Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what did you do for your 21st????

• 12-10-2006 8:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

Hi all

Its my 21st bday on saturday(Yay)Having a BIG party with friends and family!

Just wondering how you all celebrated your 21st and any funny stories to get me in the mood id love 2 hear em!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

Aw! Happy 21st Pepper! I was a mom and a wife at 21, but my friends had a massive party for me. Don't really remember much about it though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead went to see a band called Pet Lamb in Dundalk and got sick all over the singers mic stand. Wasn't drunk but pretended I was because they were tough looking fcukers and I think he might have bashed my haead in otherwise. Cracking night apart from the vomiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Alot of people seem to go for house parties these days. Personally I'm more inclines to the traditional shindig of a function room, with baby pictures all over the walls and the grannies dancing to ABBA and the Y.M.C.A. etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Pet Lamb? Long time since I heard them.

My 21st was a blur as it was the same weekend of finishing fourth year exams in college. Last exam was on Friday, and my 21st was on a Sunday. Was in the Western Star near UCC (if it still exists) for the entire weekend.

Apparently I told quite a few people exactly what I thought of them, and have not been invited to any college reunions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

Pighead wrote:
    Pighead went to see a band called Pet Lamb in Dundalk and got sick all over the singers mic stand. Wasn't drunk but pretended I was because they were tough looking fcukers and I think he might have bashed my haead in otherwise. Cracking night apart from the vomiting.
    EEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWW thats pleasant!!!:p

Alot of people seem to go for house parties these days. Personally I'm more inclines to the traditional shindig of a function room, with baby pictures all over the walls and the grannies dancing to ABBA and the Y.M.C.A. etc...

if they put baby pics of me all over d wall ill cry

No YMCA for us- More like"come on eileen"by dexys midnight runners
    My mams name is eileen- and she ALWAYS hits the floor when it comes on

OH THE MORTIFICATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

pepper wrote:
    EEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWW thats pleasant!!!:p

Pighead is preparing you for what could/will happen. :)

Yeah its in the Official 21st Party Rulebook.
    Thou will puke vast amounts of lumpy liquid.

Its right underneath the rule that states: Thou shalt lock lips with loads of ugly chancers who will be exploiting the 21 kisses rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Pighead wrote:

Who's Pighead?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Pighead wrote:
    Yeah its in the Official 21st Party Rulebook.
    Thou will puke vast amounts of lumpy liquid.

Its right underneath the rule that states: Thou shalt lock lips with loads of ugly chancers who will be exploiting the 21 kisses rule.
    opps i forgot about that!!!!! ah ill have all my brothers there to save me if that happens!!!

Suppose i should expect the puking!!My mams EXACT defination of the party was" we plan to give u such a good time you wont wake up till sunday"

Ok then!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D
    I wont complian!!!!:p

Gandhi wrote:
    Pet Lamb? Long time since I heard them.
    Did Pighead say Pet Lamb? Eh sorry my mistake, obviously it was the Sugababes I meant to say. Ok? Now leave it. I'm not old and thats the end of it.

I had my 21st at my family home. Loads of people from college and work came to it. My parents paid for their taxis to pick them up. Had dinners all prepared for all of them, and alot of alcohol. It went on til about 8 the following morning. Was so much fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I think I went to the cinema or something... I can't remember what the film was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I went to Spain with my boyfriend for a week so my mother couldnt throw that "surprise party" she'd been threatening me with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

My 21st is coming up in a few months (yes, I'm one of the younger ones on the forum... :rolleyes: ). I'm not into the "Big party" scene, so will probably just have a get-together with some friends to celebrate.

I think I went to the cinema or something... I can't remember what the film was.
    It was obviously a momentous occasion in your life so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

My actual birthday was on a Wednesday so I just went out with my family that night and celebrated dad and my birthday (his birthday was on the Friday). On dads birthday I went out with my friends to a really nice resteraunt, I drank for the first time in my life but was fine the following day.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

How would they remember? Would they still be conscious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Nightwish wrote:
    I went to Spain with my boyfriend for a week so my mother couldnt throw that "surprise party" she'd been threatening me with.

