Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving Up - Advice?

• 11-10-2006 11:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭

Ok good people of the motorbike forum I need some advice.

I am currently driving around on a 2005 50cc Yamaha Aerox, I'm a 29yo male, 1 years no claim and and have a full B licence.

I plan to move up to something like this
    CB475092.jpg
    Its a Suzuki Marauder 125 cc. Now I'll need to do a theory test (never did one), get a provisional, buy a bike, get lessons and then finally do a test.

Anyone got any advice for me with regards to the type of bike i'm looking at, places that do lessons in Dublin etc?

cheers

6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

btw I'm only 5'6" so a low bike like this is good for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

What height are you ?

I drove one of those for a year and because I'm tall (6ft 4) it was a horrible expierience.

Try getting a Honda Varedero instead, its a 125cc and you would probably find it alot more stable.

*edit* just seen your second post.

Still a donkey of a bike, I wouldn't bother if I was you. I found the clutch very buttery and the handling could be compaired to a wet fish on better days.

Anything you'd recommend for a shorter guy, a starter bike as it were. Nothing to Bulky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I have a Varadero for sale *sig, cough*. I love the bike :(

If you want, you can come out to mine and try it out to see if it's too big or bulky for you. The Varadero is intimidating, but a great bike once you're used to it.

Without any source of biase, my first bike was a Marauder, and the Varadero is pretty much superior in every way.

*Edit: Saw your advert.

That kinda bike looks a bit big for my first real bike.

6th wrote:
    *Edit: Saw your advert.

That kinda bike looks a bit big for my first real bike.

In the bike world BIG is BETTER :D

Thats the thing about the Varadildo it actually looks and feels like a big boys bike. I'd recommend that over the Marauder any day.

I'm not too pushed on the "BIG BOYS BIKE" am secure enough not to worry about image too much ... christ i've been on a moped for over a year now!

Anway I like the old look of the Marauder and liek i said its low enough for my height.

Anyone recommend a good place to get lessons and I presume I'd need to have bought the bike first?

Oh and is the waiting list for a test on a bike as long as the car test?

One more, is the theory test different too?

... sorry for all the questions but have to be responsible ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

The Varadero is light but has good weather protection. Looks bigger and heavier than what it is. With one years NCB you could go for a 250 or 400 without paying too much insurance. You'll appreciate the extra power on bigger roads but I'm sure you're used to dealing with cars overtaking you after the 50cc. You should look at the dragstar or even something like a cg125.

ISM do motorcycle lessons but they can be hit and miss depending on the instructor. IRTA are excellent and always get highly recommended. Don't forget ask about some gear especially trousers/boots as your legs are a bit more exposed than on a moped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

I'd have to say, the dragstar 250 is a great bike. I had one for 2 years and the only problem I ever had was a puncher. Its easy to handle for such a bulky low end bike. Its got a good seating position too... I let a 5'2" girl drive it once, so at 5'6" you'll not have a problem. Its got enough power to push 80MHP. So no worries of cars over taking you for the fun of it. There are also bikes like the CB400 and the Hornet which are meant to be good for beginners as well as "the little folk" (IE:Can be lowered easy enough and there are cut out seats that bring down the over all seating hight as well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

6th wrote:
    Anyone recommend a good place to get lessons and I presume I'd need to have bought the bike first?
    Yeah, you do. Better off going for proper biker instruction instead of "riding for the driving test instruction". Check out http://www.irishridertraining.com/
    Oh and is the waiting list for a test on a bike as long as the car test?
    Yeah, the waiting lists are shared with all other vehicles. That said, all of the car tests have been outsourced recently, so you should see the waiting lists slashed.
    One more, is the theory test different too?
    Nope. Same theory test for classes A1, A, B, M & W

If you've already done a theory test for your moped licence, you don't need to do it again.

Cheers for all the tips I have to say I like the look of the yamaha dragstar 125 (want to stay at 125 and move up progressively) some of the other types/styles dont do much for me. So its a Dragstar or a Marauder.

I'd be driving mostly from Tallaght to City Centre and longer trips to Tullamore, Cavan, Wicklow etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

6th wrote:
    want to stay at 125 and move up progressively

That is a sensible plan but, and there always is a but with the DoE test, the only thing is that if you stay at 125 and do your test, you will be stuck on that and have to do another provisional and another test to get something bigger.

Realistically, 125 -> 250 is not a big step and if you can handle one you will handle the other. Weight wise, they are practically identical, The marauder weighs in about 125kg, I cant find any weight specs on a 250, but my 650 weighs 165kg. The only real difference on a cruiser is the top end speed (which is not what you buy a cruiser for).

I would seriously recommend a 250, or at the very least, applying for the A test rather than the A1, and then beg/borrow but not steal a bigger bike for the test.

I started out on a 500.

L.

I think I might go with a 250 so, will think about it over the next couple of days.

Anyone suggest a place to get quoted for insurance. I've been with Aon but only cos they do the mopeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Thats more than likely your only bet. As it will be your first time dirving on a A licance. However you could always try Carol Nash. You never know they might quote you as you have a years NCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I'm about the same height as you and found cruisers the most comfortable, abeit a bit slow compaired to other bike types. But starting out they are perfect - especially as a car driver.
    I went from being a biker to a car driver and the one thing I found hardest to adjust to was the slowness of everything in comparison.

