Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

outragous fine

• 25-09-2006 10:19am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭

ok, i just got out of court, and now i see why the justice system in this s**t country is so messed up.

quick story, i bought a car last year, drove it home, got pulled for no tax or insurance. up in court today i was thrilled when about ten junkies and scum bags up before me either got struck out or at most, 200e fines, and these toe rags had loads of previous convictions and no licences

so up i go, no previous convictions, never even questioned by the guarda, insurances documents for before, and after the incedent, proof of previous day purchase and licence. expecting at most a 200e fine, i nearly fainted when i got a fine of `1500e.

it seems to me like these junkie c.unts are being rewarded for filling their vains full of smack and running a mock on the streets.

i swear im gonna take my anger out on a few of them.

what do people think about the fine????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Hmm....
    Are you sure there isnt more to this than you are letting on? ( A lot more)
    Kippy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

1500?! Holy Christ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

What were you driving? maybe the judge was making the fines realistic to your financial position. Obviously a 'junkie' isn't going to has 1500 handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭ircoha

Given the above, I doubt if many people will reply to this post with answers that you dont want to hear.

How many of the other cases were for driving with no insurance, as opposed to no driving licence as referred to in your post?

Did you get 4 penalty points as well?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

yeah , there is no more to the story. im hard working, i work two jobs to get by.it was just a normal opel vectra. im so pissed off

fines shouldnt be made according to financial position. so if i had 5 million in the bank the fine would be 50,000?? thats b.olox.

ps,, yeah,, all the other fines similar to mine were no insurance also., ,no ,, i dont think i got penaltie ppoints,,, i went blank after i heard 1500 euro,,, which i dont "have handy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Noelie wrote:
    What were you driving? maybe the judge was making the fines realistic to your financial position. Obviously a 'junkie' isn't going to has 1500 handy.

thats not ho wthe justice system should work. Fines shoul dbe equal. The reason the junkies dont have 1500 is because they are junkies. The idea of a fine is not to give you one you can afford it is to punish you for the crime you have committed

Why shouldn't they, with 5mil in the bank 200 euro would be nothing hower 5000 would make you think about it.
    Like the story i saw on the news once about a scotish woman who was loaded, so she would park where she like because she could afford to pay the tickets.

Again, I will say it, There is a lot more to this than you are letting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Bogus

Perhaps the judge needed to reach his cash quota for the day and used your funds to top up what he should have got from the crackheads

kippy wrote:
    Again, I will say it, There is a lot more to this than you are letting on.

????

like what? what else is there, all the above is true, no previous, i dont just drive willy nilly around without insurance, im not a fooking junkie. i had just bought the car.

what are you implying>?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Maybe the judge was making "an example" out of you. A friend of mine got an outrageous fine a couple of years back for peeing on the street. (down an alley at 3am) His friend who also pee'd gave a false name and address so MY friend was "made an example of"
    The Garda that caught him in the act even told him to appeal the courts decision. So maybe you should think about appealing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Are you sure there is not more to this story? Hmm?
    Unfortunately some judges have pet hates when it comes to convictions so sometimes it's a case of it being luck of the draw as to who you get on the day. Had it been another judge for example who had a gripe against all smack heads s/he may have come down harder on them and afforded you more leniency.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Well from the original post I think you may have gotten done for no tax, no insurance, no lisence and failure to produce the above?!?!

Love2love wrote:
    So maybe you should think about appealing.

definatly appealing,,, the reason why this country is the way it is is because of people not standing up. bolllox to that judge, im not gonna pay the big one for some knackers to leave the court unscathed, go bang up in the toilets and go out and steal another car, just to get struck out again in 6 months.

this country is a pisser!

Package wrote:
    definatly appealing,,, the reason why this country is the way it is is because of people not standing up. bolllox to that judge, im not gonna pay the big one for some knackers to leave the court unscathed, go bang up in the toilets and go out and steal another car, just to get struck out again in 6 months.

this country is a pisser!

Perhaps your attitude is why "this country is a pisser!"
    You got caught, you probably thought 'sure i won't get caught so i'll sort out everything later' and now you can't take it.

why didn't you sort out your insurance before you got into the car. you obviously knew you were buying/bought it, so you should have had your insurance sorted before you left.

