely gamblers dont believe in luck/bad luck ?!

I believe in luck/bad luck. I'm jinxed. Just ask fade2black!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

****e but then the whole week has been so I can't really blame it on the 13th:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

My parents gave me lecture that lasted an entire 45 minute journey about how protein shakes will kill me thanks to that spanner on the Gerry Ryan show yesterday morning.

**** you gerry ryan

other then that its going pretty fine so far, but it is only 10am

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

So far I was stuck in traffic for what seemed like an eternity and was late for work.. :o And I have a hangover but can't really blame that on bad luck since it was self inflicted :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

pretty much the same as Friday last week and the week before

except i got to work in record time this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Mossy Monk wrote:
    pretty much the same as Friday last week and the week before

except i got to work in record time this morning

Ditto! (Kev HighFives MossyMonk!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

HavoK wrote:
    My parents gave me lecture that lasted an entire 45 minute journey about how protein shakes will kill me thanks to that spanner on the Gerry Ryan show yesterday morning.

Haha, got the same speil from my Mother, although she just didn't want me on anything other than Protein (Creatine etc...).

Oh, and Friday 13th is going just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

a bottle of water burst in my bag this morning, and my notes are wrecked. not only that, but my mp3 charger is soaking, and im afraid to use it.

i should've listened to that gypsy fortune teller:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

a bottle of water burst in my bag this morning, and my notes are wrecked. not only that, but my mp3 charger is soaking, and im afraid to use it.

i should've listened to that gypsy fortune teller:(

Ouch! Oh man that does suck. At least your mp3 player wasn't in the bag though!
    My mate just called me from Galway. He just got clamped. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I didn't realise it was Friday 13th until about half an hour ago. Since then I am sitting under my desk with my laptop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

A system went down here in work and I've spent till now getting it back up and running.

Everyone was very pleased with me with I got it live again.

Managed to drop a bowl while getting my breakfast but luckily it didn't break.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I love Friday the 13th as it is always a lucky day for me. To emphasis that i found a 20euro note on the walk to work this morning.

Tasty. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Nothing out of the ordinary so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Doesnt bother me either. Was born on a friday 13th so it was a damn lucky day for my parents :D

Just remembered the password to my database i had been locked out of for days. i would have had to make a new one if i hadnt cracked it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Problems in work today as well. Phones not working, doesnt really affect me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭trilo

Ahhh friday the 13th. Well this morn i didnt get up till 10, now im sitting in my sitting room with a nice cup of tea and still in my Pj's.:D
    How are ye all at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Oh, Holy Sh1t! SJones, why did you have to point this out to me?
    I've volunteered to work in an area today that I've only had a day's training for!

Now I'm terrified! Friday the 13th!:eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

A. Got up this morn, no hang over, took my time getting into work, no one noticed i was late ( was actually one of the first in, staff party last night) The day is going swimmingly so far and i finish an hour early :D

I wonder if I take the system offline and use the excuse "Ah sure its the day that's in it" would it be okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Budd

My sister has just been diagnosed with breast cancer.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Lost my Seiko kinetic watch that I have had for 7 years, really annoying...mucho sentimental value associated with it.

EDIT: just saw your post Budd, sorry about your sister, hope she recovers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

i'm still in bed, so its going well so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 lidgend

tis friday is d same as ne other, borin, thought something weird wud hapen but no, college is still stupid may find drink quick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Girls in work's friends' mother died :(

lidgend wrote:
    tis friday is d same as ne other, borin, thought something weird wud hapen but no, college is still stupid may find drink quick

Eh?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Wee hours in OC. Cannot sleep. Naaa, nothing to do with the 13th. Not superstitious. Probably drank too much java earlier. Looking forward to the weekend just like most everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

lidgend wrote:

Sweet jesus - the boys possessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Sorry to hear about tha Budd. Don't worry, she'll pull through :)

My day is actually going great. One of the directors in work wants my opinion on how to improve the place. Found €50 on the way to work. My new kickass phone arrived and I met an absolutely stunningly beautiful girl who asked me out. There's obviously something wrong with her, but as long as I don't find out about it till after today then the day is going grand! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Leave him alone he's obviously just a child!

i'm not possesed, just havent had a drink in a few weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

lidgend wrote:

if it's boring why dont you learn to spell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭punky

Well, besides being chased by a lunatic in a ski-mask, things are going just spiffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭the-ging

Ditto! (Kev HighFives MossyMonk!)

Me Too...

(HighFives Everybody)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭trivium

its my birthday today:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

trivium wrote:
    its my birthday today:D
    Congrats!

Sure isn't Friday 13th only old wives tales anyway? (knocks on wood)
    Or perhaps a devious Roman Criminal Catholic invention - see other thread in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Got up slightly earlier than usual, had a nice breakfast which I rarely do, got into college on time.

But then DISASTER struck!
    When I was playing golf against my friend on his phone, I LOST, by a few hundred points.

Luckily, that class ended an hour early, and now I've taken the rest of the day off to recover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

I am menstruating. It is not a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

I am having a bad face day and a fat day all in one and have just spend an hour and a half on to a customer whose entire purpose was to torment me. I got quite agitated but had to remain nice to him so ended up breaking a pen in half so my colleagues now think im a mentaller......am supposed to go to the hair dresser tongiht but dread to think what will happen there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I got refunded 350euro by DCU this morning, the milk wasnt gone off, i found a croissant, Eason's have the book i want (and its signed by the author :)) and my CD player started working this morning...

It can't last, but for now... YIPEE!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Mental. Walking down town for lunch today I've met 5 people one after other, who I haven't seen for years! One of whom I've been actively trying to get in contact with for the last year! An old flame, we'll say..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Rhyme wrote:
    I got refunded 350euro by DCU this morning, the milk wasnt gone off, i found a croissant, Eason's have the book i want (and its signed by the author :)) and my CD player started working this morning...

It can't last, but for now... YIPEE!!

Maybe you shouldn't eat that croissant!

Dan133269 wrote:
    Maybe you shouldn't eat that croissant!

I was thinking the same thing. I have moved most of the stuff out of my apartment today and nothing has gone wrong. I say today, it was half an hour over lunch. Its taken two weeks to get this far.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I just got a text from my sister saying happy friday 13th. Now I know that that is the date, that is all that happened.

I didn't even realise today was friday the 13th. Screw it, I didn't even realise today was friday

<shrugs>

It's going like any other day, bar for the fact the dog I've had for 14 years might be put to sleep today. But I heard that yesterday, so it probably doesnt count.

This day is the best ever. Found out one of the lads has a birthday next week (piss up), I've no college next Friday (yippee), grant has come through (now means I'm loaded) and nothing bad has happened to me yet though i should wait until the day is over before i get carried away. Bugger that I am very happy.