Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hughes V. Penn [Contains Spoliers]

• 25-09-2006 2:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭

Any thoughts on the fight lads? There's not as much chat here about it as I thought there might be.

I thought it was classic stuff, every moment fom the 2 of them walking into the ring to the end.

I couldn't believe how difficult Penn was to get to the ground for Hughes, is that technique or just natural ability? Hughes found it practically impossible to get him down in the first 2 rounds.

I thought Hughes was getting beaten in the first 2 rounds, his face was getting a bit smashed up, but what self belief - what a warrior!!

Penn put it all on the line to try to get the submission at the end of R2 - he threw everything including the kitchen sink into trying to stop Hughes there - he must have known it was all or nothing that he was going to be gassed after that !!

Did Big John leave it go on a bit longer than normal because Penn has such a reputation? cos the little Hawaiin got some vicious beating at the end - did you see all those lumps all over his head and face when he was slumped on the stool - is he okay today?

And one last question - is George St. Pierre insane? why would you want to piss off Matt Hughes ... methinks Georgie will be getting handed his ass "sur une" plate in the coming months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I enjoyed the whole event to be honest.

I was very surprised to see Jens get sparked….but well done to Joe Lauzon….i mean if your facing someone who is considered one of the best in the world and you just get in there and go at them….that was some great self belief right there! I actually think that Joe cup checked him by accident with the knee, on the replay you can see his foot hit Jens' groin but the punch dropped him no doubt.

I also think a lot of fighters can look at Jens and be like him in defeat. He stood there and simply said, yeah, I got tagged, well done Joe. Will be curious to see what happens with Joe now….is he that good or was it a fluke? Only time will tell.

Jason Lambert pissed me off. He fought like an idiot. Always trying to take Evans down and that was never gonna happen. When your fighting a guy like Evans am I an idiot for thinking you stay on the feet and try and feed him knee's all night??? That said, I was actually impressed by how Evans fought, and that he finished within the distance!!

Melvin scoring that Body Punch knock out was awesome to see!!!! That’s not easy to do and I want to see more of it!!!! I had called this as early stoppage as both of them tend to finish fights quick.

Swick I was very happy with. The Crow seemed a bit gun shy to be honest. Only really woke up in round 3. I am still unsure of how Swick would fair against either Ace of the Spider ( can't belief I called that fight being made correctly though….Dana should give me a job or somethin' ) but only time will tell.

Penn and Hughes was good. Apparently Penn seperated some rips when Matt was in top in the second, hence the issues from them on which is a shame, it was a proper battle up to that point. All in all, Hughes did well to keep his dream alive despite losing the first two rounds. Even if Penn was gonna make it thought the 3rd round though I think he would still have gassed, but who knows? What happened happened and Hughes got his win.

I think big John was right, Penn was taking some shots but not big damaging ones….when it was obviouos he could not improve his position then BJM stopped it, as he should have done.

I think GSP was just trying to sell some seats and be a personality, which he does not need to be. To say he was not impressed with Matt's win is one thing, but to say it to him right after the fight was a bit harsh. Apparently he did not really mean it, and apologised to Matt afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭damo

Very good fight - BJ Penn has gotta be pound for pound the most talented fighter in the world, he was amazing in the first two rounds, but he needs to fight at 155 because come fight time he was giving up around 25 pounds to hughes, and of course he needs to fix his cardio - he had Hughes by the balls until he gassed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

People keep saying that Hughes won on attributes, but fail to realise that a full splits takedown defence is not within the realm of possibility for most fighters.

I had hughes picked to win. But nothing pisses me off more than when a fighter thanks the lord Jesus. Jesus did jack during rounds one and two.

Next up I give it to St Pierre. Better boxer, comparable wrestler, better ground and cardio. Hughes has always had the edge in cardio, GSP may push him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

The Shane wrote:
    People keep saying that Hughes won on attributes, but fail to realise that a full splits takedown defence is not within the realm of possibility for most fighters.

I had hughes picked to win. But nothing pisses me off more than when a fighter thanks the lord Jesus. Jesus did jack during rounds one and two.

Next up I give it to St Pierre. Better boxer, comparable wrestler, better ground and cardio. Hughes has always had the edge in cardio, GSP may push him.

