Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yeay! The cold weather is back.

• 04-10-2006 7:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Well, we made it to the colder half of the year again. Hooray!

A few months back during the sunny hotness, many of us moaned that it was too hot and that we couldnt function under 29 degree heat. Many others responded by telling us all to STFU and that it would only be a matter of time before we're all complaining about the cold.

Well, to counter that, I'd just like to say; 3 degrees when I got in my car this morning, how deadly is that? That nice crispy snappy feeling was definitely in the air today, and I love it. My car even beeped at me when I turned the key and said ICE ALERT in a slightly panicky computerised voice. Cold weather is most certainly back, and I'm damn happy about it. I look forward to other interesting temperatures such as 2 degrees, and even minus two degrees or colder.
    Old man winter: bring it on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭DirtyDog

:eek: I hate the cold weather....each to there own

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I hate it too. It was nearly impossible to get out of bed this morning. Feck off cold weather!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

DirtyDog wrote:
    :eek: I hate the cold weather....each to there own

i prefer the hot weather myself (beach weather... yay!!) but the cold can be nice too. i just freeze to death. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Used to love the cold weather too, this year though something is different, myself and the cold must have had a falling out of sorts or something - we just dont feel the same about each other. Hopefully thats all going to go back to normal soon though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I'm still wrapped up lovely and warm in my duvet in bed watching Dallas. Hope you working suckers are enjoying the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Dallas?? God, I'd rather be in work. (not strictly true)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭DirtyDog

Archeron wrote:
    Dallas?? God, I'd rather be in work. (not strictly true)

JR Gets shot in the end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Damn hippies and their loving the cold weather!

Quick, everybody hug a snowman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Archeron wrote:
    Quick, everybody hug a snowman.

Haha touché,

They're even cheaping out on the heating in work, so as my form of silent protest i shall be spending most of the day on boards! :D

c - 13 wrote:
    Used to love the cold weather too, this year though something is different, myself and the cold must have had a falling out of sorts or something - we just dont feel the same about each other. Hopefully thats all going to go back to normal soon though.

I look forward to seeing you on Ricky Lake throwing a chair at Old Man Winter while audience members ask such intelligent questions as "if you love her so much, then why you be hiding all summer?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

so I guess I'm the only one who went to work in tshirt and shorts today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

...so as my form of silent protest i shall be spending most of the day on boards! :D

Methinks thou doth protest too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

/me thinks he will get the hot air blower in the car working again to regain visibility, otherwise leave the window open with the head out on the 50 mile trek to dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭trilo

yay! As much as i love the hot weather i especially loves the days when it i dry and very cold.. everything is so clean and fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I hate the cold weather, with the only thing to look forward to is Christmas, and after that it's time to look forward to summer coming and back to less cold, dark, dreary days.

I'm shivering in work as I type. :mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I love this weather too yipee! And it's not even that cold yet, no coat on me this morning, no scarves or hats.

And for all those who hate this cold weather...what the frick are you doing living in Ireland then? :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Personally, I hope it gets much colder. I love really cold weather in the morning so long as there is no wind or rain cutting your face like sandpaper.

A thing I hate is being too warm. For the last two weeks the central heating has come on in the evening in the house I am staying, and it makes me completely lethargic. To get to sleep at night, I've had to turn off the radiatoir and keep a window opened slightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I hate it too. It was nearly impossible to get out of bed this morning. Feck off cold weather!

I like the cold but it is near impossible to get out of bed when it is freezing. Thats my excuse for being late in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,329 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

DirtyDog wrote:
    JR Gets shot in the end...

it was all a dream you fool!

Demetrius wrote:
    Personally, I hope it gets much colder. I love really cold weather in the morning so long as there is no wind or rain cutting your face like sandpaper.

A thing I hate is being too warm. For the last two weeks the central heating has come on in the evening in the house I am staying, and it makes me completely lethargic. To get to sleep at night, I've had to turn off the radiatoir and keep a window opened slightly.

Same. Much prefer colder weather to warm weather, though as long as I'm in warm clothes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Dundalk Daily

The old cold weather is much healthier than warm sticky weather although germs are spread more quickly when everyone turns the heat up in buildings and close all the windows. Guy who works at desk opposite me usually starts coughing and spluttering the whole way through the winter. Does anyone else have one of those dudes working near them.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I don't mind just cold temperatures cause I can get wrap up and keep warm and it's fine, but the wind and rain I'm not looking forward to :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

The old cold weather is much healthier than warm sticky weather although germs are spread more quickly when everyone turns the heat up in buildings and close all the windows. Guy who works at desk opposite me usually starts coughing and spluttering the whole way through the winter. Does anyone else have one of those dudes working near them.
    Me:( he is my boss and a total freak. Most of his coughing is as a result of spraying everything with bleach before he sits down. He has OCD and a fear of germs and it drives me nuts :mad:
    On a happier note though today is a lovely day. Its a little crisp temerature wise but its bright and sunny and its hard to get better than this. I love days like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Cold weather all the way. Now I'm able to wear a big filthy (Figure of speech...) coat and a scarf and gloves. Wrapping up warm = the rocksors.

Yeah, it is harder to get out of bed, but who cares? :D

Today was the first day in ages when they had the heating on in school. I was late in for the first period (Yeah, I didn't get out of bed early enough. Too cold...), and the smell of the radiators hit me...Bit nostalgic, I suppose, that smell always reminds me of Primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i love the cold. if i feel too cold, i can put on a coat and warm up, but if its too hot, i get sweaty and sticky and there's nothing i can do about it. horrible

tuesday was the first day i haven't gone out wearing a t shirt. i always brought a jumper but never wore it cos it was too feckin hot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

For all of you who are welcoming the cold weather, Are yis all bleeding mad or what. I hate the cold and its one of the main reasons I could not Move back to Dublin/Ireland. I live in Florida and this morning when I left for work at 6:30am it was 24 degrees Celsius outside, absoulty beautiful I tell you. Today It will be 32 degrees and humid. The humidity can be a killer sometimes, but over all it better to be warm than cold in my book.