Also how were you stopped was it a ramdon check point or were you pulled over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

any reason why you didnt get your insurance transfered over to the new car before you started to drive it?

driving without insurance is not on, new car or not. i got a new car a few months ago and transfered the insurance before i drove it. simple. i have no time for people who drive without insurance. what would of happened if you had of crashed into someone on the way home? it would have been far more costly for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Froot

Package wrote:
    ok, i just got out of court, and now i see why the justice system in this s**t country is so messed up.

quick story, i bought a car last year, drove it home, got pulled for no tax or insurance. up in court today i was thrilled when about ten junkies and scum bags up before me either got struck out or at most, 200e fines, and these toe rags had loads of previous convictions and no licences

so up i go, no previous convictions, never even questioned by the guarda, insurances documents for before, and after the incedent, proof of previous day purchase and licence. expecting at most a 200e fine, i nearly fainted when i got a fine of `1500e.

it seems to me like these junkie c.unts are being rewarded for filling their vains full of smack and running a mock on the streets.

what do people think about the fine????

Principal of the matter is the two cases in question are like chalk and cheese. They cannot be compared.

Your stupid enough to drive (whether you are caught or not) without tax and insurance, I am delighted you got pulled for it. The less irresponsible f*cks, like you, we have on the roads the better. You got what you deserved.

As for the junkies...whats the point in fining them €1500 euro instead of you, they probably dont even have it.

yeah i was on my way home or somewhere else and i got pulled over when a speedie twigged i had no stuff in the window..

Froot wrote:
    Principal of the matter is the two cases in question are like chalk and cheese.

They cannot be compared.

I am delighted you got pulled for it. The less irresponsible b*stards we have on the roads the better. You got what you deserved.

As for the junkies...whats the point in fining them €1500 euro instead of you, they probably dont even have it.

**** that,, are yous kidding me or what.... there are **** loads of irresponsible b*astards out there, who will never get insurance, i pay my ****ing way, so what if the junkies dont have it,, i dont ****ing have it

Package wrote:
    **** that,, are yous kidding me or what.... there are **** loads of irresponsible b*astards out there, who will never get insurance, i pay my ****ing way, so what if the junkies dont have it,, i dont ****ing have it

Well you bought a new car so you can obviously afford to pay the fine.

I am aware there are loads of irresponsible people out there...I simply said the less of them, such as you, that are on the road then the better off we will all be.

I am aware you pay your way, but the fact is you were stupid to drive without tax or insurance and you are now paying for that decision. I am guessing you most likely will at least think about it before you do it again.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Right a few things nead to be cleared up on this matter so others can see exactly what happened.

1. Were you insured in another car at the time??
    2. How long after you were pulled did you get insurance??
    3. What type of lisence do you have??
    4. Were you asked to produce in a garda station??
    5. Was it just a no insurance claim or was it tax aswell??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Froot wrote:
    Principal of the matter is the two cases in question are like chalk and cheese. They cannot be compared.
    Yes they can. The justice system is supposed to be fair and balanced.
    Your stupid enough to drive (whether you are caught or not) without tax and insurance, I am delighted you got pulled for it. The less irresponsible f*cks, like you, we have on the roads the better. You got what you deserved.
    Here's hoping you never get what you deserve or put a foot wrong.
    What an attitude :mad: - what you're basically saying is that the OP should be punished more severely than a scumbag simply because the OP choses to work for a living rather than mug people for drug money? You have to be fookin joking?

Its plain and simple, the system doesnt work. If you're stupid enough to think it does then that's your choice but personally I'd rather not be considered a mindless sheep. :mad::mad:

Package,
    I think your attitude towards these "junkies" leaves a lot to be desired.
    And perhaps this attitude in general was apparent when, either you were first pulled over or in court.
    What exactly were all these "Junkies" in court for?
    Why didnt you transfer the insurance?
    The Tax thing is pretty strange, and its why I have difficulty in believeing that everything you have said is true. I was under the impression that you had a "grace period" from when you buy a new car to getting it taxed.
    Kippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

the current 'trend' for a lot of foreigners who come over here is to buy one car and insurance between several of them and to all drive the car the cops rarely twig because there are discs on teh window but iof they crash into you are the one driving is not the insurance holder then good luck with your claim. The trend with junkies etc is that they can keep on doing what they likel as they get fined peanuts. The fine should be standard as opposed to punishing one person above the rest because they are seen to have more money. as for that women in the UK she should have been punished for the number of times she had done that
    why should our justice system feel sorry for junkies and scumbags>?? maybe if they spend the money on insurance instead of drugs they would be a bit better off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭SmoothyG

I had a similar situation 2 years ago, was pulled at a check piont 5 days after buying the car. the next day i went down to the guarda station, showed my insurance receipt and my tax receipt, did both on the internet the day i bought it., was told "sorry for the inconvenience but im sure u understand the need for vigilance" and i did.
    So u got stung for not getting it done right away.

however, when i was 17 i got pulled for a dangerous overtake, which was disputable, with no licence or insurance, made up a story about living in England and having an English licence I'd left at home, saying my father's (owner of the car) insurance covers any full licence holder. The Guard asked my to post a Police signed copy of my licence when i got home. 50 punt fine. i paid the fine straight away. obviously never sent in the the signed copy and never heard any more of it.
    Looking back i should have been taken off the road for a long time, but just goes to show the Irish system needs a lot of work.

jonny24ie wrote:
    Right a few things nead to be cleared up on this matter so others can see exactly what happened.

1. Were you insured in another car at the time??
    2. How long after you were pulled did you get insurance??
    3. What type of lisence do you have??
    4. Were you asked to produce in a garda station??
    5. Was it just a no insurance claim or was it tax aswell??

i wasnt insured in another car at the time, i sold the car a few days later, as it was a cheap one which was out of my reach insurance wise cause the insurance system is **** too. i only have a provisional, 3rd. i was asked to produce, the licence was a strike out, i think,,, and dont quote me,,, but i think i got 50 euro for no tax, 700 for no insurance, something mad like 500 e for no nct.

as far as my attitude to junkies, how would that be apparent in court, or to a policeman who pulled me over? your talking **** now.

maybe i should get the 1500,, by some heroine and **** myself up,and oops... not be able to pay. problem solved huh?

the garda will let you away with no tax for up to 10 days after you get a new car. you MUST have insurance from the minute you get behind the wheel. they understand that it takes time to get a new car taxed where as with insurance all it takes is a phone call.

i think you got what you deserved. stop whinging and get over it. maybe you wont make the same mistake again. as for the "junkies". stop shifting the blame!

Savman wrote:
    Yes they can. The justice system is supposed to be fair and balanced.

Here's hoping you never get what you deserve or put a foot wrong.

What an attitude :mad: - what you're basically saying is that the OP should be punished more severely than a scumbag simply because the OP choses to work for a living rather than mug people for drug money? You have to be fookin joking?

Its plain and simple, the system doesnt work. If you're stupid enough to think it does then that's your choice but personally I'd rather not be considered a mindless sheep. :mad::mad:

Well...

The system is supposed to be fair and balanced in context...comparing a motor offence to a drug offence is hardly grounds for challenging the system.

I dont do things like drive a car without insurance. I understand that the OP must be pissed but the black and white of it is he f*cked up, and is now paying whatever the price is.

The OP was not fined based on his income. The junkies most likely were. He was fined based on the severity of the incident in the context of the laws regarding motor vehicles. They may or may not have gotten off "easy" in relation to whatever other people were fined for the same crime. I am not going to comment on the junkies case because it is completely irrelevant to the reason the OP was in court.

Just because I have some inkling of faith in our justice system does not mean I am a mindless sheep. Its quite obvious that your sticking up for the OP because he which when shown in that light pfaired worse than some junkies regards the amount he was fined, roves credible but when examined is hardly a basis for disagreeing about the effectiveness of our system. I would say that you are jumping on the bandwagon of saying our system is sh!t.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    the current 'trend' for a lot of foreigners who come over here is to buy one car and insurance between several of them and to all drive the car the cops rarely twig because there are discs on teh window but iof they crash into you are the one driving is not the insurance holder then good luck with your claim. The trend with junkies etc is that they can keep on doing what they likel as they get fined peanuts. The fine should be standard as opposed to punishing one person above the rest because they are seen to have more money. as for that women in the UK she should have been punished for the number of times she had done that
    why should our justice system feel sorry for junkies and scumbags>?? maybe if they spend the money on insurance instead of drugs they would be a bit better off?

Honestly, when did this become a discussion about foreigners and junkies?