I was gutted by the Matt Hughes win. As some of you may have noticed, I don't really closely follow the UFC or PRIDE or consider myself an MMA expert but I met BJ Penn briefly once and he seemed real cool. Matt Hughes on the other hand seems like a consumate proffessional, but just not cool. I think over rounds 1 and 2 BJ proved how dangerous a fighter he is, and whether he got injured or not, or whether he suddenly gased, round 3 proved the absolute importance of conditioning for professional fighters.
    BJ out boxed, out sprawled and out jitzed Matt Hughes solidly for 2 rounds in my opinion, I'd go far as to say 20-16 but for round 3, he looked like a rag doll. It could have been a BJJ fight and he would have lost. Heart breaking watching him take that beating but boy does he have a solid head.
    I too find it a little difficult to stomach the "I want to thank the lord jesus christ" stuff but I respect their right to say it and I understand what it means to them. If MH uses JC to motivate himself to be the best fighter he can, all credit to both of them.
    As I've previously eluded to, can't say I really know too much about GSP but if what you say is true, and what I'm hearing is true, I agree he can take MH on and give him one heck of a hard time.

So, in terms of WWE, I'd lvoe to see GSP beat MH, BJP beat Diego Sanchez, BJP beat MH in a 2 round non-championship fight and see BJP and GSP go at it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭droc

Why do people have a problem with Hughes thanking Jesus ? I'm not a christian, but I gotta respect his right to be. When he was in that triangle and the end of the 2nd he needed some great mental strength, if his belief in Jesus helps him to have that then I'm all for the man with the holes in his extremities cuz it makes for good fights.

Good event, disappointed for Jens, knew Matt would win once it went after the second thought he'd get the finish in the 4th though.

As for Lambert V Rashad, Lambert's a big strong wrestler, his only hope was to get the takedown because all he knows how to do is Ground n Pound. He might have been able to KO Rashad standing just because he's strong and hits hard but Rashad is a far better boxer with good defensive skills (I love the Rashad dance) so it would have been an even worse idea.

DROC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

The Shane wrote:

why does it piss you off, I thought he did it quite quickly and unobtrusively, it wasn't as if he was trying to convert anyone or anything ?:confused:

That aside alot of people were impressed with Bj Penn over 2 rounds, indeed I was on the edge of my seat when that triangle was on, but to be a champ you have to go that level for 5 rounds, no one doubted hughes would have the gas for the full 5 rounds,

I was impressed with Rashad Evans, his show boating had turned me off him originally ,but his win was impressive, looks like he has really come on ,and he was sensible enough not to be shouting for a title shot ..........

Mike "quick" Swick, I remain somewhat unconvinced, why , he tried to coast the last round, to me that says something about his heart, in fairness he had obviously done his homework about the crow, and the crow just could not seem to throw untill the last round, I would like to see quick in a war to test his mettle.

Overall a good UFC and worth staying up late for, Bravo's editing or the editing left a little to be desired and good to see the lightweights back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I alos don't like people who wear their religion on their sleeve the way Hughes does, if that was the first time he did it it would be fine by me but he's always on about it in build ups and stuff.

Anyway, as someone pointed out above, if it gives him the mental strength to go do what he did, much respect to him. I was a bit dissappointed that it finished they way it did but I think BJ has Matt's number if he could just get that bit better cardio wise!!!!

Anyway roll on GSP vs Hughes. This is the fight everyone wants to see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭damo

Penn is claiming now that he suffered a rib seperation injury towards the end of the second round and didnt gas out - i believe it too - rubber match!!

As far as Swick is concerned he's super talented but just seems a little bit light - needs to bulk up more because i think Franklin would out muscle and bully him if they were to fight tomorrow - definate future champion material though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

I don't think religion is a quatifiable aspect of your training. Matt hughes posts up his training regime and doesn't include his two hard praying seesions a day, morning and evening that and his pre-meal light prayer sessions just to keep up the religious metabolism and of course the prayer marathon on sunday, maybe not that pertinent to training. Mass is maybe 45 minutes long and he only needed Jesus for 25, but he enjoys that sort of distance work.

I read his website and he mentioned his chest days, his back days and so on coupled with classes and drilling work. This is quantifiable. I believe that Matt hughes has reached a stage wwhere he could be considered a role model, and it is important to set a good example. I personally don't believe that mental toughness as a result of ferverent religious belief is a good thing. Something is lacking in your own personal make up that you have to look elsewhere for.

In round two triangle, do you think it was Jesus motivating Hughes or the obvious shame of losing, the loss in earnings and the fact that his corner were shouting for him all the way.

The WWE comment above is quite apt, Dana White would love to bill us for the same three/four people in as many permutationsas possible. I would like to see Sanchez get destroyed by any of these three top dogs. he's getting a bit big for his boots.