I decided to avoid my 'surprise' 21st party too when I got wind of it as I'm not very fond of organised fun. I was going to invent some sort of mystery illness so I couldn't go out, I could just have a quiet night in with a couple of close friends. Ironically, I got a particularly nasty kidney infection and spent the day of my 21st (and the day after) in hospital. Serves me right for lying really :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I have 2 years to plan mine yet....and I'll probably end up doing something so hugely insignificant it wouldn't even warrant a decent saturday night let alone a 21st.

How would they remember? Would they still be conscious?
    How would who remember? Would who still be conscious? Are you babbling again Lagoon?

Pighead is gonna pop into the Pyjama skanger thread now and I'm gonna ask a random question for no apparent reason, to demonstrate to you the confusion it causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

i went to hospital with pneumonia on my 21st so u should probably avoid that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

tintinr35 wrote:
    i went to hospital with pneumonia on my 21st so u should probably avoid that ;)

Awww that's no fun! :( I'm not one to plan big events out like this (if something happens, it happens... I'm spontaneous)... but I can tell you this: I just hope I'm not sick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Still have three years to go....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Had a big piss-up in a hired room in a local establishment, had a dance-off, got wasted, went back to a mates gaff and dropped an unopened bottle of Aftershock in the living room (for the best, it might have killed me had I opened it). The floor is still sticky.

Ended the night with a big circle of all my mates jumping around to "Never Forget" by Take That and "We Are The Winners" by LT United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Had a big piss-up in a hired room in a local establishment, had a dance-off, got wasted, went back to a mates gaff and dropped an unopened bottle of Aftershock in the living room (for the best, it might have killed me had I opened it). The floor is still sticky.

Ended the night with a big circle of all my mates jumping around to "Never Forget" by Take That and "We Are The Winners" by LT United.

I atteneded said event and the chorus of LT United brought an emotional tear to the eye.

For mine I had every person I know from college, school, work, football etc down to the local for a party/piss up. Got hammered, hit the nearest nightclub, drank more and then a few hardcores came back to mine for an all nighter. Legendary stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

my girlfriend and family knew it was my 21st and that's it. i mentioned it to a few people a few months later when they asked when my 21st was going to be :D

i hate the idea of 21st's. to make it a "proper" one you have to invite loads of people and i don't like enough people to fill a room*. so i'd spend the night talking to drunken uncles and people i hate then have to make a speech about how much i like them all. no thanks.

and i don't have many female friends so the 21 kisses would have been very homosexual

*except all you boardsies of course ;)

Xavi6 wrote:
    For mine I had every person I know from college, school, work, football etc down to the local for a party/piss up. Got hammered, hit the nearest nightclub, drank more and then a few hardcores came back to mine for an all nighter. Legendary stuff.

Still have no recollection of getting home that night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Got pissed with mates. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'm showing my age here, but I went to Hollywood Nights in Stillorgan. They used to post you out 12 free passes for your birthday and give you a free bottle of champers when you arrived. Then, as per petes, we all got pissed. Can't remember any of it now................

Jebus, that was a long time ago - the next big one is 40 :eek:

I turned 21 on wednesday
    went out to the pub with friends, and am going out again on saturday to cinema and then pub again
    no surprise parties thankfully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I booked out Na Fianna GAA hall, hired a DJ and Karaoke and invited all my friends, family, and work mates to come along. It was one of the best nights ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

just went into town with about 15 mates and got pissed. Didn't want to do the whole book a venue thing. The thoughts of my relatives turning up put me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

bluewolf wrote:
    I turned 21 on wednesday
    went out to the pub with friends, and am going out again on saturday to cinema and then pub again
    no surprise parties thankfully :)
    Belated happy birthday :D

I do like the idea of having a few day party for birthdays, especially your 21st birthday.

CathyMoran wrote:
    Belated happy birthday :D

I do like the idea of having a few day party for birthdays, especially your 21st birthday.
    One was for college friends, the next will be for other friends and possibly a few boardsies :D
    thanks to all my friends being older than me, I've been to the kind of 21sts where it's a big rented hall/room with a dj and family and friends and I knew there was no way I wanted that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Oh, he's not around boards today, so I will tell my BF's 21st story for him, I am sure he won't mind :p

My BF's family moved to South Africa nearly 3 years ago, and he stayed here to finish college, but this meant that they weren't around for his 21st - so I wanted to make it really special for him.

