Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beerfest in Ireland

• 27-09-2006 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭

I have a feeling this might turn into a discussion on binge/'irresponsible' drinking but Ill give it a go anyway....

I was looking at the beeradvocate site and they are talking about an upcoming belgian beer fest (sounds like heaven to me!!) when I was in toronto I just missed their beer fest, and everyone knows about the Oktoberfest in Germany.

So, do you fellow BWS forum readers think we could have a successful beer festival in Dublin, even if it was a private, ticket only event, or is there not enough demand for beer outside of the traditional carlsberg, guinness, bud etc?

R

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

I've never been, but doesn't the Franciscan Well in Cork run a rather successful beerfest? Possibly Easter, or October, or both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭bigears

Judging by the wider availability of decent beers in the off licences in recent years I think the demand is there. To quote a well know movie "If you build it they will come..."

From what I've heard the Franciscan Well Beerfest is at Easter and the great thing about it is they carry beers from other Irish microbrewers while it's on.

The Porterhouse pubs have their own mini Oktoberfest each year where they import several draught beers (even serving in the one litre stein glasses) and other specials in the bottle. Last year they had a '5 for 4' deal where they stamped your card for selected beers and you got the 5th free. This year's event starts on October 3rd so not long to wait. I think in past years they brewed their own Kolsch around this time so this should be worth checking out too.

Good. I'll be in that Dublin the weekend of the 7th, so looking forward to some Okto beers.

AFAIK, the Franciscan one started in Easter, but due to popularity there was a second one in October.
    A quick Google confirms that. No date specified, but I presume it's the bank holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭guildofevil

Hey Noby, want to meet up for a pint? You are the same noby from the realbeer.com boards, right?

One and the same.
    A pint sounds good. Probably be idle after lunch on Sat., if that suits?

Anoyone else fancy it?

Sounds like a wonderful plan.

I had to read your last post twice Noby. When you said you fancied some Okto beers I was racking my brain. 'Never heard any beer called Okto, must have missed that one' :)

Sorry. Been reading too many American sites. Picking up the lingo.

Cool. Which Porterhouse do you fancy? I'm a short walk from all three, so whatever suits everyone else.

Likewise, all easy to get to for me. I do quite fancy the Porterhouse North but the beer will be the same in all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭randomname2005

bigears wrote:
    Judging by the wider availability of decent beers in the off licences in recent years I think the demand is there. To quote a well know movie "If you build it they will come..."

From what I've heard the Franciscan Well Beerfest is at Easter and the great thing about it is they carry beers from other Irish microbrewers while it's on.

The Porterhouse pubs have their own mini Oktoberfest each year where they import several draught beers (even serving in the one litre stein glasses) and other specials in the bottle. Last year they had a '5 for 4' deal where they stamped your card for selected beers and you got the 5th free. This year's event starts on October 3rd so not long to wait. I think in past years they brewed their own Kolsch around this time so this should be worth checking out too.

That sounds good, will certainly be paying a visit.
    Cheers.

Edit: Has anybody been to the Oktoberfest in Germany, and if so, how does it work over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Ya know, it wouldn't be inconceivable to take a van via pembroke/hollyhead->dover->calais and stock it to the rafters to supply a beerfest. Calais has several warehouse type stores to cater to the british "booze cruise" plus Belgium is right next door. Would make one helluva beer-fueled trip some long weekend and would probably cost only a couple grand for tickets and the beer. Heh, every time the whiskey comes out my friends and I always start day dreaming about this.

Never been to Oktoberfest but been to the beer gardens on numerous occassions in Munich. They are incredible... a massive park with nearly an acre of tables setup on a summer's night filled with locals and tourists alike drinking 1L steins and eating pretzels the size of your head.

I was literally just thinking about the porterhouse after reading this article on brewpubs in ireland: http://travel2.nytimes.com/2006/06/18/travel/18journeys.html?pagewanted=all

I might be there on business next week.... just in time to swing by the porterhouse. Curious about their "brainblasta"... stupid name but sounds interesting. Anyone try it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭ob

Has anybody been to the Oktoberfest in Germany, and if so, how does it work over there?

I went to Oktoberfest for a week last year, was excellent, although a week is a bit too long. It's on a huge site, each brewery has its own tent, most of which are massive. You go in, sit at a table, a waitress brings you beer, you pay for it - simply as that!

I was at the first night of the Oktoberfest about 15 years ago. I was working in Munich for the summer as a student. Great fun. If I remember correctly the 'big 5' Munich breweries each have massive tents full of drunken but good humoured hordes of people with strapping frauleins (not the pretty young things we imagined, more like matron types) carrying a dozen steins in two hands, that's a sight to behold.

The smaller ones were fun too and more for locals. One of them is held in Dachau right outside the doors of the former concentration camp which was a bit unnerving to say the least.

The Brainblasta is tasty but very powerful - not an all night drink, that's for sure. The Porterhouse Red is also nice and along similar lines.

I've never been to Porterhouse North, so I don't mind taking a stroll up to it (it's just past Dalymount, no?). I went to the new one a couple of times, but it didn't do much for me. Wall to wall televisions and Bulmers might be necessary for business, but it's just not what I 'expect' from a Porterhouse. Am I being over-picky? What's ye're opinion on the new one?