Last week, we had a little cold front pass us by and I left for work again at 6:30am and it was 10 degrees outside. It was nice and refreshing, but a little too cold for my liken. I spent many a year back home in Dublin tackling long harsh winters. The cold is not too bad, but when its lashing rain and real windy, that's what gets me.

I remember the last time I was home, which was nearly 2 years ago. It was a November and it was bleeding freezing. Now, since I live in a topical climate, which nearly warm all year round weather, the cold gets me a little more than it should. My son, who was 1 ½ at the time never experienced real cold weather and I can see the look on his face when he landed in Dublin for the first time and it was on 8 degrees outside. He left Florida in 28 degree heat. The expression on his face was priceless.

Overall, l like the warm hot, weather and I don't think I could deal with 10 months of single digit temperatures along with gripping wind and rain. No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't hate cold weather, per se. I only hate it when the heating hasn't been on, and you open the bathroom window before taking a shower first thing in the morning. Brr, water cools very quickly. Also sitting in a cold car for those first agonising five minutes while you wait for the engine to heat up. Grrr..

Other than that, I love the cold weather when it's really crisp and I'm wearing a jumper and jacket to keep warm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I only hate it because I was knee deep in snow last year when moving house. Not so bad this year, all I'll be doing is shoveling snow from around my car to get it going in the morning. :)

I remember the last time I was home, which was nearly 2 years ago. It was a November and it was bleeding freezing. Now, since I live in a topical climate, which nearly warm all year round weather, the cold gets me a little more than it should. My son, who was 1 ½ at the time never experienced real cold weather and I can see the look on his face when he landed in Dublin for the first time and it was on 8 degrees outside. He left Florida in 28 degree heat. The expression on his face was priceless.
    Ha. I'm the exact opposite. A couple of years ago, I was on holidays in Majorca, and the 32 degree heat was seriously killing me. I couldnt wait to get back home again. I flew into Belfast International airport at about 2 in the morning, and as soon as I got off the plane, I took off my shirt and stood in the rain outside the terminal wearing just a t shirt. I think you could even hear the hissssssss as the water hit me and evaporated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭sonic juice

The sun makes you lazy and sweaty,
    the winter makes you sharp and happy
    hallelujah for winter!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

cold weather?!! im so depressed!!!!!!!! :(

Aah, dont be sad. Think Christmas, and snowmen and ice skating and snow falling onto your bobble hatted head and open fires and pressies and seeing all your friends and family for chirstmas dinner whether you want to or not!
    Winter rocks.

Oh, and mittens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I like the winter, it's nice to be freezing your nads off shopping of something then getting in and having a sit by the fire and a hot drink.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I hate the cold weather. OP will you love all the frost, snow and sh1t weather that Winter brings, because I certainly won't.

Kojak wrote:
    I hate the cold weather. OP will you love all the frost, snow and sh1t weather that Winter brings, because I certainly won't.

Oh yes. Snow, sleet, rain, hail, thunder. I love them all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

Winter is the feckin brill, it does,nt take me until 10.30am to awaken in my office like it does in summer. The air is crisp you feel alive and if you set the heating to switch on at 6am it ain't so hard to get up. i also let the car start heating up while i'm having my Cheerio's and strong coffee.:)

I'm not to gone on christmas apart from the fact you always get to catch up with people you don't see all year.

For the lads, Is,nt it great when the girls go about all covered up and you have to use the imagination for a change. "ya never know what your gonna get":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

No! Cold weather is truly awful. I'm becoming increasingly upset as the evenings get shorter and curtains are being pulled before 8pm :eek:

Bring back hot balmy evenings and beach holidays please!!

Only teeny consolation is that it's an excuse to go buying a new winter wardrobe I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭PhoenixRising

Archeron wrote:
    My car even beeped at me when I turned the key and said ICE ALERT in a slightly panicky computerised voice.

I think the more important question is what car do you drive? I think I'd like a car that said ICE ALERT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i love winter. i'm a winter baby... but the cold isn't really what i love about it. it's the feeling you get when you drink some hot chocolate, curled up by the radiator watching tv :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Winter babies have small willies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Dam, I've go buy some jumpers now. T-shirt wearing time is over.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

In So Cal we have only two seasons. Summer and temperate. Sometimes I miss the seasons, then again, I look forward to wearing shorts and a T today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Winter babies have small willies.

"datz not wha yer ma sed last nite"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

love the cold, much more comfy than the humid crap we get in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

nothing better than, than coming in out of the cold and warming up to the fire. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Dylan_James

Yeah the cold was the best this morning. the heating will be coming back on in my house soon.

Far too hot this summer, i cant wait to wake up frost, wind, snow and rain.

Ohh yeah and what else does your car say to you OP? Are you the Hoff because it sounds like Kitt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭cil_aine

finally somebody who loves winter or autumn! waking up (in a nice cosy bed, wirth plenty of blankets) with to a frosty, misty morning and grabbing a mug of tea, with some porridge (with cinammon and honey). then jumping into the warm shower! Spending a few hours in a café when its cold outside is brilliant too. the televisions better too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

This cold snap seams to have missed Dublin, i have been going round in t-shirt all of today , and found it quite warm today, even now at 9 pm ,its still warm in Dun Laoghaire -- i think this summer has been one of the warmest i can remember !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

nothing better than, than coming in out of the cold and warming up to the fire. :)

I guess the one nice thing about the cold... there are always ways to remedy it and make it "not cold." With heat, we just have to endure it.