Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Man St. Anthony

• 04-10-2006 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Its a strange fact in our family that when my mam prays to St. Anthony because she has lost something it always does the trick.
    I lost an mp3 player with a fortune worth of music on it at the weekend , having looked everywhere I had given up and mentioned it to her. Im not very religious myself so I asked her to say a prayer. So she did and an hour later this morning I got a text to say a friend had found the mp3 player in a bizarre place.!!
    Does anyone elses mam use St. Anthony to help them find things and does it work for yours too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Your friend would have found the Mp3 player regardless of whether your mam prayed or not. Fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Well, I'm not religious either, but Jaysus man! Talk about p***ing on a parade!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Busterpuss

hi, the bfs mother always prays to him, she goes to the church in clane if she can put her hand on what she has lost after a few days and on numerous occassions has put her hand on it when she gets back. She always always always gets it back.
    I have never done it but i dont usually lose stuff but i deffo would. I prayed to St. Jude once, he is supposedly the patron saint of lost causes or like situations you can see no way out of and i thought there was absolutely no way out, couldnt see the light at the end of the tunnel at all and i got out of it. thankfully. im not hugely religious or anything but it does work in my exp

chamlis wrote:
    Well, I'm not religious either, but Jaysus man! Talk about p***ing on a parade!

Not a big fan of superstition or religion tbh! I could be all nice, but then I'd be lying. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Your friend would have found the Mp3 player regardless of whether your mam prayed or not. Fact.

either way, i'd like to thank St. Martin in advance for all help recieved during my forthcoming driving test.

right thats my side of the deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Not a big fan of superstition or religion tbh! I could be all nice, but then I'd be lying. :)

Fair enough! Man of principle. I like that. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

My Mam is obsessed with St. Anthony and he has never let her down. If she loses something she will say "St. Anthony seek, St. Anthony find etc." and I'm a witness that she has always found things. Just a big coincidence I'd say but still at least she gets comfort in her faith and it all ends happily. She regularly lights candles in the church next to his statue & as I said in another thread she left her purse by the statue's feet once which had €300+ in it & despite being gone around 15 mins & thinking she had left it in the supermarket rather than the church she prayed to St. Anthony & sure enough when she went down to the church it was still there. She was very grateful to St. Anthony that day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Have a friend who uses a crystal to find things. She ask if it's in such and such a room depending on what way it swings (no jokes please :D !) that's how she finds it. Hasn't failed once.

Their is a certain power in prayer, if you could call it that, put I put it more down to strength of will than anything else.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Have a friend who uses a crystal to find things. She ask if it's in such and such a room depending on what way it swings (no jokes please :D !) that's how she finds it. Hasn't failed once.

Seriously doubt that tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Trust me, there was I time when I'd be in the same boat, but this is something I've seen with my own eyes on more than one occasion. Although she puts it down to mental energy fields more than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Their is a certain power in prayer, if you could call it that, put I put it more down to strength of will than anything else.

I suppose faith gives some people strength & determination to overcome the bad things in life and in turn makes them stronger & more positive. My Mam would tell you herself that prayer does this for her which I suppose is a good thing & not hurting anybody.

Any religious folk about care to inform us of the significance of St. Anthony that seems to lead people to lost possesions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

well presumably he's the patron saint of lost things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

MrJoeSoap wrote:

Saying fact after a statment always turns it into a fact. Fact.

Well then, state your case as to how the dead and buried St. Anthony helped the OP find her Mp3 player again.

I'm all ears. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Well then, state your case as to how the dead and buried St. Anthony helped the OP find her Mp3 player again.

Eh...emmm. Dam.

MrJoeSoap wrote:

Well, if your statement WAS fact, then you can scientifically prove it to be incorrect. No one believeing in the power of dead saints have stated that their case is fact. And because there's no proof to the contrary does not in turn prove your case.

I know there's a hole at the bottom of my arse, as Sir Alan Sugar once said, but I've never actually seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

My mam prays to St. Anthony all the time if someone loses something. I lost my brand new phone on a bus once, she said a prayer and about 2 days later it turned up in the bus station. Found by a lovely cleaning lady.

But she also uses those prayers to find parking spaces. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

What does she do if she loses the crystal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

What does she do if she loses the crystal?