As for Swick - too light, never been tested really. I want a war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭cmb.

can all armchair psychologists please put down their 'sports psychology of dummies 2006 ed' - if hughes wants to make a quick reference to god here and there- then who really cares - get over it - i cant see how anyone is at all bothered or or put out by this any more than when fighters thank whomever they do post fight - be it god, mohammad, darby o gill, their sponsors, billy rush for helping them **** out that extra 3 ounces or anyone else for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

The Shane wrote:
    I don't think religion is a quatifiable aspect of your training. Matt hughes posts up his training regime and doesn't include his two hard praying seesions a day, morning and evening that and his pre-meal light prayer sessions just to keep up the religious metabolism and of course the prayer marathon on sunday, maybe not that pertinent to training. Mass is maybe 45 minutes long and he only needed Jesus for 25, but he enjoys that sort of distance work.

LOL brilliant

Seriously though, as long as he doesn't overdo it I don't mind, A thank you at the end of a fight is ok but anything over the top and we have to remember there could be impressionable youngsters watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

BJ and Matt had a really, really good fight. They can thank whoever or whatever they want as far as I'm concerned.

He has the right, the god given right, to freedom of speech to express his religion. In fact, if I ever find a microphone in my hand after being beaten up/beating up someone, I think I'll thank the lord god above myself for allowing me to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

does he give a percentage of his winnings to the Catholic church?:p

ask yourself this
    CAY3CFF0.jpg

Well, is Matt Hughes a Roman Catholic? I'm not 100% sure. I wonder if a little old lady comes around his own asking for a donation to the church collection? Perhaps they rotate a plate during mass for making donations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Courtney,

I don't believe that one should change when they reach a stage of being a role model. Every single parent knows they are a role model for their children and usually they make the most impresion in the early years. They don't generally know the impact they have.

Your friends are role models as you become like your peer group. Should I watch how I act around you?

Now, as for top dog role models like The Cruise and Matt Hughes (and I understand I'm giving a lot of props to Hughes to compare him to Tom) but he's become a role model through his hard work, competitive spirit etc. He shouldn't change just because he's now a role model.

Now if some idiot thinks "Hey, Matt Hughes is a big fan of Jesus, I'll be a big fan of Jesus," they're looking at the wrong channels. If they think "mmm, Matt Hughes hates benching but he still does it, I guess I've to work on the area I hate in order to succeed" then they're taking something of value from it.

To use me as an example. I'm a role model for the kids I coach. Now, if they look at some mannerisms in isolation and copy them, they're not really picking up on the core elements. If they say "hey, Colm picks his nose. I've got to pick my nose if I want to be successful," well, you can see where this leads. If they pick up on the fact that I'm genuine, honest and compassionate, then they gain something.

But, what people infer from my actions is outside my sphere of control. All I can do is be, and see what people take from it.

Semper Fi,
    Colm

PS: JudoMick, JC was never a big guy, so I think he'd have a slow guard game. He never seemed that explosive to me, so I can't imagine he'd have a very active floating top game. Bad taste here
    Of course, he'd be awfully susceptible to the crucifix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Is this a martial arts board or a religion board?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

The Shane wrote:
    In round two triangle, do you think it was Jesus motivating Hughes or the obvious shame of losing, the loss in earnings and the fact that his corner were shouting for him all the way.

Not really, but maybe it was Matt's faith in Jesus that stopped him tapping when a lesser fighter might have? Who knows.

The simple fact is that people have the right to believe and say what they like, be it good or bad, lest we agree with it or not.

I assume that is a right that non of us here would like to see someone stripped of?

And i believe Matt is a Born Again Christian....his brother as well i believe. For me, regardless of his religious views, or his wins in the Octagon it's the Hughes Foundation, the trips with Habitat For Humanity and all the other charity work that shows the type of dude Matt is.

Besides, if you just got a victory over BJ Penn, you can thank who you like!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

Matt and BJ had a great, intense 14 minute fight. And on an MMA board, his 1 second thank you to God is whats getting talked about. Somthings wrong there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I love how often people post on this board saying what it "should" be. The board is, accept that and then you work on changing it.

We've had debates entitled "Should spiritually have a place in martial arts?" which has usually referred to TMA's (and I know the terms and ambiguous and wrong!) so why can't we have one about spirituality in MMA?

Oh, and stop changing the argument from "I think Matt thanking JC was BS" to "He had no right to thank the lord." Shane never mentioned the right to say it, but why it aggravated him.

Bad taste joke number two.
    Maybe we'll here Joe Rogan at the next event say(in his best Superintendent Charlmers impression (God has no place within the octagon, just like facts have no place within organised religion!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

jaysus ... I was just wondering if you guys enjoyed the fight !!! :eek:

PS My use of term "jaysus" was in the vervacular sense and is in no way meant to lead to further debate.