Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v's GB

• 30-09-2006 5:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭

Just got a phone call from Dave, there 2 down, both Dave and Len loss there games, Dave was playing NL Hold'em when his flush got outdrawn by a house and Len loss the 7 card stud.

Ire 0 - GB 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Ireland have start the come back and Damian Kavanagh has made it 3:2

Come on Ireland.... please

Niall O'Callaghan was the other winner

Its 4 each, Norwich Rob wins his heads up....

Heading out now so this will be the last update.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

ireland won it finished up 6-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

wp lads!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Great post up my loss why don't you and not my win.

We lost a player due to circumstances beyond our control so as I got suckered into playing stud the lads gave me a chance to redeem myself and I got to play the second last hold 'em game. We were 5 / 4 up. If I win it's like making the winning putt in the Ryder cup. If I lose it's all even and down to Mike. No pressure there then. I won my match. Phew! Mike's match was then over in about three hands and the final score was 6 / 5 to Ireland.

Performance of the day IMHO went to Dammo Kavanagh who was down to the felt at one point with 550 against his oppos 9450 chips. He turned the game around and won it. That spurred the rest of us on.

Great weekend and great event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

Great weekend, and thanks to Mike and Dave for organising and looking after everything.

As Len said, we won 6-5, after being 4-2 down at one point.
    Damos win was crucial, got us back to 4-3, then i levelled it up, and Dave Masters and Len won nailbiters to secure the cup.

Great weekend all in all, myself and Len managing a 1-2 in the Friday night rebuy tourney to complete the Irish domination (maybe i should have 7 pints before i play every week!), although that said, i think the 4 bottles of champagne afterwards was my worst call of the weekend, just about recovered now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Thanks Dave and Mike for organising a brillant (and most interesting:rolleyes: :rolleyes: ) weekend ive had in a long while. It was great to be asked to go over and represent Ireland even if though I did lose my match, I really enjoyed the whole event. When the blind levels went up it became a bit of a crapshoot. I got 8c9c and decided to make my stand, but my opponent woke up with AJoffsuit and there ended the lesson.

Won money playing that scary "brag" game on the Friday night. It was probably the only game you can play, when drinking scary amounts of budweiser.There was alot of very hungover Irish Team members on Saturday, but you know the story, the poker game starts and you forget how hungover you are. Damien Kavenaghs game was brillant and Dave Masters speech play was working overtime, his player did not know what hit him.

The Cash Game on the Saturday night was unreal. I sit down with £200 and First hand Ad10d so I raise to £15 2 callers. Flop is A A 2 rainbow . SB bets pot £50 I call, thinking I have kicker issues, turn is a K. He bet £150 i call, putting me all in. He flicks over JJ, I double up. Old guy beside me smoking a pipe announces that some people have to wait an hour to get a hand, followed by his friend say that some people have all the luck. Niall O'Callaghan and Rob were in the cash game, and couln't believe some of the play. We had a ball of a time, the Casino was absolutely unreal. They spent millions doing it up. It used to be an opera house.

Anyway lads don't forget "what happened in Scarborough stays in Scarborough":D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

What a weekend! Report later.

Just totted up the $$$

Donations: £110
    Team Donation: £225
    Len Win (Team win): £250
    Team Prize: £1000
    Donation back to P4C from 1PP £-200

Total: £1385 = €2043 which I'll round up with my sterling shrapnel :)

So a grand total of €2050 for The Jack and Jill Foundation and Simon Community.

Thanks everyone.

Oh......and we kicked Brit ass....so sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Think we shuld call the future events the Cornish Pasty Cup. :D

Big thanks to Mike, Dave and The GB boys for their organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Fatboydim wrote:
    Think we shuld call the future events the Cornish Pasty Cup. :D

Big thanks to Mike, Dave and The GB boys for their organisation.

your cooking attempts that night were absolutely hilarious. i haven't laughed so hard in a long time..a cooker that freezes and a freezer that melts

And thanks Mike & Dave and of course the GB team who still reckon they won on aggregate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

just want to say a big thanks to mike and dave for what was an excellent weekend in sunny scarborough, where we battled our way to win the heads up challenge in what was always gonna be a very close contest. Damien K played a stormer fair play which gave me the confidence we were on the way back. poor mick and smurph didnt get the run off cards in there matchs and we were back down again with 5 matches to go.
    ("prob the best online omaha player in the world").... Quote from elblondie our very own DC omaha boy started his match and rob T also got his under way. no we were not losing these 2 matches for sure. so i knew it was up to me to give us the lead.
    The first hand i hit a house and dont manage to get to much out off him.I know and tell JP he was going to do all the betting for me in this match and oh boy was i right. in the first 2 levels he had seen aces kings twice queens and jacks. he still hadnt made a single chip off me in fact i had 7800 off the 10 k in chips to which i replyed sheesh i have half ur chips. prob 5 hands later i get him all in with A 7 v my A K. flop comes 7xx and were back 2 square 1. it turned into a bit off a crap shoot then but i still managed to pull it out off the bag. so then there was len who sealed the deal for us when his pocket 33 held up v KJ.
    MIkes match was of no importance so both teams cheered on the oppositions captains. the whole weekend was excellent and cant wait for the returning leg where i believe you will be able to qualify on line for very little.

again thanks dave and mike for everything.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I was supposed to travel & play in this but a boards Admin's meeting we've been trying to have to resolve the speed issues (not to mention, discuss getting sued!) had to come first. I'm so very very pissed off to have missed it. :( I'm not going to read feedback for a week because if I see some little snot nosed punk complaining this site isnt fast enough for him, I think I'd delete the database! :)

Anyway, congrats to the IE team (sponsored by GJP plug plug) for the first IE victory over GB in a headsup game (as far as I can recall).

Most importantly the charity has done excellently out of it and certainly kicked it off to a great start!

DeV.