Newkie, I think Brainblasta is a very clever name, meaning both 'powerful drink' and (in Irish) 'tasty drop'. It's also a lovely beer. Dangerously easy going for it's strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

I like it to, although I am not a fan of the Vienna larger, its way to unbalance to much hop’s for the style.

The Porterhouse North has the best food and a great beer garden too, so yeah, Porterhouse north it is then. Saturday the 7th, what time? How will we know each other?

Noby,
    The porterhouse North is in Glassnevin, at the corner of Witworth Road and the Phibsborough road, right by the royal canal.

You head from Doyle's corner, Phibsborough (the main crossroads, on your way to Dalymount park), past the Phibsborough shopping centre and it's just over the bridge in Glassnevin.

I live in Phibsborough, so I could meet you and we could head up together if you like. Should I email you my mobile number?

You could also try this journey planner:
    http://www.dto-journeyplanner.ie/dtojp/jsp/content/start.do

I really like Brainblasta, but, as has been pointed out, it can be dangerous.

My absolute favourite is TSB though. Sadly it's the only cask conditioned ale in the city, but at least it's a good one.

I don't actually like Porterhouse Red, but that isn't really a reflection on the quality of the beer, it's just that I don't like the Irish red style.

Am I being over-picky? What's ye're opinion on the new one?
    Not my favourite Porterhouse but an improvement on what was there before so all in all I'm positive about it. I noticed the Franciscan Well in Cork also has Bulmers on tap. Neither brew a cider so I guess they're just making sure that they're catering for the masses. I find quite a lot of the people who go to the Porterhouse don't drink their beers - I guess it helps to pay the bills and it means they're not totally reliant on the good beer. If that makes them more viable then I've no problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Edit: Has anybody been to the Oktoberfest in Germany, and if so, how does it work over there
    I've been there about 12 times, in fact I'm just back. As Ob says, there are about 6 massive tents and lots of smaller ones. Each tent is owned by a brewery so I generally stay in the HB Tent (Hofbrauhaus). There is no chance of replicating such a festival, even on a smaller stage in Ireland. We always used to say - imagine lads from Ballymun, Tallaght, Finglas, Inner City in the one big tent, drunk out of their minds???

bigears - I was in Munich in 1991, worked in BMW, stayed in Thalkirchen - what did you do?

So was I!

91 to 93 I worked summers in the BMW factory. I didn't stay in Thalkirchen for more than a couple of weeks though.

bigears - I was in Munich in 1991, worked in BMW, stayed in Thalkirchen - what did you do?
    So was I!

91 to 93 I worked summers in the BMW factory. I didn't stay in Thalkirchen for more than a couple of weeks though.

Ditto :) and about 500 other paddies!

I worked in the pressworks section. I really enjoyed the subsidised Spaten in the vending machines. 30p a pint and drinking at work, what a summer. I remember afternoon shifts leaving work and heading across to Ollie's afterwards in quite a drunken state. I think I left the pub afterwards in better shape! All very irresponsible and great fun.

I was with a few mates and we stayed in Talkirchen for 6 weeks until we found a one bedroom flat. 2 in the bedroom, and 3 in the sitting room.

Seems to be a pattern developing here - the BMW beer club :)
    Should I email you my mobile number?
    I'll send you an email with my number. Noby, I'll send you a PM

Edit: Did you guys visit the brewery in Andechs (sp)? Christ, what a beer, I was never so knocked out by a few! They had the Andechs beer in the Porterhouse last year on draft for the fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

I was there for 5 summers starting 1989. I skipped 1990 as Ireland were in the World Cup. I spent 3 summers in BMW and 2 in the Bayerische Staatsoper.
    I also frequented Ollies but started going to The Shamrock when it opened in '89.

Never got to Andechs.
    Problem was I was working for a subcontractor specializing in cleaning up after the rest of you. This meant that when you lot were heading over to Ollies, me and the rest of the happy little night elves were heading into work.

At the weekend we used to really let loose as a result. Imagine a bunch of college students who have been working all week, heading out for the weekend, with body clocks accustomed to not heading to bed until 8am under NORMAL circumstances! It was not a pretty sight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭randomname2005

thegills wrote:
    There is no chance of replicating such a festival, even on a smaller stage in Ireland. We always used to say - imagine lads from Ballymun, Tallaght, Finglas, Inner City in the one big tent, drunk out of their minds???
    The Oktoberfest sounds more along the lines of what I was thinking about rather than the PorterhouseFest. It would be nice to have something like that, but would always be worried about the people who drink for impact rather than flavour.
    R

The Oktoberfest sounds more along the lines of what I was thinking about rather than the PorterhouseFest. It would be nice to have something like that, but would always be worried about the people who drink for impact rather than flavour.
    Granted it's not quite the same thing. I think your fears are well founded though. Could be an accident waiting to happen with the Howya buds. Incidentally I may have made a boo boo with dates for PH's Oktoberfest. Someone told me today that it starts a week later than I thought - I'll check it tomorrow!

Edit:
    I also frequented Ollies but started going to The Shamrock when it opened in '89.
    I used to go to The Shamrock for 'mass' on a Sunday morning. Sunday Tribune, cheese & onion Tayto and a pint of Helles, can't go wrong...

We used to frequent Gunter Murphys as well.

Feature on Oktoberfest on Newstalk at the moment (Fri 13/10 @ 3.30) www.newstalk106.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Am listening right now!