Your really reinforcing my post above when I say your jumping on a bandwagon, though you can add having an apparent problem with foreigners to the reasons.

The justice system doesn't feel sorry for jukies, but they do enough robbing to get their drug money, so if the get fined 1000's they will just have to do even more.
    but i don't think they should be getting away with it either, they should be getting jail time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭SmoothyG

as for the Junkies, well i think id prefer to be 1500 out of pocket than have to deal with being a junkie, personally i think that the sentance for possesion or supply of herion needs to be so long that the risk is too much. 20 year minimum, after all it is pretty much murder.

Package wrote:
    i wasnt insured in another car at the time, i sold the car a few days later, as it was a cheap one which was out of my reach insurance wise cause the insurance system is **** too. i only have a provisional, 3rd. i was asked to produce, the licence was a strike out, i think,,, and dont quote me,,, but i think i got 50 euro for no tax, 700 for no insurance, something mad like 500 e for no nct.

as far as my attitude to junkies, how would that be apparent in court, or to a policeman who pulled me over? your talking **** now.

maybe i should get the 1500,, by some heroine and **** myself up,and oops... not be able to pay. problem solved huh?

judging by the attitude i think you got away lightly. if you cant aford insurance dont drive!

im not shifting the blame? where does it say i blame them. im saying they get off lightly cause they mug old people and leave blood on the toilet seats of public toilets.

yes, i shouldnt have been driving without insurance,yes i take the blame,,, i however didnt get what i deserve.. if you believe that then whats the point in working. sure we should all just smack up and take full advantage of a very unfair justice system.

You attitude, if it came across the same in court or when you were originally caught as it does here will mean the judge will have a far less lenient view of your character and may have less sympathy for you than the junkies.
    As someone has rightly pointed out above, you failed on a number of counts in staying within the law. Then instead of bringing your docs to the gardai you waited till the court appearance.
    And again, I will say there is some amount you are still not telling us.
    Look, your just a bit peeved at getting fined 1500, if there were no smack heads in court you'd still be a bit peeved.
    Yeah, its a pisser that they didnt get any fines or got of lightly in your opinion but I doubt they were in court for robbing old people.

Kippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

So you were driving an untaxed car, with no NCT, and no insurance - inotherwords, your vehicle wasn't roadworthy in the eyes of the law, plus it was untaxed, and you couldn't produce your licence when asked?

Did you get served a seven-day-wonder? (Appear at your local garda station with your papers - tax, insurance, nct and licence, within seven days being stopped.)

As some of the first responses said, there's more to this than just you getting stopped after having bought a new car. You wouldn't get fined €1,500 - in fact, you wouldn't be in court. You don't get a summons for simply not being able to produce papers immediately when asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

You sound like a bit of a dick. So the people before you were deffo junkies? Running into the toilets to shoot up as you see it? You got what was comming to you, shouldn't be driving without insurance ;)

Package wrote:
    im not shifting the blame? where does it say i blame them. im saying they get off lightly cause they mug old people and leave blood on the toilet seats of public toilets.

yes, i shouldnt have been driving without insurance,yes i take the blame,,, i however didnt get what i deserve.. if you believe that then whats the point in working. sure we should all just smack up and take full advantage of a very unfair justice system.

Your original question in the first post was "what do you think of the fine?".

You are currently saying that people who disagree with you are effectively promoting class A drug use.

You appear to be a complete idiot.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++
    Package wrote:

Here we go again.

Someone please lock this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

package you are learning the hard way that there is one law for them and one law for us.

try burning something in yr back garden and throwing washing machines/fridges/beds/cookers around the place... you wont last too long.

yet certain people seem to be able to do it with impunity

Anyone with income,an address,pays their taxes, and generally law abiding is a sitting duck.

The bigger the scummer you are the better chance you have of getting away.

I would feel exactly like you do

look kippy,, cop on would ya. jesus i dont know what your talking about,, you obviously do, ask me what ya want so........

as far as my attitude,, i doubt if the judge was a friend of Uri Gellar or Derren Brown, so would not have seen my hate for people of rob and steal and make a mess of society,,,... if you think that treating hard working honest people more harshy than "filth" , then you are being foolish.

Package wrote:
    so would not have seen my hate for people of rob and steal and make a mess of society,,,... if you think that treating hard working honest people more harshy than "filth" , then you are being foolish.