I am from Dublin, but at the time, my BF lived in Portarlington.

So, I arranged with a friend of his who had the lease on one of the pubs down there, to book out the entire place.
    He helped me to book a band, and then we started inviting people along, his cousin gave me all his anutie's and uncles contact details, and his friends passed the word to anyone I couldn't get through to, I also managed to convince some of the college crew to go, and just sure they kept the whole thing a secret.

On the day of his birthday, I told him I would be arriving in Portarlington at 8, but I really arrived at 6, and made me way to the venue, to decorate it.

I remember a few auld lads, sitting in the pubs, drinking their pints, as I ran about the place, trying to get balloons to stick to walls with sticky tape (as I forgot to buy thumb tacks) and not burst in the process.

Anyhow, as soon as the room was done I had to make my way back tot he station for 8, as my BF always collected me from the station.

One of his mates drove me down, and we actually passed him on the way there, I had to duck down so he wouldn't see me!!

It was lashing rain, I was drenched and wrecked, and had to act all chirpy!

So we went back to his house, and I gave him all his presents, and some birthday kisses, of course.

At about 9pm it was time to go out, and we decided to take him on a pub crawl - not cos we actually wanted to go on a pub crawl, but because we were waiting for everyone to arrive at the pub.

I had my eye on my mobile the whole time, texting furiously to see what was going on.

Eventually, everything was ready, and we nearly dragged him from one pub, and bate him all the way to the one his party was in.

Have to say, the look on his face as he entered the pub, and realised that everyone was there for him - well, it was way better then any present anyone could ever give me - it was priceless! - Well worth the effort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

I had 2 parties, 3 days in a row in 2 different parts of the country.
    First was a surprise nightclub event with Everyone from work. Balloons and everything. (We know that balloons are the internnational sign for "pahtay ovah heeya!")
    Travelled home the next day to have a house party that lasted sat/sun.
    Karaoke too. I can remember a congo line all through the house doing the walk of life......

Ended the night with a big circle of all my mates jumping around to "Never Forget" by Take That and "We Are The Winners" by LT United.[/QUOTE]

take that? ok!!!!!!!!!!!:confused:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I just went for dinner with a few friends and then out on the tear in Temple Bar, twas a good night, what I remember of it :D

pepper wrote:
    take that? ok!!!!!!!!!!!:confused:

Not just "Take That"! "Never Forget"

Listen to the words man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

yeah my 21st was a few months ago, didnt do anything, dont have enough mates to justify a function room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Night before birthday went into Town and got wasted. Next day had a bouncy castle out the back garden, and we all ended up puking our rings in said castle. Ah the memories:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

pepper wrote:
    Hi all

Its my 21st bday on saturday(Yay)Having a BIG party with friends and family!

Just wondering how you all celebrated your 21st and any funny stories to get me in the mood id love 2 hear em!!!!!!!!!!!
    my mom took me to New York for a week :D
    We also had a family dinner out
    And i had a night out with my friends
    ...a three parter!! :D

Happy 21st!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Budd

Had a joint one with a friend and then had a big end of college/I'm 21 pill taking thunder techno blowout in his house and just went on the dole then for the summer. A very, very happy time in my life.

I had a massive party in a local pub! I hired out the lounge part of it and we had a great band and gorgeous food and decorations. It was quite packed though I had grossly underestimated the people who would show!
    Loads of people bought me pressies and I counted 3 black bags the next day with a ton of envelopes the next day!
    I danced the night away with everyone and drank a lot of cocktails and vodka and then the whole family and me and my mate's made our way to a secret all night drinking session after hours in the local football club!
    Best night ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

My 21st was totally mega. I was working in London and on that particular weekend my job involved flying to Botswana via South Africa to pick up a box of mined gems which I had to courier back to London. Once back at the Heathrow arrivals I was (rather embarrassingly) met by about 25 friends who escorted me to a surprise party in town:)