Your 50cc yoke is the bike equivalent of a small car in terms of speed..a bigger bike will be a very different experience - think Opel Corsa -> Porsche 911 in terms of difference in car terms going from a tiny 50cc to a smallish 250cc bike (imho if you have any bike experience at all already just go get a medium sized 400-800cc bike next, just take it easy for the first week or so adjusting to the new acceleration and deceleration and you'll be grand).

Be very very carefull initially starting on the bigger bike, the speed of stopping and starting as well as the far heightened awareness of your surroundings may come as a shock to the system. That said, its exactly that is what makes you feel alive and bike riding so much fun :)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Carole Nash will quote you with no NCB once you're over 25. The test queue is also different to cars, for example Raheny can yield a bike test date in 6 weeks but no way would you get a car test that fast there without a cancellation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Longfield wrote:
    imho if you have any bike experience at all already just go get a medium sized 400-800cc bike next, just take it easy for the first week or so adjusting to the new acceleration and deceleration and you'll be grand).
    50cc moped -> 800cc motorcycle :eek:
    Maybe start with something a little smaller.. 250cc->400cc... Having gears etc., different handling etc. will take quite a bit of getting used to, throw in all that extra power and it's a recipe for disaster.

250cc would be ideal.. You can go for the full license, and are taking a more gradual but progressive approach to learning.

There is no way I would go from a 50cc to anything higher than 250cc. I'm in no rush to join the league of the big boys - sure i'm only a kid of 29 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

you can't go over a 250 without your licence so you are ok there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Dragstar

comer_97 wrote:
    you can't go over a 250 without your licence so you are ok there!

Actually you can - you can drive a Dragstar 650 on a provisional and even a Harley Davidson Fatboy 1350 because of the power to weight ratio.

I started on a 125 Virago and it was very light. Try a 250 or even 400 Dragstar and see what you think. JP Motorcycles in Pearse Street are brilliant for cruisers.

If you're still looking for lessons try www.aaronridertraining.com or ring Peter on 086-1739654. He is brilliant and comes highly recommended on a lot of biker forums - Good luck!

He could also get a Dragstar 1600 :eek:

I think its the biggest bike a provisional licence holder can drive because of the power to weight ratio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

i have a 250 dragstar i might part with :) 2005 fat pipes .. alarm, screams like a hooker in traffic.. savage bike.. i want a 650 now :)

lemme know if ure interested

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    i have a 250 dragstar i might part with :) 2005 fat pipes .. alarm, screams like a hooker in traffic.. savage bike.. i want a 650 now :)

lemme know if ure interested

How would you know what a hooker sounds like ?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

KTRIC wrote:

sutty told me of course :)

now shoudl i get a 650 or go all out mental and buy a 1600

jaysus tis knicker wetting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Dragstar wrote:
    Actually you can - you can drive a Dragstar 650 on a provisional and even a Harley Davidson Fatboy 1350 because of the power to weight ratio.

Actually you might not!

There are some legal mumblings about the restriction being an AND rather than an OR.

Despite it seeming like an OR on the licence, I believe in legislation it is an AND. Therefore, you may legally ride anything with a P/W ratio of less than .16kw/kg AND being less than 25KW in Total.

This legislation is carried across from the Eurocrats, and is in place with an AND in most (if not all) the EU. This is the way it is enforced by the "Factory Restriction" and also why dealer "Restriction" is not accepted by insurance companies.

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

KTRIC wrote:
    especially one in traffic??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

50cc moped -> 800cc motorcycle :eek:
    Maybe start with something a little smaller.. 250cc->400cc... Having gears etc., different handling etc. will take quite a bit of getting used to, throw in all that extra power and it's a recipe for disaster.

250cc would be ideal.. You can go for the full license, and are taking a more gradual but progressive approach to learning.

Going from a nifty 50 to anything is going to be a big change, a little 250 will be just as big a step as to a medium sized 400-800cc bike tbh, and after a week or so the OP will enjoy the extra power ..as long as he respects the bike and doesn't go nuts he'll be fine.

I know several people who started out on Bros 400cc bikes and they turned out fine and the Bros aint no slouch!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's all about choice of bikes.. A GSXR750 is less than 800cc.. :D

True enough... we should all be posting about power, rather than engine capacity anyway.. Technically, he could ride a turbocharged nitrous fueled 1300cc Hayabusa, as long as it was restricted to 33bhp..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

I'll give you some figures to put on all that. ;)

I've just moved from an EVT 4000 (electric, 40cc give or take):
    evt4000eskoter.jpg

to a Benelli Velvet (125cc, Yam Majesty engine/tranny):
    velvet7_thumb.jpg

In my 30s, I'm with AON, was €230 TPFT for the EVT, now close to €600 for the Benelli, on a provisional A with 1 yr NCB.

No big difference in riding at all, just much more acceleration and commuting now feels much safer in traffic. It's just so nice not to bottom out at 30-35 mph anymore, and have plenty left under the hood when you're cruising at 40-45 mph.