People like you make a mess of society.

This simplistic view of everything is a reflection on your character.

Package, did you get a citation and a demand to show your documents before you went to court or not?

As some of the first responses said, there's more to this than just you getting stopped after having bought a new car. You wouldn't get fined €1,500 - in fact, you wouldn't be in court. You don't get a summons for simply not being able to produce papers immediately when asked.

who said i had insurance/tax papers? when i was pulled i didnt lie and say i forgot them or something. how could i produce when i hadnt got them. i should have gave a false name and address, then reported the car stolen.i would have got away? course i would.

i should have lied and cheated and taking advantage of the system, i wouldnt be in this state then, no fine. would that be better than telling the thruth?

Froot wrote:
    Well...

The system is supposed to be fair and balanced in context...comparing a motor offence to a drug offence is hardly grounds for challenging the system.

I dont do things like drive a car without insurance. I understand that the OP must be pissed but the black and white of it is he f*cked up, and is now paying whatever the price is.

The OP was not fined based on his income. The junkies most likely were. He was fined based on the severity of the incident in the context of the laws regarding motor vehicles. They may or may not have gotten off "easy" in relation to whatever other people were fined for the same crime. I am not going to comment on the junkies case because it is completely irrelevant to the reason the OP was in court.

Just because I have some inkling of faith in our justice system does not mean I am a mindless sheep. Its quite obvious that your sticking up for the OP because he which when shown in that light pfaired worse than some junkies regards the amount he was fined, roves credible but when examined is hardly a basis for disagreeing about the effectiveness of our system. I would say that you are jumping on the bandwagon of saying our system is sh!t.

Listen if this is a serial offender flouting the motoring laws, I would have no objection whatsoever to removing them from the roads altogether. I would imagine the OP would have learned as much of a lesson with a much smaller fine and perhaps a coupla penalty points which would make him think twice about doing it again. That would be fair, that would be giving a 1st time offender a "close shave" with chance of reprieve.

I'm not condoning uninsured driving but in this case the punishment does not fit the crime.

Package wrote:
    who said i had insurance/tax papers? when i was pulled i didnt lie and say i forgot them or something. how could i produce when i hadnt got them. i should have gave a false name and address, then reported the car stolen.i would have got away? course i would.

i should have lied and cheated and taking advantage of the system, i wouldnt be in this state then, no fine. would that be better than telling the thruth?

You would normally be asked to produce something you DID have at a police station afterwards - e.g. the licence. Did you get asked to drop anything at all into the police station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

I have to agree with Package he doesn't deserve a 1500 fine... You deserve ten times that amount and maybe a five year driving ban. The amount of pricks on the road with no insurance is out of control. What if you had hit someone? How musch hassle is it to arrange insurance - one phone call

No NCT what if the brakes failed and you ploughed into someone. You should count yourself very lucky considering you broke 4 or 5 different laws. I hope you got penalty points aswell.

Leave the junkies out of it yea they are scum but that is an entirely different matter

yes i was asked to produce my licence, which i did,, anything else was up to the court.

muletide, i could understand if i was a knacker with a souped up honda civic which i just stole from the local nightclub carpark.

there is one law for them and one law for us.

The bigger the scummer you are the better chance you have of getting away.

That's it in a nutshell. Although some people on here are oblivious to that duality, I've seen it first hand many times. Walk into any "disadvantaged" area, you'll see mass lawlessness and civil disobedience. Is the system throwing out €1500 fines to these scumbags? Don't think so.

The justice system is no better than the medical system, guilty of gross incompetence from the top down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

sounds like a post to have a go at junkies -- why not take your anger out with them in person , instead of ranting on about them here -- do you think they read boards ?

Why not blame your solicitor instead or did you have one ?

I'd say he waited till after the court case to arange a solicitor also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

lol This has to be a joke, orelse when Package got home from court he found his wife in bed with a junkie. This has nothing to do with your fine, your more pissed with "people ruining society" aka in your view, junkie's are the only people doing that. Cop on and enjoying paying the lovely 150000cent fine ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

What exactly did you get done for?
    The justice system doesn't hand out fines like that if you can provide a perfectly good reason for lack of docs, etc.
    Maybe the judge hit you with a big fine coz you displayed an attitude similar to the one in post above?