The crystal would then find her. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Jumbo156

Not very religious myself but I have to say I inherited the St Anthony thing from my mother..I lost a very expensive watch once, couldn't find it anywhere.. I promised St Anthony a tenner and it turned up under a cushion on the couch..
    And the scary bit is that I definitely had looked there previoulsy...
    A tenner well spent!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hmm, I asked the devil to take care of all those St Anthony rewquests years ago. Him being more powereful than a mere saint has now been the one finding your assorted goods for you.
    Praise be to the devil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Saint Anto ftw
    I heard Saint Martin was an awful fecker though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

So we're agreed, the mp3 player was in the same place all along.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Praise be to the devil.

And all his minions.
    Amen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

When I lost my virginity I said a prayer...and eh...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/03/31/health/31pray.html?ex=1301461200&en=4acf338be4900000&ei=5088&partner=rssnyt&emc=rss
    Prayers offered by strangers had no effect on the recovery of people who were undergoing heart surgery, a large and long-awaited study has found.

And patients who knew they were being prayed for had a higher rate of post-operative complications like abnormal heart rhythms, perhaps because of the expectations the prayers created, the researchers suggested.

maybe not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 fruitcake

Jumbo156 wrote:
    Not very religious myself but I have to say I inherited the St Anthony thing from my mother..I lost a very expensive watch once, couldn't find it anywhere.. I promised St Anthony a tenner and it turned up under a cushion on the couch..
    And the scary bit is that I definitely had looked there previoulsy...
    A tenner well spent!
    yeah that s the one thing with anto, you always have to pay him! I have to say that I love st anthony, again inherited from my mother..I pray to him for everything thats worrying me..and he usually comes good on those prayers...I always carry a holy card of him in my wallet ( I sound like a religous freak but Im not!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

My mum is not religious in the slightest, bad experience with nuns, but once she lost something she desperately needed to find and wentinto a church and promised St. Anthony that she'd put €20 in to the charity box there if she found what she was looking for. Lo and behold she found it and yes she did give the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

What if she lost a dildo? Would he help her then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Right so St.Anthony helps people find their missing things......

Did it ever occur to anyone that maybe he was the f*cker who hid the thing in the first place? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I always lose the head when I hear religious nonsense like this!

Help me St Anthony! :D

I always find it amazing how people can say things like, "I prayed to St Anthony and he helped me find my MP3 player. Honestly, there is something in it!!"

I don't think I want to believe in a God who answers prayers about lost MP3 players but doesn't answer the prayers of a dying cancer patient or a few thousand Earth quake victims.

Oh I forgot, its all about gods wonderful plan for us all. "Hey St peter, whats todays wonderful plan for people?" "Well God Sir, Little jimmy gets his MP3 player back and.............the poor mofos in Pakistan get to......die, die, die."

You might say, "Well its all about free will see. God didn't cause and cannot interfere with the Earth quake and its consequences"

......................but, he'll help find MP3 players any day of the week :rolleyes:

Honestly, do you people realise how fu##ing stupid you sound?

slipss wrote:
    well presumably he's the patron saint of lost things.

But how does he find somebodies lost virginity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

Ok well when I was about 12, me, my mam and dad were shopping in town, after a couple of hours of being in there i noticed my precious braclet that was on my wrist had gone. This braclet meant the WORLD to me. Anyway mam said a prayer to st.anthony and as we were walking around a little while later i felt something in my runner. Had a look and there was the bracelet! Couldn't believe it. Wasn't trying on shoes/runners or anything so don't know how it managed to sqeeze in there? Gotta love st.anto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Calibos wrote:

I always find it amazing how people can say things like, "I prayed to St Anthony and he helped me find my MP3 player. Honestly, there is something in it!!"

I don't think I want to believe in a God who answers prayers about lost MP3 players but doesn't answer the prayers of a dying cancer patient or a few thousand Earth quake victims.

Oh I forgot, its all about gods wonderful plan for us all. "Hey St peter, whats todays wonderful plan for people?" "Well God Sir, Little jimmy gets his MP3 player back and.............the poor mofos in Pakistan get to......die, die, die."

