Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please don't tell...

• 04-10-2006 7:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭

I just ordered a Canon EF-L USM 4,0/24-105 IS. God if "she who must be obeyed" finds out I'll be hung, drawn and quartered!! :eek:

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭CONMIKE12

Lol Danny,your secret is safe with us,very nice lens.... where'd you order it from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

Oh...that reminds me, I should buy all the stuff I still wanna have before I'm getting married early next year!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

CONMIKE12 wrote:
    Lol Danny,your secret is safe with us,very nice lens.... where'd you order it from?
    Don't ye mean "what camera lense? ;)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Technikdirekt. A friend of mine got one and I'm the jealous type ;) No. Seriously, I played around with it and it is soooo sharp. I loved it. I hope I dont get a bummer.

Dimy wrote:
    Oh...that reminds me, I should buy all the stuff I still wanna have before I'm getting married early next year!! :D

Go for it Dimy!!!

I have decided to sneak in a few lenses before I up grade the camera next year. The odd small parcel arriving shouldn't raise too much suspicion. It wont, will it?? Help my conscience is in turmoil :mad:;):p

abetarrush wrote:
    Don't ye mean "what camera lense? ;)"

Nope. Lenses = plural. Lens = singular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Ahh lovely lens. Good luck hiding it :D

I used to try that but now I don't bother. She knows all too well how to look up where I got it from and how much it cost :D

If it makes you feel any less guilty, I'm now resigned that my Christmas present to myself is going to be a 70-200 f2.8L IS :D

rymus wrote:
    Ahh lovely lens. Good luck hiding it :D

I used to try that but now I don't bother. She knows all too well how to look up where I got it from and how much it cost :D

If it makes you feel any less guilty, I'm now resigned that my Christmas present to myself is going to be a 70-200 f2.8L IS :D

Thanks Rymus. You are good to yourself anen't you. Fair play! We must have a lens swapping meet-up in the New Year. I reckon three weeks in the Alps should give us enough time to test drive the lot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Ahh... might as well call it a month. I decided to be good to myself 'cos if I'm not, then who will be? Gotta take care of no. 1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I'm going to be good to myself when I head over to New York at Xmas. A list of goodies is already starting to grow!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Dundhoone

To my shame , I'm already lying about how much new lenses cost and im only on my third!!! and im not even buying expensive ones!!!
    It can only go downhill from here!
    good luck with the new lens valentia, bring herself on a shopping trip if she notices!!

The bunch of flowers have become a dead giveaway! I'll have to think of something else ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Dimy wrote:

Do it quick, the credit card will be under lock and key after that.:)
    "Yes dear, Im going to mow the lawn now"

Sekrit is safe here. *makes zipped mouth action*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

Valentia wrote:
    I just ordered a Canon EF-L USM 4,0/24-105 IS. God if "she who must be obeyed" finds out I'll be hung, drawn and quartered!! :eek:

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Please?

ha, so funny, I've been there a couple of times myself.

"is that a new lens?"

"errr, no...it's not. It's an old one I've never used before"

"that's what you said last time, how much was that one?"

*runs for the door clutching camera making sure he grabs keys on the way out*

non-photographer partners will never understand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Tell ye what Danny, when the other half is around, send it up here to me, and I'll take care of it. That way she'll never know...

Ahem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Carrigman

The Canon EF-L 24-105 looks like a sweet lens. Well worth the €1050 odd you've paid for it. Tell her you really splashed out and spent €350 on it. Non-photographers have no idea what a lens costs. If challenged, show her the EF-USM 28-105 on Technik's website (€340 odd) as proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Get it delivered to my house and I will drop it up to you :) in a while after I try it out! :)

Carrigman wrote:
    The Canon EF-L 24-105 looks like a sweet lens. Well worth the €1050 odd you've paid for it. Tell her you really splashed out and spent €350 on it. Non-photographers have no idea what a lens costs. If challenged, show her the EF-USM 28-105 on Technik's website (€340 odd) as proof.

This is indeed a wonderful forum You lot are so understanding ;)

Carrigman, ironically that is the lens I am replacing and in regard to not understanding real cost, neither do Customs as I discovered when I got stuff awhile back from Hong Kong :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

/drool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

I got married in July, had been saving a bit for a Nikon D2x but now trying to pluck up the courage to go out and spend that amount of money with herself finding out is proving difficult.

Sorry honey, no holiday this year, but I did get a brand new camera............doesn't go down too well!

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

This thread belongs in PI :p

Roen wrote:

LOL :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Roen wrote:

Are you saying I have Issues???? Huh? Huh???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

I've succumbed too - after looking at the 20D and 30D and their price-tags for a year (as replacement for my 50D), I've ordered a 400D. I figure it's plenty of camera for my ability and leaves me an upgrade route in two years or so when I can easier-ly justify the purchase (maybe). Now I'm waiting for the CompactFlash card I ordered with it to come into stock.

To get back on topic in the PI-destined thread, I figure that when asked, I'll say the depreciation per year will be less than I was spending on film+developing and I'll get more use and enjoyment out of it. And if that's not good enough I could always mention the amount of clothes and cosmetics I've bought and hardly used or never worn...

Well the lens is in stock and on it's way at last. The price has dropped by €40 and fair play to the Technik people they changed the invoice :-). I am collecting a second hand Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro tomorrow too. I may as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Oh dear.....

55973af03cf737b99dd8.jpg

to the lot of you!!
    Roen wrote:
    This thread belongs in PI
    I concur! Sorry but... :D

Congrats on the lens though, nice choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Actually... try:
    How much was that handbag again dear?

(just hide the camera/lens when you say that to her, unless you want to be sending it to ISS to be fixed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Valentia wrote:
    Well the lens is in stock and on it's way at last. The price has dropped by €40 and fair play to the Technik people they changed the invoice :-). I am collecting a second hand Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro tomorrow too. I may as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb!!

Congratulations on your new acquisitions. Hope to see the results soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

L Glass
    th_24105.jpg

mmmmmm :)

So you live in Clonmel yeah...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

hmmm..
    the words of defience by then NRA president Charlton (moses) Heston spring to mind
    goes something like "pry it from my cold, dead hands".

bring it on!! :)

Where's my ninja outfit gone...