Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards 200 Game, student friendly qualifier!!

• 02-10-2006 1:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭

Hey, just a quick email to see if there's any interest in this... this saturday at 6pm in The Sporting Emporium (South Anne's St, near grafton st) there is a 200 euro (+20 reg fee) tournament. There is an 8000 starting stack with 45minute blind levels, final table to be played on Sunday. This is probably the best structured tournament in Dublin in along time, and the field includes some of Ireland's best poker pro's including no less than six players who played in this years world series of poker in Las Vegas (three of whom won ALOT of money!!).

Obviosuly for most students 220 euro is above our budget, thats why i'm looking for interest in a qualifier this friday at 1pm in DIT Aungier St, 15 euro with one rebuy, max spend is 30 euro, if we get 10 or 15 players we could have 2 tickets up for grabs. Reply to this email if you are intersted.

as above, reply to this thread if interested.
    would 10 euro multi rebuy be better???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'd be up for this jeff, ten euro rebuy would be better imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭DITTag

Id play but the only problem is I cant get into the Sporting Emporium

This topic deserves its own thread!!!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

DITTag wrote:

well you are from tallaght so what do ya expect.Id start to get worried if you were refused from the jackpot though

Yea good point. Its not the image (well i hope not) its because im only 19.. Ah well who wants to go there anyways. There all pub players so ive heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

DITTag wrote:

That's why I can't play either. *sigh*

I reckon a protest is in order!! lol

DITTag wrote:
    I reckon a protest is in order!! lol

about what?the fact that the let you into the jackpot.lol

Trippie wrote:
    about what?the fact that the let you into the jackpot.lol

Anyways......... How did you get on last night?

7th, i got moved to table one as soon as you's left and got pocket kings against 9's from the rock of gibraltar and doubled up to 60k and then motored onto the final table with the chip lead, i had about 120k and the young guy was 2nd in chips with about a 100

Then with 7 to go blinds at 3/6k i picked up 89diamonds and decided to limp cause there was a lot of preflop raises being punished by all-ins.The rock like guy called in sb and the flop came J 10 of diamonds 4 of clubs and he bet 14k, i raised it to 35 and he went all-in for roughly 100k so i decided to take a chance coz if i hit illl have half the chips in play and a good chance of winning it and if not im still in.

I didnt realise how much he had exactly and lost to his QJ and was left with only 16k left and in the blinds pretty soon so i just said gave up and went all-in with K8 sooooted and didnt connect.600 quid though and a round of applause for playing amazing so i was happy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

oh right seeing as the 200 game is being played in the SE I too wont be able to play. Boo urns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

Any idea of what the structure is gonna be Jeff? I only finish college at 2 so i'll prob make it in for half. But if you do the same structure as the last sat with 7 or 8k starting stack i mite just buy in and top-up and get blinded off. Of course i'll just be playing for the cash cos the SE sucks major ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I would be up for this and I am over 21, yay to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

cooker3 wrote:
    but your sh1t at poker robert.... :) im up for it too... where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

cooker3 wrote:

Rub it in why don't ya...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

Ill play but only for the cash and to beat jeff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

so would we get many runners for a 10 euro rebuy game, prize money paid out in 220's. 2pm start, 20min blinds.. 2k start stack, 2500 rebuy, 3k top up, this should encourage plenty of rebuys.

edit: think 1pm start it'll have to be as i have alot of emails from soc members saying they will play so we have to accomodate.

Id prefer the 15euro with one re-buy or top-up..
    Or change the structure, more money should mean bigger stacks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

There has been a fairly good response to this from DIT Poker Soc members via email. So...

1pm reg, cards no later than 1.30pm.
    10 euro multi-rebuy for first 4 levels.
    Think we could get about 3 or 4 tickets easily at the moment.
    Advise on structure greatly appreciated but bare in mind we want to swell the pot as much as possible and we want to encourage students to play.
    2k buy in, 2500 rebuy, 3000 top up.
    OR
    2500 buy in, 2500 rebuy, 3000 top up.

we dont want too many chips in play cos it could get messy, on average if everyone spends 20 quid the average stack will be at least 4500 at the 150/300 level which aint too bad, average will probably be higher...

i wanna confirm a structure here on boards before i send an email out.

Any thoughts? from anyone but fiddlesticks? Anyone?

2500 buy in, 2500 rebuy, 3000 top up......:D

cant make it today due to lazyness on my behalf, might be in the jackpot tmoro night and probably will be playing friday night under the influence(a fish drunk if anyone's interested in profiting) if the dealer's night goes ahead

Trippie wrote:
    cant make it today due to lazyness on my behalf, might be in the jackpot tmoro night and probably will be playing friday night under the influence(a fish drunk if anyone's interested in profiting) if the dealer's night goes ahead
    whos this? are you goin with the PE crowd?

Redz all the way!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Steven has cancelled the freezout in waterford saturday so count me in.

whos this? are you goin with the PE crowd?

ye a few of the lads who work for both pe and gjp are thinking about it,someone mentioned meeting at central bank at 10 on friday but im not sure exactly i presume DITTAG or Bobafet will have the proper details

yeah i know both of those guys. im unable to make it on fri was just wondering had i worked with you... n/m

Yes were all meeting at central bank at 10ish so anyone that doesn make it there the plan is were going to redz..... €3 drink til 12... So any dealers should come along......... goodluck2me you wont know Trippie he's a GJP dealer.... And whats with you canceling things at the last minute???????

Well I shall be there tonight and back on topic, good news is I cashed!
    Me, DITpoker and person whose name I have forgotten(sorry) agreed a 3 way deal so will be heading to SE tomorrow :)

yeah dat was me..if only i was 21!!!!oh well it will b put to gud use..drunken cash games and the likes...:)

well you seem to put the money to good use somewhat tonight!

cooker3 wrote:
    well you seem to put the money to good use somewhat tonight!
    touchée