You might say, "Well its all about free will see. God didn't cause and cannot interfere with the Earth quake and its consequences"

......................but, he'll help find MP3 players any day of the week :rolleyes:

God didnt find the mp3 player, Saint Anto did. He's a bit of a softie, our anto, so if you ask him nicely he'll bend the rules. God, however, is pretty old school, naturally enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Calibos wrote:

Agreeeeeed!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

In all my time reading/posting on this site I've never read so many utterly stupid posts. Get a fcuking grip! 'Oh St.Anthony found my lost bracelet...!' No he didn't you idiot, you did! You found it where it was all along. There is no such entity as St.Anthony and if there was I'd hope he might have more important prayer requests to be attending to than you and your precious fcuking bracelet/watch/mp3 player or whatever. This kind of superstitious bullsh1te is what keeps every charlatan and faker (i.e tarot readers, mystics, fortune tellers etc.) in business.
    Trust me, there was I time when I'd be in the same boat, but this is something I've seen with my own eyes on more than one occasion. Although she puts it down to mental energy fields more than anything else.

Yeah, sure. Mental energy fields. That's what it is.

This thread only reinforces my belief that Carl Sagan's book 'The Demon Haunted World' should be compulsory reading. Though no doubt some of you won't even know who he is.

"The God Delusion" by Richard Dawkins

On sale in all good bookshops, NOW! :D

At the risk off...........actually I think its virtually guaranteed at this stage, of turning this into a classic Religion V Atheism/Agnostiscism thread.

Think on this one.

Greek Gods of ancient Myth. You've got your Head God Zeus and then all your lesser gods. eg. Venus, God of Love. Aries God of Lost and Found :D (I know Aries is god of something else but the greek god of Lost things doesn't come to mind at the moment) So theres two examples of greek supernatural beings subservient to the head God Zeus.

Nonsense you say. There is only one true God, the God of the bible and the RCC. All that greek stuff is just 2500 year old misguided belief.

For the love of God (pun intended :D ) can someone please tell me the difference between Zeus the head God and his lesser heavenly companions Venus god of Love and Aries God of lost and found......and God, the head god and his lesser heavenly companions St Valentine, Patron saint of love and St Anthony, Patron saint of Lost and Found.

Why doesn't the same person who dismissed the 2500 year old Greek Gods not dismiss their 2006 year old Roman Catholic opposite numbers so to speak.

It boils down to this. Think about all the reasons why you reject the Ancient Gods and ancient religious beliefs or even the beliefs of other present day religions. They're the same reasons I do. Its just I apply that same reasoning to just one more God than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

I just keep thinking about a christy moore song about port and brandy,
    praying to St. Anthony and wondering how yer man stays on his surfboard after 15 pints of stout.

Calibos wrote:
    It boils down to this. Think about all the reasons why you reject the Ancient Gods and ancient religious beliefs or even the beliefs of other present day religions. They're the same reasons I do. Its just I apply that same reasoning to just one more God than you.

...as so eloquently put by Mr Dawkins, though I can't remember the exact quote.

aidan24326 wrote:
    ...as so eloquently put by Mr Dawkins, though I can't remember the exact quote.

Shut up will ya mate! I was trying to pass off that little gem as my own! :D

Saying fact after a statment always turns it into a fact. Fact.

:D:D Brilliant

Help me St Anthony!

......................but, he'll help find MP3 players any day of the week

heh, funny and true...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    But you don't know (for definite) if Saint Tony did his works...

Or didn't...

Calibos wrote:
    Shut up will ya mate! I was trying to pass off that little gem as my own! :D

Sorry about that! You'd nearly have got away with it on this thread too.

Calibos wrote:
    Maybe the 'entity' that people claim to be God is an alien overseer. He's observing stuff that happens (on Earth), ("That stupid goon left his MP3 player in the microwave. He'll never find it there!"), and can try to help stuff to be righted, but can't help with real problems, like cancer...

But you don't know (for definite) if Saint Tony did his works...Or didn't...

Well what we can say is that there's zero evidence for a Saint Tony in the first place, not to mention one who hovers around helping people to find stuff.

His help was invoked. Then, the job was done...

(I'm an atheist, by the way) :D

Maybe the 'entity' that people claim to be God is an alien overseer. He's observing stuff that happens (on Earth), ("That stupid goon left his MP3 player in the microwave. He'll never find it there!"), and can try to help stuff to be righted, but can't help with real problems, like cancer...

This quote comes to mind in response to that.
    Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent.
    Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent.
    Is he both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil?
    Is he neither able nor willing? Then why call him God?

Who is that quote from??

Epicurus Born 341BC !!!

It blows my mind that there were such amazing thinkers as this in a time where they were surrounded by even more credulous religious believers than today.

In short, would I bother my arse worshipping a God who's miraculous powers extend to finding MP3 players but not to saving peoples lives.

Didn't he also give the famous "Eat, drink, and be merry! For tomorrow we die!" quote?